We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of Geneva Hostel

Hostel | Rue Rothschild 30, Geneva, Switzerland 1202

79.8% Overall Rating

114 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/02/2015)

"Very secure with keys for entry, room entry, lockers and bathrooms, easy to access from main station, wifi in lobby was good, clean, powerpoints and lights at every bed which was good, and staff were helpful."

Read all Geneva Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Important information and conditions: * The cancellation cost is within 48hours before arrival free of charge. * Rooms will be ready for check-in at 2pm!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

City Hostel Geneva
33.68 USD

Hostel 90.1% 863 reviews
Hotel Residence City Zen.
90.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Admiral
120.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 52 reviews
Hotel Moderne
57.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 177 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
52.09 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.5% 287 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
67.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel 33
83.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

114 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Geneva Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 125 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bimo Murti

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

12 February 2015 Bimo would recommend this property

Liked: Good design and nice location

Disliked: The toilet is located in the hotel room hallway, thus when we are waiting in the lobby, we have to ask for a toilet card every time we want to go to the toilet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure with keys for entry, room entry, lockers and bathrooms, easy to access from main station, wifi in lobby was good, clean, powerpoints and lights at every bed which was good, and staff were helpful.

Disliked: Had to pay for bag storage on day of checkout, but only 2CHF so it was ok. Wifi didn't work properly in rooms, but was good in the lobby.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, good location, very secure (keycard to open everything)

Disliked: Quite noisy with school groups staying, big an impersonal atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the free breakfast and the free transport pass around Geneva - both were very helpful and cost effective!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how it was close to everything. Everything was in walking distance with the farthest being only 30 minutes of walking. Also the security they offered. You had to use to key to even access the bathrooms which I thought was nice.

Disliked: I disliked that I could only use the wifi downstairs in the main lobby. There weren't even many chargers to charge your phone while down there so I had to keeping going back up to my room to charge my phone and then go back down to the lobby because there was no wifi in te rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014

Liked: Free brraksfast, free transport ticket and plugs in the dorm.

Disliked: the reception smells weird, few staffs speak English, they control the amount of breakfast, wifi does not work in the dorms, they don't have oven in the kitchen, everything works with a card to open every door (including the toilet).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2014

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: Staff not very helpful Very noisy building Small, cramped rooms and bed Not the best location

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price

Disliked: I did not like the eating room closing The bathrooms weren't very clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: It's clean and well located.

Disliked: Many things. Very bad value for money, breakfast ends at 9am(!), checkout is at 10am(1), staff is unhelpful, not very friendly and sometimes incompetent (e.g. one of the receptionists told me we was pretty sure all museums in the city were closed on Sundays, and another just shrugged when I told him our dorm door couldn't close - which resulted in the room being invaded by a group of shouting drunks in the middle of the night). Also, you have to pay 2 francs to store your luggage on the last day. I's full of student groups and really really noisy during the night, with seemingly no control by the staff. Couldn't sleep all night and I'm more than used to hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, very clean and organized and they provide free transportation card

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The feel of the building was really cool!

Disliked: the location

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Lawlor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: very modern, clean and tidy

Disliked: same sex rooms. There's always a better, funer atmosphere in mixed rooms! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very close to the city center

Disliked: 8 persons in one room! while it was mentioned only 6!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The keycard locks.

Disliked: Huge, not any activities to meet fellow backpackers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jakob Harteg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2014 Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with everything you. Breakfast was alright, you get a locker for your stuff, and the best of all: You get a public transportation card so you can fast and easy move freely around the entire city of Geneva - for free.

Disliked: Too big for my taste and cold surfaces and atmosphere.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

ZIYAD MORAISHED

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 ZIYAD would recommend this property

Liked: i liked it because of the price as it is my priority. they also offer free tram/ bus tickets and also train free ticket to the airport to whoever is staying in there which is really great. the location is close to the train main station.

Disliked: the number of people who serves at the reception are only 2 and the number of people who check in is quite big. so when i wanted to ask for a little thing i had to queue behind the people who wanted to check-in then i can ask.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Krossa

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: You have to be a member of their international hostel association or they charge you an extra 6 franks per night. Staff got agitated when we asked questions not directly hostel related, but great facilities and you can't beat their free breakfast.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Lito

Alone

Business / conference

17 August 2014 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: This was probably the best hostel I've ever been to. Great facilities, smart use of technology, no bad looking security guy or dodgy atmosphere, but friendly people with a modern architecture, good free wifi and all. I don't know what I liked best, but i definitely recommend it to whoever comes to Geneva.

Disliked: Well if i have to find something to complain about i would say that breakfast ends too early! It ends at 9a.m. and as a young person I like to sleep until that time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcoming atmosphere. Very clean and modern . Great for backpackers close to city centre

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Kirkpatrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers were huge and the rooms were comfortable. Very close to everything and the train was also close. Met some nice people.

Disliked: Wifi not in room. But forced you to meet people. Laundry in expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tassiana Padeiro

Alone

City break

12 August 2014 Tassiana would recommend this property

Liked: they have an excellent breakfast; nice lockers (but outside the room). They also give you a transport card, valid for all buses and trains (including the one to the airport!)

Disliked: The shower: you need to press the button every 20 seconds (and the water comes cold for a bit); Wi-fi only in the reception and restaurant; Doesn't have a common area to make friends (everyone is too entertained in their phones/laptops..)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN STANWAY

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern decor, environmental awareness / recycle bins, friendly helpful staff, very clean, good breakfast, secure lockers, plenty of space to relax.

Disliked: Breakfast ends too early.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and everyone had their own big locker in their room which you could open by the card, so no need to carry around an extra key. We also got a free public transportation card which was very helpful because the hostel is not in the city centre (you can walk it, but by bus or tram is also nice). The breakfast was pretty nice and there was a lot of choice.

Disliked: In the lobby everyone just sat there on their smartphones. There was nothing done to connect the people who were in the hostel. Their was a bar, which I've never seen open and the entertainment room is a big flop. It would have been nice if there were more things being done to connect the people in the hostel since it's a youth hostel. It should be payed more attention to what youth want in a hostel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mohammed Alghrir

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: It's always too busy beside the entrance


See all Geneva hostels