We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of Geneva Hostel

Hostel | Rue Rothschild 30, Geneva, Switzerland 1202

83.7% Overall Rating

138 out of 153 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2015)

"The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was quite convenient."

Read all Geneva Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Important information and conditions: * The cancellation cost is within 48hours before arrival free of charge. * Rooms will be ready for check-in at 2pm! ****Please note: City tax is not included in the price.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

City Hostel Geneva
33.96 USD

Hostel 89.3% 880 reviews
Hotel Residence City Zen.
91.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Admiral
126.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 52 reviews
Hotel Moderne
57.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 179 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
52.53 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.2% 289 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
92.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel 33
84.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

138 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Geneva Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 147 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was quite convenient.

Disliked: Toilettes were not clean enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tekle Haile

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 June 2015 Tekle would recommend this property

Liked: I have nothing to say at this time . I hope to stay for more days at the hostel and give my explain my opinion .

Disliked: I've no comment

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The charges for staying here include a ticket for free public transport including returning to the airport. The location is fairly central to everything. The shower area was spacious for you to hang your things.

Disliked: I was initially going to book two nights here but it was not available, I now know why: despite being a large building it appears to be monopolized by school groups (also meaning that the dinner on offer at extra cost is also over-run by school groups so seek food elsewhere or wait forever to eat). There was a personal lamp and power point for each bed however both were practically useless: the lamp was too dim/far over to be used for reading purposes, and in Switzerland they have this cover around the power outlet meaning that the outlet wasn't suitable for my European adaptor connected to an international device (and only a couple in the building were suitable). These are "first world problems" though of course, remember you are staying in a hostel after all!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was clean and tidy. Beds were comfy.

Disliked: When checking out had to pay for a locker to put gear in, but it was a first in first serve policy, so if like me they told you all lockers were taken it was to bad take your gear qith you please. The bathrooms, as soon as one person had a shower the whole room was fogged up and good luck being able to dry yourself, so they could definitely do with installing ventilation in the bathrooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to downtown, train and bus station, and groceries store and restaurants. the place is clean, beautiful and safe. Lockers are big enough for bid suitcases.

Disliked: There were a lot of people when I was there, so the waiting line for the breakfast was long about 10 min. we had to pay for towels.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Pigatto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: There is a kitchen available with microwave, refrigerator and some other appliances.

Disliked: For two rooms with 8 beds each, there were only 2 bathrooms/toilets! It's too little!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was nice and the rooms were spacious with the bathrooms outside. For a council-funded auberge, I was surprised that the breakfast actually included some sugar-free choices.

Disliked: The people were quite a mix and not generally backpackers; interesting enough but be prepared for people who think wrapping everything in plastic bags and unpacking / repacking late at night and first thing in the morning is the norm. Whatever could have been done to minimise noise such as having the lockers outside of the room, using soft furnishings, using underlay etc. has not been done.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Victoria Brigham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Gave a free transport card which was nice

Disliked: It is very dirty. Bathrooms don't look cleaned. The bedrooms are fine though. No bar or social area.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .. Wc and showers acces with your magnetic card and cleaned every day But it is well located and the cheapest around. Globally, its okay

Disliked: No bar. if you use the computer you have to pay. They put me in a 12 beds room but i reserves for a 6 beds room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Robison

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe, secure, and comfortable

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff where super friendly and helpful. I didn't realised until I had arrived, that breakfast was included and that you got a free public transport travel card for Geneva city, which sure did come in handy. The hostel was clean and the rooms where a really good size.

Disliked: Not much to say on what I didn't like about the hostel. Would be awesome if brekkie was to 9:30 or 10am, instead of 9am, for the days where you just want to sleep in. Wifi wasn't the strongest in the room, kept dropping out, but not really to complain considering didn't spend all that much time in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, well sized room, efficient, comfortable with good facilities

Disliked: breakfast is free but kind of paltry and not buffet, and it ends very early (at 9)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I spent only one night at the hostel, but everything was really nice and clean, and the hostel has a great location, close to the center, to the central station, to everything. And I even got a card valid for all public transport facilities. It was great :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Súper clean and organized.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unbelievable !!! Clean and friendly. Good breakfast and great location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED this hostel! It was extremely clean and the staff helped with whatever you asked. Everything was very safe because they gave you a specific card which gave you access to the hostel, your room, toilet, and personal locker. The breakfast in the morning was also a great deal, especially in Switzerland where eating out can be expensive. The best part was also the free transportation card because the bus system was really good!

Disliked: Literally nothing :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bimo Murti

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

12 February 2015 Bimo would recommend this property

Liked: Good design and nice location

Disliked: The toilet is located in the hotel room hallway, thus when we are waiting in the lobby, we have to ask for a toilet card every time we want to go to the toilet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure with keys for entry, room entry, lockers and bathrooms, easy to access from main station, wifi in lobby was good, clean, powerpoints and lights at every bed which was good, and staff were helpful.

Disliked: Had to pay for bag storage on day of checkout, but only 2CHF so it was ok. Wifi didn't work properly in rooms, but was good in the lobby.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, good location, very secure (keycard to open everything)

Disliked: Quite noisy with school groups staying, big an impersonal atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the free breakfast and the free transport pass around Geneva - both were very helpful and cost effective!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how it was close to everything. Everything was in walking distance with the farthest being only 30 minutes of walking. Also the security they offered. You had to use to key to even access the bathrooms which I thought was nice.

Disliked: I disliked that I could only use the wifi downstairs in the main lobby. There weren't even many chargers to charge your phone while down there so I had to keeping going back up to my room to charge my phone and then go back down to the lobby because there was no wifi in te rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014

Liked: Free brraksfast, free transport ticket and plugs in the dorm.

Disliked: the reception smells weird, few staffs speak English, they control the amount of breakfast, wifi does not work in the dorms, they don't have oven in the kitchen, everything works with a card to open every door (including the toilet).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2014

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: Staff not very helpful Very noisy building Small, cramped rooms and bed Not the best location

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price

Disliked: I did not like the eating room closing The bathrooms weren't very clean


See all Geneva hostels