We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of City Hostel Geneva

Hostel | Rue Ferrier 2, Geneva, Switzerland 1202

88.6% Overall Rating

812 out of 841 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Heidi Demond thinks…

"Great hostel, in a good location. Lots of common areas. Easy check-in/check-out process, friendly staff. Comfortable rooms, good kitchen access."

Read all City Hostel Geneva reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

you may change your reservation up to 48 hours prior arrival. To do so you need contact the hostel directly( please note that they only accept written cancellation by email). Please note that bookings with more than 8 people will be cancelled and your deposit will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

Youth Hostel Geneva
37.75 USD

Hostel 81.5% 114 reviews
Hotel Admiral
57.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 51 reviews
Hotel Residence City Zen.
90.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Capitole
78.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.7% 38 reviews
Hotel Moderne
57.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 177 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
51.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.9% 282 reviews
Residence St-James
89.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 67 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
67.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

812 out of 841 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Hostel Geneva'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 578 of 678 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOOTAZ ELHALAWANY

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

30 September 2014 MOOTAZ would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent 3 $tars hotel, IMHO :-)

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Christiaens

Alone

Events / festivals

16 September 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, friendly staff during the day, clean, safe, wifi, hot showers

Disliked: Because I had surgery before my trip I asked for a lower bed and had the email send to the hostel to proof it but the guy at the reception in the evening didn't care and refused to help me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Demond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, in a good location. Lots of common areas. Easy check-in/check-out process, friendly staff. Comfortable rooms, good kitchen access.

Disliked: Had to pay for laundry, no breakfast on site.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near train station and easy walk to lake. We received free tickets for bus and bike usage. Computer access. We also used a storage locker until our room was ready because we arrived early. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bunk beds and shared bathroom, but for only a one night stay, it was no big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen for the guests, also free day lockers and enough toilets/showers for everyone.

Disliked: The showers were a bit tiny and I didn't like the unmovable shower head.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niranjan Subramanian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Niranjan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, highly recommended

Disliked: Niranjan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very accessible and safe. It was one of the few hostels that had lockers in the luggage room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: Close to bus & train stations. Old Town reasonably close. Everything we wanted in a hostel.

Disliked: Not in the nicest part of town. Sterile atmosphere. No real complaints though, as safety and cleanliness seemed good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrienne Lo

Alone

City break

02 September 2014 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Top notch hostel in every way. Just 5 mins from train station, accessible to everywhere. Pleasant and accommodating staff. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms. Even hair dryers in the ladies shower room...what other hostel offers that? Yes, it's pricey for a hostel but it's your best (and perhaps only) budget option in expensive Geneva. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Adrienne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Deborah Muscat

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very clean and organised.

Disliked: The kitchen area has a little seating area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sara cabral

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 sara would recommend this property

Liked: we have kitchen to share an it wasn't on the description but it was very helpful because it allows you to save money. the bedroom was nice.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chetan Shukla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Chetan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and the place was very clean. Not much more you can ask for.

Disliked: No common bar, but that's really being picky.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: Close to the rain station. Decent wifi. Small but adequate kitchen, which has individual lockers for the fridge, so no risk of your food being stolen.

Disliked: They do not provide covers for the quilts on the bed. When I raised this as a hygiene issue (I have been staying in hostels for 5months, I know how disgusting some people are) they said they only provided covers to the double/private rooms, not the dorm rooms. However, they did give me a quilt cover in the end. I know Switzerland is expensive, but you do not get good value for money here. Also the reception being shut from 12-1pm is awkward. We got stuck outside in the rain with our luggage on check in , because our bus ran late & we couldn't get it reception on time. Then on checkout, we needed to store our luggage for a few hours before our bus, however as reception was going to be shut for an hour we couldn't leave our bags. Instead had to pay for storage at the train st. Even though it is only an hour, it seemed to cause a lot of other people trouble as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rhys Poulton

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure, helpful staff and get good internet connection in room

Disliked: No free breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and modern

Disliked: The creditcard reader didn't work. No possibility to eat breakfast in the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city centre and train station

Disliked: noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel close to many attractions and lake Leman.

Disliked: Nothing, really. Cramped dorms, maybey.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

raynu wongkanoksin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 raynu would recommend this property

Liked: good place!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and the staff most helpful. It was my first experience of staying in a hostel but I would not hesitate staying again.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kathryn Ezra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi in lounge & rooms. Small but adequate kitchen. The whole place is clean. Just a few minutes to walk to the train station.

Disliked: It's expensive but that's Geneva. It's more like a hotel than a hostel so guests tend to keep to themselves but my 2 roommates were very friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jade Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location.

Disliked: Jade left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juseong Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Juseong would recommend this property

Liked: It was soooo cool that they gave me an transportation tickets, which is usable for any public transportation during stay. The room was clean.

Disliked: If you want to use lockers, you'd better to bring your own lock.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free transport pass, deposits instead of paying to rent a lock or a bath towel.

Disliked: More of an observation, but it doesn't necessarily attract youth, so the atmosphere is more formal than most hostels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennie Sverker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: It is probably the best hostel I ever been to when it comes to security and services. Lockers even in the fridge! Clean and nice little kitchen and a coffeemachine in the lobby. To get a free bus/tram card was great as well, we used it a lot. Staff were friendly and you felt welcome. Super easy to find the hostel and close to supermarkets. The room was great as well, cleaned every day and new towels if you wanted. Quiet at night. We had a great stay and would be happy to come back!

Disliked: Jennie left no negative feedback.


See all Geneva hostels