We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of City Hostel Geneva

Hostel | Rue Ferrier 2, Geneva, Switzerland 1202

90.6% Overall Rating

824 out of 853 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

Isabela Moreira Pereira de Souza thinks…

"The property is very nice and in a walking distance of all the main attractions. It's close to the trains station as well. Very clean and looked safe. There're big lookers in the rooms, but you will…"

Read all City Hostel Geneva reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

you may change your reservation up to 48 hours prior arrival. To do so you need contact the hostel directly( please note that they only accept written cancellation by email). Please note that bookings with more than 8 people will be cancelled and your deposit will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

Geneva Hostel
37.75 USD

Hostel 79.3% 122 reviews
Hotel Admiral
62.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 52 reviews
Hotel Residence City Zen.
90.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Capitole
78.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.7% 38 reviews
Hotel Moderne
57.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 177 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
51.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.9% 282 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
83.36 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel 33
62.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

824 out of 853 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Hostel Geneva'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 587 of 689 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

liam millard

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2015 liam would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated, helpful staff.

Disliked: liam left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabela Moreira Pereira de Souza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Isabela would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very nice and in a walking distance of all the main attractions. It's close to the trains station as well. Very clean and looked safe. There're big lookers in the rooms, but you will need a padlock (you can bring it with you or rent in the hostel)

Disliked: Isabela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Things they are selling at the desk - knifes, chocolate etc - are at really good price. Unfortunately I discovered that only after I left Geneve.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location. Staff gives you a free travel card to use in buses, trams, boats, trains. Very convenient. Internet available in most places including rooms and common areas. A lot of toilets and showers to use. I loved the lift. It is very classic. There is a souvernir shop downstairs. I met nice people there. I made good friends there :)

Disliked: Breakfast is not included. To use the fridge you have to leave a deposit. And the frinde is not big.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got upgraded to a private room (shared bathroom) even though I booked a 3-bed women's dorm. Kitchen facilities were decent.

Disliked: Kitchen could do with an oven. Also, lockable compartments for for the fridge may be safer but having to pay a deposit for the key caused some inconvenience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Filipovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: It was very convenient location. Staff was nice. Common areas are pleasant. I liked the movies at evenings in the tv room.

Disliked: The space in shower area is small and the door opens to the inside so I found it bit difficult to get in and out and trying to get around the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room

Disliked: shower area not very good, not enough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mark Robson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, warm, comfortable, nice staff. Plus they show a movie each night. Fine for me. Mark, UK x

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aline Martins Galdino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2014 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, good location... but its not a place to make friends. All the rest is very good.

Disliked: Aline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOOTAZ ELHALAWANY

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

30 September 2014 MOOTAZ would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent 3 $tars hotel, IMHO :-)

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Christiaens

Alone

Events / festivals

16 September 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, friendly staff during the day, clean, safe, wifi, hot showers

Disliked: Because I had surgery before my trip I asked for a lower bed and had the email send to the hostel to proof it but the guy at the reception in the evening didn't care and refused to help me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Demond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, in a good location. Lots of common areas. Easy check-in/check-out process, friendly staff. Comfortable rooms, good kitchen access.

Disliked: Had to pay for laundry, no breakfast on site.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near train station and easy walk to lake. We received free tickets for bus and bike usage. Computer access. We also used a storage locker until our room was ready because we arrived early. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bunk beds and shared bathroom, but for only a one night stay, it was no big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen for the guests, also free day lockers and enough toilets/showers for everyone.

Disliked: The showers were a bit tiny and I didn't like the unmovable shower head.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niranjan Subramanian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Niranjan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, highly recommended

Disliked: Niranjan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very accessible and safe. It was one of the few hostels that had lockers in the luggage room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: Close to bus & train stations. Old Town reasonably close. Everything we wanted in a hostel.

Disliked: Not in the nicest part of town. Sterile atmosphere. No real complaints though, as safety and cleanliness seemed good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrienne Lo

Alone

City break

02 September 2014 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Top notch hostel in every way. Just 5 mins from train station, accessible to everywhere. Pleasant and accommodating staff. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms. Even hair dryers in the ladies shower room...what other hostel offers that? Yes, it's pricey for a hostel but it's your best (and perhaps only) budget option in expensive Geneva. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Adrienne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Deborah Muscat

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very clean and organised.

Disliked: The kitchen area has a little seating area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sara cabral

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 sara would recommend this property

Liked: we have kitchen to share an it wasn't on the description but it was very helpful because it allows you to save money. the bedroom was nice.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chetan Shukla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Chetan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and the place was very clean. Not much more you can ask for.

Disliked: No common bar, but that's really being picky.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: Close to the rain station. Decent wifi. Small but adequate kitchen, which has individual lockers for the fridge, so no risk of your food being stolen.

Disliked: They do not provide covers for the quilts on the bed. When I raised this as a hygiene issue (I have been staying in hostels for 5months, I know how disgusting some people are) they said they only provided covers to the double/private rooms, not the dorm rooms. However, they did give me a quilt cover in the end. I know Switzerland is expensive, but you do not get good value for money here. Also the reception being shut from 12-1pm is awkward. We got stuck outside in the rain with our luggage on check in , because our bus ran late & we couldn't get it reception on time. Then on checkout, we needed to store our luggage for a few hours before our bus, however as reception was going to be shut for an hour we couldn't leave our bags. Instead had to pay for storage at the train st. Even though it is only an hour, it seemed to cause a lot of other people trouble as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rhys Poulton

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure, helpful staff and get good internet connection in room

Disliked: No free breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and modern

Disliked: The creditcard reader didn't work. No possibility to eat breakfast in the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city centre and train station

Disliked: noisy


See all Geneva hostels