HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of City Hostel Geneva

Hostel | Rue Ferrier 2, Geneva, Switzerland 1202

88.8% Overall Rating

802 out of 830 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

sara cabral thinks…

"we have kitchen to share an it wasn't on the description but it was very helpful because it allows you to save money. the bedroom was nice."

Read all City Hostel Geneva reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

you may change your reservation up to 48 hours prior arrival. To do so you need contact the hostel directly( please note that they only accept written cancellation by email). Please note that bookings with more than 8 people will be cancelled and your deposit will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

Youth Hostel Geneva
39.31 USD

Hostel 83.2% 107 reviews
Hotel Admiral
53.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 51 reviews
Hotel Residence City Zen.
93.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Capitole
81.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.7% 38 reviews
Hotel Moderne
59.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 177 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
54.05 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.9% 282 reviews
Residence St-James
136.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 67 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
86.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

802 out of 830 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Hostel Geneva'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 569 of 667 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Deborah Muscat

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very clean and organised.

Disliked: The kitchen area has a little seating area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sara cabral

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 sara would recommend this property

Liked: we have kitchen to share an it wasn't on the description but it was very helpful because it allows you to save money. the bedroom was nice.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chetan Shukla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Chetan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and the place was very clean. Not much more you can ask for.

Disliked: No common bar, but that's really being picky.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: Close to the rain station. Decent wifi. Small but adequate kitchen, which has individual lockers for the fridge, so no risk of your food being stolen.

Disliked: They do not provide covers for the quilts on the bed. When I raised this as a hygiene issue (I have been staying in hostels for 5months, I know how disgusting some people are) they said they only provided covers to the double/private rooms, not the dorm rooms. However, they did give me a quilt cover in the end. I know Switzerland is expensive, but you do not get good value for money here. Also the reception being shut from 12-1pm is awkward. We got stuck outside in the rain with our luggage on check in , because our bus ran late & we couldn't get it reception on time. Then on checkout, we needed to store our luggage for a few hours before our bus, however as reception was going to be shut for an hour we couldn't leave our bags. Instead had to pay for storage at the train st. Even though it is only an hour, it seemed to cause a lot of other people trouble as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rhys Poulton

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure, helpful staff and get good internet connection in room

Disliked: No free breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and modern

Disliked: The creditcard reader didn't work. No possibility to eat breakfast in the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city centre and train station

Disliked: noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel close to many attractions and lake Leman.

Disliked: Nothing, really. Cramped dorms, maybey.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

raynu wongkanoksin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 raynu would recommend this property

Liked: good place!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and the staff most helpful. It was my first experience of staying in a hostel but I would not hesitate staying again.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kathryn Ezra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi in lounge & rooms. Small but adequate kitchen. The whole place is clean. Just a few minutes to walk to the train station.

Disliked: It's expensive but that's Geneva. It's more like a hotel than a hostel so guests tend to keep to themselves but my 2 roommates were very friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jade Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location.

Disliked: Jade left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juseong Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Juseong would recommend this property

Liked: It was soooo cool that they gave me an transportation tickets, which is usable for any public transportation during stay. The room was clean.

Disliked: If you want to use lockers, you'd better to bring your own lock.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free transport pass, deposits instead of paying to rent a lock or a bath towel.

Disliked: More of an observation, but it doesn't necessarily attract youth, so the atmosphere is more formal than most hostels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennie Sverker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: It is probably the best hostel I ever been to when it comes to security and services. Lockers even in the fridge! Clean and nice little kitchen and a coffeemachine in the lobby. To get a free bus/tram card was great as well, we used it a lot. Staff were friendly and you felt welcome. Super easy to find the hostel and close to supermarkets. The room was great as well, cleaned every day and new towels if you wanted. Quiet at night. We had a great stay and would be happy to come back!

Disliked: Jennie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and the map

Disliked: kinda expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MADHU MENON

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 May 2014 MADHU would recommend this property

Liked: The location, cleanliness, friendly staff, safe,value for money. Very good experience

Disliked: The only bad thing was. I asked a staff at night how can i go to Airport early morning. I even told him the flight time and details when i will be leaving the Hostel. He forgot to mention, i need to do the checkout formality, and get my deposit for Refrigerator back. I didn't notice the Reception is closed at night, but i believe he could have informed me that, i should do the checkout formalities as i mentioned him i was leaving next morning early.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and everything u need

Disliked: Arrived at 1215 and had to wait until reception returned from lunch hour

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nolan Rossiter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Nolan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and use of the available kitchen

Disliked: The noise level from the surrounding streets echoes, size of rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've liked a lot location, it nearly station and lake, and realy like cleanless which is on realy high level

Disliked: Only that i disliked is noise from the street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dr. Kaushtubh thakare

Alone

Business / conference

28 April 2014 Dr. Kaushtubh would recommend this property

Liked: 1. located in the center 2.near to railway station and bus stations 3.neat and clean 4.very good facility of kitchen 5.friendly staff and enviornment

Disliked: -nothing to dislike

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the property was clean. I also liked the security. You have to use the key to access the hostel. The location is great as we'll.

Disliked: The rooms were quite small. I also didn't like that the bathrooms were unisex. Would be better to have separate male and female bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harsh Shah

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 April 2014 Harsh would recommend this property

Liked: I liked its safety, cleanliness, well equipped kitchen and very nice shared washrooms.

Disliked: The strict timings of reception.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Debora Souza Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Debora would recommend this property

Liked: O Hostel é muito bem localizado, a 1 estação de tramway da Gare. Ganhei um passe para usar o transporte da cidade por dois dias (que foi o tempo que fiquei -> E isso é ótimo), deixei tranquilamente a minha bagagem trancada antes da hora do check in (leve o seu cadeado ou alugue por 10 euros/francos enquanto usar e quando você devolver você recebe seu dinheiro de volta). Os stafs foram educados e atenciosos e me deram dicas e um mapa da cidade. A lojinha deles realmente é mais barata em termos de canivetes e souvenirs! O quarto é novinho, limpo, e temos acesso a ele com cartões individuais. Há lockers de tamanho ótimo dentro dos quartos também bem como uma pia com espelho. Os sanitarios (divididos em masculino e feminino) e boxes para toma banho ficam no corredor e estavam super limpos! A cozinha é bem equipada e fica no próprio andar! De forme geral adorei a estadia e indicaria para qualquer um!

Disliked: Debora left no negative feedback.


See all Geneva hostels