HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of City Hostel Geneva

Hostel | Rue Ferrier 2, Geneva, Switzerland 1202

89.7% Overall Rating

794 out of 821 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

"The hostel was very clean and the staff most helpful. It was my first experience of staying in a hostel but I would not hesitate staying again."

Read all City Hostel Geneva reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

you may change your reservation up to 48 hours prior arrival. To do so you need contact the hostel directly( please note that they only accept written cancellation by email). Please note that bookings with more than 8 people will be cancelled and your deposit will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

Youth Hostel Geneva
39.77 USD

Hostel 82.2% 84 reviews
Hotel Admiral
56.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 51 reviews
Hotel Residence City Zen.
72.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Capitole
82.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.7% 38 reviews
Hotel Moderne
60.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 175 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
54.68 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.3% 281 reviews
Residence St-James
138.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 67 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
87.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

794 out of 821 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Hostel Geneva'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 563 of 658 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city centre and train station

Disliked: noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel close to many attractions and lake Leman.

Disliked: Nothing, really. Cramped dorms, maybey.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

raynu wongkanoksin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 raynu would recommend this property

Liked: good place!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and the staff most helpful. It was my first experience of staying in a hostel but I would not hesitate staying again.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kathryn Ezra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi in lounge & rooms. Small but adequate kitchen. The whole place is clean. Just a few minutes to walk to the train station.

Disliked: It's expensive but that's Geneva. It's more like a hotel than a hostel so guests tend to keep to themselves but my 2 roommates were very friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jade Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location.

Disliked: Jade left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juseong Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Juseong would recommend this property

Liked: It was soooo cool that they gave me an transportation tickets, which is usable for any public transportation during stay. The room was clean.

Disliked: If you want to use lockers, you'd better to bring your own lock.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free transport pass, deposits instead of paying to rent a lock or a bath towel.

Disliked: More of an observation, but it doesn't necessarily attract youth, so the atmosphere is more formal than most hostels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennie Sverker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: It is probably the best hostel I ever been to when it comes to security and services. Lockers even in the fridge! Clean and nice little kitchen and a coffeemachine in the lobby. To get a free bus/tram card was great as well, we used it a lot. Staff were friendly and you felt welcome. Super easy to find the hostel and close to supermarkets. The room was great as well, cleaned every day and new towels if you wanted. Quiet at night. We had a great stay and would be happy to come back!

Disliked: Jennie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and the map

Disliked: kinda expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MADHU MENON

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 May 2014 MADHU would recommend this property

Liked: The location, cleanliness, friendly staff, safe,value for money. Very good experience

Disliked: The only bad thing was. I asked a staff at night how can i go to Airport early morning. I even told him the flight time and details when i will be leaving the Hostel. He forgot to mention, i need to do the checkout formality, and get my deposit for Refrigerator back. I didn't notice the Reception is closed at night, but i believe he could have informed me that, i should do the checkout formalities as i mentioned him i was leaving next morning early.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and everything u need

Disliked: Arrived at 1215 and had to wait until reception returned from lunch hour

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nolan Rossiter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Nolan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and use of the available kitchen

Disliked: The noise level from the surrounding streets echoes, size of rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've liked a lot location, it nearly station and lake, and realy like cleanless which is on realy high level

Disliked: Only that i disliked is noise from the street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dr. Kaushtubh thakare

Alone

Business / conference

28 April 2014 Dr. Kaushtubh would recommend this property

Liked: 1. located in the center 2.near to railway station and bus stations 3.neat and clean 4.very good facility of kitchen 5.friendly staff and enviornment

Disliked: -nothing to dislike

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the property was clean. I also liked the security. You have to use the key to access the hostel. The location is great as we'll.

Disliked: The rooms were quite small. I also didn't like that the bathrooms were unisex. Would be better to have separate male and female bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harsh Shah

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 April 2014 Harsh would recommend this property

Liked: I liked its safety, cleanliness, well equipped kitchen and very nice shared washrooms.

Disliked: The strict timings of reception.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Debora Souza Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Debora would recommend this property

Liked: O Hostel é muito bem localizado, a 1 estação de tramway da Gare. Ganhei um passe para usar o transporte da cidade por dois dias (que foi o tempo que fiquei -> E isso é ótimo), deixei tranquilamente a minha bagagem trancada antes da hora do check in (leve o seu cadeado ou alugue por 10 euros/francos enquanto usar e quando você devolver você recebe seu dinheiro de volta). Os stafs foram educados e atenciosos e me deram dicas e um mapa da cidade. A lojinha deles realmente é mais barata em termos de canivetes e souvenirs! O quarto é novinho, limpo, e temos acesso a ele com cartões individuais. Há lockers de tamanho ótimo dentro dos quartos também bem como uma pia com espelho. Os sanitarios (divididos em masculino e feminino) e boxes para toma banho ficam no corredor e estavam super limpos! A cozinha é bem equipada e fica no próprio andar! De forme geral adorei a estadia e indicaria para qualquer um!

Disliked: Debora left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really clean, the bedrooms are hot, it has laundry and a lot of good facilities.

Disliked: I ask to put my friend's baggage in their locker, but the staff didn't allowed! I thought this prohibition unnecessary.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient

Disliked: Some staff at reception were slightly rude.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was convenient and had good services. The guy at the desk was very friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: The three bedroom was slightly cramped.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An apt example of a hostel

Disliked: Bunk beds are a strict no no for me. But hey couldn't help

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, atmosphere.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Septia Rani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Septia would recommend this property

Liked: location is easy to find. room is clean. get free transport card. staff is kind.

Disliked: the price is expensive. the bathroom is not separated for men and women.


See all Geneva hostels