We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of City Hostel Geneva

Hostel | Rue Ferrier 2, Geneva, Switzerland 1202

90.2% Overall Rating

837 out of 866 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2015)

steve vincent thinks…

"This is the forth time I have stayed there it's always spotlessly clean friendly and helpful staff and will book again I have had better experence in this hostel then in a couple of 4star hotels in…"

Read all City Hostel Geneva reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

you may change your reservation up to 48 hours prior arrival. To do so you need contact the hostel directly( please note that they only accept written cancellation by email). Please note that bookings with more than 8 people will be cancelled and your deposit will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

Geneva Hostel
37.36 USD

Hostel 82.3% 132 reviews
Hotel Admiral
57.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 52 reviews
Hotel Residence City Zen.
89.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Moderne
57.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 179 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
51.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 288 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
66.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel 33
82.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

837 out of 866 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Hostel Geneva'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 598 of 703 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steve vincent

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 March 2015 steve would recommend this property

Liked: This is the forth time I have stayed there it's always spotlessly clean friendly and helpful staff and will book again I have had better experence in this hostel then in a couple of 4star hotels in Geneva I have stayed in

Disliked: Nothing Reilly it suits me fine

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Garry Fell

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2015 Garry would recommend this property

Liked: Not a bad price for Switzerland

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's big, has everything needed; excelent location; good value for money; has kitchen

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHRIS SANSOM

Alone

City break

12 February 2015 CHRIS would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and easy to get on transport around the city.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Kissane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location very close to the train station, staff were lovely!

Disliked: The showers were terrible! Really really useless. The water was cold. That was the only issue I had though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price!!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and they recycle

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MATHIEU MARQUER

Alone

City break

02 February 2015 MATHIEU would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location not far from the train station, rooms with plenty of storage, comfortable beds with a power outlet.

Disliked: Lack of atmosphere. Expensive... but that's Switzerland.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mike Campbell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: great facilities

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bought souvenir at cheaper rate. Enough place to move about Laundry, ironing room and baggage storage room well maintained. A lot of privacy within this hostel. Near to main railway station. Near to convenience shops

Disliked: On day of my stay, I noticed someone using the kettle to boil milk but very unfortunate this user never washed clean the kettle. Kettle is supposed to boil water and not boil milk or eggs or make instant noodles.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

liam millard

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2015 liam would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated, helpful staff.

Disliked: liam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thittaya Yutthalekha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Thittaya would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: No

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabela Moreira Pereira de Souza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Isabela would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very nice and in a walking distance of all the main attractions. It's close to the trains station as well. Very clean and looked safe. There're big lookers in the rooms, but you will need a padlock (you can bring it with you or rent in the hostel)

Disliked: Isabela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Things they are selling at the desk - knifes, chocolate etc - are at really good price. Unfortunately I discovered that only after I left Geneve.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location. Staff gives you a free travel card to use in buses, trams, boats, trains. Very convenient. Internet available in most places including rooms and common areas. A lot of toilets and showers to use. I loved the lift. It is very classic. There is a souvernir shop downstairs. I met nice people there. I made good friends there :)

Disliked: Breakfast is not included. To use the fridge you have to leave a deposit. And the frinde is not big.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got upgraded to a private room (shared bathroom) even though I booked a 3-bed women's dorm. Kitchen facilities were decent.

Disliked: Kitchen could do with an oven. Also, lockable compartments for for the fridge may be safer but having to pay a deposit for the key caused some inconvenience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Filipovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: It was very convenient location. Staff was nice. Common areas are pleasant. I liked the movies at evenings in the tv room.

Disliked: The space in shower area is small and the door opens to the inside so I found it bit difficult to get in and out and trying to get around the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room

Disliked: shower area not very good, not enough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mark Robson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, warm, comfortable, nice staff. Plus they show a movie each night. Fine for me. Mark, UK x

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aline Martins Galdino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2014 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, good location... but its not a place to make friends. All the rest is very good.

Disliked: Aline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOOTAZ ELHALAWANY

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

30 September 2014 MOOTAZ would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent 3 $tars hotel, IMHO :-)

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Christiaens

Alone

Events / festivals

16 September 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, friendly staff during the day, clean, safe, wifi, hot showers

Disliked: Because I had surgery before my trip I asked for a lower bed and had the email send to the hostel to proof it but the guy at the reception in the evening didn't care and refused to help me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Demond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, in a good location. Lots of common areas. Easy check-in/check-out process, friendly staff. Comfortable rooms, good kitchen access.

Disliked: Had to pay for laundry, no breakfast on site.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near train station and easy walk to lake. We received free tickets for bus and bike usage. Computer access. We also used a storage locker until our room was ready because we arrived early. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bunk beds and shared bathroom, but for only a one night stay, it was no big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen for the guests, also free day lockers and enough toilets/showers for everyone.

Disliked: The showers were a bit tiny and I didn't like the unmovable shower head.


See all Geneva hostels