HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of JBN Hostel/ Stephanie Chur

Hostel

Welschdorfli 19, Chur, Switzerland

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 75%

Location 84%

Safety 80%

Staff 92%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.63USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chur?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 75%

Location 84%

Safety 80%

Staff 92%

Value 78%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and rooms were very clean.

Disliked: The door to get into the hostel was a little tricky. If entering at night, we didn't like that you had to hold the key in the door for so long before getting it to open. A little hard to get used to and there's a lot of nightlife on this street. Hostel is directly across from a brothel-type place.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bathroom was clean.

Disliked: The girl that works at the front desk wasnt very helpful and friendly. She was not welcoming. I walked in to check in, she didnt greet me and she had this "what do you want?" attitude. When I told her the wifi didnt work, she didnt care and just continue what she was doing and told me that she will close the receptionist desk soon. I did not feel safe in the hostel because it looks like one key works for all rooms, including the front desk. Plus no staffs are around pass 9pm and in the morning. There were also no bedside light, no big lockers in the room and not enough outlets. to charge phone and camera. The area he hostel was located also looks like a redlight district .....


The property's response is

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We're sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as good as it should have been. Our staff member wants to apologize to you. We did talk to her about the unfriendliness and what she could do better next time. We could fix our WiFi signal in the meantime. We want to clarify that our room keys do only work for the room and the night entrance. Only staff keys are working for all of the doors for security reasons.
Best wishes
Hostel JBN-management

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and style of rooms.

Disliked: Beds were really uncomfortable. Showers not so great. Very noisy.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central location near to Railway station and the Old part of the Town.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The dorm was huge but there was plenty of space and every bed had a light and powerpoint. Common room was average, but did the job.

Disliked: The main problem of is great hostel is the price, I know switzerland is expensive but $40 FR a night? Another downside is the 15 min walk from the station, the directions they gave were a bit confusing. Just use google maps and it is much easier.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The roon and bathroom

Disliked: No breakfast included or optional

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Quite expensive but understandable

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean rooms. The individual lights for each bunk were a nice touch.

Disliked: Not a lot of character.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and quiet, great for sleeping (this is not a party hostel, though there is a bar downstairs). Close to Old Town and a few minutes walk to train station. Good bed, good pillows, helpful staff, great stay overall. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location wasnt too bad, although it is a walk from the station. The showers and bathrooms were spacious and clean, probably the best I have encountered in Europe. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: I didnt get a good vibe from this place..It is a bit difficult to define why but I barely saw any other travellers and I didnt feel very safe here due to having a seedy looking sports bar downstairs. If travelling with other people it might be ok but as a solo traveller I wouldnt come back here, unless maybe in high season when there are other people around.Also the "fee" breakfast included horrible coffee and mouldy cheese. This could be a great hostel if they fixed the breakfast and made the bar area brighter and less seedy.

Check Availability