HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bern hostels

Reviews of Berne Backpackers Hotel Glocke

Hostel | Rathausgasse 75, Bern, Switzerland 3011

88.5% Overall Rating

753 out of 786 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/03/2014)

"Helpful staffs created a new key for me to use when I could not find my keys. Central location. Clean rooms with a sink, lockers, and tables. Finally, a splendid and atmospheric common room."

Read all Berne Backpackers Hotel Glocke reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Not included: CHF. 3.80 city tax per person per night. We have a cancellation policy of 48 hours. Reception-hours 08:00 - 12.00 and 15:00-22:00. LATEST POSSIBLE CHECK-IN IS 10 PM (22h00).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bern?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

753 out of 786 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Berne Backpackers Hotel Glocke'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 592 of 657 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elodie Grossenbacher

Alone

Business / conference

21 March 2014 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and well situated

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common room & location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staffs created a new key for me to use when I could not find my keys. Central location. Clean rooms with a sink, lockers, and tables. Finally, a splendid and atmospheric common room.

Disliked: A club is located right below the hostel so it might get noisy at night. Not a problem for me, since the staff offers free earplugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wonil Chung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Wonil would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and large lockers (suitable for even big bags..참고로 24인치 캐리어도 가능). Been here back in 2008 and liked it which made me return to this place again after 6 years.

Disliked: A bit of walk from the train station. 15 mins? but had no choice since there is no wide choices of hostels in Bern. (only expensive Hotels..)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ideal location, friendly and helpful staff, postcards

Disliked: no wifi in bedroom, no life on 0 floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Mauger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organized hostel. Had assigned beds, which I prefer. Very well equipped kitchen with double stoves/fridges. Large common room. Friendly staff. Quiet at night

Disliked: a bit expensive, but worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CELSO ULISES JUAREZ RAMIREZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 CELSO ULISES would recommend this property

Liked: Internet connection is very good in the common areas. They sell food, postcards, souvenirs and Swiss army knifes in the reception. The vending machine has ramen/noodles which is great for a cheap dinner. Location is perfect: a couple of blocks away from the station and inside the old town. Easy walking access to all of the attractions, and also to supermarkets. Each bed has reading light and plugs available. The locker is big enough for a big backpack. There's a tv in the common room, radio, sofas, PCs, printer, kitchen, washing machines, etc. There's a lot of useful information in the walls (maps, tours, recommendations, etc). In general very good.

Disliked: Not much. There's only one toilet per gender per floor, so it MAY be a problem on high season (I was there in low season so no problem for me).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed there for one night and didn't spend much time in the hostel, but it seemed to have a nice common area with kitchen and a board full of hints and tips for Bern.

Disliked: Limited reception hours. Very expensive.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elida Inés Thiery

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday

27 October 2013 Elida Inés would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, common room and security.

Disliked: no breakfast and no towels!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Casey Lowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: This property is centrally located and they had a lift available for getting luggage up to the top floors. Rooms were clean with enough lockers for everyone.

Disliked: There is nowhere to leave luggage if you arrive between 12-3. Though this is made clear when booking, some pay lockers in the common area would be helpful so that you don't have to sit and wait.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Thomsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing at all to complain about, well run hostel one of the cleanest ive ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great! Atmosphere was very warm! Would definitely come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Khwan Sivaraksa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Khwan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenny Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: This is how a hostel should be run. Great location, excellent facilities (fully equipped kitchen and common room, internet station + printing, souvenirs + booking, etc), laundry. Lots of plugs, lockers, clean rooms, etc.

Disliked: Wifi was weak in the room but downstairs common room had good atmosphere. Friggin expensive laundry (5 FR to wash + 5 to dry)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hostel that I would be willing to stay again! Sound price, nice staff, clean rooms, convenient location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common space was good.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas O'Regan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: It was great! Very close to everything, clean and comfortable. The lady at reception was lovely and made an effort to make sure myself and my partner were happy. It seemed as if a lot of thought went into our accomidation. For example, my partner and I were staying in a 6 bed doorm, but when we got there we found our allocated beds were in a separate part of the room, providing us with a little privacy. The showers were good. I have absolutely nothing bad to day about it:D

Disliked: Just be wary, the directions ask you to catch the no. 10 tram, but It's actually the number 10 bus.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hugo Gusmao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: 1. Behaviour of the staff. Somehow it seems some of the people who attend on reception enjoy giving orders to guests or embarassing them making them look stupid in front of everybody. It's everything but friendly or helpfull. I had the impression that as guest I was doing a favour being in the hostel. They surely have to work on good manners. 2. Guests are treated like cattle. 3. Personally I dislike hostels that stablish the quality of their rooms by the level of the floor, which was the case in this hostel. If you stayed in the fifth floor it seemed you belonged to an upper classe, since the bathroom were cleaner and the quality of rooms were better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaurav Gupta

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place with friendly staff, right in the middle of the center with lots of restaurants, shopping places within walking distance. The property was very clean and they had provided lockers inside the room for individual person which was really helpful and you feel more secure.

Disliked: The number of toilets and showers were a bit less in number. 2 showers, and 1 toilet each( male and female) on a floor where atleast 20 or more people are staying.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpfull, sheets are included (which is not so common) commodities (shower and privies) are clean

Disliked: Some noise from the dancefloor on the basement but it's ok if you close the window and do not mind a bit of background noise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms, bathrooms, and kitchen were all spotless. The staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and giving advice about trains etc. The location is absolutely perfect - very near the train station and in the middle of the city centre, five minutes walk away from all kinds of interesting things.

Disliked: The reception is closed from 12-3, which caused a slight problem with checking in, but someone was there to let us leave our bags so it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleaniness of the room and hostel.. staff was polite and friendly.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Criselle dela Cruz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Criselle would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities and the rooms were really clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I happily spent Christmas there. Shops and many establishments were closed but I was happy to stay in and watch movies, as well as use the entertainment facilities inside the hostel. The staff and other guests prepared cheese fondue and put together a feast for Christmas eve. It was beautiful.

Disliked: Nothing. Some people might say it's a little expensive but I think it's well worth the price.


See all Bern hostels