We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bern hostels

Reviews of Berne Backpackers Hotel Glocke

Hostel | Rathausgasse 75, Bern, Switzerland 3011

84.1% Overall Rating

777 out of 812 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

Maria Demyanenko thinks…

"I liked the location of the hostel, the hospitality of the staff, their readiness to help, I liked the room very much, it was small but very practical, and, as it was on the 5th floor it was very…"

Read all Berne Backpackers Hotel Glocke reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Not included: SFr. 5.30 tourist tax per person per night. Free public Transportation is included in the tourist tax. We have a cancellation policy of 48 hours. Reception-hours 08:00 - 12.00 and 15:00-22:00. LATEST POSSIBLE CHECK-IN IS 10 PM (22h00).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bern?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

777 out of 812 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Berne Backpackers Hotel Glocke'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 611 of 683 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

olivier bamba

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 February 2015 olivier would recommend this property

Liked: staff very help full , room very clean

Disliked: no tv in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Demyanenko

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 February 2015 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of the hostel, the hospitality of the staff, their readiness to help, I liked the room very much, it was small but very practical, and, as it was on the 5th floor it was very quiet.

Disliked: I disliked that there were many people in the kitchen at certain hours, but it seems unavoidable. It was not quite convenient to have to walk to the neighbouring hotel for breakfast and the breakfast was to my mind highly overpriced, but I was happy to have at least that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location in the centre of the old town. Quiet with comfortable beds for a great nights sleep.

Disliked: Only 1 power outlet in a room for 6 people!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Very clean and well looked after, nice place. Big rooms, lockers in the rooms and even a reading light for each bed. Clean, well equipped kitchen, nice common area, laundry facilities. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuchen LENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 Yuchen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is at a very convenient place and bed is clean and nice. The common kitchen is easy to use. Highly recommended if you are going to Bern

Disliked: Nothing I can think of.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 December 2014

Liked: This hostel has a very nice location

Disliked: There is a discotheque just below the hostel. You can hear thier music in midnight.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean stay. Linen for mattress, blanket and pillow were provided and they felt really clean. Rooms are spacious and there is a large desk that I really appreciate. Charging ports are aplenty and there are individual lights by each bed. Lockers are large and there are 2 compartments! Services were well-thought through. Really appreciated the clean kitchen which is well-stocked and fully equipped. Location is good as well, the main train station is a stone's throw away. I enjoyed the common room as well, we watched soccer on the TV and had a great time over dinner. Thankfully it wasn't overcrowded at all!

Disliked: Slightly pricey! But that's Switzerland for you.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shawna Weston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2014 Shawna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, good common area, helpful staff with lots of activity knowledge

Disliked: Expensive, but all of Switzerland is. No wi-fi in rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

titania heimerl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2014 titania would recommend this property

Liked: awsome location, couldnt get it better!!!!!!

Disliked: titania left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Gray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very clean, central location for sight seeing around Bern and nice common room to meet up with other travellers.

Disliked: Some staff members were very unhelpful, and booking activities through reception was a difficult. We were told to do it this way however the service was not good and in the end she gave us the phone to figure it out ourselves. Also it would be good to have reception open earlier and later. Our train returned late and it made getting deposits back from reception difficult, as we were leaving before reception opened the following morning. Another washing machine/dryer would be very welcomed too.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ryuhei Hagiwara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2014 Ryuhei would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, clean, secure.

Disliked: Reception closed until 15:00. Wifi only on 1st floor. Staffs didn't seem too happy doing their job. Night club downstairs so gets quite noisy on weekends. Though, there aren't many hostels in Switzerland so cant complain.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

REINALDO EDWIN

Alone

Business / conference

14 June 2014 REINALDO would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good

Disliked: REINALDO left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah McPhee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Location, lounge, kitchen and facilities. Loads of plugs in the rooms!

Disliked: No breakfast?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AFNAN SHAZWAN BIN NASARUDDIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 AFNAN SHAZWAN BIN would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the location is in the middle of the city, which is strategic for visiting many attractions around. I also love the public area which is nicely decorated, clean and full of booklets for information.

Disliked: My only complain is that the property is above a pub, in which the sound disturbed me a little bit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SUM MAN LAI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2014 SUM MAN would recommend this property

Liked: clean & staff is nice and helpful

Disliked: far away from train station but near restaurant, bar & fast food shop. so far ok but got noise sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARJAN SHTERJOV

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 MARJAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Robert Barnes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Private studio which we stayed in was clean and had great view.

Disliked: Overpriced, no wifi in rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean.

Disliked: There is no wifi connection in the rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Loud music from the bar doenstairs till very late

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elodie Grossenbacher

Alone

Business / conference

21 March 2014 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and well situated

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common room & location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staffs created a new key for me to use when I could not find my keys. Central location. Clean rooms with a sink, lockers, and tables. Finally, a splendid and atmospheric common room.

Disliked: A club is located right below the hostel so it might get noisy at night. Not a problem for me, since the staff offers free earplugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wonil Chung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Wonil would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and large lockers (suitable for even big bags..참고로 24인치 캐리어도 가능). Been here back in 2008 and liked it which made me return to this place again after 6 years.

Disliked: A bit of walk from the train station. 15 mins? but had no choice since there is no wide choices of hostels in Bern. (only expensive Hotels..)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ideal location, friendly and helpful staff, postcards

Disliked: no wifi in bedroom, no life on 0 floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Mauger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organized hostel. Had assigned beds, which I prefer. Very well equipped kitchen with double stoves/fridges. Large common room. Friendly staff. Quiet at night

Disliked: a bit expensive, but worth it.


See all Bern hostels