HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Old Town Hostel

Hostel | Stora Nygatan 22, Stockholm, Sweden 11127

76.6% Overall Rating

57 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/12/2013)

Alex Guglielmi thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and very nicely decorated, I really enjoyed spending 12 nights there."

Read all Old Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 7.27
  • Towel USD 2.18

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Archipelago Hostel Old Town
38.54 USD

Hostel 83.2% 285 reviews
Best Hostel Old Town, Stortorget
29.09 USD

Hostel 77.5% 48 reviews
Castanea Old Town Hostel
30.54 USD

Hostel 94.4% 35 reviews
The red boat Mälaren
39.63 USD

Hostel 89.5% 749 reviews
Hotell Anno 1647
53.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 5 reviews
2kronor Hostel - Old Town
34.90 USD

Hostel 77.6% 7 reviews
Best Hostel Old Town, Skeppsbron 22
21.81 USD

Hostel 75.2% 505 reviews
Anedin Hostel
30.84 USD

Hostel 78.2% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

57 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 68 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reception Staff were very good and accommodating. Location is set right in between two of the Night Life scenes.

Disliked: The shower area could be much better. They should install heaters in their room considering that the basement is cold. i had to sleep with my fleec jacket on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pasquale Carvelli

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 November 2012 Pasquale would recommend this property

Liked: style

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

László Fekete

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 László would recommend this property

Liked: - Quite large kitchen and other common places. - 3 PC´s with internet for the guests. - No need for keys: everything is locked by codes.

Disliked: - There is no natural light inside because the whole hostel is situated in the basement of the building. - The rooms are a little tight for four people.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 October 2012

Liked: clean and nice-looking

Disliked: Very low railing along the top bed of the bunk bed, that wasn't too fixed too tight and you had to hold it to climb in and out of the bed, didn't feel secure at all to use that

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Eugenia Olego Gual

Alone

City break

22 October 2012 Maria Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff treatment

Disliked: Maria Eugenia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karenina Gilliland

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 October 2012 Karenina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, REALLY comfortable beds, quirky atmosphere

Disliked: "Shared bathroom" = stalls with curtains, and only two of them, and one without

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the heart of Gamla Stan. An old warehouse-like basement in an ancient building.

Disliked: The lack of windows. Low ceiling in the bathroom.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Towfiqur Rahman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012

Liked: It had a lot of the basic necessaities as well as a kitchen that is useful.

Disliked: I was unable to check in after 6pm and was unable to check in on my first night, some of the others enabled me to spend the night there without actually being checked in because I arrived after midnight and even though I received a telephone number to contact in case of a late check in I was unable to receive any answer fom the numbers that were given. The room had no window which was not pleasant.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

OTAVIO BEN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 OTAVIO would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel in incredible! a bit expensive, but it's normal price in Stockholm, actually the cheapest one we have found, but noe regrets. We have bookes a six bed dorm, but they gave us 4 bed without extra costs. Me an my girlfriend really enjoy this hostel!

Disliked: Maybe if the kitchen would be 24 hours it will be better....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively new hostel, rooms were clean, excellent location in Gamla Stan, walkable distance to lots of attractions/sights.

Disliked: Staff very unhelpful/couldn't give any information about Stockholm, limited reception hours were a hassle, reception is meant to be open 9.00-18.00 but when we went to check-out at 10am there was no staff to be seen, so we had to call their contact number and try to check out over the phone.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: brand new stuff

Disliked: Not clean (4 days without bathroom and shower to be cleaned) Kitchen opened from 7am to 10pm only No internet access 24/7 (computers located in the kitchen area that is closed at night)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012

Liked: The hostel is very unique, it's like sleeping a cave! The kitchen was well equipped, they have a few computers if you don't have your own and a nice little sitting area. The location is right in Old Town which made it easy to walk to many of the sights around Stockholm as well as still being close to the train/bus station which was convenient!

Disliked: The bathrooms are very strange, reminded me of an old school high school bathroom. In the girls bathroom there was only one toilet (the boys is apparently the same) and three showers, two of the showers have curtains and one doesn't. So to get undressed and dressed you have to be out in the open with everything on show to anyone who may come in. I felt a bit uncomfortable with this but it might not bother others. Reception closes early so you need to be organised if arriving after 6pm. Top bunk beds didn't have a very stable rail which was a little bit scary, but as long as you're carefully it's not a huge problem. We had a super weirdo in our dorm (not your standard strange person, like really quite scary!), the guy on reception dealt with him as best as he could but I left feeling very uncomfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Wood

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this was a great hostel, you can't really ask for a better location, its just off one of the main streets in the old town in Stockholm so its easy to get everywhere. The design of the hostel is very quirky - in a very good way (its in a basement, so its not big but cool design and good facilities), the cooking facilities are great and so are the bunk beds in the rooms!! Showers powerful and hot! Free wifi! Its not a party hostel thats for sure but it still has a nice atmosphere. Felt safe here and would definately reccomend to other travelers

Disliked: If im being very picky, perhaps shower curtains on the showers, but it didnt bother me.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2012

Liked: Since there are only two reviews so far, I will be verbose. * Central location in Gamla Stan. * Fun, quirky design.

Disliked: This is a bad hostel. Since there are only two reviews so far, I will be verbose. * Staff speaks badly broken English, and no Swedish at all. * Hostel is unable to receive payment by card. This was "solved" by them writing down the card number and calling the bank for a manual transfer - which took well over half an hour in total. * There is a problem with the toilet, and there is constantly a pool of stale water / urine around it. Staff was informed, but did nothing to rectify this. * Shower area is open - no separate shower cabins. * Shower area has a very low ceiling. * In-room lockers are completely unsafe and can be opened by forcing the doors down. * In-room lockers' digital locks sometimes forget the passcode and can't be opened, meaning you have to force the door open as described above. * Linen not included in price. * Beds are short - at most 180 cm long. If you're 170 or more, your feet won't fit if you're sleeping on your stomach. * Rooms are cramped - very little space for bags etc. * The door is anonymous and easy to miss, even if you have the street address. * Very few people staying here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patience Allen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 May 2012 Patience would recommend this property

Liked: great location.

Disliked: The lockers provided (great!) had locks that wouldn't always open again. But the staff on hand could easily fix that so it wasn't a big problem, just a little annoyance. Would have been better if they emptied the trash in the ladies bathroom more than once a day too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

senem gunes

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2012 senem would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this hostel.there is new and there is safe place.You are middle of everywhere. And atmosphere is so good.when you went they will give you security code for opening rooms and wardrobe.And that was great.

Disliked: reception is working until 6 p.m .thats all