We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Best Hostel Old Town, Stortorget

Hostel | Trångsund 12, Gamla Stan, Stockholm, Sweden 11129

72.3% Overall Rating

44 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/01/2014)

"Location is very good, just off the main square in the Old Town, so it is very central."

Read all Best Hostel Old Town, Stortorget reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that for same day bookings, the latest time we accept bookings will be 3 pm. Our hostel can accommodate up to 70 guests, in rooms of 2, 4, 5, 7, 9 or 24 beds. We offer both private and shared rooms (dormitories). The rooms are bright with large windows. All the beds have proper spring mattresses and mattress pads, pillows and duvets. We do not have any rooms with private bathrooms, WC and showers are found in the corridors on every floor. Bed linen is included in our prices! We do not allow sleeping bags or that you sleep without bed sheets because of hygienic reasons. A set with towels can be rent for 15 SEK at the reception. There is free Wi-Fi in every room and also a computer for our guests to use. There are TVs is most rooms. There is a smaller kitchen with seating for 10 people at the time. Free use of tea and coffee machine. Possibility to heat food also access to a refrigerator. Please note that if you plan to check in after 17.00 you must contact us to get codes and information for a later check in. When you stay here you can bring your own bed linen and towels but you can also rent from us : Bed linen 50SEK/person Towels 15SEK/person We do not allow sleeping bags or that you sleep without bed linen.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Archipelago Hostel Old Town
23.49 USD

Hostel 83.2% 285 reviews
Old Town Hostel
25.56 USD

Hostel 75.5% 72 reviews
Castanea Old Town Hostel
25.56 USD

Hostel 93.1% 41 reviews
Dockside Hostel Old Town
33.16 USD

Hostel 76.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Gamla Stan
38.00 USD

Hostel 74.4% 543 reviews
The red boat Mälaren
35.93 USD

Hostel 87.8% 755 reviews
Anedin Hostel
25.87 USD

Hostel 78.7% 45 reviews
Hotell Anno 1647
61.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

44 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Best Hostel Old Town, Stortorget'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 55 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not enough showers, they are also fairly dirty. The kitchen is very bad eqipped, you can't even cook pasta. Also at night there is nobody from the staff in the hostel, leaving drunk people doing whatever they want (slamming doors, screaming etc.)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful for all things stockholm

Disliked: Not enough showers for the hostel. Kind of dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Location, Location

Disliked: If you really needed to check something on the internet in the evening/early morning, it was consistently not funcional.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Hanna scott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: The location, lots of power points in the dorm.

Disliked: We stayed in the 24 bed dorm. It was really stuffy, there was no where to put your bag.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Simon Palethorpe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No real common room or place to hang out and meet others

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikk Saar

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 April 2014 Mikk would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location.

Disliked: They were locked at 1 o`clock, although the check-in time should have been starting at that time. I had to wait 20 minutes to get into the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Felix Ackermann

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff

Disliked: One of our two bed had a broken food

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in very good location, i loved the design of common area, beds are comfy.

Disliked: At one point there was no hot water.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014

Liked: Location is very good, just off the main square in the Old Town, so it is very central.

Disliked: VERY dirty inside. The reception closes early (1700) and there is no control after that. On the first morning of my stay there appeared to be a man living in the kitchen, complete with bags, and sleeping there. Kitchen was very dirty, overflowing bins, dirty surfaces and also some kind of insects running around the floor (but at least there were no in the bed). Showers and toilets were also dirty. All the bathrooms needed a very good clean, things like drains blocked with hairs, and also general grime. It was very surprising to find such a dirty place in Sweden. No way would I book this hostel again.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013

Liked: The beds were comfortable and clean, easy self-help system. I liked the free pasta and the available use of the kitchen.

Disliked: The lack of a 24/7 reception was quite disruptive and the Wifi was very bad. Besides that, my friend's entire bag got stolen, my bag got searched and my iPhone charger got stolen. We aren't sure who the culprit was although it seemed unlikely that it was the other backpackers. When it happened, there was no number to call as the number listed was the office number and there was nobody at the reception outside the office hours of 9am-5pm. We tried calling the other "Best Hotel Stockholm" but it turns out that the 2 hostels were no longer affiliated. There wasn't enough toilets as a few was shared across the whole building.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: The localization is excellent.

Disliked: It's a old place and not so clean... cigarette smell in the bathroom...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: The toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location,the atmosphere are very good

Disliked: sometimes some people disturb nighttime.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Evgeny Pekshev

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Evgeny would recommend this property

Liked: Удобное местоположение.

Disliked: Как и в любом другом хостеле могло бы быть и почище.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good-- right at the centre of the old town, within easy walking distance to the central station.

Disliked: the refrigerators smelled, definitely needed regular cleaning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Mei

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

10 December 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The performance-to-price ratio is high.

Disliked: The sound-proofing is not good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is one of the best I've ever booked

Disliked: In hostelbookers.com booking confirmation it was written the reception is open until 9 p.m. But they are until 5 p.m. So I had to waste more than 1 hour to manage the problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Osborne

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: great location, really friendly staff. small which i liked great for meeting new people.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, cleanliness, staff

Disliked: hm... difficult to say...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marin Mladinic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Marin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Clean and quiet.

Disliked: Marin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was more than ok.

Disliked: no problems

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was PERFECT, and the hostel had a full kitchen with free pasta, a tv, computers, and couches. It was a great place to meet people.

Disliked: There were NO lockers or places to store valuables. You had to "trust" the strangers in your room, which I was very uncomfortable with since I traveled with my company's laptop and an expensive camera.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: reception time

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No Breakfast?

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011

Liked: Brilliant location

Disliked: Been travelling for 3 months and the only hostel where I got bed bugs. horrible.