HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Best Hostel Old Town, Skeppsbron 22

Hostel | Skeppsbron 22, Stockholm, Sweden 111 30

74.2% Overall Rating

458 out of 502 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Gareth Burkitt thinks…

"It was quite safe and secure, had a nice location. Showers were ok, beds were fine to sleep on"

Read all Best Hostel Old Town, Skeppsbron 22 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Anedin Hostel
31.05 USD

Hostel 78.6% 43 reviews
2kronor Hostel - Old Town
35.14 USD

Hostel 77.6% 7 reviews
Castanea Old Town Hostel
30.75 USD

Hostel 94.3% 34 reviews
Best Hostel Old Town, Stortorget
29.29 USD

Hostel 77.5% 47 reviews
STF/HI af Chapman
47.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
STF/HI Skeppsholmen
31.48 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
38.80 USD

Hostel 83.2% 285 reviews
Old Town Hostel
36.61 USD

Hostel 76.6% 71 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.2%

Overall Rating

458 out of 502 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Best Hostel Old Town, Skeppsbron 22'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 491 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gareth Burkitt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite safe and secure, had a nice location. Showers were ok, beds were fine to sleep on

Disliked: There was no breakfast included, there was nothing to dry your hands with in the toilet.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yunyeh Cho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: The location; near Gamlastan

Disliked: I was bitten by bed bugs and the hostel didn't do anything about it. I had to request my rooms get changed, buy antidotes, do the laundry, and I had to do that all on my account. I asked the reception, they just avoided responsibility, telling me to write to the manager, which the manager didn't even read or reply to any of the emails. I got a room in the attic-like place, and the place was like a maze, as many people had said in the hostel review. But I am usually good at adapting to places and don't have much complaints. But this was just unacceptable. Rest of my trip was ruined because I was itching from the bites and couldn't sleep. I asked and they said they had this complaint from a month ago. Then why didn't they do anything about it? Why would they give people the rooms that weren't sterilized? This wasn't my only trip, I came here to rest, instead got more stressed about it. Hostels are supposed to provide accommodation, not infect people. Very disappointing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Noel Zammit Pawley

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Noel would recommend this property

Liked: It's an awesome hostel with a wonderful location and character!!

Disliked: Noel left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are tight on budget, this is the place for you. But if you have a few extra cash to spare, I would recommend you to stay somewhere else.

Disliked: I would trade free breakfast for better wi-fi. It didn't work at all. No lockers and no alcohol is allowed in the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Rooms are older, but clean hard to find some rooms due to random location of stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ibrahim Salawu

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 July 2014 Ibrahim would recommend this property

Liked: Being situated in old town means that you wake up to some very nice views and youre never too far away from peace and quiet

Disliked: The breakfast range wasnt great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the rooms are affordable and clean with a safe atmosphere within the hostel. There are a number of computers available for use within the hostel which is extremely useful to those that stay here.

Disliked: The set up of the hostel is a little confusing at first, but you can get used to it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent complementary breakfast and WiFi. Amazing location!

Disliked: Could have cleaner restrooms.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location and the price.

Disliked: It wasn't too easy to find anything. And the complimentary breakfast was rather marginal. The kitchens and eating areas were not large enough to seat everybody. And not enough plates or cuttlery for everyone, so it became like shift eating. (Allso, my roll tasted like toothpaste)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Olivia Filbrandt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: This place was a great location, even better than we expected as we chose it for the price. After staying here we've already recommended it to friends and family planning to visit the area. The staff was especially helpful when we stopped in before check in as well as after checking out, helping us find a valuable towel we'd left behind.

Disliked: Compared to other hostels I've stayed on, it does not have the greatest common areas so it isn't the most conducive place for meeting fellow travelers. Secondly, the bathrooms, while very private and clean, they're kind of sketchy.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: the room was stinky

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robson Felipe Hang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Robson Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect. It is also really clean.

Disliked: Staff did not seem to be so friendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen op de tweede etage, vriendelijk personeel, mogelijkheden tot achter laten van bagage op de laatste dag.

Disliked: Sees above

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Merli Ilves

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Merli would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - right in Gamla stan, easy to find and get to. I stayed in a dorm room, in this hostel bed linen and breakfast are included in the price. Nice views from the window over the sea during the breakfast. Clean rooms, bathrooms - cleaning ladies visible. Possibility to use free PCs, although wifi in the rooms sometimes of not so strong quality. Security - ok, although no lockers in the rooms. Helpful reception. Free tea/coffee in the kitchen.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. No common area in the usual sense.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin Johnston

Alone

Family Holiday

26 May 2014 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from central Station with good facilities

Disliked: Robin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price.

Disliked: Very modest breakfast!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, it's in an old building which is kind of quirky. Check-in staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Reviews I read before booking had me worried about security - the potential of weird non-hostel people wandering around and no lockers in dorms. Stayed in a 16 person, and thought security was great - locks on the outer doors and inner dorm doors, so in the end the usual gamble with having hopefully trustworthy dorm mates. Reviews had me expecting dorm rooms absolutely packed with beds and no room to move. And to freeze. Wasn't the case at all for us! Breakfast was cheap, basic museli that comes in huge 10 kilo sacks, bread, margarine, jam, and milk and had an attendant that attacked every crumb and dribble keeping everything spic and span!

Disliked: Wifi was a big struggle - which reception pre-warned us about via an excuse about it being an old building (funny, the connections for the surrounding businesses somehow penetrate the old building and arrive at devices stronger than the hostel wifi). The kitchens were quite sub-par, especially for such a huge hostel. No cooking oil, salt, pepper provided. Very minimal cooking amenities in a place so expensive that budget travelers will definitely be cooking for themselves. Got unlucky with a much older, non-typical traveler, drunk man showing up late at night. He wasn't Swedish. He banged on the dorm door several times to be let in before (presumably) using his key card, flipped on the overhead lights, rummaged around loudly for a good while. He didn't really have any luggage, but his coat and shoulder bag he threw up on the top bunk instead of on the floor (Maybe this is what the other reviews meant about weird people wandering around and local people seeming to sneak in and sleep free?) Then had the nerve to confront the quiet young man who came in ten minutes later about turning off his rather dim bunk light so drunkie could sleep. Then he set to snoring so loudly that all of us who he'd woken with his original antics couldn't fall asleep. Perhaps we were just unlucky, or perhaps this place is so cheap that it attracts a secondary category of clientele?

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

18 May 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: Too cold in the room, when we asked for extra blankets they didn't have (how is that possible not even one extra blanket in such huge hostel). We got electric heater instead. We couldn't sleep in the night cause of the noise from the neighbours and we could hear all noise from the corridor. Dirty tolites. In the morning it was almost impossible to find a free table for breakfast.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rahul Bantiya

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: Its definitely value for money. Good staff.

Disliked: The dorms are too small and dark. Many beds are stuffed into one room. The building is like a maze! Bad breakfast :(

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: dirty and unsafety

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

daniel Perals Valldeperez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the price includes a good buffet breakfast and linen.We were in the 28 people dorm and as it is divided in 3 parts it was ok.

Disliked: In the morning there was no toilet paper

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sim Shin Ying

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Sim would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and cosy. Feels like a hotel here. They are very organised and made my stay really memorable. Good location.

Disliked: Nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2014

Liked: I liked the beds and the location was excellent!

Disliked: The bathrooms need to be cleaned more frequently as the shower overflows to the rest of the bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived at 6:30 AM and the hostel could've easily made us wait outside and at most leave our bags. Instead the very nice guy at the reception felt sorry for us(massive bags, cold, after a night bus from Oslo), let us have coffee in the ktichen and hang out for a bit before we left. Our room was clean, nice, with a view over the waterfront. Beds were clean, common bathrooms not many but clean. Kitchen also very clean and comfortable, with the option for cooking food if we so desired. Coffee machine produced free and not-bad-at-all coffee. Breakfast nothing special, but just right for a light morning.

Disliked: Perhaps a couple more bathrooms would've been better, and a more reliable wifi, but other than that it was all good.