We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Gamla Stan

Hostel | Skeppsbron 22, Stockholm, Sweden 111 30

74.5% Overall Rating

492 out of 547 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Good value for money, good facilities on offer including a kitchen which was very useful (although not always well stocked). Staff were friendly."

Read all Hostel Gamla Stan reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Castanea Old Town Hostel
27.32 USD

Hostel 93.3% 48 reviews
Best Hostel Old Town, Stortorget
23.76 USD

Hostel 72.5% 58 reviews
STF/HI af Chapman
36.83 USD

Hostel 96.9% 10 reviews
STF/HI Skeppsholmen
26.73 USD

Hostel 87.3% 22 reviews
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
32.67 USD

Hostel 83.2% 287 reviews
Old Town Hostel
30.29 USD

Hostel 76.0% 84 reviews
Hotell Anno 1647
52.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 6 reviews
Gustaf af Klint
26.73 USD

Guesthouse 74.2% 344 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.5%

Overall Rating

492 out of 547 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Gamla Stan'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 346 of 534 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Krzywiec

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2015 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Great price for a great location + breakfast included!

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marco Ursprung

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2015 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: hervorragende Lage in Gamla Stan

Disliked: Das Personal war beim Check in offensichtlich überfordert, klappte doch einiges nicht so ganz nach Wunsch

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paulina Kmiecik

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2014

Liked: price, location, good breakfast

Disliked: we were robbed of money :( some people seem to stay in hostel without awareness of stuff. very crowded. (it's safest to take with you documents, money, camera etc even if you're going to the toilet for 5 minutes) lack of comfortable common areas.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Adam Lev

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Some WiFi problems, I couldn't use it during my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maranee Sanders

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014 Maranee would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable, clean, nıce people stayıng there.

Disliked: loved the twın bed room whıch was a good sıze, double bed room was a bıt small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, good facilities on offer including a kitchen which was very useful (although not always well stocked). Staff were friendly.

Disliked: Breakfast was adequate but not great. The bedside lights also did not work which was annoying as it meant that we were often woken up. No security lockers but the staff at reception were willing to look after things for you.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: I really loved the location, the hostel is located directly in the Old Town, which is great as there are many restaurants, bars, supermarkets and stuff! Breakfast is free.

Disliked: It was not that clean, there was no such thing like a cozy common area and there weren't enough chairs and tables for breakfast. I had to eat while I was standing. It is not a good hostel to meet other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014

Liked: breakfast was standard and quite good

Disliked: Internet is so lame (Wifi + Desktop-PCs), not even surfing the web is possible!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jozica CIBER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014 Jozica would recommend this property

Liked: /

Disliked: /

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Atina Vertzonis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Atina would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great

Disliked: Atina left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014

Liked: Unfortunately the only good thing related to this hostel is the location. They have no lockers, toilets and showers quite disgusting. Noisy neighbourhood.

Disliked: They have no lockers, toilets and showers quite disgusting. Noisy neighbourhood.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Eeva-Maria Hooli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014

Liked: The breakfast.

Disliked: - no lockers - noisy street at night - no control of people entering the hostel at the other door during the night - Bathrooms are extremely dirty and discusting!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad.. Easy to find.

Disliked: squeaky bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Jefferson

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building and clean equipment

Disliked: Some staff were a bit resentful to help at first but all were accommodating eventually.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

marta scatarzi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 marta would recommend this property

Liked: the position is really good, the place is beautifull, the organization and the facilities are good, the staff is nice and helpful, inernet sometimes works only near the computers they have.

Disliked: there are no lockers but Sweden is a safe place so they probably do not think there's the need of lockers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location. some of the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: some staff were less friendly and smiley, on my arrival there awas a very sour faced woman at reception, luckily she did not end up being the woman checking me in. Breakfast is very basic but ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaisa Raiskio

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2014 Kaisa would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location (ocean, Gamla Stan), beautiful old house, good breakfast

Disliked: No safety boxes in the rooms, little bit confusin bilding (labyrint)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcin Danko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Good localization

Disliked: There shoud be locker for everybody traveller

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Marion

Alone

Business / conference

10 August 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean :)

Disliked: Lack of fresh air in the dorme...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Pamela Izunwanne

Alone

City break

08 August 2014

Liked: The price is somewhat reasonable but compared to other properties, not necessarily a superb price in terms of low occupancy rooms.

Disliked: The bathrooms were the dirtiest I have ever seen. I felt like running away. This property had so many bathrooms but they were all equally dirty and almost nauseating. I regretted my decision to stay here for one night. I went to bed thinking the bathrooms will be cleaner in the morning but that didn't happen at all. The bathrooms were even dirtier in the morning. I should have just booked a cheap hotel and saved myself the horror of having to enter the bathrooms. very unpleasant.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chelsea Maycock

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 August 2014 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Cheap for the area.

Disliked: Breakfast was poor. The showers/bathrooms were filthy, should have sectioned showers or better draining or no shoes allowed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Bradbrook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location - close to everywhere in the Old Town, a 10/15 minute walk from central station and Sodermalm too. Staff on reception were really friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was quite simple but good! Also the beds were really comfy!

Disliked: It was disappointing that there were no lockers in the dorms to store valuables.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gareth Burkitt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite safe and secure, had a nice location. Showers were ok, beds were fine to sleep on

Disliked: There was no breakfast included, there was nothing to dry your hands with in the toilet.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yunyeh Cho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: The location; near Gamlastan

Disliked: I was bitten by bed bugs and the hostel didn't do anything about it. I had to request my rooms get changed, buy antidotes, do the laundry, and I had to do that all on my account. I asked the reception, they just avoided responsibility, telling me to write to the manager, which the manager didn't even read or reply to any of the emails. I got a room in the attic-like place, and the place was like a maze, as many people had said in the hostel review. But I am usually good at adapting to places and don't have much complaints. But this was just unacceptable. Rest of my trip was ruined because I was itching from the bites and couldn't sleep. I asked and they said they had this complaint from a month ago. Then why didn't they do anything about it? Why would they give people the rooms that weren't sterilized? This wasn't my only trip, I came here to rest, instead got more stressed about it. Hostels are supposed to provide accommodation, not infect people. Very disappointing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Noel Zammit Pawley

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Noel would recommend this property

Liked: It's an awesome hostel with a wonderful location and character!!

Disliked: Noel left no negative feedback.