We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostels By Nordic

Hostel | Drottninggatan 83, Stockholm, Sweden 111 60

63.5% Overall Rating

377 out of 458 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2015)

arielle findon thinks…

"The staff were friendly and helpful, but I did no complain so I'm Not sure how they would deal with complaints. The hostel Room was okay and the sheets were fresh"

Read all Hostels By Nordic reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.18

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

***Please contact Hostels By Nordic at least 1 day before arrival, so you can receive a code for entering the front door if you arrive after 18.00pm Mon-Fri and after 15.00pm on Sat-Sun.***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Interhostel
23.54 USD

Hostel 69.7% 917 reviews
Hotel Micro
29.38 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.0% 10 reviews
City Backpackers Hostel
28.39 USD

Hostel 95.5% 1797 reviews
Colonial Hotel
37.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.1% 656 reviews
Hostel Bed and Breakfast
37.85 USD

Hostel 83.2% 251 reviews
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel
23.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 3 reviews
Vanadis Hotell och Bad
38.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 145 reviews
Crafoord Place
23.66 USD

Hostel 89.4% 281 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.5%

Overall Rating

377 out of 458 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostels By Nordic'

Atmosphere
50.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 444 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well-located, cheap by Swedish standards. You get what you pay for.

Disliked: Kitchen is small, poorly-maintained and not terribly hygienic, bins not emptied even when overflowing. Reception only open during the day (closes at 6 in the evening). None of the dorms have windows (!) which means that it is pitch-black without the lights on even in the middle of the day. Hostel attracts some really, really strange people, although I may have just been unlucky in that respect.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015

Liked: Location was absolutely great

Disliked: Small rooms and no window in our room and it no lockers since the long term boarders were using them all. Lots of long term boarders living at this hostel so they took over the very small common room. Showers were opposite the common room. Very small kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elena Jordan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Staffel is very helpful.

Disliked: Can only pay with credit card.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

arielle findon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2015

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful, but I did no complain so I'm Not sure how they would deal with complaints. The hostel Room was okay and the sheets were fresh

Disliked: The hostel kitchen was very unclean and smelt really bad. They need more cleaners. There were ants in the cupboard !! Also the hostel room had no window so it got really hot. Free tea and coffee but in an unsanitary kitchen should not be advertised ! Also the showers are right next to the kitchen so you have to walk past everyone, bit of a strange lay out. I wouldn't mind any of this for a really cheap price. But for what we paid I think it was over priced.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Chadi El Rayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: If you are a backpacker expecting to meet other travelers, this is not your place. It's rather a Pakistani residence for long staying labor in Stockholm coming from Central Asia and Africa. The manager was rude, he charged extra just because I did not extend my stay online. Bashir, the receptionist was nice though. Internet was also broken for more than a day, and all they had was execuses but no action.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Ana Maria Stapasolla Vargas Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015

Liked: Is near to the central terminal.

Disliked: The staff wasn't there in the afternoon. Also, the description says that the hostel has lockers, but those are limited, so not every guest can get one.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Claire Hardie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2014

Liked: Comfortable bed with curtains surrounding, had a good nights sleep. Lockers are in the hallways but are quite large so that was handy. Check in staff was friendly. Good wifi.

Disliked: There seemed to be people living there.. Lack of toliets. No proper common area.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: smal kitchen

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Emily Ades

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were super quiet at night that you couldn't hear anything going on outside and the beds were very comfy. It's in a great location, right near everything you need to be.

Disliked: Where do I start: The chill out room was so small and there were always so many people in there cooking and making noise. The showers were right next to It, with little privacy and they were pretty dirty. The toilets were no better, been right next door and the showers/toilets were all mixed. It was way over crowded with people always everywhere that you could never get a seat to chill If you wanted to. I thought it was weird that the reception was open for about 4 hrs a day and we had to chase them so we could pay the bill (because we arrived late on the Friday night). I would only recommend this If someone was wanting to spend all there time outside the hostel because the rooms are good.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

muhammad ali awan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 muhammad ali would recommend this property

Liked: on main drottninggaten street , and facilities to use kitchen

Disliked: no window and there was awful smell inside the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price Staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: Communal area and bathrooms unclean

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brian Parks

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014

Liked: Close to major attractions and central station.

Disliked: There appear to have been permanent residents. They were always cooking, so the odor of food was always present. We booked a 6 bed room, but were given a 4 bed room. The rooms were quite cramped with not much luggage storage. Luckily the other two visitors in our room were friendly and quiet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HSIU-LING LIN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 HSIU-LING would recommend this property

Liked: It's free and you can truly enjoy yourself inside. Staffs are friendly and won't bother you. But most of time the kitchen is quiet dirty to use. I think they should pay more attmention to that.

Disliked: HSIU-LING left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

LACE MATARLO

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 May 2014

Liked: It was just bad. The place has permanent borders and thought that they rented the whole dormitory room. Trash all over the place.

Disliked: Flooding inside the hotel. The water pipeline broke that it was impossible to get into the room. It was too tiny rooms and have permanent borders.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nathan Iaquinto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location on main street surrounded by shops and cafés, etc. Staff were welcoming and friendly.

Disliked: Really basic, small rooms with no windows. Seemed to be a lot of older guests, not many younger people staying there. Shower was ok, though handle to turn on was broken.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2014

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The hostel when we arrived was quite dirty and unorganised. However they cleaned it the next day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, basic but clean rooms, very efficient and helpful staff. Great value for money! Would definitely come back to this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Conroy Larkin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013

Liked: helpful staff and some of the backpackers

Disliked: the rooms the location of the shower and toilets are all out in the open and sit right off the lounger area.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013

Liked: Location Location Location and high speed wifi.

Disliked: Common area really dirty. Staffs obviously didn't ask some customers to clean their dishes. And the showers are broken. No windows in the room. The worst part of my experience was that some old guys constantly harassed me in the common room right in front of one of the staff, but he didn't say anything to stop it. So...female travelers should be aware of it. Also one night my friend from high school visited, we went to the club and came back late. So she crashed my place 630AM -10AM. And they fined us.......

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Reinhard Nowak

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2013 Reinhard would recommend this property

Liked: in the center, in the heart of the city, nice stuff

Disliked: no windows in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to the central station

Disliked: Not enough space around

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul King

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic dark quiet rooms, right in the town. You can go out partying, then get a good sleep and not get blinded by the sunrise! Helpful, polite service.

Disliked: Kitchen was always a mess, but that wasn't the hostel's fault.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was really good, located on a pedestrian shopping street close to everything!

Disliked: no windows in the room, we slept in really late because of that. the second day we were there the light stopped working so we had to use our cell phones and lamps to find things in our room/luggage. there is a family living there, we had no problems but other people complained about their backpacks getting moved around in the room and that someone was sleeping in their bed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 July 2013

Liked: good location and somewhat cheap

Disliked: rooms have NO WINDOWS door to room #10 did not work properly, I spent two hours in summary trying to enter the room, mostly by force; I once called the management for help, NONE was sent!!! the wifi does HARDLY work, a five minute chat would take twenty minutes! BAD and uninviting atmosphere, everything sends the message that you only stay here to sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quite big, single lights and plugs or each bed. The kitchen was clean.

Disliked: Too bad someone was living in my room and left her stuff all over the room. Apart fom that no major problem.