We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Långholmen Hostel STF/HI

Hostel | Langholmsmuren 20, P.O. Box 9116, Stockholm, Sweden 10272

94.5% Overall Rating

1092 out of 1130 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2015)

Brigitte Palazzolo-Noeding thinks…

"the location is great, staff friendly, rooms clean, good kitchen with all the facilities"

Read all Långholmen Hostel STF/HI reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 11.64
  • Linen USD 7.72
  • Towel USD 2.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: Långholmen is a Hostelling International (HI) member hostel. If you do not have HI membership card when you arrive, you will be charged a SEK 50 (approx. US$7) supplement per night and guest. Bed linen, towel, breakfast and cleaning are not included in the price, but can be hired / bought in the reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Stockholm Hostel
29.40 USD

Hostel 88.8% 69 reviews
Lodge32
21.98 USD

Hostel 70.1% 814 reviews
Belman Vandrarhem
21.38 USD

Hostel 70.3% 176 reviews
HI Hostel Zinkensdamm
27.92 USD

Hostel 90.2% 369 reviews
ACCO hostel
20.20 USD

Hostel 64.0% 270 reviews
Three Crown Bed and Breakfast
35.64 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 70 reviews
Crafoord Place
23.76 USD

Hostel 88.0% 287 reviews
Hotel Attache
76.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

1092 out of 1130 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Långholmen Hostel STF/HI'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 615 of 814 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brigitte Palazzolo-Noeding

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2015 Brigitte would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great, staff friendly, rooms clean, good kitchen with all the facilities

Disliked: the description of how to get there could be much better, we spent quite a while sorting out where the hostel is. It is great to share a prisoner's cell, but the banging of doors, especially at night time, could be prevented I guess.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leandra Senn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Leandra would recommend this property

Liked: We haf our room in the part of the museum. It was interesting to see all the museum stuff. Clean room, nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: It was a long walk from the tram station to the hotel (about 15min)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tommy Lundvall

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Tommy would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful surrounding on Långholmen island. Nice walks and a cosy beach. Cool feeling of being on a lush island and in the sametime a big city.

Disliked: There is a 10 minute walk to the subway. And the breakfast was too expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool location

Disliked: Sourounding is a condtruction

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique atmosphere, friendly staff, beautiful location

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is just right. it is pretty central and you can either walk into the city or catch the bus or subway, which is just around the corner. furthermore, the atmosphere is great and when you order breakfast, you get everything you want. the buffet offers everything you can imagine.

Disliked: nothing :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Rider

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Such a unique setting for a hostel! Staying in the old prison really added an extra element to our trip, and makes it a hostel to remember. The staff were incredibly welcoming and all had great knowledge of the local area - recommending shops and restaurants to walk to.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

HASAN SAFAK BULUTLAR

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 HASAN SAFAK would recommend this property

Liked: Having the entire 4 bed room just for myself. Lucky coincidence. I also liked the guest kitchen where you can cook your own food and have some drinks with your friend. I stayed at the museum part, so that was also pretty cool.

Disliked: Room I was in was kind of small and I had some internet connection problem since my room had poor wifi signal. They declined the request of having a password of stronger wifi network named 'Conference'. I arrived at 7 AM 24th Jan 2015 and I would've been so happy if they would give me one of their rooms. I had to wait until 3 PM to check in and put my staff in my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antti Sand

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014 Antti would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and location, it's like living inside a museum. The rooms (19th century isolation cells) are small and prison-like ('cose it's a prison), but safe and cozy.

Disliked: Bring your own linen and towels. The bathrooms don't even have paper towel to dry your hands.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Historic surroundings, peacefull parklike environment

Disliked: Nothing to complain

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aeneas De Baets

Alone

City break

22 August 2014 Aeneas would recommend this property

Liked: My room was perfect: very nice furnished, clean, quiet, safe (with a locker in it).

Disliked: A bit far from the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alena tsialezhnikava

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 alena would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything! camera, food, stage to/from the metro, security, a place to walk, neighbors))

Disliked: alena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Schuett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Villagelike and near center.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful location close to trendy area with bars and restaurants. The beach area in front of the hostel with lots of opportunities for walking/running in the forest, Great kitchen and dining area. Clean hostel with friendly staff. I'd stay again.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vera Pospisilova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2014 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the location. We knew when I was doing the booking that it'll be a little further away from the center (about 4 km), but we were planning to rent bikes, which we did and spent 4 days exploring Stockholm on bikes, which I strondly reccommend to everyone. The distance from the centre was therefore no problem at all. One tip though - if you are getting to this hostel to Arlanda Airport, get the Flygbussarna bus in direction to Liljeholmen and get of at Hornstul. It's about 10 min walking distance from the hostel.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike. This hostel is great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clara Giraldo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: Great breasdfast

Disliked: Clara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marko Hentunen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service and peacefull place to stay

Disliked: Marko left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a unique experience, and the location wasn't bad.

Disliked: A bit unnecessary to have to rent bedsheets and towels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martha Linn Scheel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Martha Linn would recommend this property

Liked: I wrote about this in my earlier review, about my stay from May 20-21. Nice staff, interesting surroundings.

Disliked: As I mentioned earlier, it's a bit hard to find because it wasn't clear to me that the hostel is housed in the same building as the hotel/conference center. There are plenty of signs for that more upscale side of the facility--look for those.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff who responded quickly to email questions before my stay, including agreeing to keep my bicycle and some gear for me while I traveled to Helsinki and then returned 5 days later for another stay. Excellent kitchen for those of us who prefer to cook our own meals. Lots of 'atmosphere' relating to the former prison. Good reliable WiFi

Disliked: Hostel appears to be a 'sideline' in a facility really aimed at more upscale clientele (those staying in the hotel portion of the building). This wasn't much of a problem (in some ways it was an advantage in that we got to use some common areas) but , for example, it wasn't easy to find the hostel when I first arrived. Tthere are lots of signs leading to the hotel/conference center but I didn't know it was the same place, and when I asked locals out for jog around the island, none knew there was a hostel much less where it was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Pryczek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Very good localization, about 30 minutes walk to the center of Stockholm. Great place to relax:) Quietly, clean and enough modern. Big kitchen to prepare own eat.

Disliked: Good value for money, near centrum, unique atmosphere old prison:)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

FILOTHEI PAPOUTSAKI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 FILOTHEI would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaning and service.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthoy Dubbioso

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Anthoy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff and easy to access on the underground

Disliked: Not much atmosphere and the bar Restaurant seemed empty but that may be due to the time of the year

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old prison, nice atmosphere, great breakfast (100 SEK extra)

Disliked: Location is not the best

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For an hostel standards is very good

Disliked: Noise in the corridors (room´s soundproofing issues), but the noise was only made in the morning, not at nigth :) The direcions to the hostel have to be better, and the signs and ligth in the Långholmen park also have to be better.