We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Långholmen Hostel STF/HI

Hostel | Langholmsmuren 20, P.O. Box 9116, Stockholm, Sweden 10272

94.9% Overall Rating

1060 out of 1098 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Antti Sand thinks…

"Great atmosphere and location, it's like living inside a museum. The rooms (19th century isolation cells) are small and prison-like ('cose it's a prison), but safe and cozy."

Read all Långholmen Hostel STF/HI reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 13.54
  • Linen USD 8.98
  • Towel USD 3.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: Långholmen is a Hostelling International (HI) member hostel. If you do not have HI membership card when you arrive, you will be charged a SEK 50 (approx. US$7) supplement. Bed linen, towel, breakfast and cleaning are not included in the price, but can be hired / bought in the reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Stockholm Hostel
29.36 USD

Hostel 91.0% 65 reviews
Lodge32
19.35 USD

Hostel 68.1% 793 reviews
Belman Vandrarhem
20.73 USD

Hostel 71.1% 173 reviews
HI Hostel Zinkensdamm
32.47 USD

Hostel 89.5% 352 reviews
ACCO hostel
19.35 USD

Hostel 65.8% 259 reviews
Arsta Holmar Guesthouse
49.74 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 19 reviews
Three Crown Bed and Breakfast
38.69 USD

Guesthouse 79.1% 68 reviews
Crafoord Place
20.59 USD

Hostel 86.6% 269 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

1060 out of 1098 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Långholmen Hostel STF/HI'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 607 of 782 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antti Sand

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014 Antti would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and location, it's like living inside a museum. The rooms (19th century isolation cells) are small and prison-like ('cose it's a prison), but safe and cozy.

Disliked: Bring your own linen and towels. The bathrooms don't even have paper towel to dry your hands.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Historic surroundings, peacefull parklike environment

Disliked: Nothing to complain

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aeneas De Baets

Alone

City break

22 August 2014 Aeneas would recommend this property

Liked: My room was perfect: very nice furnished, clean, quiet, safe (with a locker in it).

Disliked: A bit far from the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alena tsialezhnikava

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 alena would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything! camera, food, stage to/from the metro, security, a place to walk, neighbors))

Disliked: alena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Schuett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Villagelike and near center.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful location close to trendy area with bars and restaurants. The beach area in front of the hostel with lots of opportunities for walking/running in the forest, Great kitchen and dining area. Clean hostel with friendly staff. I'd stay again.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vera Pospisilova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2014 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the location. We knew when I was doing the booking that it'll be a little further away from the center (about 4 km), but we were planning to rent bikes, which we did and spent 4 days exploring Stockholm on bikes, which I strondly reccommend to everyone. The distance from the centre was therefore no problem at all. One tip though - if you are getting to this hostel to Arlanda Airport, get the Flygbussarna bus in direction to Liljeholmen and get of at Hornstul. It's about 10 min walking distance from the hostel.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike. This hostel is great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clara Giraldo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: Great breasdfast

Disliked: Clara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marko Hentunen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service and peacefull place to stay

Disliked: Marko left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a unique experience, and the location wasn't bad.

Disliked: A bit unnecessary to have to rent bedsheets and towels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martha Linn Scheel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Martha Linn would recommend this property

Liked: I wrote about this in my earlier review, about my stay from May 20-21. Nice staff, interesting surroundings.

Disliked: As I mentioned earlier, it's a bit hard to find because it wasn't clear to me that the hostel is housed in the same building as the hotel/conference center. There are plenty of signs for that more upscale side of the facility--look for those.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff who responded quickly to email questions before my stay, including agreeing to keep my bicycle and some gear for me while I traveled to Helsinki and then returned 5 days later for another stay. Excellent kitchen for those of us who prefer to cook our own meals. Lots of 'atmosphere' relating to the former prison. Good reliable WiFi

Disliked: Hostel appears to be a 'sideline' in a facility really aimed at more upscale clientele (those staying in the hotel portion of the building). This wasn't much of a problem (in some ways it was an advantage in that we got to use some common areas) but , for example, it wasn't easy to find the hostel when I first arrived. Tthere are lots of signs leading to the hotel/conference center but I didn't know it was the same place, and when I asked locals out for jog around the island, none knew there was a hostel much less where it was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Pryczek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Very good localization, about 30 minutes walk to the center of Stockholm. Great place to relax:) Quietly, clean and enough modern. Big kitchen to prepare own eat.

Disliked: Good value for money, near centrum, unique atmosphere old prison:)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

FILOTHEI PAPOUTSAKI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 FILOTHEI would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaning and service.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthoy Dubbioso

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Anthoy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff and easy to access on the underground

Disliked: Not much atmosphere and the bar Restaurant seemed empty but that may be due to the time of the year

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old prison, nice atmosphere, great breakfast (100 SEK extra)

Disliked: Location is not the best

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For an hostel standards is very good

Disliked: Noise in the corridors (room´s soundproofing issues), but the noise was only made in the morning, not at nigth :) The direcions to the hostel have to be better, and the signs and ligth in the Långholmen park also have to be better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The standards are equivalent to that of a hotel, clean and great decorations to give the "prison feel". Totally enjoyed my stay, got upgraded from a 4 bedder room to a 2 bedder room without any extra charge. Though it was slightly cramp, the bed and pillow were generally comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Well.. the location, but paradoxically, the location gives it the "prison" atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay! Not only was it convenient and clean, but the "prison" theme was so creatively executed, no pun intended. The kitchen and living room were wonderful. We will always remember New Years Eve fireworks on the island bridge, Spectacular!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Iakovleva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Extra pay for bed linen, cleaning etc

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Grippa

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 December 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Good accomodation

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, first off- the fact that you get to stay in an old prison is reason enough to stay at this quirky place. But combine that with really awesome, helpful staff, an a good location near some cool restaurants and shopping and I think this is my favorite place to stay in Stockholm

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere in a former prison

Disliked: First a bit hard to find and it's not that central as most other reviews told us. If you return from partying in the night, you need some time to get there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Hulse

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It was an excellent place to stay close to metro, warm, comfortable and clean and staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Excellent food in the restaurant and lovely breakfast with a huge choice. Can't fault it!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nichlas Birch Jørgensen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Nichlas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice experience staying in a old prison located in nice and quiet area only 10 min walk from underground. The staff was helpful and smiling, can only recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Its not a hostel for young people/backpackers who wanna party, but perfect for weekend in stockholm.