HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Upplandsgatan 2A, Stockholm, Sweden 111 23

93.9% Overall Rating

1695 out of 1766 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Tim Studeny thinks…

"- very warm and friendly atmosphere - no-shoe-policy inside the house/common rooms - close to a lot of interesting places (perfect for sightseeing) - very clean and comfortable"

Read all City Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.80
  • Linen USD 7.25
  • Towel USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

The reception is open 8.00 am to midnight. If you will arrive later than 22.00, please get back to us so we can arrange a late check in. You will then get a code for the entrance doors. If you need to cancel your booking, please do so at the latest one day before arrival. Late cancellations will be charged for the first night. Sheets are 50 SEK to rent (a onetime cost) but you can also choose to bring your own. Breakfast is 40 SEK when purchased at check-in. Each bed has an individual locker; bring your own padlock or buy one from us for 30 SEK **Please can you contact us with your arrival time on your check-in day prior to your arrival.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Interhostel
23.07 USD

Hostel 73.9% 873 reviews
Hotel Micro
40.87 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.3% 9 reviews
Colonial Hotel
45.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 652 reviews
Hostels By Nordic
27.57 USD

Hostel 73.3% 440 reviews
Best Hostel City
2,176.25 USD

Hostel 86.4% 147 reviews
Hostel Bed and Breakfast
49.33 USD

Hostel 83.9% 249 reviews
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel
29.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Three Crown Bed and Breakfast
50.78 USD

Guesthouse 79.1% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

1695 out of 1766 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 1171 of 1432 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Studeny

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 August 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: - very warm and friendly atmosphere - no-shoe-policy inside the house/common rooms - close to a lot of interesting places (perfect for sightseeing) - very clean and comfortable

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, LOVED the sauna!! Large, very well equiped kitchen. Nice spacious room with big lockers. All furniture from IKEA, of course, very Swedish. Would def go back here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: When I was asking questions about the city to one of the staff at the reception (girl) it seemed to me that I was disturbing her but I guess that's her job !

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The concept of the hostel is perfect and I really enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Dacheneder

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: great concept. all is very thought out

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i have no complaints at all regarding this place. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. It has a great atmosphere. Very backpacker friendly. i was travelling alone and I felt safe. The location is good, the hostel is clean. it was just perfect :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind staff. Comfortable common areas with wifi pickups everywhere. Great private showers with WC. Clean kitchen and fridges. Key code entry to rooms so no hassle of finding keys for in and outs. Cafe on site. Close to Central Station.

Disliked: No shoes in common areas was a nuisance but at least it keeps it clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice concept - giving me a full-on Swedish/Scandinavian experience! Great indoor yard for warm summer nights.

Disliked: Quieter at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was the best asset to this property. Included computer use throughout the stay was also a good asset.

Disliked: Too many people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Gaunt

Alone

City break

20 May 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, friendly staff, activities daily

Disliked: It feel like a lot of seperate areas, easy to get lost in the building and a lot of codes to remember

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice! A mature, clean hostel that is still really fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Blunden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great spot. Everyone was friendly, free pasta and sauna were both pretty good too. Had a good time.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great to meet other travelers. The location was also great (it's walking distance from the train station and basically on the same street). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms, showers, and hostel in general was very clean because they have their own cleaning staff. Big kitchen, computer/chill area, FREE PASTA, close to everything.

Disliked: There wasn't much I didn't like. I guess I didn't like that I had to pay for it lol? But that's a given.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: The location is great, they have spent alot of money on the look.

Disliked: This is the most self consciously hipster accomodation with a focus on look over fucntion. The walls are paper thin, the shower set up is confusing and the staff seemed like I was interrupting their conversation. But for location this cant be beat.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great. The location is excellent for the Central station and for walking to other sights in Stockholm. There is a big kitchen with free pasta and a large common room area. The staff were helpful with providing me with an extra duvet when I complained about the cold and everyone I spoke to was very friendly. The atmosphere in the hostel is really good and I really liked that everyone had to take their shoes off when inside.

Disliked: My dorm (8-bed female) was very dark as the windows were tiny and it's in the basement but that's about it. No other issues.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Marotte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic Staff, fantastic WIFI in all areas of the hostel, really good atmosphere, nice large common rooms you can drink in and talk to other travellers. At 11pm everybody heads up to the Cafe upstairs and continues drinking and playing beer pong etc. The best hostellll

Disliked: I had to leave eventually because it was booked out as it was so good :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot even begin to describe how great this hostel was and all of the things I liked about it. It had all of the facilities needed, great beds, sauna, hot showers, clean premises, lockers in rooms, huge kitchen and common area etc. The people there were absolutely amazing, so helpful and so much fun! The atmosphere was also fantastic and there were several organised activities on (bike tours, cooking classes, pub crawls) which added to this. If I'm ever back in Stockholm I know will be back!

Disliked: Nothing... It was all great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Sandler

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 March 2014 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Free pasta! Clean! Free tea!

Disliked: Lockers are a little small in the rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carmelo Angelo Espanola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2014 Carmelo Angelo would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a ton of character! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The common areas were conducive to socializing. Each room had its own fridge and set of baskets in the kitchen so finding your food is easy. The movie nights are great for meeting other travellers and brushing up on your Swedish. The location is close to Stockholm Central Station so going anywhere is easy.

Disliked: A very minor complaint that was absolutely not the fault of the staff, a fuse blew overnight so the room keys weren't scanning for a while, which took me by surprise, and I had a flight in less than 3 hours. To the staff's credit, the overnight person who was on site fixed the problem in time for me to catch a quick shower and catch the express train to the airport.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a great vibe in the hostel. The rooms were secure, with big lockers for you bags, and with the free pasta in the kitchen, everyone would cook and there were plenty of people to talk to. There was a no-shoe policy, so the place was very clean.

Disliked: The fact that you had to rent linen. Most other places would supply it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: overall a nice hostel. cozy common rooms to meet other travelers. free pasta. whole property clean. a lot of toilets and showers. the sauna tour they offer was a great experience.

Disliked: tiny room. squeaky beds that shake every time the other person on the bunk rolls over...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Le

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Great comfortable atmosphere

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found that the property had a really good atmosphere and vibe, and the staff and surrounding really made you feel at home. The layout of the hostel and decor encouraged communication between other guests and made you want to stay at the hostel longer. I would highly recommend this hostel to other people that are going to be traveling through Stockholm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The sauna is great and really really cheap!

Disliked: Almost nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very social, clean and with great facilities

Disliked: Expensive, but not bad value. All accommodation in Stockholm in pricey.