HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Upplandsgatan 2A, Stockholm, Sweden 111 23

92.8% Overall Rating

1674 out of 1744 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

Emma Young thinks…

"I cannot even begin to describe how great this hostel was and all of the things I liked about it. It had all of the facilities needed, great beds, sauna, hot showers, clean premises, lockers in…"

Read all City Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.09
  • Linen USD 7.61
  • Towel USD 2.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

The reception is open 8.00 am to midnight. If you will arrive later than 22.00, please get back to us so we can arrange a late check in. You will then get a code for the entrance doors. If you need to cancel your booking, please do so at the latest one day before arrival. Late cancellations will be charged for the first night. Sheets are 50 SEK to rent (a onetime cost) but you can also choose to bring your own. Breakfast is 40 SEK when purchased at check-in. Each bed has an individual locker; bring your own padlock or buy one from us for 30 SEK **Please can you contact us with your arrival time on your check-in day prior to your arrival.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Interhostel
19.62 USD

Hostel 79.9% 839 reviews
Hotel Micro
35.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.3% 9 reviews
Colonial Hotel
47.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.7% 649 reviews
Hostels By Nordic
28.90 USD

Hostel 72.5% 429 reviews
Best Hostel City
2,281.89 USD

Hostel 87.1% 146 reviews
Hostel Bed and Breakfast
51.72 USD

Hostel 83.8% 248 reviews
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel
15.21 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Three Crown Bed and Breakfast
42.60 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 67 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

1674 out of 1744 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 1155 of 1410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Parmentier Clément

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 Parmentier would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast & Sauna :-)

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pasta=cheap lunch and/or dinner, great location, good atmosphere, really nice computers to use, nice open lounge, good kitchen, FREE SAUNA.

Disliked: 11:00PM curfew was actually enforced; hindered the ability to meet people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I watched the floors get vacuumed and mopped daily. The showers were always spotless, and the kitchen was kept tidy as well. The free internet is great, although it doesn't reach to all the rooms. They have a nice selection of daily events to meet other guests.

Disliked: There were several families staying with children. I think an age range would be be appropriate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable and really close to the central station.

Disliked: Nothing really!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsey Coeur-Belle

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: sauna

Disliked: had to ask where the showers were so would have preferred someone show me round or provide a map also not much help in how to find luggage storage

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Cecilia Alvarez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011

Liked: It's easy to get to from the main station, the shower is nice, the beds are okay. Everything is average though, I didn't enjoy my stay to be honest.

Disliked: It's extremely over priced and they charge for your bed sheets separately. The showers are nice but there's no privacy in them, there was no way to control the temperature in the room. The lockers are all downstairs so even if your room is on the ground floor you need to carry your suitcase downstairs. The showers are all downstairs so you need to walk around the entire place every time you're going to shower. Check in is at 2pm which is extremely late, and check out is at 10am, that means for every night you pay (which is not at all cheap) you get 20 hours in the room, not even a full day! That's terrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lala dizon

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

30 November 2011 lala would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free sauna & pasta!

Disliked: lala left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its located near the downtown. Hostel itself is really clean and well-equipped.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - the activities are awesome, the staff are lovely and the beds are comfortable.

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit small - but it seems to be the culture there to just have a sandwich.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicole Raine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was pretty close to the main hub of shopping and eating, although the cool little local bars are quite a hike away. The staff were very helpful, especially the English girl, and nothing was too much trouble. There is a little cafe next door that is open in the morning for breakfast, very handy!

Disliked: Unfortunately during our stay there was no internet working, which makes it hard to book the next leg of a trip, so we just had to go to an internet cafe. Everything else was good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Papadatos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, super modern chillout area with Macs for free use and the free pasta was a hit in the kitchen. Location was great and all major attractions are within walking distance.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jordan Hannaford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Was an amazing hostel, great location, mostly friendly staff, very clean good atmosphere

Disliked: 2 incidents. They have a rule where u must take ur shoes off inside. fair enough i didnt mind, but i left my shoes in the locker provided and they were stolen. not really the hostels fault and the staff were helpful in the issue but think would be benificial if they had a camera around that area so i new what happened. secondly on my last night the night porter told us at 9 oclock if we could please be quiet in the main area when it hit 11pm. then at about 12pm she came back and was very rude about kicking us out saying we should have been gone at 11pm. i moved straight away but i wish she didnt attack us in the way she did. thought it was a little extreme and uncalled for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Hostel. Big, very clean, nice staff, free internet, etc, etc. VERY GOOD

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Luisa DIAZ RODRIGUEZ

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 November 2011 Ana Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: it's very clean and the location is good, also the hostel is really beautiful and they give you free pasta plus there are a lot of left overs that you can take

Disliked: you have to take off your shoes but it's ok

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Morgan Rothwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: nice to have the sauna at night. very secure

Disliked: internet was not working during my stay

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very clean and has free internet!

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FABIO ORLANDO

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 November 2011 FABIO would recommend this property

Liked: Really!! The best hostel i never Seen. VERY cLean, facilities 100%. Big Kitchen, Free PAsta. in one common area 4 MAC very new whit Internet. Good WI FI Signal ( i used my i phon) EXCELLENT the SAUna.. i Want to come back to Stockholm and i want to come back to This Hostel. 5 minuts from Centralen station. I travel a LOT.. and i SAW many hostel.. i also HAve one hostel in ROme " Dreaming ROME Hostel"" and i think that i will copy something from This Hostel. i'm Forgetting.. 10 FRIDGE for guest.. also big locher outisde the Room and Other SMall locher whit key in the ROom. Excellent.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Winnard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: great central location

Disliked: nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Montly the atmosphere and the people I met. Everything was great and really worth the money you pay.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vasyl Ieremeiev

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Vasyl would recommend this property

Liked: Central location! Very helpful staff! Clean! Free sauna every day! Many computers with free Internet. It is no problem to find free computer! Goog Wi-Fi everywhere!

Disliked: All is ok!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: generally good

Disliked: cannot use wifi in the room. sockets are so limited

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Free pasta, great atmosphere, nice facilities.

Disliked: The top bunk was so squeaky, anytime the guy above me moved, I woke up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEORGIOS MAVROUDIS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2011 GEORGIOS would recommend this property

Liked: 1) free Internet 2) free pasta 3) quiet when sleeping etc

Disliked: One woman of the staff (that cleansroom) took 1 tower and 1 t-shirt of my friend but maybe it was not her mistake because she had paper that 3 bed (including this of my friend) were empty. Finally he found the tower but NOT the t-shirt. Also something similar happened the last day...I hope this was just a mistake again because general we were pleased form the Hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

THOMAS PATSIOPOULOS

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 THOMAS would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: njthing