We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Upplandsgatan 2A, Stockholm, Sweden 111 23

93.7% Overall Rating

1719 out of 1790 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2015)

"Extremely friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfy beds, good facilities, everthing works, central location, lots of common areas, nice vibe, cool setting. Couldn't ask for much more from a hostel really, definitely one…"

Read all City Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.63
  • Linen USD 5.78
  • Towel USD 1.74

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

TCity Backpackers is open 24 hours with no curfew. Reception opening hours: 08.00 - 24.00 (8am - midnight). If you're planning on arriving after 22.00 (10pm) please contact reception in advance, to arrange late arrival. You will need a door code to gain entry. Note: Sheets, pillow cases and duvet covers are a must-have and in case you do not bring your own, you will have to rent them for 25 SEK. If you bring a sleeping bag, you will receive a sheet and pillow case for free or - of course - you may bring your own. For your security there are lockers both inside and outside the rooms (bring a padlock or buy one for 30 SEK in the reception). Before you check in or after you have checked out you can keep your luggage in our luggage room. Smoking is allowed in the yard, but nowhere else. Please note that should you need to, you should cancel a booking the day before arrival (minimum 24 hours in advance). If you don't, the first night will be charged. Please note some of our 2 bed private rooms don't have window.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Interhostel
18.40 USD

Hostel 74.1% 909 reviews
Hotel Micro
26.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.0% 10 reviews
Colonial Hotel
36.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 654 reviews
Hostels By Nordic
20.71 USD

Hostel 70.4% 451 reviews
Hostel Bed and Breakfast
37.02 USD

Hostel 83.9% 249 reviews
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel
11.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Three Crown Bed and Breakfast
34.71 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 69 reviews
Crafoord Place
18.40 USD

Hostel 91.1% 275 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

1719 out of 1790 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 1187 of 1455 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Simon André Mollet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Simon André would recommend this property

Liked: It was like a big appartment. In summer you have a big louge. It was all rally clean.

Disliked: Maybe a bar is missing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Shipp

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

30 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great, safe and relaxed place to spend time. This is my first stay since the renovations and it's much improved. The plentiful internet and other facilities (sauna, kitchen etc) make this a great place to stay when combined with the atmosphere and location.

Disliked: Very little.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Powell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: this was by far the best hostel i have stayed at. the staff, facilities and rooms were all great and there was even a sauna! i also loved the organised events put on by the hostel, with my favourite being the swedish meatball experience where you get to make and eat your own meatballs, whilst meeting great people from the hostel. the character of this hostel is also true scandinavian, adding to the experience.

Disliked: the only thing i wasn't so keen on was the communal showers - although they were single gender, they were only divided by a piece of relatively see through glass. i heard that this is a very common european thing though and used one of the many private bathrooms instead!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, comfortable beds, mostly good recommendations for food etc from the staff

Disliked: bit of a rabbit warren

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, free WiFi and computers to use, cosy corners at the windows to relax and we got a free breakfast to account for having to change rooms once. Top!

Disliked: Nothing! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Fitzpatrick

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

saso zivkovic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 saso would recommend this property

Liked: A lot to offer.

Disliked: Extra charge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are fantastic- it's got more than you would expect a hostel to have. The well equipped kitchen is especially good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and environment

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krysta Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2012 Krysta would recommend this property

Liked: Overall I liked that there was so many places you could be to just chill out. Such as the backyard, the cafe, the multiple common rooms and game rooms, ect. I also enjoyed that there were a lot of showers so you didn't ever have to wait or fight over them. The view from our window was beautiful since it overlooked the square and I also liked that in order to enter the area leading to get to any rooms you needed a code and then later you needed your code for you room. I liked that the code to the outside door changed everday at noon so it was safe from old hostelers just coming in whenever they felt like it.

Disliked: It just seemed it had no big attractions nearby, everything my friend and I went to see was at least 10-20 minutes away by walking, bussing or taking the tram and it made it so we ended up being very tired by time we return each day. Also the walls seemed a bit thin since I could hear a lot of the noise from the bar across the street and the last night we were there I noticed when the room beside us closed the door it vibrated the wall I was leaning on which was disconcerning. Finally I found that the "quiet time" wasn't very well monitored, the final night we stayed there a group was using the common room outside our room conversing and laughing very loudly so it made it hard to fall asleep. Quiet time was suppose to start at 11 but I do not believe that the group left the area or quieted down until at least 11:30-12 though I cannot say for sure since I didn't have my watch when I fell asleep and at that point they were still talking. In the future I hope this is more regulated since I loved the hostel overall I would love it even more if it was easier to get some sleep and not have to wait for it to be convient for others to quiet down.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Wilkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere and excellent place to meet people. It's a real get together for drinks sort of place so if you're looking for somewhere quiet this probably isn't for you.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Helena Chetrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Sara Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean accomodations with a free Swedish sauna and many other amenities. Great staff, great fellow travellers, great location, beautiful outdoor patio, excellent interior decorating and lots of activities. Try the tandem bike! It's free, too.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Andersson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap. Clean with free WiFi!

Disliked: You got what u paid for. Share toilets and showers. U have to pay for linen and towels. But a good option for an expensive city. Didn't like having a bunk with my partner!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ee Li Min

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 June 2012

Liked: Clean and good location.. lively environment.. safe place and plenty of facilities

Disliked: Too crowded.. room is quite small.. noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piyapong Prasertsri

Alone

Business / conference

17 June 2012 Piyapong would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staffs

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While I am not the most generous person with compliments but it is almost impossible to find any fault in this hostel. For what it is, it had exceeded my exoneration of what could be expected from a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common areas, good for socializing. Room was comfortable (upper floor)

Disliked: Breakfast offer not worthwhile - adequate, but very limited.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and facilities offered.

Disliked: It s a big place, almost like a hotel, which makes it a little bit impersonal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten Schuh

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2012 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean and tidy, nice guests, well equipped kitchen - I was very satisfied. One of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Disliked: Kirsten left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Thaise Saeter

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Thaise would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant atmosphere and really nice beds.

Disliked: The only problem that I found in the room was that there they don't have anything blocking the day light that come through the windons at morning. And the fact that they don't offer free coffe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ziad Nammour

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 June 2012 Ziad would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly environnment, quiet, cosy

Disliked: Could use more bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice common room and courtyard, good computers for use

Disliked: Room was w/o windows (just a small ceiling window)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, fast internet, mee computers for visitors to use.

Disliked: Everything was spectacular.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located. Good kitchen, sauna and public computers

Disliked: Lack of windows in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Astrid von Drehnen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: This possibly the best hostel ever. The staff are lovely and so are the facilities. There's a great outdoor area and the kitchen ( with free pasta ) is so good if you're trying to do Stockholm like a cheap skate. The lockers under the beds are super handy too.

Disliked: Nothing!