HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Upplandsgatan 2A, Stockholm, Sweden 111 23

92.7% Overall Rating

1696 out of 1767 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Tim Studeny thinks…

"- very warm and friendly atmosphere - no-shoe-policy inside the house/common rooms - close to a lot of interesting places (perfect for sightseeing) - very clean and comfortable"

Read all City Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.75
  • Linen USD 7.18
  • Towel USD 2.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

The reception is open 8.00 am to midnight. If you will arrive later than 22.00, please get back to us so we can arrange a late check in. You will then get a code for the entrance doors. If you need to cancel your booking, please do so at the latest one day before arrival. Late cancellations will be charged for the first night. Sheets are 50 SEK to rent (a onetime cost) but you can also choose to bring your own. Breakfast is 40 SEK when purchased at check-in. Each bed has an individual locker; bring your own padlock or buy one from us for 30 SEK **Please can you contact us with your arrival time on your check-in day prior to your arrival.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Interhostel
22.84 USD

Hostel 74.7% 880 reviews
Hotel Micro
42.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.3% 9 reviews
Colonial Hotel
44.97 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.1% 653 reviews
Hostels By Nordic
27.15 USD

Hostel 75.8% 444 reviews
Best Hostel City
2,155.02 USD

Hostel 86.4% 147 reviews
Hostel Bed and Breakfast
48.85 USD

Hostel 83.9% 249 reviews
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel
14.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Three Crown Bed and Breakfast
43.10 USD

Guesthouse 79.1% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

1696 out of 1767 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 1172 of 1433 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Great facilities including big kitchen and lounge area. Nice outdoor courtyard which is perfect for having pre-drinks and meeting other people before you head out.

Disliked: The metal bunks in our room were really squeeky so if someone rolled over during the night the whole room heard it. No big deal though

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, well-organised, good location - for us worked very well for an introduction to Stockholm

Disliked: We didn't stay long enough

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carolin König

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 September 2012 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: Free Pasta for everybody! Nice dorms and "living rooms"

Disliked: No bathroom, online showers and toilettes. Where to change clothes, brush teeth..??!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Wainwright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were always on hand to help and answer any queries. It's great having a large kitchen, with a large supply of free pasta!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very secure. The hostel was big, the beds were comfy, lots of nice hot showers. The hostel cafe was good value. Good value large breakfast. The bike ride trip was really good for getting to see all of Stockholm, lots of local advise on the best places to go. The meatball experience was good value and fun.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike it was perfect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great - just few min walk from central station. 15 min walk from Gambla Stan. Very friendly people, nice, calm place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free fast wifi everywhere, free pasta in the kitchen, lots of room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The accomodation was very clean and well organized. The accomodation was build up in a way that stimulates travellers to meet each other, which is a big plus of this hostel. The staff was very helpfull to our questions about the city of Stockholm. I would recomment this hostel to all people travelling through Stockholm :).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mengjiao Wang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Mengjiao would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere. Computers with internet connection available to use. Wi-fi connection very good. Free pasta available! This is very useful as food in Stockholm is horribly expensive. Also there is a sauna with separate times for gents and ladies.

Disliked: Lack of plugs inside the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and a really nice atmosphere to the hostel

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Simon André Mollet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Simon André would recommend this property

Liked: It was like a big appartment. In summer you have a big louge. It was all rally clean.

Disliked: Maybe a bar is missing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Shipp

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

30 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great, safe and relaxed place to spend time. This is my first stay since the renovations and it's much improved. The plentiful internet and other facilities (sauna, kitchen etc) make this a great place to stay when combined with the atmosphere and location.

Disliked: Very little.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Powell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: this was by far the best hostel i have stayed at. the staff, facilities and rooms were all great and there was even a sauna! i also loved the organised events put on by the hostel, with my favourite being the swedish meatball experience where you get to make and eat your own meatballs, whilst meeting great people from the hostel. the character of this hostel is also true scandinavian, adding to the experience.

Disliked: the only thing i wasn't so keen on was the communal showers - although they were single gender, they were only divided by a piece of relatively see through glass. i heard that this is a very common european thing though and used one of the many private bathrooms instead!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, comfortable beds, mostly good recommendations for food etc from the staff

Disliked: bit of a rabbit warren

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, free WiFi and computers to use, cosy corners at the windows to relax and we got a free breakfast to account for having to change rooms once. Top!

Disliked: Nothing! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Fitzpatrick

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

saso zivkovic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 saso would recommend this property

Liked: A lot to offer.

Disliked: Extra charge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are fantastic- it's got more than you would expect a hostel to have. The well equipped kitchen is especially good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and environment

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krysta Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2012 Krysta would recommend this property

Liked: Overall I liked that there was so many places you could be to just chill out. Such as the backyard, the cafe, the multiple common rooms and game rooms, ect. I also enjoyed that there were a lot of showers so you didn't ever have to wait or fight over them. The view from our window was beautiful since it overlooked the square and I also liked that in order to enter the area leading to get to any rooms you needed a code and then later you needed your code for you room. I liked that the code to the outside door changed everday at noon so it was safe from old hostelers just coming in whenever they felt like it.

Disliked: It just seemed it had no big attractions nearby, everything my friend and I went to see was at least 10-20 minutes away by walking, bussing or taking the tram and it made it so we ended up being very tired by time we return each day. Also the walls seemed a bit thin since I could hear a lot of the noise from the bar across the street and the last night we were there I noticed when the room beside us closed the door it vibrated the wall I was leaning on which was disconcerning. Finally I found that the "quiet time" wasn't very well monitored, the final night we stayed there a group was using the common room outside our room conversing and laughing very loudly so it made it hard to fall asleep. Quiet time was suppose to start at 11 but I do not believe that the group left the area or quieted down until at least 11:30-12 though I cannot say for sure since I didn't have my watch when I fell asleep and at that point they were still talking. In the future I hope this is more regulated since I loved the hostel overall I would love it even more if it was easier to get some sleep and not have to wait for it to be convient for others to quiet down.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Wilkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere and excellent place to meet people. It's a real get together for drinks sort of place so if you're looking for somewhere quiet this probably isn't for you.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Helena Chetrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Sara Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean accomodations with a free Swedish sauna and many other amenities. Great staff, great fellow travellers, great location, beautiful outdoor patio, excellent interior decorating and lots of activities. Try the tandem bike! It's free, too.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Andersson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap. Clean with free WiFi!

Disliked: You got what u paid for. Share toilets and showers. U have to pay for linen and towels. But a good option for an expensive city. Didn't like having a bunk with my partner!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ee Li Min

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 June 2012

Liked: Clean and good location.. lively environment.. safe place and plenty of facilities

Disliked: Too crowded.. room is quite small.. noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piyapong Prasertsri

Alone

Business / conference

17 June 2012 Piyapong would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staffs

Disliked: none