We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Upplandsgatan 2A, Stockholm, Sweden 111 23

93.7% Overall Rating

1719 out of 1790 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2015)

"Extremely friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfy beds, good facilities, everthing works, central location, lots of common areas, nice vibe, cool setting. Couldn't ask for much more from a hostel really, definitely one…"

Read all City Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.63
  • Linen USD 5.78
  • Towel USD 1.74

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

TCity Backpackers is open 24 hours with no curfew. Reception opening hours: 08.00 - 24.00 (8am - midnight). If you're planning on arriving after 22.00 (10pm) please contact reception in advance, to arrange late arrival. You will need a door code to gain entry. Note: Sheets, pillow cases and duvet covers are a must-have and in case you do not bring your own, you will have to rent them for 25 SEK. If you bring a sleeping bag, you will receive a sheet and pillow case for free or - of course - you may bring your own. For your security there are lockers both inside and outside the rooms (bring a padlock or buy one for 30 SEK in the reception). Before you check in or after you have checked out you can keep your luggage in our luggage room. Smoking is allowed in the yard, but nowhere else. Please note that should you need to, you should cancel a booking the day before arrival (minimum 24 hours in advance). If you don't, the first night will be charged. Please note some of our 2 bed private rooms don't have window.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Interhostel
18.40 USD

Hostel 74.1% 909 reviews
Hotel Micro
26.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.0% 10 reviews
Colonial Hotel
36.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 654 reviews
Hostels By Nordic
20.71 USD

Hostel 70.4% 451 reviews
Hostel Bed and Breakfast
37.02 USD

Hostel 83.9% 249 reviews
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel
11.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Three Crown Bed and Breakfast
34.71 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 69 reviews
Crafoord Place
18.40 USD

Hostel 91.1% 275 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

1719 out of 1790 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 1187 of 1455 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Leonardo De Viana Grossi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Every single aspect of the hostel. It's just great! Has even a sauna and free pasta!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JAMES TUFTS

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: City Backpackers Hostel was the nicest hostel i've ever stayed at. While everything in Stockholm is pricey for the non-nordic traveller at the hostel I felt like it was money well spent. The hostel is very clean, the common spaces are many and well maintained and though I didn't end up using the kitchen it looked great. The sauna is a major bonus! Make sure to use it while you're there. The free hours in the evening are good but its probably worth the 50 crowns an hour if you get a few people together.

Disliked: JAMES left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, there is a friendly vibe between travellers, the guy at reception first night went out of his way to make sure I knew where everything was, free coffee, tea and pasta and printing for plane/bus tickets is a plus. And fairly central location. I have been travelling around the world for more than a year now and this is one of the best hostels I've visited. Not enough of complaint that it deserves to be a dislike, but the wifi can be a bit patchy, but there is 7 different connections so just search around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Minhao Su

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Minhao would recommend this property

Liked: 地點非常好 氣氛溫馨

Disliked: 人有點多,晚上公共空間很吵

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite ok

Disliked: I cannot wear shoes inside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very social hostel and very good organized, very clean and friendly and helpful staff!!

Disliked: everything was fine :-)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good price for Stockholm, comfy beds, lockers, decent breakfast and activities offered, very close to Gamla Stan and central station. Friendly people!

Disliked: Only thing I did not like was that my groceries were tossed from the fridge before I left, but I didn't lose much.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Madison Miller

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Madison would recommend this property

Liked: City Backpackers was a good hostel that was well organized and informative. The location was not bad because it was close to main streets and very close to the central station. The rooms are large with many people but it was a fun way to meet people. The bathrooms were pretty gross. The private showers offered were nice. The kitchen is a nice asset to have while travelling! We would go back to this hostel in Stockholm!

Disliked: The bathrooms were dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great hostel... Everything is perfect... great location.. great kitchen.. clean beds..

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jochen Krämer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Jochen would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great place to stay. High standards, great facilities. Good to meet people and make new friends. Hostel arranges tours and cooking evenings - nice one!

Disliked: Jochen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really easy to find and close to the central train station. Lots of fridge space in the kitchen. Good atmosphere - plenty of places to sit outside the rooms. A few computers, though the internet wasn't that reliable. Supermarket was up the hill from there.

Disliked: That I couldn't stay there for all my 4 nights in Stockholm (I knew this beforehand, btu I wanted to stay there for a couple of nights as I had read good reviews).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sharlean Gagg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Sharlean would recommend this property

Liked: Loved all the common rooms and the style of the hostel. Great location near everything and only 10 mins walk from the train and bus stations.

Disliked: The was no real hostel vibe about it everyone stayed on their mobile phones , Laptops and iPads so it wan't easy to met people. And all events you have to pay for so not many people take part. Also my husband is not a fan of rooms with no windows and this place is completely unground which isn't really mentioned on the website so he found it a bit too much at times.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: expensive sheets and towel hire

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Medeiros

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere of the hostel, the people were very friendly and the staff was always there to help us to get directions and everything. And another good thing that happened was that they upgraded me to an 6-bed apartment with kitchen, bathroom, etc for FREE :-). I had a really great time in this hostel.

Disliked: The only thing i didn't like that much on the hostel was the breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free tea and coffee at reception. Free pasta for cooking in the self catering kitchen. Free sauna every day. Nice rooms, good wifi, well equipped kitchen, plenty of fridge space.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Knox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful! They really gave good advice. Helped with the washing machine and also giving advice on where to go skateboarding! Loved being able to hire longboards. Goof breakfasts, clean, free internet and computers, free printing for important documents...awesome!!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - it was very clean - the travellers were nice and outgoing - it was in a good range of the heart of the city - free WiFi

Disliked: -nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: could have more toilettes and better wi-fi, for saying something, but that is being picky. overall this hostel deserves 100%. if ot the best, one of the bests I have stayed for sure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alessandra d' Assumpcao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: It is THE hostel, the dream of every backpacker. Location, cleanliness, nice people, confi bed, evertyhing!

Disliked: The breakfast is not that great, but still.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Burak Akdoner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Burak would recommend this property

Liked: İncredible staff, very helpful. The activities were amazing it was probably the best hostel i had ever stayed to get socialized.

Disliked: number of toilets and bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in, close to sights, great staff, great rooms and hang out areas are well designed and laid out, outdoor eating and meeting area, extremely impressed, highly recommended!!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Perry Deu

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 June 2013 Perry would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean, well located, nice staff, perticularly the chap and the girl we had on the friday. Went out of their way to find out some info for us. Great facilities.

Disliked: I guess it is a tad pricey, but fantastic hostel. Better than some hotels we have stayed at!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Ibbs

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and easy to meet fellow travellers, very clean and they have free pasta.

Disliked: No shoes indoors the hostel which is a little annoying given it is not carpeted or anything.