HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Upplandsgatan 2A, Stockholm, Sweden 111 23

92.8% Overall Rating

1674 out of 1744 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

Emma Young thinks…

"I cannot even begin to describe how great this hostel was and all of the things I liked about it. It had all of the facilities needed, great beds, sauna, hot showers, clean premises, lockers in…"

Read all City Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.09
  • Linen USD 7.61
  • Towel USD 2.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

The reception is open 8.00 am to midnight. If you will arrive later than 22.00, please get back to us so we can arrange a late check in. You will then get a code for the entrance doors. If you need to cancel your booking, please do so at the latest one day before arrival. Late cancellations will be charged for the first night. Sheets are 50 SEK to rent (a onetime cost) but you can also choose to bring your own. Breakfast is 40 SEK when purchased at check-in. Each bed has an individual locker; bring your own padlock or buy one from us for 30 SEK **Please can you contact us with your arrival time on your check-in day prior to your arrival.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stockholm?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stockholm

Interhostel
19.62 USD

Hostel 79.9% 839 reviews
Hotel Micro
35.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.3% 9 reviews
Colonial Hotel
47.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.7% 649 reviews
Hostels By Nordic
28.90 USD

Hostel 72.5% 429 reviews
Best Hostel City
2,281.89 USD

Hostel 87.1% 146 reviews
Hostel Bed and Breakfast
51.72 USD

Hostel 83.8% 248 reviews
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel
15.21 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Three Crown Bed and Breakfast
42.60 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 67 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

1674 out of 1744 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 1155 of 1410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Madison Miller

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Madison would recommend this property

Liked: City Backpackers was a good hostel that was well organized and informative. The location was not bad because it was close to main streets and very close to the central station. The rooms are large with many people but it was a fun way to meet people. The bathrooms were pretty gross. The private showers offered were nice. The kitchen is a nice asset to have while travelling! We would go back to this hostel in Stockholm!

Disliked: The bathrooms were dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great hostel... Everything is perfect... great location.. great kitchen.. clean beds..

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jochen Krämer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Jochen would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great place to stay. High standards, great facilities. Good to meet people and make new friends. Hostel arranges tours and cooking evenings - nice one!

Disliked: Jochen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really easy to find and close to the central train station. Lots of fridge space in the kitchen. Good atmosphere - plenty of places to sit outside the rooms. A few computers, though the internet wasn't that reliable. Supermarket was up the hill from there.

Disliked: That I couldn't stay there for all my 4 nights in Stockholm (I knew this beforehand, btu I wanted to stay there for a couple of nights as I had read good reviews).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sharlean Gagg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Sharlean would recommend this property

Liked: Loved all the common rooms and the style of the hostel. Great location near everything and only 10 mins walk from the train and bus stations.

Disliked: The was no real hostel vibe about it everyone stayed on their mobile phones , Laptops and iPads so it wan't easy to met people. And all events you have to pay for so not many people take part. Also my husband is not a fan of rooms with no windows and this place is completely unground which isn't really mentioned on the website so he found it a bit too much at times.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: expensive sheets and towel hire

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Medeiros

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere of the hostel, the people were very friendly and the staff was always there to help us to get directions and everything. And another good thing that happened was that they upgraded me to an 6-bed apartment with kitchen, bathroom, etc for FREE :-). I had a really great time in this hostel.

Disliked: The only thing i didn't like that much on the hostel was the breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free tea and coffee at reception. Free pasta for cooking in the self catering kitchen. Free sauna every day. Nice rooms, good wifi, well equipped kitchen, plenty of fridge space.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Knox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful! They really gave good advice. Helped with the washing machine and also giving advice on where to go skateboarding! Loved being able to hire longboards. Goof breakfasts, clean, free internet and computers, free printing for important documents...awesome!!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - it was very clean - the travellers were nice and outgoing - it was in a good range of the heart of the city - free WiFi

Disliked: -nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: could have more toilettes and better wi-fi, for saying something, but that is being picky. overall this hostel deserves 100%. if ot the best, one of the bests I have stayed for sure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alessandra d' Assumpcao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: It is THE hostel, the dream of every backpacker. Location, cleanliness, nice people, confi bed, evertyhing!

Disliked: The breakfast is not that great, but still.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Burak Akdoner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Burak would recommend this property

Liked: İncredible staff, very helpful. The activities were amazing it was probably the best hostel i had ever stayed to get socialized.

Disliked: number of toilets and bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in, close to sights, great staff, great rooms and hang out areas are well designed and laid out, outdoor eating and meeting area, extremely impressed, highly recommended!!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Perry Deu

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 June 2013 Perry would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean, well located, nice staff, perticularly the chap and the girl we had on the friday. Went out of their way to find out some info for us. Great facilities.

Disliked: I guess it is a tad pricey, but fantastic hostel. Better than some hotels we have stayed at!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Ibbs

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and easy to meet fellow travellers, very clean and they have free pasta.

Disliked: No shoes indoors the hostel which is a little annoying given it is not carpeted or anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent location, great city.

Disliked: Nothing - I would highly recommend this hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the central

Disliked: aircon in the room could not be turned off

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Always there to help you out and to indicate you places to visit. The hostel was really clean and close to all main attractions. Breakfast worth the money (5£). You couldn`t find it cheaper.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the building inself, the amount of activities they organize, the facilties, the wifi and plenty of computers available, great kitchen (with free pasta!!)...rooms and toilets were clean... all in all it was a great place to stay!!

Disliked: Thee movie they showed the night I stayed was a bit weird, Jalla, jalla (each night they show swedish movie) Oh, and it was not so clear to me until after I reserved and got an email from them that you had to pay for the bed linen or brng your own... it was still a very competitive price after it anyway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Medeine Jukneviciute

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Medeine would recommend this property

Liked: I guess, almost everything

Disliked: can not pay by visa electron and maetro cards. For students it's quite hard to get diabet card as mastercard or visa.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amin Jalali

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

30 April 2013 Amin would recommend this property

Liked: The general atmosphere was good. Rooms were nice and comfortable and the private showers were a good idea. Internet worked well, the kitchen was large and well equipped and staff were helpful. The pin system rather than key was genius!

Disliked: The booking system seemed to be a mess. We booked 2 nights but were mistakenly booked in the system for one night. We were also overcharged (not by much though) Check in process took a long time, and also I thought it would have been better if the staff were more flexible in letting guests get in to the rooms before 2pm as they were ready.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Watson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! My boyfriend and I stayed here while in Stockholm, and the hostel was one of our favourite parts about Stockholm! Free sauna is awesome, free pasta's even better. The layout is really unique (in a fantastic way), with the attached cafe, and all the different communal areas. It is very clean, and secure (just remember to bring your own lock for the lockers, although you could buy them there if you forgot!). Everyone is very friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I were debating coming back to Stockholm for the sole purpose of being able to stay at this hostel again!

Disliked: Nothing, it was phenomenal!