We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gothenburg Hostel

Hostel | Mölndalsvägen 23, Gothenburg, Sweden 41263

76.8% Overall Rating

18 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2015)

Marie-Christine Barth thinks…

"Big rooms , the 8 bed dorm was divided in two 4 bed dorms, making it very intimate."

Read all Gothenburg Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.38
  • Breakfast USD 9.50
  • Linen USD 7.13
  • Towel USD 2.38

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Gothenburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Gothenburg

Arena Hotel
43.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 57 reviews
STF Göteborg City Hostel
42.92 USD

Hotel 97.1% 8 reviews
Hotel Allén
29.70 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.4% 274 reviews
Hotel Vasa
45.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 34 reviews
Comfort Hotel City Center
34.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.4% 134 reviews
Linné Hostel
16.63 USD

Hostel 77.6% 64 reviews
Backpackers Göteborg
23.17 USD

Hostel 87.3% 48 reviews
Slottsskogens Youth Hostel
27.92 USD

Hostel 89.0% 347 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

18 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gothenburg Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 August 2015

Liked: Clean and tidy, rooms fine.

Disliked: Characterless, very sterile. No reception for much of the day - adds to the impersonal feel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Marie-Christine Barth

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2015

Liked: Big rooms , the 8 bed dorm was divided in two 4 bed dorms, making it very intimate.

Disliked: Dirty showers, couldnt make the room dark

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Martin Evans

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 May 2015

Liked: Location was good & the staff where very helpfull when we had any issues,

Disliked: Not happy about paying extra for laundry hire as this is normally standard? room was very small even for 2 people. not very many comfortable & relaxing comon areas & no bar or T/V in the Hostel itself

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 May 2015

Liked: -fairly spacious rooms -comfortable bed -decent kitchen facility (although I didn't use it)

Disliked: -the system of receiving late-comers is totally unclear if you haven't stayed there before. (read below for more info)* -unhelpful staff (rude? disorganized? imperfect English? all three? I'm not sure) -streetlights that keep the rooms very bright at night -ugly location -overpriced for location/facilities -spotty wifi -(if this sort of thing matters to you) many guests were older and the overall atmosphere was quiet and isolated *The long version: I knew they had limited reception hours and that I would be arriving late. I emailed them this and they said they'd email me the day of my arrival. Since I would not have internet access my day of travel, I called and asked if they could tell me the codes the day before. The receptionist said this could be arranged, but never emailed me. I called the staff on my day of travel and believe I was hung-up on multiple times, although it could've been a connection problem. They texted me the codes (I wish they had just said they were going to text rather than email them, as this would've not been a problem. This might be a language miscommunication with the words email/text). HOWEVER, this text was in Swedish. Some kind strangers helped me out in the end. Maybe it's because I'm a nervous traveler, but how they dealt with this was just not acceptable. I can't be the only one who wants to be sure they can access where they're supposed to be sleeping that night. Very unpleasant experience. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

30 May 2014

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Room was very small, door opened up on to a communal area, thin walls no real atmosphere.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and the facilities were well-kept.

Disliked: The check-in time from 2-4 seems unreasonable. Communication between staff and guests lacked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEE LEONG CHARLES WONG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 CHEE LEONG CHARLES would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to Liseberg park and attractions. The 8 pax room is valued for money. Good kitchen facilities that are cleaned daily by the hostel staff.

Disliked: CHEE LEONG CHARLES left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maelys Lafon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Maelys would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good!

Disliked: Maelys left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Rowan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was extremely clean and comfortable, with a table and chairs, comfortable beds and ample space. The hostel has a very well equipped kitchen and a spacious eating area, so it was easy to make our own meals. Basic things like muesli, salt and cooking oil were provided. The whole hostel including bathrooms was very clean.

Disliked: There was a constant background noise audible in our room - it could have been a nearby water boiler.