HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lidwala Backpacker Lodge Lobamba Hostel

Box 153, Lobamba, Swaziland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 73%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 84%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.92USD
  • Breakfast 1.82USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lobamba?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 73%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 84%

Value 88%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly, safe and clean

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nothing , this place needs new management to bring it up to international standards.

Disliked: Everything , in the first place we tried to contact them to late them know we'll be a late check in without any success. We got there at 23h00 and only found the security guard who knew nothing about our coming and told us he could not help us. After alsmost 30mins we eventually convinced him to make call. Then a grumpy lady came to give us this poor room and was not very helpful.We had a miserable night and we could not even use our card to check out the next morning and God forbit if we did not have cash on us.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location was good and the ladies at the front desk were helpful.

Disliked: Wifi was not free, but worse they used the dreaded Megabite way of Wifi usage. No lockers in room York store private items. The morning guy could not tell me how to get to One of Swazilands main tourist attractions. His response was just go through town and ask someone.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Beautiful property, very lush and green. Backs up into a tropical rainforest that you can hike through.

Disliked: Have to pay for internet. Whirlpool is unclean- stagnant, green water.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice garden and surroundings, also a nice terrace

Disliked: Not really backpacker friendly, there is NO FOOD available, they can prepare dinner for you but when I asked for it they didn't really seem to be happy about it. You have to cook on your own, but the next shopping possibility is about 30 minutes walk along the road. The INTERNET was probably the MOST EXPENSIVE in all the world, I had to pay around 15$ per hour...they don't sell you time, they sell you a certain amount of MB that you download while using the internet, so depending on what you do you spend it fast or slow. But just for using facebook be prepared to spend a lot of money!I found the STAFF UNHELPFUL and not very welcoming, always had the feeling to disturb them with basic things.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lidwala is beautifully located and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Nice rooms/tents and make sure you hike Sheba's Breast, it is worth the exhaustive walk.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Excellent facilities, lovely large, comfortable bed, very friendly staff!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff. Good location.

Disliked: The venue was very damp. If you ask for your washing to be done make sure the weather will be good enough for it to try as they will wash it and put it on the line whatever the weather.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved eveything. Super friendly., great facilties and ideal for exploring Ezulwini & Malkerns.There is a beautiful trail to climb behind the hostel. I made it up and down in 54 minutes! Can you beat me?

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability