We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lidwala Lodge

Hostel | P.O. Box 153, Lobamba, Ezulwini, Swaziland --

80.3% Overall Rating

24 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2013)

"Nothing , this place needs new management to bring it up to international standards."

Read all Lidwala Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.30
  • Breakfast USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ezulwini?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

24 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lidwala Lodge'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 29 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JON UNZUETA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Great place

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2013

Liked: Nothing , this place needs new management to bring it up to international standards.

Disliked: Everything , in the first place we tried to contact them to late them know we'll be a late check in without any success. We got there at 23h00 and only found the security guard who knew nothing about our coming and told us he could not help us. After alsmost 30mins we eventually convinced him to make call. Then a grumpy lady came to give us this poor room and was not very helpful.We had a miserable night and we could not even use our card to check out the next morning and God forbit if we did not have cash on us.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the ladies at the front desk were helpful.

Disliked: Wifi was not free, but worse they used the dreaded Megabite way of Wifi usage. No lockers in room York store private items. The morning guy could not tell me how to get to One of Swazilands main tourist attractions. His response was just go through town and ask someone.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012

Liked: Nice garden and surroundings, also a nice terrace

Disliked: Not really backpacker friendly, there is NO FOOD available, they can prepare dinner for you but when I asked for it they didn't really seem to be happy about it. You have to cook on your own, but the next shopping possibility is about 30 minutes walk along the road. The INTERNET was probably the MOST EXPENSIVE in all the world, I had to pay around 15$ per hour...they don't sell you time, they sell you a certain amount of MB that you download while using the internet, so depending on what you do you spend it fast or slow. But just for using facebook be prepared to spend a lot of money! I found the STAFF UNHELPFUL and not very welcoming, always had the feeling to disturb them with basic things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful property, very lush and green. Backs up into a tropical rainforest that you can hike through.

Disliked: Have to pay for internet. Whirlpool is unclean- stagnant, green water.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lidwala is beautifully located and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Nice rooms/tents and make sure you hike Sheba's Breast, it is worth the exhaustive walk.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taryn Gronbeck

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

27 May 2012 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities, lovely large, comfortable bed, very friendly staff!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Abigail Fisher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good location.

Disliked: The venue was very damp. If you ask for your washing to be done make sure the weather will be good enough for it to try as they will wash it and put it on the line whatever the weather.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved eveything. Super friendly., great facilties and ideal for exploring Ezulwini & Malkerns. There is a beautiful trail to climb behind the hostel. I made it up and down in 54 minutes! Can you beat me?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Angela Montero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: not very clean

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

26 September 2010

Liked: PRICE

Disliked: SAFETY

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, central in the Ezulwini valley, great garden.

Disliked: Not much opportunity to cook your own supper, because they need the kitchen for a shared meal (which you can share too).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: 10am check-out time is too early.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went out of their way to help us find some food after our late arrival :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, nice rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

christina oorebeek

26 February 2010 christina would recommend this property

Liked: The Swahili cooking was wonderful. I had an ensuite room which was fine. Perhaps, they might freshen up the common sitting area on the porch more often. The landscaping was magical with the stream running through beautiful foliage and honey colored rocks!

Disliked: christina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lukas Schmitt

06 April 2009 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: great location to spend some nice days, clean and very friendly staff. be careful hiking up the mountain behind the hostel. in our case it seemed like a nice day hike and turned out to be quite a nightmare, getting lost there is easy. anyway, the hostel is cool, as well as swaziland.

Disliked: Lukas left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Matthijs Jillissen

16 September 2008

Liked: location, garden

Disliked: Matthijs left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Allan Robins

17 September 2007 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time at a back packers, the rooms are functional but the main plus for this hostel is the friendliness of the staff and its location.

Disliked: Allan left no negative feedback.