HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Brinkhouse Guest House

Guesthouse | 166B, Brinkhouse, Welladevalaya road, Yaddehimula, Unawatuna, Galle Unawatuna Beach, Sri Lanka 8600

90.1% Overall Rating

21 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

Tom Waters thinks…

"The owner was a nice, honest, informative man. He showed us some photos of his place (which he's had for 30 years) which gave us a sense of history of the area and guesthouse. The breakfast was the…"

Read all Brinkhouse Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 65.04

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Unawatuna Beach?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Unawatuna Beach

Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
6.12 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Pinwatta Villa
39.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lace Rock Beach Cabanas
15.30 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 6 reviews
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow
19.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Surfcity Guest House
9.95 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

21 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brinkhouse Guest House'

Atmosphere
87.0%
Location
92.2%
Facilities
81.7%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.7%
Value
89.6%
Safety
94.8%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Waters

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014

Liked: The owner was a nice, honest, informative man. He showed us some photos of his place (which he's had for 30 years) which gave us a sense of history of the area and guesthouse. The breakfast was the best of the usual toast, jam, fruit combo we had in Sri Lanka, mainly due to the homemade bread. Coffee and tea were both excellent. From right outside our door we saw a whole group of monkeys and an iguana. Got so engrossed we were late for our tuk-tuk. Wi-fi is also decent. Location is very close to the beach and set back from the road so also nice and quiet.

Disliked: In our room the ceiling fan wasn't above the bed so wasn't overly effective at night, which meant it got a little warm. This could have been solved with a stand-up fan but we didn't ask for one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the nature, we could see monkeys and lizards. Very close to the beach. Nice breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Igor Maltcev

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing

31 January 2014 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Много диких обезьян, варанов, бурундуков и черепах. Отличное расположение 15 секунд до моря.

Disliked: Нет

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michael Moore

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 January 2014

Liked: Nice owner. Central location. Very clean room on arrival.big breakky.good clothes storage space

Disliked: Rooms not regulary cleaned. Breakfast while ample not varied.heaps of mossies no screens.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family run by a lovely couple and their son. Ideal situation for the beach. Quiet situation set back from road. First class breakfast included in price and great value evening meals also available. Fridge in room.

Disliked: Room and balcony on the smallish size in the room that we were allocated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very short to the beach. Small cosy guesthouse, owner runs it himself. Good help from owner to plan trips, taxi,... Correct describing in detail from rooms and correct prices. Friendly people.

Disliked: For our group it is better to have separated beds, but because it were realy King size double beds it was not a big problem to sleep with to persons in 1 bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sokolnikova Ekaterina

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Sokolnikova would recommend this property

Liked: The owener and his wife of guesthouse are very kind persons. They help us in any questions. Room is clean and comfortable. From the balcony a very nice view to the palm garden with monkeys and birds.Beach, restaurant, shops just 1 min by walk, but It is really quiet place (no noisy from bars). Breakfast was served every day on our terrase (tea,coffe,juice,fresh fruits,toasts, mango jam which we like a lot, butter, egs and others). Also on request you ask about dinner. We aet fresh fish and rice- it was amazing! So we spend a beatiful honeymoon with Brink guesthouse. And all reccommend this place.

Disliked: Sokolnikova left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Greif

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Quite, clean and beautiful place, close to the beach, nice staff, breakfast + wifi included.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladimir Goncharov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

01 March 2013 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: a very friendly host, nice location, stylish breakfast

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcin Szafran

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: great place, located in a palm garden, 2min from the beach....very nice people and delicious breakfast with tea, fresh juice and fruits, with homemade pancackes... all for cheap price. totally recommended

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cameron McDonald

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, the location is absolutely perfect - literally a stone's throw from the beach, and it's down the quiet end of Una, away from the main strip of restaurants & bars that are partying late into the night. Normally I party late into the night, but welcomed the peace when I wasn't feeling great for a couple of nights. There's very little traffic too, and one of Una's best restaurants is directly across the road. The couple that run the guesthouse are just wonderful too - SO friendly, and always say hello with the biggest of smiles when you walk past!

Disliked: There's little to dislike about this guesthouse, but if I have to mention anything the blinds in the room offer zero shading from the morning sun - unless you're hungover or a heavy sleeper, you'll be up when the sun rises! The hot water wasn't always working either, it's just fortunate the weather is warm!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large clean room. Old basic facilities but everything worked and staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast served. In a quiet garden with lots of space and only a few minutes from beach and restaurants. Cheaper downstairs room was excellent value.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julie barlow

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 julie would recommend this property

Liked: CConveniently located yet tucked away off the street in a quiet spot among a pleasant garden. The owners are a very friendly family and prepared a beautiful breakfast served on our balcony each morning.The room was very well furnished and had a good standard bathroom with hot water.

Disliked: Noting aboout the property itself, but Unawatuna suffers from a bad noise problem on Saturday night from blasting dance music from a couple of tourist venues on the beach

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly the friendliness of staff an the good breakfast.

Disliked: The outdoor space around the hostel is not cared and not very clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

linda walker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 linda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were always on hand and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble, The room was spacious and the bathroom, modern and clean with hot water.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ruth twiggins

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, but really close to the beach, big rooms convienient, really friendly owner, we enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: No sea view and the garden is a bit barren but great place to stay

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very friendly!

Disliked: There where a lot of mosquitos.