We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle

Guesthouse | Kapuhenwala Road, Marakolliya, Tangalle, Sri Lanka 8100

92.8% Overall Rating

27 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2014)

Mark Davies thinks…

"Excellent location right on the beach, good food, peaceful. Owner was helpful and spoke good English. Room was clean and had a mosquito net."

Read all Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tangalle?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

27 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 29 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Davies

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 April 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location right on the beach, good food, peaceful. Owner was helpful and spoke good English. Room was clean and had a mosquito net.

Disliked: No a/c but the fan kept us cool enough with the sea breeze.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014

Liked: Private beach

Disliked: Lots of insects, not close to main city (which can be a good and bad thing), beach not the best for swimming, food not value for money

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is on the beach and next to a very pleasant lagoon. It has new and very clean rooms. The owner, the staff and the cook are efficient and they know how to make people really comfortable during their stay. It is also fairly easy to reach Tangalle town.

Disliked: I had nothing to complain about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right at the end of the long strip of hostels, long empty beach other side. Great cook, althought menu is limited, he made great meals according to our wishes. We stayed 2 extra nights.

Disliked: No other alcohol than beer on the bar menu. WiFi not avainable on the room, only in the terrace restaurant (same thing on other places we stayed on the island thought).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dariusz Janasiak

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

17 November 2013 Dariusz would recommend this property

Liked: This is really paradise . Hotel is very simple but this is advantage of this place. If you are looking for silence, good food, place for resting from the city this is the place for you. I recommend the apartment on the top with the excellent ocean view .

Disliked: --

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Pfannenstein

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 April 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and manager, wonderful food (best rice&curries in Tangalla), great site in the nature between lagoon and ocean, only 10 min. with tuktuk from Tangalla city center, very clean and large rooms with nice very big balcony, large beach

Disliked: everything was just fine. only thing to mention would be, that due to big waves seabath is sometimes a little bit dangerous, but in March it was possible.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mathew Ladley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet hotel that is literally just a step onto the lovely beach and lagoon. Simple but nice room with large mosquito net and fan

Disliked: Quite a lot of creepy crawlies (and a frog!) in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is incredible, the beach is vast lined with palm trees. All you hear is the sound of the wavs. If you are looking for nightlife don't come here. Tranquil and relaxing. A true getaway from the bustle of the city.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Klingel

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2013 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, bright and airy rooms. Very friendly staff and good service. The perfect spot for people who look for a quiet place at a beautiful beach.

Disliked: Matthias left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 January 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and very clean. The staff are very friendly and it's great value for money. If you're looking for a secluded break on a beautiful beach, then this is your place. The food choice here is limited, but cheap and tasty.

Disliked: A bit too secluded for a long stay (for us). Only a couple of places to eat nearby, and not that cheap.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loneliness, nature and the privacy

Disliked: Unfortunately there was construction work nearby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic beach, very friendly people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alistair hearn

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

20 March 2012 alistair would recommend this property

Liked: Good chill out place - beautiful view - fantastic beach - excellent food.

Disliked: Perhaps a bit too quiet!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter McInnes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing.This is a wonderful place run by the most kind and efficient people.Would recommend to anyone wanting a great get away from the world.Some of the best food in Sri Lanka.

Disliked: nothing