HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Marine Tourist Guest House @ Negombo Beach Negombo Hostel

No.118 Lewis Place, Beach Road, Negombo, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 78%

Location 88%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 20.00USD

Important Information

Cancellation Policy

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 7 days
before arrival (local time).
Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.
If cancelled later or in case of no-show, the total price of the
reservation will be charged.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Negombo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 78%

Location 88%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The price and location

Disliked: Staff command of English isn't the best, checking in was a prolonged drama

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Location was great - right at the beach and near the shops and only a cheap tuk tuk into the main prt of town.Hot water in showers Big lockersAir con

Disliked: The manager wasn't really helpful for anythingNo mosquito netsThe worlds thinnest bedsheet and very ordinary pillows!The 300rph breakfast was tea/coffee, 4x pieces of cold and undercooked toast with butter and jam and an egg. Eat somewhere else for breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly place with big, airy, pleasant common area. Very short walk to beach. Big lockers. Bedside shelves for glasses, watch, phone etc. Plug for recharging. Aircon. Good location, excellent price.

Disliked: One day the cleaner thought I'd left, despite the fact my bed still had a few of my things on it (and my locker was still full and locked). He helpfully recycled my guidebooks and maps into the hostel library, where they - being new - were instantly taken by other hostellers. We mamaged to trace them and get them back and could laugh about it after, but it's a reminder not to leave anything exposed when you're out the room!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice doubleroom with Fan. Vers spacious

Disliked: Third floor under construction. WIFI only in lobby.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and cosy 4-bed room with A/C.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday

Liked: No breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is very central and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There are not many real hostels in Sri Lanka, but this is one! Good mattresses, clean sheets and a locker make a good home for travellers. There is a chillout area where you meet others. The staff was really helpful and very friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location close to Negombo beach. Very clean dorm rooms and nice, comfy beds. Huge lockers to safely store away our backpacks.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lack of facilities

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review in this forum. It means a lot to us. At Marine TGH, we are committed to consistently providing warm, welcoming and friendly service to our guests.
.
We will consider your points highlighted in your review for our future developments.

Owner

Check Availability