HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Negombo hostels

Reviews of Marine Tourist Guest House @ Negombo Beach

Guesthouse | No.118 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka 11500

84.6% Overall Rating

47 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

Robert Misler thinks…

"There are not many real hostels in Sri Lanka, but this is one! Good mattresses, clean sheets and a locker make a good home for travellers. There is a chillout area where you meet others. The…"

Read all Marine Tourist Guest House @ Negombo Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 2,000.00
  • Breakfast USD 500.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 7 days before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. If cancelled later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Negombo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Negombo

Ocean View Tourist Guest House
13.43 USD

Hostel 83.0% 87 reviews
Beach Monkey@Colombo Airport.Negombo
7.67 USD

Hostel 56.4% 4 reviews
Colombo Airport Hostel@ Negombo Beach
9.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Amaya Chalets
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 20 reviews
Wind Mill Beach Rest
20.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 58.9% 10 reviews
Mazz Homestay
9.59 USD

Guesthouse 79.1% 28 reviews
Villa Shade
34.67 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 3 reviews
la grande holiyday resort
18.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

47 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marine Tourist Guest House @ Negombo Beach'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

YU WEI HSU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

13 July 2014 YU WEI would recommend this property

Liked: No breakfast

Disliked: YU WEI left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prhlad Cave

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2014 Prhlad would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very central and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Misler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: There are not many real hostels in Sri Lanka, but this is one! Good mattresses, clean sheets and a locker make a good home for travellers. There is a chillout area where you meet others. The staff was really helpful and very friendly.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to Negombo beach. Very clean dorm rooms and nice, comfy beds. Huge lockers to safely store away our backpacks.

Disliked: n/a

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lack of facilities

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic clean and large room with a very confortable bed and great air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It had a relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Skuli Palmason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2013 Skuli would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice matresses and pillows, individual electrical outlets, lights and lockers that could fit a grown man.

Disliked: Skuli left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location. We could see the ocean from our balcony. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a great time. I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Kobel Marquette

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Large lounge area.

Disliked: Under construction, and close to street rooms are loud.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jana Versin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Room is nice & clean. Pick up service from Airport was waiting for us.

Disliked: No Restaurant

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristin Alwardt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: Coldest air-conditioner in Sri Lanka...fast wi-fi in the room...hotel staff are very friendly and eager to please...great location very near the beach and the best restaurants...excellent value for the money...highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very large rooms, very helpful staff, very close to beach and lots of restaurants. Big comfy bed too.

Disliked: No hot drink facilities in room but good coffee and tea provided when we asked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

PETER FLYNN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to beach, restaurants, bars. Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: PETER left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Seaver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Large room with nice view towards the coast. Basic facilities but most importantly very clean. Reasonably close to the airport. Some of the decor worn, but exceeded all expectations for the price we paid.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

umair riaz ahmad

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 umair riaz would recommend this property

Liked: location is good and the owner is friendly

Disliked: facilities were not as described

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2012

Liked: We stayed in the budget dorm room which is really a twin room with 2 good mosquito nets. There is a bathroom/wetroom with cold water next door to the dorm room, the cold water shower is not too cold, it's refreshing as Negombo is hot. This guesthouse is fine for a sleep & shower before leaving Negombo. They also supplied us a 1.5L bottle of water for 60rupees which is the standard rate around SL.

Disliked: I contacted the guest house by e-mail to let them know we'd be arriving about 3am due to our flight time. This was confirmed by reply e-mail by the guesthouse, but noone was awake when we arrived by taxi at the agreed time to a locked gate, and our phone calls went unanswered. Our taxi driver had to beep his horn to wake the owner to let us in. (Sorry to the other guests for this, it wasn't our idea). I know it was late but we'd agreed the arrival time beforehand & it was a bit stressful after a long flight & in need of some sleep. Admittedly, this delay was only about 5minutes so no big deal.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Baronová

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

07 October 2012 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: close to beach but quiet place, friendly people etc.

Disliked: bad signal in TV >] lol

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012

Liked: The staff are really friendly!

Disliked: There's not much to the place and in an area with a lot of other options this place doesn't really stand out. It was reasonably clean but could have been cleaner.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUNJIE SU

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 JUNJIE would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place, the hostel is close to the Colombo airport, the antie ( boss's mama) is very friendly and helpful, i recommend everybody stay here at least one night before leaving sri lanka.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this guest house runs by good smiled family. i felt comfortable. i can recommend stay in this area before your flight in early morning. it takes around 20 minutes and cost also cheeper than colombo. enjoy the beach!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location for the airport, good free wifi

Disliked: nothing to do in negombo, stay for the airport only. hard to meet people

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late but they were still very helpful!

Disliked: Although it said free breakfast etc. they wanted to charge for everything...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the dorm section. Clean, nice people and convenient for airport in the morning. Good location near beach and restaurants.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A described it is friendly and clean just right after arriving in Sri Lanka after a long flight.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Paul Harding

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012

Liked: Location, clean

Disliked: Not where we booked

The property's response is...


See all Negombo hostels