HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kandy hostels

Reviews of KANDY Down Town Hostel

Hostel | 93 Anniwatta Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka N/A

87.1% Overall Rating

19 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/06/2014)

Vidal Benoit thinks…

"La petite dame qui semble tout faire toute seule, le fait très bien et avec le sourire. Faut dire qu'elle n'a eu que 4 clients durant mon séjour, mais quand même !"

Read all KANDY Down Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kandy?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kandy

Spica Holiday Home
11.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Blink Bonnie Inn Hotel
11.42 USD

Hotel 80.6% 43 reviews
Days Inn Tourist Lodge
9.67 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 14 reviews
The Drop Inn
13.33 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 4 reviews
Majestic Tourist Hotel
10.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 43 reviews
Hillcrest Home Hantane
6.47 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 7 reviews
Haniffas Holiday Inn
9.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kundasale Holiday Home
15.76 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

19 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'KANDY Down Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.5%
Location
70.0%
Facilities
90.0%
Cleanliness
90.9%
Staff
90.0%
Value
90.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vidal Benoit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Vidal would recommend this property

Liked: La petite dame qui semble tout faire toute seule, le fait très bien et avec le sourire. Faut dire qu'elle n'a eu que 4 clients durant mon séjour, mais quand même !

Disliked: Should improve their map, quite illisible.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Jenke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Away from town centre so peace and quiet, free internet and breakfast plus really nice hosts

Disliked: Location is 200 lkr tuk tuk or a hilly 15 minute walk and not much atmosphere.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LIBIAO YE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 LIBIAO would recommend this property

Liked: 环境不错,绿树成荫、空气清新;早餐是所有住过的Hostel中最好的,有鸡蛋与水果。

Disliked: 网站上指示的便道容易走错,沿路狗比较多;另外,客厅、房间电源插座配置不够。

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saad Salim Ali

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Saad Salim would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place and friendly staff.

Disliked: Saad Salim left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Verry friendly Staff. Verry clean and nice rooms. Cheap Tuk-Tuk available for Tours.

Disliked: It's not really Down Town as the name might suggest, but downhill still in a good walking distance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ambrose Sharp

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Ambrose would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service provision, clean rooms, great food and atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Chandra (who runs the hostel) is very sweet and extremely helpful! Breakfast is toast, cucumber and tomato slices and a hard boiled egg plus coffee or tea, which is better than a lot of hostels. It was very quiet the first two nights we were there, but once more people checked in we had a great crowd. Chandra's son also drives a tuk tuk and provides his services to guests at a great rate. Rooms are clean, nice common areas, lovely scenery surrounding the hostel. Not too far from a grocery store, which is nice, and in a seemingly high end suburb of Kandy.

Disliked: Location is a bit far from downtown (20 minutes walking at a brisk pace). Bathrooms weren't terrible but the one off our room could use a little work- old hair and god knows what in the drain and I encountered two slugs during our stay. No sheets on the bed- there is a blanket and pillow (with case) provided but I ended up using the blanket as a bottom sheet and slept in my sleep sack while my friend just slept without a blanket.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, free breakfast, helpful staff

Disliked: None of the tuktuk drivers knew where it was, so make sure you have a clear address for them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sergio pavanello rossi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 sergio would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a very good choice for Kandy. Most of ot thanks to the lovely Chandra that takes good care of everything and is always willing to help! Besides, she cooks the best meal in town!

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013

Liked: The hostel itself is nice located in bush although it is a bit of a walk to the centre. The rooms away from the road are nice and peaceful.

Disliked: I had a real problem over the price of the room. I booked on hostelbookers and the price stated for a single private room was 1200 rupees per night. When I arrived the staff insisted I had to pay 1800 rupees per night. Finally after some arguments they agreed I could pay the 1200 rupees I had booked on hostelbookers. A friend met up with me and shared the same room with me as there were several beds in this room. I asked how much and was told 1800 rupees for two people which I paid. But when I went to check out the next day the ladies demanded I pay 1200 rupees PLUS 1800 rupees for my friend to share the room. After some arguments I asked if they would mind calling the manager who agreed 1800 for two people was the price. Then my friend who is Sinhalese told me that one of the ladies had asked him to pay her an extra 200 rupees which she put in her pocket. She then demanded he pay an extra 50 rupees to use a towel, which was provided by the hostel for free. She also charged me 300 rupees to use the shared communal kitchen. The lady also told my friend because he was local he couldn't leave by the front door but had to leave by a side door. Not sure why this was but it seemed strange and made him feel like a second class citizen. I was there three nights and the communal bathrooms weren't cleaned in this time. So although the hostel was nice all in all it was not a good experience and in the end we just wanted to leave as quickly as possible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pawel Zygadlo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Pawel would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, veeeeerrryyyy helpful stuff! Recommend with no reserve!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment is really nice, peaceful and quiet. Staff is very helpful. Good mosquitos nets. Clean bathroom. There's a computer you can use. It is not too far from the Big Buddha.

Disliked: Nothing much, but just to actualize, the ride from the hostel to Kandy Bus/Train Station is 250 not 180 anymore.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great cheap home cooked meals. Very lovely and friendly cook. Generally helpful staff although they take commission from their tuktuk driver who runs tours from there- best totals with him direct.

Disliked: One of the house keepers is very direct- don't take her as rude, it's just a cultural difference of communication. Be firm with the price you will pay- she will negotiate to some degree.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RENE OULLIER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2013 RENE would recommend this property

Liked: All is perfect here ! Welcome, safety, peace, silence, cleanliness, all !

Disliked: Nothing !

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast (even itś very small), free Wifi, location not that far from center

Disliked: Staff came in my room twice at 10 pm without knocking on the door..., no Alcohol allowed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Murphy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: A really great place to stay. Unlike other hostels/guesthouses in Sri Lanka this one was perfect for that backpacker feel. Met some really nice people, which made a massive difference when travelling alone. Great value for money, excellent and helpful staff, amazing and tasty food, breakfast and dinner were amazing. use of a kitchen, free tea/coffee, great wifi, a great little hostel that I'd recommend to anyone.

Disliked: A little bit of a walk into the centre of Kandy, about 20 minutes, but I enjoy walking and discovering the surrounding area, so not really a problem for me. Tuk Tuk's cost 300 rupees into Kandy, so won't really break the bank.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013

Liked: It was clean. You have kitchen you can use and free wifi. There is a main area to chill out and a balcony.

Disliked: It is not 'downtown' as the name states which is misleading. The woman only gave me a single sheet so I had no cover. Their free breakfast is toast and jam-lame! I had a room in the front which was noisy all night because it is right on the little Main Street.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This is someones house.It obviously is not a liscenced place,but the price is great and there is an awesome balcony.We got free tea and toast in the mornings and had the use of the kitchen as well.

Disliked: The itnernet connection was not very good.The place is a beautifully landscaped house.There is no sign indicating it is a hostel.It is definitely not downtown.That is a half hour walk up and down steep hills.


See all Kandy hostels