We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kandy hostels

Reviews of Hillcrest Home Hantane

Guesthouse | # 23, Upper Hantana Road, Udaperadeniya, Kandy, Sri Lanka 20404

87.8% Overall Rating

6 out of 7 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

Charlie Wu thinks…

"Great atmosphere up in the hills. Very quiet and a beautiful walk down to the university and gardens. The staff are also very friendly and will not hesitate to give you advice on your travels."

Read all Hillcrest Home Hantane reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 0.77
  • Towel USD 0.77

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kandy?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kandy

Haniffas Holiday Inn
9.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
KANDY Down Town Hostel
9.96 USD

Hostel 86.9% 24 reviews
Days Inn Tourist Lodge
9.67 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 14 reviews
Blink Bonnie Inn Hotel
11.49 USD

Hotel 80.6% 43 reviews
Spica Holiday Home
11.26 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Majestic Tourist Hotel
10.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 43 reviews
The Drop Inn
13.40 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 4 reviews
Kundasale Holiday Home
11.39 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hillcrest Home Hantane'

Atmosphere
85.7%
Location
74.3%
Facilities
91.4%
Cleanliness
97.1%
Staff
88.6%
Value
85.7%
Safety
91.4%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere up in the hills. Very quiet and a beautiful walk down to the university and gardens. The staff are also very friendly and will not hesitate to give you advice on your travels.

Disliked: Quite far from the city though there's an hourly bus to Kandy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Tolmachev

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is close to the Royal Botanical Gardens, very quiet and relaxing. Rounded with palms and tropical plants and birds. The host family is very kind and friendly, helped us during our stay and later. Kitchen is good and has microwave oven, toaster, fridge and free tea/coffee. Living room is also good. Overall best for this price.

Disliked: Roman left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Finn Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2014 Finn would recommend this property

Liked: Love this place! The owners are lovely, helpful people and they really took care to make my stay enjoyable and stress free. Just a 10min walk down a nice path to Peradeniya town. To get to Kandy central is just a quick bus trip, which costs not even 20 cents (NZD) and there are buses every minute it seemed. Nice to be out of the city in a lovely area, but still so close and accessible to anything you would want to see in the area. Highly recommend this place, lovely home cooked food, cricket on the telly at night, and some really great advice to help me plan the rest of my trip in Sri Lanka. I hope to return after a stint down to the south coast before i leave for India. Thanks guys!

Disliked: Finn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angel Hadzhiyski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Angel would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and quiet house with a friendly staff. We totally recommend this place if you want to stay in Peradenniya or Kendy. You can talk with the owners in the evenings and they will give you advices where to go on the next day. We come early in the morning and they were so nice to give us the room and a tasty breakfast.

Disliked: Angel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this hostel, actually , here doesn't like a hostel, it's like a guest house, or even home.the first night when I arrived, I didn't have dinner. Cuz I planed to have it nearby,but I found it's on the mountain , no restaurent nearby. They offered me their home made dinner---rice with sth. I felt so sweet !

Disliked: Not easy to be found, no sign outside. A tuk tuk driver took an hour to find here last night. But considering it's new, I can accpet. Bad singal on the mountain.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013

Liked: This is a fine place if you want to stay long term in a cheap place far from the tourist sites but if you want to actually see Kandy and surrounding areas it's best not to stay here b/c it is FAR from anywhere.

Disliked: There were so many things wrong with this place it is hard to begin: 1. The location is 40 min by auto from Kandy - the map they send you is deceiving and shows the location to be much closer than it actually is from Kandy and from the local train station. I asked 5 auto drivers and none knew where this place was - none of the locals knew either. Every other backpacker staying there also had a lot of trouble finding this place - there are no signs at all along any of the paths. 2. If you think you're saving $ by staying here, you're wrong b/c the price of auto rides to and from Kandy can be 300-600 Rs depending on your luck. Additionally, even though it was cold at night, they charge you for extra bed sheets (they don't even have blankets). They also denied that there were mosquitos in our room even though we had both been bitten at night. 3. The facilitaties were quite bad - our room (private for 2 persons) had a door that couldn't be opened from the inside - as in literally the owner and I were locked in my room for 5 min while she called out to her sister to kick down the door to get us out. They did fix the door later on but it took over 20 min that night and took away time from sleep - we had been traveling for a while and asked if they could pls try to fix the door the following day but they insisted on working at night when we wanted to go to sleep (we had an early morning ride to catch to Sigiriya). There is also only 1 bathroom for all the travelers - so whenever 1 person is taking a shower, no one else can use the toilet, etc. which is inconvenient. All of the rooms (private and dorm) face into the small dining room and there are always noises at night - since it's a family, you can hear the baby screaming and kids yelling all night so it's not peaceful at all and hard to get a good night's sleep. 4. The owners were very unprofessional in their conduct and in running this place - it's as if one day they woke up and decided to just open up a guesthouse in their home without thinking it through. When we showed up - they had no idea how long we were staying for or that we had already paid 10% of total stay online. Also, when we asked htem simple questions about tourist sites - they knew nothing. No idea when main sites might be open, location of Sigiriya on a map, if there would be fees, train times, places to see, etc. The wi-fi was also not working the entire 2 days we were there so no way to check with other sources of info. I had to leave the guest-house to be able to find good sources of info from other travelers/locals. We thought at first that if they were unprofessional at least they were nice - boy were we wrong! After we got back to our room one night, they asked my roommate (who had gotten in late the night before) to sign the guestbook; she said she would do it later as she had just gotten out of the shower and needed to change. Ten minutes later, the wife had gotten her husband over, who threatened to kick us out if we didnt sign the book - when we asked if we could sign the book (enter passport #, etc) from our room so that my roomie could do it in PJs (she wasn't comfortable having this man staring at her) they literally barged into our room and demanded to see her entering her info - so she did. Then they accused her of lying and using a false passport # - so she handed over her US passport and the husband continued to sya that she was lying (because he didn't know how to read the passport) until she pointed out that she was not and then he quieted down and let us sleep. This type of behavior was extremely odd and scary and we would not recommend this family for other travelers. 5. This is not a real guest-house experience in that the owners do not cook and there is only 1 restaurant (Chinese) that you can order dinner from. No other options at all as there are no nearby restaurants. Overall we were SO HAPPY to have left this place and can't imagine why anyone would want to stay here. Our other guest house experiences in Haputale (ABC GuestHouse) and Mirissa (Ancient Tree) were much much better and shows what a real guest house should be vs. this sham that they're running here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manuel Bisten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Its a lovely nature place. Its worth not to stay just for one night as might me most travellers are doing for Kandy area. You are surrounded by palm trees and at night you can listen some animals in those bushy place around the house. The couple who owns those place will be always there for your questions or just some nice friendly chats!

Disliked: The public transportation to those place isn't so easy/frequently

The property's response is...


See all Kandy hostels