We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Galle hostels

Reviews of Fort Inn Guest House

Hostel | 31 Pedlar Street, Fort Galle, Galle, Sri Lanka 80000

88.7% Overall Rating

36 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

"Nice guesthouse in the heart of Galle Fort. Few minutes walk to the main attractions and restaurants. Room was clean with a nice view. Wifi available only in public areas. Very friendly owner and staff."

Read all Fort Inn Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Galle?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

36 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fort Inn Guest House'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

agnella craig

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 agnella would recommend this property

Liked: CENTRAL LOCATION

Disliked: Little interaction,rooms not cleaned daily - but this seems usual in Sri Lanka

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice guesthouse in the heart of Galle Fort. Few minutes walk to the main attractions and restaurants. Room was clean with a nice view. Wifi available only in public areas. Very friendly owner and staff.

Disliked: steep staircase

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Fang

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: The family owners have created a perfect place to stay. Air conditioning, fast wifi in each room, fridge for water, ceiling fan, all in each room, and everything extremely clean has made our stay in Galle wonderful. The family are extremely friendly and have done everything to make our stay perfect. Location is right in the centre near a lot if great cafés and restaurants, and inside the atmospheric fort walls.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lei zhang

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014

Liked: location good,staff just ok

Disliked: room too small ,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a quaint little home stay located on the pebbled streets inside the Galle fort area. The location is very convenient, as there are numerous cafes, ATMs and tuk-tuk service points close to the property

Disliked: The rooms are small-size, and can get slightly claustrophobic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvette Stolk

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 Yvette would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly from the moment we arrived. Wanted to ensure our needs were taken care of. We ended up booking a second night stay and certainly glad we did. Staff were observed cleaning and tidying from early morning til late at night. Excellent stay.

Disliked: Yvette left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: peaple friendly and home feeling

Disliked: steps in house is too narrow

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abdullahi ibrahim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 abdullahi would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located in the heart of galle fort so everything is in walking distance , with a nice family atmosphere and a very friendly staff . rooms were very clean with nice AC and shower ... the view was perfect .

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUHUA CHANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 December 2012 YUHUA would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly host couple along with their excellent driver Pradeep. And the great location of course.

Disliked: No.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is beautiful, balcony offers a terrific view over the fort. Location is great, most things in walking distance. Staff very helpful and friendly

Disliked: The room has a funky smell to it, when you dont have the windows open. I guess its because of the old matress, that seems a litte dirty and also smells weird. The linen felt kinda greasy, not washed well. The fan can be pretty loud at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...affordable, location...great owners who are extremely nice, accomodating and helpful...couldn't be better

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfasts.

Disliked: If Fort Inn is full, you get put in another Hotel owned by the family called Fort Fifty, if you are unlucky enough to get a ground floor room they are extreamly noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming and really helpful and organised young owners. Rasika is always available to answer queries and help.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sam Fitzpatrick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: As many other reviewers have said before, the family are a delight!! So helpful and interested in what you're doing without being overbearing. The Sri Lankan breakfast was lovely and there's a nice balcony to enjoy it from. The location is just about as good as it gets too.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: What can i say - we loved it here!! The family are so friendly and welcoming, always giving advice to ensure happy and safe trip. We stayed an extra night! Would strongly recommend this guest house. Best pineapple juice in town! Great location, lovely atmosphere inside the fort. Havern of sri lanka! Thank you.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LA AMABILIDAD DEL MATRIMONIO PROPIETARIO, BUENA GUEST HOUSE PARA MOCHILERO, PERO NO PARA "HOTELEROS "

Disliked: EL TRATO PERSONAL DE SUS PROPIETARIOS.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sabrina Vande Cotte

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 November 2011 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: - owners are very friendly - nice breakfast for a little fee

Disliked: I liked it... only the mosque sound in the morning was a bit of a bummer... but nothing you can do about that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The CP value is the highest guest houses of our trip in Sri Lanka. The owner is kind and patient to response our claims. It's really a very nice place. It's a little shortage that doesn't face to sea, but that's right.

Disliked: It's too good to say something.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyson Portlock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011 Alyson would recommend this property

Liked: Rasika and Rasika who own this property will make you feel welcome from the minute you step off your tuk tuk! The property is of a great standard, the food is UNREAL.. some of the best we've had in Sri Lanka in our two week stay. But what makes this place the best is the owners and their beautiful son - we wished we could stay longer. Even if you don't stay here you MUST eat here and meet these people and the other wonderful staff.. but do yourself a favour and stay there! Great value and excellent location.

Disliked: Nothing to possibly dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryn Jones

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 August 2011 Bryn would recommend this property

Liked: Genuine and friendly owners. Relaxed atmosphere. Simple, clean and comfortable rooms. Great location. Good tasty food.

Disliked: Nothing to add.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to the lighthouse. Quiet area, and a great porch. Also, the rooms are very cool - even though it is hot outside - NICE! The hosts are the nicest people I've ever met - they're English is great, and her cooking is beyond amazing.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within the fort. Very friendly and welcoming. We paid extra for the breakfast, and it was good, but the rice and curry is to die for!! Seriously good! Needed to pay extra for the aircon, but we really needed it.

Disliked: Renovations next door started at about 7h15!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gillyann whadcoat-lorraine

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 March 2011 gillyann would recommend this property

Liked: Actually stayed in the sister hostel around the corner which is slightly larger. In the heart of the old fort. Looked very new. Had a nice room with a/c & satellite TV. Very friendly & helpful staff. Small restaurant in this hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire MCHUGH

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

07 March 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely, character filled house. I stayed in the top room, which was lovely, airy & colourful.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!


See all Galle hostels