HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Colombo Sea View Hostel Colombo

Hostel

45/1 , Initium Road , Dehiwala, Floor 3 , Apartment 2, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 81%

Location 76%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 25.81USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colombo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 81%

Location 76%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice place,and there working beautiful woman Turlie, she is always ready to help.and so close to the beach, good for walking or chilling in the beach cafe.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean\\Safty

Disliked: Railway

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Adikaram sea View Hostel is about a 5min walk from bus stand and near 10min walk to Dehiwala train station and you can take the bus~ from fort (Bus number -101,100,400)to here.The hostel itself is brilliant- bathroom is very keep clean and room also good. Location .price.stff, service and information was wonderful~ Highly recommended. MITHILA~ thank you very much!!!

Disliked: nothing~

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Right next to the beach. clean. free wifi

Disliked: owner is a control freak. 1030pm curfew in which you can not enter the hostel or leave(even to have a cigarette downstairs as there is no smoking in the apartment/hostel.. rules for everything. Although there is a common lounge room, owner watches tv all day and night there and basically watches every move you make. When i tried to approach owner on issue of not having place to smoke after 1030pm, she ignored me and walked away. This is a personal pet hate. It is with this in mind that i will give a particularly low rating since if the owner is not willing to engage in constructive feedback from guests in person....perhaps she will listen to poor reviews via hostel bookers...

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Freindly helpful owner who cooked a lovely, cheap curry and rice, only 250 rupee to do all my washing which was by far the cheapest in sri lanka i found, fast wifi, nice homely feel to hostel, near beach and other amenities

Disliked: 30 minutes bus ride from city centre, but only 25 rupee so no problem

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: It is in fact very clean.

Disliked: First thing above all. NOBODY in Colombo knows Initium Road, so it will take you probably ages to find that street (even the street sign is not very good to see and Galle Road is endless). If you then finally found Initium road you won't find any signs of a hostel, so write down the number of the house! There is nothing which says "Adikaram Sea View Hostel" or "Backpackers" or anything else.If you finally arrive you will find a woman who is absolutely not able to do her job. I myself managed a hostel in New Zealand and I know that one has to take this job seriously, but she is absolutely unprofessional. First thing; she made a drama because I had no proof with me that I booked in this hostel (I never had this before, but she pushed really against me instead of coming towards to her customers). In addition to that, because I arrived three hours before check- in she wanted me to pay double fee, altough she didn't allow me to take a rest or a shower. Next thing. She is not very friendly. She asks you questions, you start to tell and after a few words she interrupts you and just starts another topic. And then, she is not listening at all, therefore you can repeat everything you say at least a thousand times and she still doesn't get it.I booked a girls dorm and two days later I suddenly had a guy in my room...She puts all my stuff everyday on my bed so that she can clean, but in my opinion that's an absolutely no- go!!! And if it's raining she comes in the middle of the night in my room and closes the window, when it stops she comes in again and opens it.In the morning and in the evening I usually say "good morning"/ "good night", sometimes she doesn't reply at all.I don't know but this woman is absolutey horrid. She makes me feel absolutely uncomfortable in this hostel!Except of that the hostel is alright. It is very very clean, the breakfast is okay, location ok as well (beach very close). Another negative point is that the Dehiwahla- train is almost direclty at the hostel, it goes several times at day and night and honks brutally load.If you can find another hostel in Colombo... take the other one. You won't feel very welcomed here.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice hostel, friendly staff, very clean, lots of advice for what to do and check out around Colombo. Very much feels like home with live in staff. Free breaky! Close to buses into the city approx $US0.20. Walk to Mt Lavinia resort district.

Disliked: Your friendly airport taxi driver probably won't Know where this is (not the hostel's fault), and it's an apartment in a residential building, so you probably want to arrive during the day.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Mittila the woman who is there does not speak very good english but is super sweet and helpful. So nice and close to the beach just a short bus ride from Colombo. Very clean. Free toast and tea.

Disliked: I wish you didn't have to pay for towels.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Matilla (sp?) was very friendly. It was always clean.

Disliked: The beach is not quite what I was hoping it was, and it's a bit aways from a lot of things in Colombo.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: cheap and nice

Disliked: little hard to find

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability