We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Colombo hostels

Reviews of Adikaram sea View Hostel

Hostel | 45/1, Initium road, Dehiwala Colombo, Sri Lanka CO 10350

80.5% Overall Rating

16 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2014)

baeg mun go thinks…

"Adikaram sea View Hostel is about a 5min walk from bus stand and near 10min walk to Dehiwala train station and you can take the bus~ from fort (Bus number -101,100,400)to here.The hostel itself is…"

Read all Adikaram sea View Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.07

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colombo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Colombo

Clock Inn Colombo
9.97 USD

Hostel 88.0% 32 reviews
Mount Beach Rooms
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mount Lavinia Home Stay
7.67 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 47 reviews
Supun Arcade Residency
23.33 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Colombo Beach Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 4 reviews
Mysoor Inn
12.78 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
Colombo City Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 86.0% 10 reviews
Omni Holiday Bungalow
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

16 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adikaram sea View Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.3%
Location
74.3%
Facilities
79.1%
Cleanliness
90.5%
Staff
81.9%
Value
81.9%
Safety
81.9%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean\Safty

Disliked: Railway

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

nathan hanspal

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 February 2014

Liked: Right next to the beach. clean. free wifi

Disliked: owner is a control freak. 1030pm curfew in which you can not enter the hostel or leave(even to have a cigarette downstairs as there is no smoking in the apartment/hostel.. rules for everything. Although there is a common lounge room, owner watches tv all day and night there and basically watches every move you make. When i tried to approach owner on issue of not having place to smoke after 1030pm, she ignored me and walked away. This is a personal pet hate. It is with this in mind that i will give a particularly low rating since if the owner is not willing to engage in constructive feedback from guests in person....perhaps she will listen to poor reviews via hostel bookers...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

baeg mun go

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 baeg mun would recommend this property

Liked: Adikaram sea View Hostel is about a 5min walk from bus stand and near 10min walk to Dehiwala train station and you can take the bus~ from fort (Bus number -101,100,400)to here.The hostel itself is brilliant- bathroom is very keep clean and room also good. Location .price.stff, service and information was wonderful~ Highly recommended. MITHILA~ thank you very much!!!

Disliked: nothing~

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Freindly helpful owner who cooked a lovely, cheap curry and rice, only 250 rupee to do all my washing which was by far the cheapest in sri lanka i found, fast wifi, nice homely feel to hostel, near beach and other amenities

Disliked: 30 minutes bus ride from city centre, but only 25 rupee so no problem

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 October 2013

Liked: It is in fact very clean.

Disliked: First thing above all. NOBODY in Colombo knows Initium Road, so it will take you probably ages to find that street (even the street sign is not very good to see and Galle Road is endless). If you then finally found Initium road you won't find any signs of a hostel, so write down the number of the house! There is nothing which says "Adikaram Sea View Hostel" or "Backpackers" or anything else. If you finally arrive you will find a woman who is absolutely not able to do her job. I myself managed a hostel in New Zealand and I know that one has to take this job seriously, but she is absolutely unprofessional. First thing; she made a drama because I had no proof with me that I booked in this hostel (I never had this before, but she pushed really against me instead of coming towards to her customers). In addition to that, because I arrived three hours before check- in she wanted me to pay double fee, altough she didn't allow me to take a rest or a shower. Next thing. She is not very friendly. She asks you questions, you start to tell and after a few words she interrupts you and just starts another topic. And then, she is not listening at all, therefore you can repeat everything you say at least a thousand times and she still doesn't get it. I booked a girls dorm and two days later I suddenly had a guy in my room... She puts all my stuff everyday on my bed so that she can clean, but in my opinion that's an absolutely no- go!!! And if it's raining she comes in the middle of the night in my room and closes the window, when it stops she comes in again and opens it. In the morning and in the evening I usually say "good morning"/ "good night", sometimes she doesn't reply at all. I don't know but this woman is absolutey horrid. She makes me feel absolutely uncomfortable in this hostel! Except of that the hostel is alright. It is very very clean, the breakfast is okay, location ok as well (beach very close). Another negative point is that the Dehiwahla- train is almost direclty at the hostel, it goes several times at day and night and honks brutally load. If you can find another hostel in Colombo... take the other one. You won't feel very welcomed here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Beetham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, friendly staff, very clean, lots of advice for what to do and check out around Colombo. Very much feels like home with live in staff. Free breaky! Close to buses into the city approx $US0.20. Walk to Mt Lavinia resort district.

Disliked: Your friendly airport taxi driver probably won't Know where this is (not the hostel's fault), and it's an apartment in a residential building, so you probably want to arrive during the day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mittila the woman who is there does not speak very good english but is super sweet and helpful. So nice and close to the beach just a short bus ride from Colombo. Very clean. Free toast and tea.

Disliked: I wish you didn't have to pay for towels.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Matilla (sp?) was very friendly. It was always clean.

Disliked: The beach is not quite what I was hoping it was, and it's a bit aways from a lot of things in Colombo.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and nice

Disliked: little hard to find

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

matthew gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013

Liked: It is farily close to the train station for easy in and out access.The view of the beach is fantastic and it is empty during the week.

Disliked: The place is someones three bedroom apartment.It is a bit stuffy.Choose a top bunk to take advantage of the cool breeze from the fan.Lack of window screens to keep out mosquitoes,but they do light mosquito coils,which seemed pretty effective.It is the same all over Sri Lanka.Bring a mosquito net with you just to be safe.One can be bought in Kandy for about 10 dollars

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ganghua cheng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 ganghua would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: The lady told me she checked what I was doing two o clock at night as y rooms light was on. I was reading, but I found it a bit creepy....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Philippe Bourse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Air con wasn't working

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and welcoming despite the language barrier. Good clean rooms at an affordable price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

usman azam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 usman would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is ideal for beach lovers and for those wanting to stay outside of Colombo traffic and hustle but yet with in touching distance of the city center. (MAX 500 rupees to Colombo train station).

Disliked: usman left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kumar Durai

Alone

Business / conference

27 August 2012 Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: It is an european style hostel. Bathrooms and showers are clean. care taker lady is cordial and provides all we needs. stone through distance is beach where we can enjoy daily by swiming and walking. srllankan peoles are friendly. super market piza hut is located nearby. initilay i paid more mony to taxi by paying Rs 3500/ but wile retutning i have paid rs 50 by bus. just going to fort station and get the bus no 187. thanks to hostel bookers

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Prowd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Much like a homestay, the hostel is a flat in an apartment building. The lady lives on site and cooked me lunch while also giving good advice on the area. Just like its names says the hostel had a sea view and is only 50 metres walk from the beach.

Disliked: No signs to find the hostel at all makes it hard to find at night. Barely anyone else staying there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Location not optimal

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2012

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: staff, small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekrath lohasan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2012 Ekrath would recommend this property

Liked: No signal/name of guesthouse in front of the building,not easily to finding, i asked someone who generose on the way near there.It's okay just like my house,friendly staff,near seaside take awalk every morning meet smiling local people. food shop super market ,ATM,Banks and main street. joinly friends from Germany,England,Netherland......wow! you can cooking and laundry yourself,best of the best in Sri lanka and 10 countries i have been.

Disliked: No signal/name of guesthouse in front of the building


See all Colombo hostels