We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cottage Tourist Rest

Guesthouse | 388/38 Harischandra Mawatha, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka N/A

76.8% Overall Rating

6 out of 8 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2013)

Pawel Zygadlo thinks…

"What may I say? Basically very nice place, with veeerrrryyy helpful staff. Generally clean, maybe bathroom not sparkling clean, but remeber, it is not Sheraton. Location actually not bad, just the…"

Read all Cottage Tourist Rest reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Restaurant
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Outside area

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anuradhapura?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Anuradhapura

French Garden Tourist Rest
12.44 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Randiya
19.14 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Milano Tourist Rest
10.53 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 21 reviews
Panorama Rest
15.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Little Paradise
17.61 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 28 reviews
London Palace
15.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gamodh Citadel Resort
13.40 USD

Hotel 5 star 88.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

6 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cottage Tourist Rest'

Atmosphere
65.0%
Location
90.0%
Facilities
65.0%
Cleanliness
70.0%
Staff
87.5%
Value
75.0%
Safety
85.0%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014

Liked: Close to attractions Our driver got there free accommodation

Disliked: Very old furniture Very old equipment in the toilet and shower Decrepit room, unpleasant feeling in the room We did not go there to eat, as there was a feeling of impurity

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pawel Zygadlo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Pawel would recommend this property

Liked: What may I say? Basically very nice place, with veeerrrryyy helpful staff. Generally clean, maybe bathroom not sparkling clean, but remeber, it is not Sheraton. Location actually not bad, just the description how to get there even it is accurate, is not clear. And here goes the easiest way to get there: GO TO THE OLD BUS STATION (STAND), THEN GO AHEAD UNTIL U REACH THE ROUNDABOUT WITH THE ELEPHANT IN THE MIDDLE, AND THEN TURN LEFT, WALK FOR 2 MINS AND THERE U R! And there was a wedding on the day when I was leaving! Was really funny!

Disliked: Nothing, really.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mr Stefan Francis Donnelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Mr Stefan Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized clean rooms. Not extremely cheap but considering local prices its pretty good value for money. Staff very helpful, good location and a reasonably priced restaurant/bar if you don't fancy doing much. Wifi provided on request

Disliked: Not much. Some staff speak limited English but its not really a big problem. Wifi not available when I arrived. Was provided thereafter though turned off at midnight.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Murphy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice, clean, friendly, safe and great value for money guesthouse. The staff were very helpful, the food was very nice and reasonably priced and the wifi was free too. The staff were excellent, and really made every effort to help. So much so that Simpson, the owner offered to drive me in his car south to see the sights in Sigiriya and Dambulla, then put me on a bus to Kandy, for a great price (I would have paid the same price for a tuk tuk, which you don't want to do long distances in!) He even printed out some information on both places for me. A really nice, kind and helpful man. I'd definitely recommend this guesthouse as a great base to see the sights and to be taken care of in style and comfort.

Disliked: I thought the guesthouse was great, however there's not really much to do in Anuradhapura, bar sightseeing, so I didn't need to stay for the two nights I did stay. Arrive early and see the sights, you can do both Anuradhapura and Mihintale in a day, then head south to Sigiriya and Dambulla.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic Hotel, Clean, hot water, AC, helpful staff

Disliked: Dinner portions could have been bigger

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were kind and friendly and location is convenient for banks, supermarket, cycle hire and getting to the site of the ruins.

Disliked: January and February are popular months for weddings in Sri Lanka so there was a lot of big parties going on during my stay, if you sleep well this won't be a problem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Limited food on the menu therefore had to walk to another hotel but very close. They are doing renovations so this may improve when they finish