HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

French Garden Tourist Rest. Guesthouse

488/4, Maithreepala Senanayake Mawatha,, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka., Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10,000.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 14:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anuradhapura?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, friendly, a cut above the usual (butmore expensive than we normally pay). Nice large rooms. Local food was good, Western not so good and both rather expensive.

Disliked: We did not get a double bed and they put is in a room next to reception, so noisy phones in the night. The garden lawn was not sittable as the photos indicate. The location needs to be clearer on the map - it isat the side of the town library in a small street, no hotel sign.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Nice and clean room. Good value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our 3 week tour of Sri Lanka. We had a complimentary tuk-tuk pickup from the New railway station even though we were 1 hour late on our 6 hour journey from Gampaha. Supun was our friendly receptionist, waiter and general advisor. We had our evening meal in the restaurant too as there appeared to be nowhere else in the vicinity (& we did look). We had a great Sri Lankan breakfast and meals too. Large Lion beer was a reasonable LKR350. Location is very convenient to tour the extensive temple area north of the new town.

Disliked: Noise from restaurant affected ground floor rooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Mahège, le préposé à la réception, est un chaleureux et excellent hôte. Toujours disponible, accueillant, chaleureux et intéressé à la clientèle. Il nous a aidé à faire de futures réservations d'hôtels, a contacté des taxis... Cette hôtel offre un excellent rapport qualité/prix. Les chambres et la nourriture sont bien correctes. Nous vous suggèrons d'essayer les noix d'acajou devil. C'est vraiment très bon.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staff, good location, clean rooms, can rent bikes

Disliked: water used for tea and drink for breakfast was not tasty

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Provides clean and comfortable accommodation at a central location. Staff are friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything. Very friendly stuff

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice tidy guesthouse with free wifi. The host and owner was exceptionaly helpful and friendly. Good food on premises too, but just be prepared to wait a little while.

Disliked: We hired the bicyles to go and check out the ruins. They were fine, but very old and not too far from complete breakdown. Make sure you check them carefully before you head out.Side note, and nothing to do with the guest house, at the ruins you have to remove your shoes, check in your shoes at the booths provided or carry them in your bag, my partner had hers stolen which ruined her day.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bedroom spacious and clean. The same for the bathroom. Dinner and breakfast are served on the terrace in front of a little beautiful garden. Breakfast is OK.The service of the personal is OK. So value for money.

Disliked: Location is not easy to find. Dinner is somewhat expensive ( à la carte).

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I Recommended this guesthouse others.

Disliked: Bicycle for rent are in bad conditions ! It´s better rent it somewhere else.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability