We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of French Garden Tourist Rest

Guesthouse | 488/4, Maithreepala Senanayake, Mawatha, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka -

87.8% Overall Rating

18 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2014)

"We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our 3 week tour of Sri Lanka. We had a complimentary tuk-tuk pickup from the New railway station even though we were 1 hour late on our 6 hour journey from Gampaha. Supun was our…"

Read all French Garden Tourist Rest reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 76.58

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anuradhapura?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Anuradhapura

Cottage Tourist Rest
10.72 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 8 reviews
Hotel Randiya
19.14 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Little Paradise
17.61 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 28 reviews
Panorama Rest
15.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Milano Tourist Rest
10.53 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 21 reviews
London Palace
15.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gamodh Citadel Resort
13.40 USD

Hotel 5 star 88.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

18 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'French Garden Tourist Rest'

Atmosphere
82.1%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
87.4%
Cleanliness
87.4%
Staff
95.8%
Value
88.4%
Safety
90.5%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean room. Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our 3 week tour of Sri Lanka. We had a complimentary tuk-tuk pickup from the New railway station even though we were 1 hour late on our 6 hour journey from Gampaha. Supun was our friendly receptionist, waiter and general advisor. We had our evening meal in the restaurant too as there appeared to be nowhere else in the vicinity (& we did look). We had a great Sri Lankan breakfast and meals too. Large Lion beer was a reasonable LKR350. Location is very convenient to tour the extensive temple area north of the new town.

Disliked: Noise from restaurant affected ground floor rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabelle Dumas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Mahège, le préposé à la réception, est un chaleureux et excellent hôte. Toujours disponible, accueillant, chaleureux et intéressé à la clientèle. Il nous a aidé à faire de futures réservations d'hôtels, a contacté des taxis... Cette hôtel offre un excellent rapport qualité/prix. Les chambres et la nourriture sont bien correctes. Nous vous suggèrons d'essayer les noix d'acajou devil. C'est vraiment très bon.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location, clean rooms, can rent bikes

Disliked: water used for tea and drink for breakfast was not tasty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rohan Navaratne

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Rohan would recommend this property

Liked: Provides clean and comfortable accommodation at a central location. Staff are friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very friendly stuff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jarod Burns

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Jarod would recommend this property

Liked: Nice tidy guesthouse with free wifi. The host and owner was exceptionaly helpful and friendly. Good food on premises too, but just be prepared to wait a little while.

Disliked: We hired the bicyles to go and check out the ruins. They were fine, but very old and not too far from complete breakdown. Make sure you check them carefully before you head out. Side note, and nothing to do with the guest house, at the ruins you have to remove your shoes, check in your shoes at the booths provided or carry them in your bag, my partner had hers stolen which ruined her day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Raymond DE LEEUW

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: Bedroom spacious and clean. The same for the bathroom. Dinner and breakfast are served on the terrace in front of a little beautiful garden. Breakfast is OK.The service of the personal is OK. So value for money.

Disliked: Location is not easy to find. Dinner is somewhat expensive ( à la carte).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Milan Jirasek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Milan would recommend this property

Liked: I Recommended this guesthouse others.

Disliked: Bicycle for rent are in bad conditions ! It´s better rent it somewhere else.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012

Liked: the garden area

Disliked: in the end they charged us more than we agreed before. maybe they did not do this on purpose, most of the staff spoke very poor english (it was difficult to order pommes with ketchup)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Room, friendly Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a warm and friendly welcome, the rooms were comfortable and the staff were exceptionally helpful. Great value for money.

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Good food. Comfortable bed in nice room.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mario frombeck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 mario would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: mario left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very king people who will do everything possible to provide what you need, delicious breakfast (Sri-Lankan and western), very good recommendations for places to see and guides if desired.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.