We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Purple Nest Hostel

Hostel | Plaza Tetuan 5, Valencia, Spain 46003

83.0% Overall Rating

960 out of 1019 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

Denise Vogelezang thinks…

"Staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was free, great location close to the city centre"

Read all Purple Nest Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

General Rules To preserve and maintain our laid-back atmosphere we do not allow: any bookings of stag nights, hen nights or sport tours, soccer fans for (inter)national matches and large groups of males (6 persons or more) or pets. You need to show us your valid Passport or National Identification Card upon arrival at the hostel. People not providing the document required will not be able to stay in the hostel. The following documents are not valid to enter the Hostel: driving licence, photocopies of passports, Student ID cards, library ID etc. For a group booking we reserve the right to ask for a deposit of 10 euros per person, which will be refunded upon check-out, and only if the management or Nest Hostel staff consider that no damage has been done to our hostel. We reserve the right to abandon or cancel reservations if the given information is incorrect or false. We make every effort to accommodate you in the dormitory size of your choice. However, because of the nature of our business, we may have to place you in a different sized dormitory. As a result the balance to be paid upon arrival can be slightly different to what is stated on your confirmation. All nights of accommodation must be paid for on arrival. The Nest Hostels Management and Staff reserve the right to refuse accommodation to anyone or end their stay before the reservation finishes if standards of behaviour are not met, in such cases no money will be refunded to the guests. You may cancel your reservation without incurring in any penalty by giving at least 48hrs notice prior to the check in time (1 pm) of the date of arrival, in this case your deposit will be refunded through the same channel you processed the payment with. In case of giving shorter notice the deposit of the first night of your accommodation will be retained with no exceptions. Changes to the date or length of your reservations are also subject to a 48hrs notice prior the check in time of the date of arrival. Further changes, once you are already checked in, are also subject to the same 48hrs notice policy prior to the 1 pm check in time. Dorm accommodation is available only for student travellers. Guests with children under the age of 10 are requested to book private accommodations. Bed linen and blankets are included in the price. Check-out is no later than 11 a.m. People checking-out after 13 a.m. will be charged a fee of 3 euros. We don?t send fax or letters for Visa document applications to consulates. Reservations made by Travel Agents through this online booking web page will be considered null or void. SPECIAL CONDITIONS FOR GROUP RESERVATIONS (MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE) : For reservations of more than 8 people, we ask 50% of the total reservation cost to be paid within 7 days after the confirmation of the reservation. The other 50% will be paid in the hostel. TOTAL CANCELLATION : If the cancellation is made between 15 days and the same day of the arrival, 50% of the total cost of the reservation will be charged. PARTIAL CANCELLATION : Between 9 and 3 days before the arrival we allow a reduction without a penalty of 15% of the total reservation. If the reduction is more than 15%, 50% of the exceeded reservations will be charged. 3 days before the arrival, in case of a reduction, the total cost of the exceeded reservations will be charged. No shows : In case of a no show, the hostel is authorized to charge the total amount of the reservation. ************************************Special events Booking FALLAS 2015**Please, note that for the Fallas Festival 2015 we require a minimum of 3 nights booking from 14/03/2015 until 17/03/2015 or from 17/03/2015 until 20/03/2015. We will charge the full amount of the booking from your credit card. The cost of the booking is not refundable. *******************************************Special events Booking TOMATINA 2015**Please, note that for the Tomatina Festival 2015 we require a minimum of 4 nights booking from 23/08/2015 until 27/08/2015. We will charge the full amount of the booking from your credit card. The cost of the booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valencia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valencia

The River Hostel
11.13 USD

Hostel 80.1% 73 reviews
Red Nest Hostel
13.16 USD

Hostel 88.9% 581 reviews
B&B Mare de Deu - Canovas
22.14 USD

Guesthouse 88.5% 40 reviews
Pension Universal
11.39 USD

Hostel 89.4% 17 reviews
Center Valencia Youth Hostel
11.26 USD

Hostel 83.2% 732 reviews
Hostel Moratin
24.04 USD

Hostel 91.2% 81 reviews
Hostal el Cid
16.38 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 136 reviews
Home Youth Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 97.1% 277 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

960 out of 1019 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Purple Nest Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 657 of 736 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: same standard to other branches. I was there, in group

Disliked: noise bit in room

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, well organised

Disliked: Nothing everything was all right

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

josh milu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014

Liked: The hostel is okay. Staff and cleaners is the problem

Disliked: Where do I start...the hostel is fine...It's the staff that are the problem. We had a double rooftop room..own private kitchen.. I left my gopro camera case in the kitchen and also my whole bag of clothes to do washing as I was checking where the laundry was..in that time the cleaner came through and put both items in a tipskip outside!! The staff seemed very uninterested in retrieving or even looking for my lost property... The only found my clothes..in a tipskip bin I'm the street...and didn't even wash or give me money to clean my clothes. The didn't even bother to look for my gopro case.. Just keep laughing and said that's the craziness of la tomatina week. Absolutly useless.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Denise Vogelezang

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2014 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was free, great location close to the city centre

Disliked: Shower at the second floor was cold most of the time (but on other floors showers were fine), dirty floor in the room

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Murray PATTERSON

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014

Liked: n

Disliked: it was a bit crowded and dirty ... the facities were not the best

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good place, very nice staff

Disliked: Really small rooms so if everyone was in, it was hard to get around, no hot water in the showers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014

Liked: Very clean. Loads of bathrooms.

Disliked: Atmosphere not so great.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014

Liked: Rooms and bathrooms were spacious and had everything you could need. The staff were friendly enough and the free waking tours were very good.

Disliked: The atmosphere is a bit flat, they try to organise events but it doesn't work that well and the pub crawl is too expensive. Not being able to bring in your own alcohol isnt great and the kitchen closing at 11pm is very inconvenient.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: The floors were a bit dirty.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris dowsett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome time. everything I wanted when staying in a hostel.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephanie Baross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good social area and easy to meet people

Disliked: My shower could have been cleaner. Weren't allowed to bring alcohol into the hostel, you can only drink what you buy at the bar.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities and easy to meet people.

Disliked: Mostly a very young crowd, which wasn't a problem, but might put some older travellers off.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014

Liked: Nice room, big bathroom, free towels and hairdryer.

Disliked: You can't control the air conditioning in your room, there is one control for the whole floor. Can't have your own food and drink, you have to buy it from them. The WiFi was not accessible on the 5th or 4th floor. No smoking area, you actually had to get out of the hostel....

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, very helpful, close to city center and train station

Disliked: bar and kitchen and common area are in the same exact place, air conditioning was not on,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmad Nazeem bin Mohd Ayop

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Ahmad Nazeem would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and colourful Love the staff

Disliked: Ahmad Nazeem left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Seah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Great Wifi. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Rooms a little cramped and too few power points.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mei-sze Yeong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2014 Mei-sze would recommend this property

Liked: Met other people easily in my dorm room

Disliked: the staff member on night reception was not friendly, bathroom's were a bit confusing initially (not unisex), hostel did not allow friends from outside hostel to come in.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure. easy to find and when it says two minutes from the metro it means two minutes. The location is also great for a base to explore the city. The staff all spoke good english and had an answer for every question i had. The wifi works all over the building and is very fast. Clean hostel and great value for money. Also the daily pub crawl is a good crack and is definitely worth the ten euros it costs.

Disliked: The only thing I can fault is the dip/well in the middle of the showers. They could also be a bit more powerful.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decoration. Near metro.

Disliked: They gave me an empty room. No breakfast included.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location.

Disliked: could be slightly cleaner.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

laura jubb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 laura would recommend this property

Liked: very clean hostel in a beautiful, central area of valencia

Disliked: laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Tidy, Great staff, Great kitchen facilities, Nice outdoor area to sit and eat

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013

Liked: The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: I had a very dark, filthy room that was more like a prison sell.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Divine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed The Purple Nest. It was really nice. I actually booked for 2 more nights sooo... it means something. Valencia is a great city!!!!

Disliked: Maybe the fact that it s far away from the beach but actually, the city is far from the city center in general.