HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Los Amigos Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle Giralda 9, El Medano - La Mareta, Tenerife, Spain 38639

85.7% Overall Rating

134 out of 138 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

Jon McCallum thinks…

"The hostel not only had a pool, albeit small, but a fantastic large terrace, both covered and open. The whole site/communal area was within a walled courtyard which offered a great deal of privacy…"

Read all Los Amigos Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tenerife?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tenerife

Hostal Carel
22.68 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 40 reviews
Hostel Casa Grande
19.95 USD

Hostel 89.3% 35 reviews
Apartamentos Alondras Park
18.35 USD

Apartment 82.9% 26 reviews
Parque de las Américas Apartments
26.68 USD

Apartment 92.0% 5 reviews
FriendlyRooms
19.68 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 58 reviews
Isabel Family Apartments
40.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Aparthotel Albatros
19.68 USD

Apartment 92.9% 16 reviews
Atlantic Holiday
18.35 USD

Apartment 92.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

134 out of 138 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Los Amigos Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 133 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleni Palantzidou

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

20 August 2014 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very well organised hostel, very clean, with friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: It was too noisy in the evenings. The rooms are next to the 'common gathering area' and it was almost impossible to have a good night 's sleep most of the time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon McCallum

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

17 July 2014 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel not only had a pool, albeit small, but a fantastic large terrace, both covered and open. The whole site/communal area was within a walled courtyard which offered a great deal of privacy and security. Every evening, the hostel staff cook an evening meal which you can participate in for a very reasonable price (although I'm not sure how much - I think around €3). They also have a small number of food and drinks (including beer) which are available to purchase, which you can charge to your room/bed and settle at the end of your stay which is very convenient.

Disliked: I had not anticipated the location of the hostel which is situated in between the busy resorts of El Medano and the less busy Los Abrigos. The location itself (La Mareta), has no shops, bars or restaurants in the immediate vicinity meaning a 15 minute walk to Los Abrigos for the supermarket, or a €6-8 taxi to El Medano for a bustling resort with great bars and restaurants.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014

Liked: There were lots of positive things about this hostel but...

Disliked: I left a shirt there by mistake and they wanted a €10 fee (on top of the postage and packing, which I was obviously happy to pay) just to send it. I wasn't in any hurry -- just whenever they were going into town anyway would have been fine. I thought they were joiking but they said "Unfortunately not" as though someone were forcing their hand. This is a very antisocial attitude for a hostel, especially a small one in a rural location, and it has ruined my opinion of them. I had planned to go back, but definitely not now.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 April 2014 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: The variety of food provided in the breakfast, superb chilled environment and music and everything you can think of.

Disliked: Location. It won't be a problem if you have a car though.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was great, people, music, especially lounge area

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

07 April 2014

Liked: The departure

Disliked: Having got there

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice atmosphere, you can feel at home.

Disliked: Quite windy. The bus runs only once per hour, and even more rarely. If desired a lot of movement, the vehicle is required.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were pleasant and helpful. Great looking hostel. Sturdy, non squeaky bunks.

Disliked: There is a lot of information that is left off the website, obviously to encourage you to stay eg. Price of travel and inconsistent shuttle service - was told they could take me but at a time that was convenient to them, to find out 2mins before I was ready to go that they couldn't take me and had to order a taxi which cost me more than I had planned for. You pay more in taxi fares than you do in accommodation therefore a cheap night in a hostel ends up costing you just under the cost of a night at a cheap resort close by. They really should look into making it an €8 shuttle service as the cost of petrol would not cost that much for how close it is. They say 24 hr hot showers...not the case, plus they were not clean and the water pressure was not good enough to wash thick hair. There is also no privacy to get changed after having your shower. Also you pay more for a 4 person dorm. (Which most people take for more privacy or less noise) to get there and find out that it is right next to the courtyard which has no curfew time and is also next to reception which plays music all night. The lockers would be easy to break in to for reasons I won't mention online.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

olena wallage

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

26 January 2014 olena would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, excellent breakfast.

Disliked: dorms are joint together (have one door from the reception)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

EWELINA PIATEK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2014

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, friendly staff, everything I need was there, close to the beach, bars, restaurants and shop not to far, convenient bus stop, also felt very safe

Disliked: Cold water in the shower - sorry, but 20C water temp. is not enough after good hiking day or on the rainy morning

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and nice staff. Big swimming pool. Near the beach. Spanish building.

Disliked: Location is near the south airport. But I still feel not quite convenient. All the roads in Tenerife are high way and you can't walk to the airport or to the hostel. You need to take a taxi(day time 15euro night 20euro) or public bus(around 4euro). The public bus won't operate after 20:00pm(around that time not accurate) and always run late. No supermarket nearby you need to have a 10minutes walk or can buy some of the items in the hostel. Need to spend around 3-4euro to take the public bus to larger city like los christiano or las play de America. But overall the hostel is very nice.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The armosphere was verry good en staff was verry friendly!

Disliked: All the times I was in the shower it was cold. But they told me if he was I could come to the reception and tell them but when I'm totally undress I won't dress again to tell them the shower is gold. And I didn't really liked the location but that's verry personal. For me it was to calme around there.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mike Cornes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Los Abrigos is a cool place to stay. Brilliant staff, easy low lightening in the evenings with laid back ambient music. Best place I have stayed for many years. Big lockable lockers to store gear. Lights on each bunk and socket for phone/tablet. Inspired.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Müller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, familiar atmosphere, great outdoor area, good breakfast, close to beach & natural pools but remote enough to be a very peaceful place - had a great stay and will definitely be there again!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Perry Evans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 November 2013 Perry would recommend this property

Liked: A truly fantastic place to stay. This is my second stay and it geat. Everyone is always friendly and good cheap meal. I'll be back!!

Disliked: No free tea and coffee after or before breakfast

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is great and staff are friendly.

Disliked: Possibly location, maybe if its possible, hang a banner so that people can find it when they come by driving.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patricia Helguera Ayestarán

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2013 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: the environment, the organization, the bedrooms cleaning, cabinets with locks in the rooms...

Disliked: The pool is smaller than the picture And there is a cat, i love cats but is strange that there is a cat inside the hostel

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

luis muntion

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2013 luis would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: luis left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sorin petcu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 sorin would recommend this property

Liked: very good place to stay, to meet some people, close to the sea, good staff and ok prices

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and great location for renting a car and discover the entire island as I did. People are very friendly and there is a big area to have a drink at night under the stars. Great to go on your own , and great value for money because breakfast is included.

Disliked: A bit noisy but you can solve this with a pair of ear plugs. Lack of more bathrooms when the whole hostel is booked.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

graham smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

17 May 2013 graham would recommend this property

Liked: Hi I spent 7 weeks in tenerife in the winter of 12/13, i had only 1 day of rain and 1 day of clouds the whole trip. Los Amigos is simply the best hostel in the whole of Tenerife, offering better service than most hotels for very reasonable backpacker prices. The location is excellent, easy to get to all the night life areas in south tenerife with just 1 bus ride to Las Americas, Los Cristianos & Medano and right on one of the nicest beaches of Tenerife la tejita. Los Amigos is also a great place to meet fellow travellers in the outside lounge or by the pool, just book it and enjoy!!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike here

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

02 May 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: it is near the beach, the staff are lovely and the hostel is very beautiful

Disliked: it was far away from nearest tourist spot but there is a good bus service

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the environment created by other guests and the volunteers working there. Really friendly and fun.

Disliked: Some rules that don't apply to everybody. There is a big TV in the main shared area but in theory nobody is allowed to watch it (it's a social killer, fair enough) yet whenever the manager of the hostel felt like using it to play football on his video game thingy that was all right so him and whoever he gave the right to play against him were fine playing loud boring football in a big area full of sofas where most people like sitting and chatting. Of course the game wasn't for everybody to play! Just him and someone else.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Etmannski

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

10 April 2013 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very friendly, comfortable, clean and well-run hostel. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again.

Disliked: Tamara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...