HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Carel

Guesthouse | Avenida Principes de España 22, El Medano, Tenerife, Spain 38612

90.1% Overall Rating

37 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2013)

CHING LI LEE thinks…

"The location is just 5 mins walk to the beach which was perfect! The staff was friendly, and the room was fairly clean! No complains at all. Twin beds for me And my friend, clean. They had clean…"

Read all Hostal Carel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tenerife?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tenerife

Hostel Casa Grande
19.72 USD

Hostel 89.3% 35 reviews
Los Amigos Backpackers Hostel
18.34 USD

Hostel 85.8% 139 reviews
Apartamentos Alondras Park
13.19 USD

Apartment 82.9% 26 reviews
Parque de las Américas Apartments
26.39 USD

Apartment 92.0% 5 reviews
FriendlyRooms
19.46 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 58 reviews
Isabel Family Apartments
33.38 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Casa Doña Remedios
21.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Aparthotel Albatros
16.82 USD

Apartment 92.9% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

37 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Carel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHING LI LEE

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2013 CHING LI would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just 5 mins walk to the beach which was perfect! The staff was friendly, and the room was fairly clean! No complains at all. Twin beds for me And my friend, clean. They had clean towels , shampoo and shower gel. Well worth your money if you are staying for a few days in the windy el medano:)

Disliked: The walls are thin, so any people walking up and down the staircase, or babies crying, are very disturbing. But I wasn't too fuss about that, as it was quiet at midnight until early morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente relación precio-calidad. Es un hotel con precios de hostal. Excelente servicio desde la recepción hasta el personal de limpieza. Las habitacion son amplias, con balcón y aseos privados, TV, nevera y caja fuerte. Todo está muy limpio y funcionando. El hotel está cerca de un supermercado, de la parada de buses y de la playa. Hay muchos restaurantes en las cercanías. Dinitivamente yo lo recomiendo y espero volver algún día.

Disliked: No tengo quejas ni reclamos. En relación al costo por habitación, el hotel ha superado mis expectativas.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the airport and cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually everything! We stayed in this hostel last year (January as well) just for 2 night on the way back from north Tenerife, to be close to the airport... and we loved it so much that this year we went back to Medano (only) and to the Carel hostel and stayed 5 nights. Location is great, not just at the beach but max 5 mins walk and across the road from 2 supermercados. Rooms are spacious, bright, clean (a lady cleaning every day if you need it), not very big (but always) balcony, great beds... Friendly and very helpful staff (thank you). Amazing value for money!!! Medano is small enough but has few charming restaurants (great tapas), exciting enough nightlife, good beaches and few hiking trails (incl.volcanic Montana Roha).

Disliked: Absolutely nothing :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yamen Kalaji

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Yamen would recommend this property

Liked: This is a HOTEL with Hostel prices, located in small and quiet city, a dreamland for surfers and sunbathing fans. The staff is basically a family which hosted us very warmly, helped us with getting around the island. They have a small restaurant/bar with HUGE portions of food with a small prices (we paid for 3 people about 40 EUR including drinks, the dishes were for 7 people).

Disliked: nothing worth mentioning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

siddeshwar shirke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2012 siddeshwar would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hotel, very co-operative and polite staff :)

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

hilary insall

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 January 2012 hilary would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Spencer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it. Had a great time there. I wish I could of stayed for longer.

Disliked: --

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: noisy, thin walls, no AC, not good value for money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Monika Czaplarska

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 May 2011 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Location, safety, breakfast

Disliked: Some receptionist doesn' t speak English at all and was difficult to communicate with her. When we arrived nobody was in reception and we have to wait about an hour for someone

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very close to the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The only downfall is location. It's located in a very small city, very small. There is not much to do there besides sunbathe. However, it is only 5-10 from the airport, about 10 euros for a taxi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katarzya Querchfeld

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Katarzya would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms

Disliked: no public comp.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and value for money

Disliked: some external noise from passers by and noise from nearby airport

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception personnel were extremely helpful. They provided local knowledge and were more than willing to research bus times online. This enabled me to discover the island in the cheapest possible way. Nothing was too much trouble.

Disliked: No communal area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil McDonald

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Great accomodation for the price - excellent free wifi!

Disliked: Happy with everything, no complaints, great staff at reception, very helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, very well located, 2 minutes to the beach. The staff even dropped us at the airport. Very great service.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well situated, near the beach and the centre of El Medano. The room was big, the beds comfortable, the bathroom ok and there was a balcony.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice stay, friendly stuff

Disliked: the noises from the near airport

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: thoroughtly enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Szilard Matlak

27 June 2010 Szilard would recommend this property

Liked: good location, 2minutes walk from the beach.Value for money.

Disliked: Szilard left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Aonghus Dracup

15 June 2010

Liked: it was close to the airport.

Disliked: Aonghus left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: so close to the beach! we could see the water from our window!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

umesh sathiamoorthy

09 April 2010 umesh would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to the beach and value for money!

Disliked: umesh left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEFANO GOBBATO

03 April 2010 STEFANO would recommend this property

Liked: All OK, clean and good location.

Disliked: STEFANO left no negative feedback.