We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Tenerife

Hostel | Calle Marques 24, Barrio La Villa Arriba, Tenerife, Spain 38300

91.0% Overall Rating

166 out of 177 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Dorota Kwa?na thinks…

"It is a NICE old canarian house in the center of Orotava, clean, well maintained and with good, relaxed, atmosphere. Had a lovely time there."

Read all Hostel Tenerife reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tenerife?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tenerife

Albergue Rural Mamio Verde
9.86 USD

Hostel 62.5% 77 reviews
Finca Jardin Barreto
17.52 USD

Apartment 94.6% 47 reviews
Hotel Tejuma
13.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 17 reviews
Puerto Azul Hotel
12.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 68 reviews
Sun Holidays
14.24 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hilda's Apartment
13.14 USD

Apartment 93.6% 50 reviews
Camino Real
36.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
14.79 USD

Apartment 86.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

166 out of 177 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Tenerife'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 158 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Informal and friendly - the way hostels should be. Very helpful proprietor. The only downside is that it's difficult to avoid passive smoking there and I think he should grasp the nettle and ban smoking throughout the premises. Having said that I would still go again.La Orotava is a wonderful old-fashoined Spanish colonial town, and the hostel location (at the top end of a hilly town) is only a problem if you're unfit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Turra

04 January 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great atmosphare, and i met a lot of great people,i think is the best home that you can become on tenerife for this price.Manfred the chef is great and he has great tours in his programm so i wish great days the sun have fun in this great hostel

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Jackson

19 December 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Manfred the owner was very helpful, picked me up from the bus station and gave lots of advice about where to go locally.Very friendly place felt very at home would definitely recoomend this place and hope to return myself.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hervé De Gabai

17 December 2009 Hervé would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent accueil de Manfred. Bonne ambiance entre les hôtes. Une bonne adresse pour les routards.

Disliked: Hervé left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Robert Elcock

12 December 2009 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed, informal atmosphere, more like 'house share' than hostel. Also that it had a kitchen, laundry, internet etc.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wojciech Voytek Goj

29 November 2009 Wojciech Voytek would recommend this property

Liked: The building is a traditional Canarian-style house, the owner is very very helpful, picked us up from the bus station, gave us a map of the area with pubs, bus stops, restaurants etc marked. Instead of having booked the dorm, we stayed in twin for the same price but the next day we had to change, we got a 10% discount, I don't know why:) The bathrooms are clean as well as the kitchen is, there is a patio inside and a terrace on the roof but on the other hand there were ants walking on the wall (in the single-room). I recommend this hostel- it is generally clean, has a nice atmosphere, the owner really cares of the guests (called me 3 times to make sure I get there) but some small details could be improved

Disliked: Wojciech Voytek left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sam Bergholm

10 November 2009 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Missing a microwave owen in the kitchen.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Navin Gautam

03 November 2009 Navin would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organized place. Rooms are clean and safe. So are the bathrooms. Specially, Mr. Manfred is very kind and helpful guy. He helped me in every ways he could. Because of him my stay and journey was much easier than my expectation. The excursion he organized even for a single person on low cost was the sign of his genuineness. I really liked the place, hostel and specially Mr. Manfred. Thanks a lot Mr. Manfred.

Disliked: Navin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i felt like home!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house was very nice, lovely, typical Canarian. Manfred was very welcoming, he even picked us up at the bus station!The kitchen is well equipped and the price of the double bed room is a good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the share room has its window to the road. so between 7am and 9am it's quite loud. to make it worse, there 2 not well fixed storm drains close by. so, when a car drives over them (almost every cars does) it makes an annoying loud sound, like someone would slam a door. apart from that downside it a nice place to stay. the owner manfred is happy to help u with anything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marien LEBRETON

24 September 2009 Marien would recommend this property

Liked: 2nd stay here and even better than first time. Manfred is very helpful (picked us at the bus station as we had heavy luggage) and can be a guide for you: for 28 euros, a full day of touring in the island. We did the Masca Gorge tour and it's definitely a plus to have a guide to organize this for you (in particular the boat pick up at the arrival). Would not consider another location if going back to Tenerife!

Disliked: Marien left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Pudell

05 September 2009 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great! I stayed only for one night, but this stay was so great! We had a lovely barbecue on the roof terrace at the evening, went to a bar later and talked a lot with each other... very nice experience, I definitely recommend everyone to go there!!!

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice characterful property and the host was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and very personal atmosphere. Thanks to Frank.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly. The hostel is located in the most beautiful city of Tenerife (Santa Cruz de Tenerife is really uninteresting). Can discover the true Canarian atmosphere with true local restaurants and people there are friendly. Can experiment a true local life, unlike in other big cities such as Santa Cruz de Tenerife, and (worst!) Los Christianos...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kimberly Moore

19 April 2009 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Manfred is awesome and really made the trip memorable! Also, we met so many people from many different countries during our short stay and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Maybe not as comfortable as a hotel you could find in the south, but definitely fun and interesting. A great choice for students on a budget!

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gianclaudio Izzo

18 April 2009 Gianclaudio would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Gianclaudio left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is ideal if you want to travel around the island. Pretty central and there is a good bus connection with all the major places/beaches that can be visited. The hostel was cozy, cheap and had a very friendly host. Speaking as a student, it is exactly what I had in mind.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katherine arnold

11 February 2009 katherine would recommend this property

Liked: It's location, with views of the town below and set in atmospheric streets full of historic Canarian architecture. The hostel had a warm, friendly, homely atmosphere.

Disliked: katherine left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only real hostel on the island. Very friendly staff + guests. I liked the free shelf concept in the kitchen. Good availability of car.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People of the staff are friendly. I also met nice guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elodie SALE

04 January 2009 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: the ambiance

Disliked: Elodie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sun terrace is a great place to have breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.