HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Tenerife

Hostel | Calle Marques 24, Barrio La Villa Arriba, Tenerife, Spain 38300

87.7% Overall Rating

156 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

Joanne Rickman thinks…

"Character of the building. Located in old quarter of town, very quaint with central open area in which to sit and eat. Comfortable beds. Towels provided. Good wifi. Inside social area to eat and…"

Read all Hostel Tenerife reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tenerife?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tenerife

Albergue Rural Mamio Verde
12.43 USD

Hostel 70.3% 70 reviews
Finca Jardin Barreto
22.10 USD

Apartment 95.2% 44 reviews
Hotel Tejuma
17.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.0% 12 reviews
Puerto Azul Hotel
19.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 65 reviews
APARTAMENTOS LA MARINA
24.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sun Holidays
17.82 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hilda's Apartment
16.58 USD

Apartment 93.7% 47 reviews
Camino Real
38.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

156 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Tenerife'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 148 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Szilagyi Artur

08 June 2010 Szilagyi would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the historical centre of La Orotava, with nice old buildings, and Frank, the caretaker was very friendly.

Disliked: Szilagyi left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 June 2010

Liked: nothing special in my opinion.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 May 2010

Liked: I found very little I liked about this place, so much so that I left early. La Orotava is nice, but the actual hostel itself was very unpleasant. I got the distinct impression that Frank, the interim manager, is very anti-American with the repetition of the phrase "you people," with other remarks and stories depicting Americans as inferior or inept...so if you happen to be from the United States I'd make sure Manfred is in charge before you decide to stay there. Also, the bathrooms were filthy. The smell of urine was overpowering and dirty scrub brushes were everywhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Estefania Cho

12 May 2010 Estefania would recommend this property

Liked: Loved Manfred. So helpful with everything. Besides the cleanliness, which could be improved, and the uphill hike to get to the hostel, it was a great stay.

Disliked: Estefania left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

walter coolen

03 April 2010 walter would recommend this property

Liked: we loved it. very friendly boss, he gave us good tips about things to do and see, there was a map in the room with the good places in town. heidi and walter.

Disliked: walter left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Benson

01 April 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Manfred, the owner is a wonderful person, he is not around a lot but always picks up his phone and comes by when you need him. He is also a hiking guide and has GREAT excursions. If he can't do an excursion for you for wahtever reason, He'll arrange others to help you. It is a BEAUTIFUL little town ad a wonderful homey atmosphere. I regret that I coudl nto stay longer.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Zalusky

12 March 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay at the hostel. Everybody was very helpful and friendly.I will return soon.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holger Sommerlad

08 March 2010 Holger would recommend this property

Liked: wundervolle lage fernab von dt. klischeetouristen in sandalen mit hochgezogenen tennissocken.schönes altes verwinkeltes haus mit küche, wo man günstig sein eigenes essen kochen kann.die grundlegendsten gewürze, nahrungsmittel sind meist noch von vorgängern vorhanden und können verbraucht werden. zwei große kühlschränke sorgen für reichlich stauraum, so dass niemand hungern muss. die zimmer selber sind klein aber sehr gemütlich, das hostel ist nicht klinisch sauber, aber saubere bettwäsche sowie handtücher stehen immer zur verfügung. vom dach des hostels hat man - bei guter wetterlage - einen super ausblick auf puerto de la cruz und das meer.der betreiber - manfred - ist ein super freundlicher, immer hilfsbereiter gastgeber, der wohl jede erdenkliche wandertour auf der insel kennt und einem abhängig von wetterlage und körperlichem zustand die idealen empfehlungen geben kann.anmerken muss ich aber eines: das hostel liegt im (eher) ruhigeren norden der insel in einem städtchen namens orotava (was wohl mit zu den schönsten ecken der insel zählt). wen es zum partyleben zieht und wer nicht bereit ist ein paar meter zu fuss zurückzulegen(das hostel liegt oben am berg, erreichbar durch teils recht steile - aber wunderschöne- gassen), der sollte hier besser nicht einchecken bzw. passt auch nicht hier her.ideal für wanderbegeisterte und entspanntere zeitgenossen!bleibt mir nur noch ein dickes danke an manfred auszurichten undmich auf meinen nächsten aufenthalt zu freuen, den ich def. wieder im hosteltenerife verbringen werde!

Disliked: Holger left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds, really. Want to sleep through the night - at the Hostel Tenerife it's no problem. I slept through a storm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cozy, good ambiance, felt like staying in a comfortable home

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Joosten

15 February 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. Mannfred the owner/operator lives in the same building and is readily available for any questions you might have. The map he gives you with locations to eat locally and bus stops nearby is extremely helpful. The beds/rooms are very comfortable. Keep in mind: The location is beautiful and not touristy at all (you really get a feel for local life and Orotava is beautiful), but you have to connect through Puerto de la Cruz (15 min bus ride) to get anywhere else on the island.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aaron Hall

02 February 2010

Liked: I can only echo all the positive comments already made. Mandfred offers a wealth of excellent information both about La Orotava and Tenerife in general.The roof terrace makes a great place to wind down the evening after some great local food and wine.I plan on returning soon.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: has kitchen facilities, and wi-fi internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Higgins

18 January 2010 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: My experience mirrors all the other great reviews here. Manfred's hostel is an amazing place and I will go straight back there when next in Tenerife. Manfred is a very warm, honest & trusting host and a great source of guidance & info about the island. In the hostel itself I met great people, made new friends, had loads of fun hanging out there and found La Orotava to be a great base from which to explore the rest of the island.

Disliked: Shaun left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Informal and friendly - the way hostels should be. Very helpful proprietor. The only downside is that it's difficult to avoid passive smoking there and I think he should grasp the nettle and ban smoking throughout the premises. Having said that I would still go again.La Orotava is a wonderful old-fashoined Spanish colonial town, and the hostel location (at the top end of a hilly town) is only a problem if you're unfit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Turra

04 January 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great atmosphare, and i met a lot of great people,i think is the best home that you can become on tenerife for this price.Manfred the chef is great and he has great tours in his programm so i wish great days the sun have fun in this great hostel

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Jackson

19 December 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Manfred the owner was very helpful, picked me up from the bus station and gave lots of advice about where to go locally.Very friendly place felt very at home would definitely recoomend this place and hope to return myself.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hervé De Gabai

17 December 2009 Hervé would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent accueil de Manfred. Bonne ambiance entre les hôtes. Une bonne adresse pour les routards.

Disliked: Hervé left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Robert Elcock

12 December 2009 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed, informal atmosphere, more like 'house share' than hostel. Also that it had a kitchen, laundry, internet etc.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wojciech Voytek Goj

29 November 2009 Wojciech Voytek would recommend this property

Liked: The building is a traditional Canarian-style house, the owner is very very helpful, picked us up from the bus station, gave us a map of the area with pubs, bus stops, restaurants etc marked. Instead of having booked the dorm, we stayed in twin for the same price but the next day we had to change, we got a 10% discount, I don't know why:) The bathrooms are clean as well as the kitchen is, there is a patio inside and a terrace on the roof but on the other hand there were ants walking on the wall (in the single-room). I recommend this hostel- it is generally clean, has a nice atmosphere, the owner really cares of the guests (called me 3 times to make sure I get there) but some small details could be improved

Disliked: Wojciech Voytek left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sam Bergholm

10 November 2009 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Missing a microwave owen in the kitchen.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Navin Gautam

03 November 2009 Navin would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organized place. Rooms are clean and safe. So are the bathrooms. Specially, Mr. Manfred is very kind and helpful guy. He helped me in every ways he could. Because of him my stay and journey was much easier than my expectation. The excursion he organized even for a single person on low cost was the sign of his genuineness. I really liked the place, hostel and specially Mr. Manfred. Thanks a lot Mr. Manfred.

Disliked: Navin left no negative feedback.