We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Tenerife

Hostel | Calle Marques 24, Barrio La Villa Arriba, Tenerife, Spain 38300

91.0% Overall Rating

166 out of 177 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Dorota Kwa?na thinks…

"It is a NICE old canarian house in the center of Orotava, clean, well maintained and with good, relaxed, atmosphere. Had a lovely time there."

Read all Hostel Tenerife reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tenerife?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tenerife

Albergue Rural Mamio Verde
9.88 USD

Hostel 62.5% 77 reviews
Finca Jardin Barreto
17.57 USD

Apartment 94.6% 47 reviews
Hotel Tejuma
13.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 17 reviews
Puerto Azul Hotel
13.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 68 reviews
Sun Holidays
14.28 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hilda's Apartment
13.18 USD

Apartment 93.6% 50 reviews
Camino Real
36.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
14.83 USD

Apartment 86.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

166 out of 177 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Tenerife'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 158 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very helpful. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kirk Innes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 Kirk would recommend this property

Liked: There is not much cheap accomodation on Tenerife Island so this place is perfect for the budget traveller. Wonderfull selection of information regarding walking and sightseeing at this hostel and Manfred the owner is very knowledgeable regarding EVERYTHING you need to know including buses etc for onward travel. I loved the location of this hostel(once I had dropped off my big bag) as it's high up in Orotava with great views of The Orotava Valley and Puerto Cruz, but it's maybe not for everyone as there are some brutal hills to reach the hostel(You can get a taxi though)!! Many thanks for a fantastic stay!!!

Disliked: Nothing..............Ok maybe the hills leading to the hostel with my big bag, but Manfred did tell me to take a taxi as it would be easier!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the building is full of character - typical Tenerife style house with rooms on different levels and a fantastic roof terrace! La Orotava is a beautiful town, and I am glad I wasn't in a touristy beach town. Easy to get to Puerto de la Cruz and elsewhere. Very good hostel atmosphere and very clean! There are some bunk and some individual beds, and I happened to be in an individual one which was great!

Disliked: nothing. Just one point off for security simple because I like to have a locker, even a small one. Nevertheless, I felt absolutely safe here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy, friendly,good atmosphere, friendly staff,

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdul-Hafiz Salam

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

24 December 2011 Abdul-Hafiz would recommend this property

Liked: It's really cozy and fits a maximum of around 20 people so you can easily get to know the people living there. I liked the fact that's it's more of a house than a hostel.

Disliked: The location is far from the center of Puerto de la Cruz and the buses that go near the area aren't frequent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Manfred the owner is a nice dude that cares about his quests. Orotava - the location of Tenerife hostel - is a very charming town. In all ways I prefer this hostel over hotels that is more expensive. You meet many people and the same people get close and share a great time. The hostel is charming - The spanish style - is a positive experience in it self. Just go there and you won t regret it. You are also close to the road to Tiede and other walking pathes. On the whole just perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catriona Ross

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2011 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were brilliant and could not have been more helpful - really friendly and welcoming without being over-bearing. Food and beer available at hostel - all very reasonably priced. Having worked in hostels for the last couple of years, im usually very critical when i visit others - but this one was really brilliant, i was really impressed all round. Its hard to believe its only been on the ground for 3months! Thank-you! Cat :)

Disliked: Only one bathroom/shower between 10 people which could sometimes get busy in the morning - but there were plans to build additional facilities very soon, so this will not be a problem in a few weeks!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderfull place to be - look at the roof terrace and patio! Self service kitchen to use (very needfull), calm area around, close to some little shops. The busses from the bus terminal (approx. 15 min. to go there) are bringing you arround to see the landscape, do hiking or hang up on the beach and and and....

Disliked: -/-

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011

Liked: Helpful staff, kind atmosphere.

Disliked: Extremely terrible location - taxi driver had to ask police for help, while getting there. Ocean in Puerto Vruz is 30 minutes by bus, which goes only once in an hour.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: like as a home stay, cosy. The owner is very helpful, friendly.

Disliked: sometimes confusion with the bus stop which should be near the hostel. cold in the evening which i do not expect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice house and nice staff (who explains you a little what to visit, where to go...if you ask for advice). There is a nice terrasse with a great vue of La Orotava.

Disliked: nothing; just a bit far from the sea (but there are a lot of buses)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a youth hostel with all facilities that youth hostel should have.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house was amazing and very pleasant to be around. Manfred is the coolest person under the sun and very helpful if you need anything

Disliked: It's situated on a steep hill so be prepared to walk. And if you rent a car parking in kind of tough

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: cold in the building

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Des Hearns

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Des would recommend this property

Liked: 1.Kitchen available and well fitted. 2.owner when present was affable./Staff Helpful

Disliked: 1. standard of cleanliness/general tidiness......not good... 2.access to restaurants/ bars in locality..poor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Place, Good Atmosphere, Cool Place in a nice Pueblo de Tenerife...Maaaaster is a cool person....I recomend !!!!

Disliked: nothing at all... all right...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common places, roof and kitchen well equipped, good location

Disliked: Not enough blankets

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Chauvin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people I met there. A real backpacker's hostel!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Manfred, the owner, is offering fantastic hiking trips and also connects people to share day trips together if they feel like it. The hostel is located in the old and absolutely beautiful part of La Orotava which has a local and typical canarian feel, very few tourists = no beaches in this town. The rooftop sunterrace is fantastic with a stunning view all around! Good beds with austrian style Duvet covers :-) plus towel provided! The place is beeing kept pretty clean, everybody took care of washing their dishes while I was there. Quiet hours at night were observed. I had a great time here, met wonderful people and would definitely come back.

Disliked: maybe a little too "bohemian" with "house stuff" sitting around in corners of the house and in the court yard. This could be kept tidier ;-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Mozes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 January 2011 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!Really! Manfreed, the owner is a nice guy ( i arrived late at night in the city and he picked me up without asking for it) and full of humor . I liked too that i can meet fantastic and interesting people from all over the world!They are all nice guys and we have spent those days there just like a family! Thank u for the experience, hope i ll be back soon!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Spring

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2011 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: This was the first time I've travelled abroad alone and I'm so glad I chose this hostel. The location is excellent - everything you here about Tenerife the tourist destination seems to be a long way away from the town of Orotava - itself a interesting and beautiful town, but also very well serviced by the excellent buses. In addition to the location, the hostel is well run and the staff are really helpful. During my stay I met the owner Manfred, and also a lady who was helping run the hostel when he went away for a break himself. They were both friendly and efficient, and gave great advice on places to eat and things to do around Tenerife. There is plenty of freedom to make yourself at home. I would strongly recommend this place, especially if you're looking for somewhere to settle for a few nights (rather than just passing through) as the atmosphere of the place is much more that of a family home than a 'premier inn' style hotel. I met some wonderful to visit the island with - and by the end of my stay really felt I'd built up network of friends I'll stay in contact with. We had a lot of happy evenings just cooking together in the hostel. I was there 2 weeks and really didn't want to leave by the end, and look forward to going back! As a young female traveller on my own I always felt safe and comfortable, both in Orotava and the hostel. It's also worth mentioning that Manfred tracked down a Spanish tutor for me to start me learning (I was a total beginner) - he charged incredibly good rates and I learnt a huge amount in 2 weeks. Overall a fantastic experience.

Disliked: Not a complaint - but just be aware that there is a good sized hill between the bus station and the hostel - so either pack some sturdy shoes or use one of the excellent (and cheap) local cabs. The trekking in the area is fantastic though so strong shoes are advisable anyway if that's your thing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marion Lloyd-Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Marion would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner and a great bunch of people staying at the same time.

Disliked: There was a problem with the internet which couldn't be helped, however I was directed to the library where the internet was free to use.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the typical canarian location, the kitchen

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location. Comfy beds. Good showers.

Disliked: No TV, music or dvd player. Noisy dorms. Owner has the habit of moving your belongings to another dorm without warning.