HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

97.3% Overall Rating

274 out of 284 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Greg Morsky thinks…

"From the minute you walk in to the moment you leave, the four young, energetic and genuinley helpful owners make you feel at home. The common room on the main floor has great vibes where the roof top…"

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
22.08 USD

Hostel 94.3% 7 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
22.08 USD

Hostel 88.6% 215 reviews
Hotel Simon
55.20 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
34.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 75 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
34.50 USD

Hostel 77.4% 50 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
25.39 USD

Hostel 93.8% 6 reviews
Hostel Zurbarán
28.75 USD

Hostel 70.9% 41 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
24.84 USD

Hostel 91.3% 56 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.3%

Overall Rating

274 out of 284 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 218 of 273 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Morsky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: From the minute you walk in to the moment you leave, the four young, energetic and genuinley helpful owners make you feel at home. The common room on the main floor has great vibes where the roof top terrace has an amazing view to drink Toney Blairs on Spring Break. Yes, that is correct, these four individuals even have created their own cocktails. This hostel comes highly recommended. All in all, this is a fantasic hostel that is sure to make you stay in Seville even more enjoyable.

Disliked: I had to leave too soon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and atmosphere, the rooftop´s amazing as is the food they cook every day. the guys are really good hosts as well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Koziol

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

31 March 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel in a great location. The atmosphere is amazing and the guys running it couldn't be more helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Caldeira

Alone

City break

18 March 2014 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, the staff were all incredibly friendly. The whole atmosphere of the place was amazing. The owners all seem like great guys who are happy to mix and socialise with the guests, however they're also very professional should you ever need anything. I really enjoyed chilling on the rooftop with dinner and a few beers. It was like staying with a family. Awesome hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Ashmore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. You won't find a better location or a better atmosphere anywhere else. You guys are sooo awesome! You make everyone feel at home and part of La Banda banda. You always have time for everyone and know a lot about Sevilla and the Spanish customs. The beds are really comfy, the communal meals are delicious and a real bargain. I would come to Sevilla again just so I could stay at La Banda!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Nelson

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: All essentials delivered well: Clean bedrooms and bathrooms, good showers, and friendly and helpful staff. Good kitchen and lounge also provided, and the communal meals are an excellent opportunity to get to know other travellers together: all makes for a great atmosphere, and a quality hostel.

Disliked: Only drawback of the communal meals is that it was difficult to persuade people to go out and explore the city by night! Owners showed no sign of frustration that I tried though, which is to their credit. Flipside of the security afforded by a manned door is that you sometimes had to twiddle thumbs for a moment waiting to be let in, but this is nitpicking.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSILIN LIU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 HSILIN would recommend this property

Liked: I like their dinner and the way they put people together. Love their bed, best I ever had. I love that they have lift, it's really important to travelers.

Disliked: They don't have washing mashing, and wifi doesn't work once you leave the first floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their concept of getting together for dinner at the rooftop is a great one and really does help get to know other travellers. Staff were helpful and know a lot about Sevilla. Location is great.

Disliked: Cleaning is not so good, the rooms are quite small, the showers and toilets (there is only ONE toilet) are not always clean. While the rooftop dinner is great, everything else seems to be compromised (other than the service/staff helpfulness) or becomes an extra like using EFTPOS and the breakfast - I think it really should be included in the price even though it is only 1E, there are other hostels which are cheaper and have great facilities which also include breakfast, its just that I think it seems like 1E for breakfast on the day does not seem so much, but in the end adds up. Although if this is the case, its usually better to have breakfast out anyway as Sevilla has plenty of great cafes!!! :) Pretty much have to use cash most of the time too.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: I feel like they are a little stingy. The room I stayed in has 8 beds and should really only have 4. They charge for drinks (very small glass) €1.50 dinner €6 and breakfast €1. It is much cheaper to eat and drink out. This is not a big problem as you can just choose not to have these options. Overall I am pretty happy!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the guys who ran it. they were super sweet and made us feel so welcome. the rooftop is so cool and the dinner they made was delicious. the rooms and bathrooms were clean and everything felt safe and secure.

Disliked: Not too much really! only because I'm a cheap student I wish we got more at dinner for our money but it was delicious!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mei-sze Yeong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2014 Mei-sze would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts, clean and comfortable room, chill lounge to hang out in, the rooftop dinners, easy to meet and hang out with people

Disliked: less freebies available, maybe charge slightly more in accommodation price so we don't have to scrounge for loose change for breakfast and things like that

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farryn Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Farryn would recommend this property

Liked: This place has an awesome atmosphere, run by 4 amazing guys that are so welcoming and helpful with anything that needs done! the location is brilliant, only a short walk from all the main attractions. they offer family dinners on their amazing rooftop bar which were always delicious and a good social affair! the room we were in had an amazing bathroom/ shower and really sturdy wooden bunk beds - never got woken up by someone coming to bed late or rolling round heaps! we didn't have any issues the 4 nights we stayed here and had a really good time and met a lot of cool people!

Disliked: no washing machines so had to take washing to the lady round the corner, which was all good but i prefer doing my own :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew wesp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, other travelers who booked it too

Disliked: A little noisy from outside on ground floor room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Kerollos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff here were easily the highlight, and were the friendliest hosts I've ever encountered. The beds were fantastic, most solidly built bunk beds I've slept in. Rooms were clean, and the atmosphere was fantastic. Rooftop dinners are definitely not to be missed, the boys are excellent chefs. Would recommend to anyone staying in Seville.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A group of four good friends have gathered the best ingredients for the ideal hospitality - perfect location, good atmosphere, very resourceful and charming staff, a rooftop bar with a beautiful view, creative dinners and delicious cocktails... They will take care of each and every guest no matter how busy they are. In other words, they will make you will at home and part of the "labandista" family. Highly recommended to those who like to socialise, listen to good music, and share a (very comfortable) bunk bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. The guys who own and run it obviously care a lot about making it a great place for travellers and are doing a fantastic job of it! Recommend the nightly dinners - good fun and nice social vibe. The rooftop has stunning views as well.

Disliked: Not much space in the dorm room, but still comfortable enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a lovely stay here.. You guys are awesome!!... I enjoyed every single moment in this hostel.. wish i could stay longer...Good kitchen.. clean bathroom.. clean bed... Nice rooftop and offer us homemade dinner.. nice bar with homemade special drink...I can't list out everything in here.. Great location... It's great for solo travellers.. easy to meet friends..

Disliked: nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Williams

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have ever stayed in. You guys are doing a great job! The atmosphere is awesome and the meals out on the terrace are a real highlight. I can't wait to come back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: This band of four Brits runs a great hostel. Friendly, always there to help and even provide delicious dinners for a reasonable cost. The location can't be beat - easy 15 minute walk to both bus stations and just a few blocks to the Cathedral and Real Alcazar. Well maintained.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Rousseaux

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really great!!! They welcome everyone as friend and the evening meal is definitely a "must-do". Not only the price is fair but it's also very good and it's a great way to socialize with people staying there. If I ever come back to Seville, I'll stay there again with no doubt.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxime LE BLAY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Maxime would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, I loved the staff. Ollie, Tom, Richie and Sam are great guys, they welcomed us in a friendly, comfortable and fun hostel. What I liked most was the living room downstairs; the reception is mixed with the living room, which enable to share your staying with customers and also with the staff. Secondly, I highly recommend you the free morning walking tour with Medhi! He's a very nice guy and a good guide. To sum up, alone or with friends, "la banda" is the perfect hostel for you to meet youngsters, have a laugh and enjoy your staying in Sevilla!

Disliked: The only negative point is that my mattress gave me allergies. Nothing serious, just a little itchy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yoann lanoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 November 2013 yoann would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing roof terrace

Disliked: yoann left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traveling around for 2 weeks in Spain, this was my favorite hostel. Note that this is now "La Banda Hostel", it was taken over by a group of brothers recently and it's great now. 24hr. desk, wonderful staff who knows you by name, and are awesome about answering any questions you have about getting around Sevilla, tapas recommendations, etc. Wish I had every night free to do dinner on the rooftop, it was fantastic! Beds were comfy, and I loved opening the window to hear the carriages pass by, and the bells of the Cathedral. Such a perfect location for any traveler. Lockers for everyone, and a great kitchen. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only downfall was that showers were separate from sinks, and there was only one toilet on our floor. Smelled like it needed to be cleaned a little more often, but everything else was extremely clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere and lovely stuff. they are so friendly and helpful. nice view from the rooftop. family meal was tasty. but a bit expensive. 4 euros would be better I think. me and my friend had a lovely time here whatever because of stuff :)

Disliked: a toilet and a shower room are not enough. room key has broken also lockers. couldn't lock them. bed mattress was thin and soft.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The combination of breakfast, dinners, and happy hour created a greate social environment to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.