HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

96.7% Overall Rating

283 out of 293 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Kathryn Savage thinks…

"The food was so good at the family meal each night and it was a great way to meet people. All the staff were so friendly and the general atmosphere was really great! I'd definitely recommend staying…"

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We do NOT accept guests under the age of 18 years old. Any bookings with children under the age of 18, will be refused accommodation and we will be unable to refund if you have have failed to inform us within 48 hours of arrival. Cancellations must be notified to the hostel directly at least 48 hours prior to arrival not later than 12am . In the event of a cancellation, the booking deposit and booking fee are non-refundable and you will be charged the first night of your stay. Groups of over 6 people must contact directly with the hostel before booking. During Semana Santa and Feria de Abril, cancellations less than 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of 100% to the amount of your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
21.54 USD

Hostel 93.4% 10 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
24.24 USD

Hostel 88.6% 217 reviews
Hotel Simon
31.98 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
27.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 78 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
27.82 USD

Hostel 79.1% 51 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
21.54 USD

Hostel 95.9% 16 reviews
Hostel Zurbarán
28.05 USD

Hostel 70.9% 41 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
24.24 USD

Hostel 91.8% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

283 out of 293 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 283 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Savage

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 July 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: The food was so good at the family meal each night and it was a great way to meet people. All the staff were so friendly and the general atmosphere was really great! I'd definitely recommend staying at La Banda!!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff, great rooftop, excellent dinner and the best espresso martini

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys working here are just the best. Weather it's making you feel at home or giving you advice on things to see, places to eat, and things to do, they've never dissapointed.

Disliked: Pretty much nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Dalton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at La Banda Rooftop was incredible, it made our time in Sevilla so enjoyable. The atmosphere of the hostel was relaxed and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The nightly, rooftop family dinners were certainly highlight. The food and drinks were excellent and the rooftop has a beautiful view of the cathedral. The rooms were clean and had air conditioning which was a big plus to tackle the hot weather. Overall, would definitely recommend La Banda!!

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop dinner is great. You get to meet other travelers. Rooms are relatively clean with bedsheets and pillow cases changed every morning. Location is within a walking distance from Pz Armas bus terminal.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Tristan Cameron

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

14 May 2014 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff! Friendly, involved and part of the crowd. When something goes wrong, like the internet out or aircon off, they get right on it and resolve issues immediately.The location is amazing (from somebody who lived in Sevilla 3 years and knows the way around). The rooftop is a nice afternoon or night out with the other travelers and staff.

Disliked: Bit tight in the rooms. I don't like that they raise the prices for events, but everybody does. Worthwhile stay. This is a fun hostel more than a roomy, private place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laurence dorrington

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 May 2014 laurence would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very friendly. In the evenings we ended up staying in the hostel and chatting with the other guests rather than going out in Seville. The greek meal that was cooked was also incredible and rooftop yoga was a great addition. The guys running it are doing a brilliant job. Would definitely recommend people to stay here

Disliked: laurence left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoha Kalhori

Alone

City break

27 April 2014 Zoha would recommend this property

Liked: Was clean and the staff were very freindly. What i found awesome was that breakfast and yoga class were also included.

Disliked: Zoha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mariana Alejandra Estrada Robles

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Mariana Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is lovely! The place is nice, the rooftop, the view. Very nice hostel!

Disliked: There was no wifi in my room and still the connection in the reception was really bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryuhei Hagiwara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Ryuhei would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop dinner is the best way to socialise with other guests. Also, for Semana Santa, you can watch some of the processions from the rooftop while people stand and wait on the streets.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Morsky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: From the minute you walk in to the moment you leave, the four young, energetic and genuinley helpful owners make you feel at home. The common room on the main floor has great vibes where the roof top terrace has an amazing view to drink Toney Blairs on Spring Break. Yes, that is correct, these four individuals even have created their own cocktails. This hostel comes highly recommended. All in all, this is a fantasic hostel that is sure to make you stay in Seville even more enjoyable.

Disliked: I had to leave too soon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and atmosphere, the rooftop´s amazing as is the food they cook every day. the guys are really good hosts as well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Koziol

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

31 March 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel in a great location. The atmosphere is amazing and the guys running it couldn't be more helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Caldeira

Alone

City break

18 March 2014 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, the staff were all incredibly friendly. The whole atmosphere of the place was amazing. The owners all seem like great guys who are happy to mix and socialise with the guests, however they're also very professional should you ever need anything. I really enjoyed chilling on the rooftop with dinner and a few beers. It was like staying with a family. Awesome hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Ashmore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. You won't find a better location or a better atmosphere anywhere else. You guys are sooo awesome! You make everyone feel at home and part of La Banda banda. You always have time for everyone and know a lot about Sevilla and the Spanish customs. The beds are really comfy, the communal meals are delicious and a real bargain. I would come to Sevilla again just so I could stay at La Banda!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Nelson

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: All essentials delivered well: Clean bedrooms and bathrooms, good showers, and friendly and helpful staff. Good kitchen and lounge also provided, and the communal meals are an excellent opportunity to get to know other travellers together: all makes for a great atmosphere, and a quality hostel.

Disliked: Only drawback of the communal meals is that it was difficult to persuade people to go out and explore the city by night! Owners showed no sign of frustration that I tried though, which is to their credit. Flipside of the security afforded by a manned door is that you sometimes had to twiddle thumbs for a moment waiting to be let in, but this is nitpicking.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSILIN LIU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 HSILIN would recommend this property

Liked: I like their dinner and the way they put people together. Love their bed, best I ever had. I love that they have lift, it's really important to travelers.

Disliked: They don't have washing mashing, and wifi doesn't work once you leave the first floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their concept of getting together for dinner at the rooftop is a great one and really does help get to know other travellers. Staff were helpful and know a lot about Sevilla. Location is great.

Disliked: Cleaning is not so good, the rooms are quite small, the showers and toilets (there is only ONE toilet) are not always clean. While the rooftop dinner is great, everything else seems to be compromised (other than the service/staff helpfulness) or becomes an extra like using EFTPOS and the breakfast - I think it really should be included in the price even though it is only 1E, there are other hostels which are cheaper and have great facilities which also include breakfast, its just that I think it seems like 1E for breakfast on the day does not seem so much, but in the end adds up. Although if this is the case, its usually better to have breakfast out anyway as Sevilla has plenty of great cafes!!! :) Pretty much have to use cash most of the time too.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: I feel like they are a little stingy. The room I stayed in has 8 beds and should really only have 4. They charge for drinks (very small glass) €1.50 dinner €6 and breakfast €1. It is much cheaper to eat and drink out. This is not a big problem as you can just choose not to have these options. Overall I am pretty happy!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the guys who ran it. they were super sweet and made us feel so welcome. the rooftop is so cool and the dinner they made was delicious. the rooms and bathrooms were clean and everything felt safe and secure.

Disliked: Not too much really! only because I'm a cheap student I wish we got more at dinner for our money but it was delicious!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mei-sze Yeong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2014 Mei-sze would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts, clean and comfortable room, chill lounge to hang out in, the rooftop dinners, easy to meet and hang out with people

Disliked: less freebies available, maybe charge slightly more in accommodation price so we don't have to scrounge for loose change for breakfast and things like that

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farryn Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Farryn would recommend this property

Liked: This place has an awesome atmosphere, run by 4 amazing guys that are so welcoming and helpful with anything that needs done! the location is brilliant, only a short walk from all the main attractions. they offer family dinners on their amazing rooftop bar which were always delicious and a good social affair! the room we were in had an amazing bathroom/ shower and really sturdy wooden bunk beds - never got woken up by someone coming to bed late or rolling round heaps! we didn't have any issues the 4 nights we stayed here and had a really good time and met a lot of cool people!

Disliked: no washing machines so had to take washing to the lady round the corner, which was all good but i prefer doing my own :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew wesp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, other travelers who booked it too

Disliked: A little noisy from outside on ground floor room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Kerollos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff here were easily the highlight, and were the friendliest hosts I've ever encountered. The beds were fantastic, most solidly built bunk beds I've slept in. Rooms were clean, and the atmosphere was fantastic. Rooftop dinners are definitely not to be missed, the boys are excellent chefs. Would recommend to anyone staying in Seville.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A group of four good friends have gathered the best ingredients for the ideal hospitality - perfect location, good atmosphere, very resourceful and charming staff, a rooftop bar with a beautiful view, creative dinners and delicious cocktails... They will take care of each and every guest no matter how busy they are. In other words, they will make you will at home and part of the "labandista" family. Highly recommended to those who like to socialise, listen to good music, and share a (very comfortable) bunk bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.