We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

98.6% Overall Rating

305 out of 315 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2015)

"Lovely folk, very chilled. Perfect if you're a social traveller who enjoys a touch of comfort. Don't hesitate, book it."

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We do NOT accept guests under the age of 18 years old. Any bookings with children under the age of 18, will be refused accommodation and we will be unable to refund if you have have failed to inform us within 48 hours of arrival. Cancellations must be notified to the hostel directly at least 48 hours prior to arrival not later than 12am . In the event of a cancellation, the booking deposit and booking fee are non-refundable and you will be charged the first night of your stay. Groups of over 6 people must contact directly with the hostel before booking. During Semana Santa and Feria de Abril, cancellations less than 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of 100% to the amount of your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
17.61 USD

Hostel 94.0% 12 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
19.81 USD

Hostel 90.4% 224 reviews
Hotel Simon
38.53 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
27.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 78 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
24.77 USD

Hostel 79.1% 51 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
20.25 USD

Hostel 87.8% 47 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
19.81 USD

Hostel 91.5% 66 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
24.77 USD

Hostel 74.5% 147 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.6%

Overall Rating

305 out of 315 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 248 of 305 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool terrace roof with nice view of the cathedral, especially at night. Simple free breakfast provided every morning. Wi-fi worked pretty well in the rooms. Walking tours were great, fun and informative. Guy with orange hair from New York highly recommended.

Disliked: Beds were metal framed beds and felt like prison beds, didnt help that the mattress was very thin too. Lacking in kitchen utensils like proper pots and pans and also condiments and cling film. Inconvenient ir cooking but the plus side is that you dont need to do the dishes because they clean it for you with a dishwasher. Biggest qualm about this place is the staff. They were friendly but unfortunately for us, did not provide accurate information. Wrong description of location for the supermarket, confused times and prices for flamenco, and worst of all directing us to the wrong bus station making us miss our bus to Cordoba (there are several bus stations in Seville)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Too cramped rooms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Very little communal area if weather wasn't good and you couldn't use the terrace. Small lockers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, nice people, everything in walking distance

Disliked: rooftop was closed on saturday night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice facilities. nice roof top terrace and a big kitchen

Disliked: we waited in the lobby for over an hour waiting for the girl at reception to check us in. then they made us change rooms after the first night without ever telling us we had to do this when we checked in which was quite inconvenient. apart from that, the hostel is fine and the staff are relatively helpful

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kasia PLEBAN

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 October 2011 Kasia would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the roof, bathroom in the room, helpful stuff

Disliked: Small rooms, we couldn't hang out on the roof because there was a private party

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good service

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, central and easy to walk many places. Rooftop terrace is pleasant.

Disliked: The room I stayed in (8 beds) was very tight on space. The windows had to be kept open for air. Don't expect much sleep without ear plugs as this part of town doesn't seem to sleep. Bathroom did the job but would be nice if the showers had more space in the cubicle so items would not so easily get splashed resting on the lone flimsy hook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. This is a great place.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and great bathroom in our room.

Disliked: Windows were not obscured and at morning too much light entered the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Daniel Magaña Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Jorge Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent overall.

Disliked: It was a little bit difficult to notice the hostel as there is not that much propaganda of it, but I guess that's also good because it remains more personal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Debbie Vercruyssen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Debbie would recommend this property

Liked: We booked an ensuite room with four beds. The room was very nice and clean, same for the bathroom, that had the atmosphere of a hotel. The staff was superfriendly, they we're ready to help with everything. Also the kitchen was very clean and we found everything we needed there.

Disliked: When there are people on the roof, or later, in the kitchin at night, the noise of the taking kinda echoes through the whole building, because of the shaft in the middle. And when we asked to follow the free guide tour, some guys just dropped us with another group, that was full of much older people and they moved on really slow so we left them and guided ourselves.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011

Liked: Central tot he city Kitchen available to use

Disliked: No privacy to dorms to outside world !!! No curtains . I have never ever been to a hostel with such bad shared facilities. Never mixied never only one toilet - What happens if it stopped working? And showers were not big enough for dry area in privacy. On party night 50 plus people were wandering in dorm corridors looking for a toilet. BIG PROBLEM

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel! Great Atmosphere...the terraze is amazing. The Shared Bathroom is brand new and showers are really good! Really....nothing bad to say about this palace....was really the best hostel I've ever been to!!

Disliked: Nothing Really!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011

Liked: Very near to the cathederal

Disliked: There was only one toilet available in one chamber which has stupidly have three showers.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Have live concerts on the roof sometimes, making it a very lively and fun place if you're not trying to sleep before midnight (too early to go to bed for Spain anyways).

Disliked: Only one bathroom for the whole hostel unfortunately, even though it is a very, very nice bathroom

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a four bedroom with ensuite. The bathroom was beautiful, nice, big, and clean. I wish my bathroom at home was as nice. Spend the extra money and get an ensuite. Also, the view from the rooftop was amazing, and had a great few nights drinking with new friends up there.

Disliked: Nothing really

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right between the Bull Ring, Torre del Oro, and Catedral. Free use of laptop computers. Free breakfast (toast and cereal). Free locks for lockers. Great kitchen facilities (oven included). And a very nice rooftop patio.

Disliked: Only one bathroom shared between entire hostal. Paper thin walls... and I mean paper thin. In my room there was actually only a grate between my room and the adjacent one that I could actually see the people on the other side, and hear every word that they said. The wall separating the room on the other side did not reach all the way to the ceiling so I could hear every word that they said as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, friendly but overwhelmingly it has a fantastic location!!

Disliked: disliked nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The scenery from the rooftop of this hostel is excellent!! :)

Disliked: The signboard of this hostel was so small that It took me very long time to find out the right building.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: incredibly great central location a few minutes walking from the main cathedral, although their entrance sign was so small that I overlooked and passed it, while I was looking for it for the first time. My room was located on the grand floor, so that there was no staircase to climb at all. The staff was very pleasant and kind, so staying there was very cozy. Free wifi and cool rock music they play at the reception and lounge area, it made me feel as though i was staying in my friend's home.

Disliked: none

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Pauline Herbommez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011

Liked: I liked the view from the roof but the picture of the roof on the website doesn't reflect the actual roof. it's a lot smaller and dirtier. But the views are incredible. You can see Sevilla Cathedrale.

Disliked: The lockers were very small, there wasn't any character. The breakfast in the morning is ok but there is no microwave in the breakfast area so you have to climb up stairs with a cup of milk if you wish to have a hot chocolate! a bit silly really. I stayed in 8 different hostals and hotels that week and that was the worst one. The most annoying thing is the bathroom. Only one for a lot of people so you have to wait, we wasted 1 hour of our travelling time just waiting for a bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very nice. They recommended many sightseeing for us. It's useful.

Disliked: Only one toilet!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011

Liked: Lots of free computers for internet, good size kitchen

Disliked: The point of the place is the roof terrace but my first night theyd rented it out so we couldnt use it!! There is only ONE toilet for all the shared dorms, so book a small room. No blackout blinds means early light.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the center and easy to access all the tourist attractions

Disliked: Overall it was a great a place - no complaints