HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

96.7% Overall Rating

283 out of 293 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Kathryn Savage thinks…

"The food was so good at the family meal each night and it was a great way to meet people. All the staff were so friendly and the general atmosphere was really great! I'd definitely recommend staying…"

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We do NOT accept guests under the age of 18 years old. Any bookings with children under the age of 18, will be refused accommodation and we will be unable to refund if you have have failed to inform us within 48 hours of arrival. Cancellations must be notified to the hostel directly at least 48 hours prior to arrival not later than 12am . In the event of a cancellation, the booking deposit and booking fee are non-refundable and you will be charged the first night of your stay. Groups of over 6 people must contact directly with the hostel before booking. During Semana Santa and Feria de Abril, cancellations less than 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of 100% to the amount of your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
21.60 USD

Hostel 93.4% 10 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
24.29 USD

Hostel 88.6% 217 reviews
Hotel Simon
32.06 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
27.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 78 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
27.89 USD

Hostel 79.1% 51 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
21.60 USD

Hostel 95.6% 15 reviews
Hostel Zurbarán
28.11 USD

Hostel 70.9% 41 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
24.29 USD

Hostel 91.8% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

283 out of 293 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 283 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annisa Muchtar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013 Annisa would recommend this property

Liked: Run by four enthusiastic and hard-working English guys, it's a great place for a single traveller to meet new people - the guys all knew you by name from day one. Very friendly and helpful with travel tips, they also collaborate with local tour guides to run tours and events directly from the hostel. Plus, there's the rooftop bar where they cook a 'family meal' every evening and happy hour is ridiculously cheap!

Disliked: I was lucky and got the dorm next to the bathroom, but the shared dorms all have the use of one main bathroom. There were never any queues or waiting while I was there though, despite full occupancy. That's the nature of hostels, and it wasn't a deal breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Cullinane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most amazing hostel! The guys who run the place are so friendly and helpful! The family style dinners every night are a great way to meet people (and delicious food). It felt more like a family than a hostel! The free walking tour was great! Amazing location. I really can't say enough good things! Love this place and looking forward to going back to Sevilla soon!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The boys are super friendly and extremely helpful when it comes to needing info. The communal dinner is a great idea as it gets everyone up on the rooftop to mingle and plus after traveling for awhile its nice to get a home cooked meal.

Disliked: Mattress too thin that you could feel the frame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meg Farrington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Meg would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough good things about La Banda! My friend and I stayed for three nights but wished we had more time there. Olly, Sam, Tom, and Richie run the hostel and do an amazing job! They cook a delicious family dinner for the entire hostel every night that you can choose to have for 6€ with a free drink. We did this every night and hung out with all the other guests on the roof top (which by the way has the best views and really delicious and cheap drinks) and made great friends. They also have great recommendations for restaurants if you want to eat out and organised a flamenco show ticket for us The boys also took us all out after dinner to different night spots which was really great when yiou don't know where the locals go to have fun. It is most social and fun hostel I have ever stayed at. The dorm rooms were clean and comfortable and secure with lockers. Bathrooms and showers were clean and worked well. I will definitely be back and have already recommended it to so many people! We had the best time.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Re

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location and the air con

Disliked: Breakfast could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: This place has just changed hands and is now being run by 4 British guys. They're doing a great job - really good vibe, friendly and awesome rooftop bar with free sangria from time to time. They gave us some great tips of where to eat or the best coffee etc, and they weren't wrong. The rooms are clean and spacious.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan McKee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this hostel to absolutely anyone I know. If you want a great experience in Seville, this is the place to go. The staff is fantastic. Best staff at any hostel I have ever stayed at. Do not expect a 5 star hotel, it is a hostel. Cool lobby. Absolutely amazing roof top bar with great monitors and fantastic prices. The rooms have everything you need. Washrooms were clean. They are in the midst of making upgrades. The staff is what makes this hostel so great, so kind. Listen to their restaurant recommendations, they are fantastic. Great location. Stay here!!!!

Disliked: Wifi connection is not 100% on the higher floors, but at the same time, who cares, you're on vacation.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were super cool & welcoming with smiles (cute too). Instantly felt right at home. Their rooftop terrace & bar is an awesome place to chill with friends as well as meet other travelers. Had my first strawberry mojito there, and one of the owners even taught me how to make one. The drying machine wasn't working, but the owner hung up my clothes for me! So nice. I've stayed in a bajilion hostels throughout Europe, but this was by far my favorite experience (especially since it was during La Feria de Abril).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels. this one is the best one ever! I couldn't believe that I was so sad to leave the hostel more than the city itself. I miss it so much! The staffs and the people I met there are so friendly. I booked for 2 nights but added 1 more night as soon as I arrived. should've stayed longer but journey must be continued. the location is perfect, very near tourist attractions, bus station and tram. They suggested me an amazing flamenco show which is not to be missed! My room was on the first floor so I had access to internet eventhough it's actually only available on the ground floor. They also didn't mind to give me a new map everytime I lost or ruined it. My first map was in pieces, lost the second one so had to get the third one. Elevator is also very useful. If you have time, have dinner with them on the roof terrace, best way to meet people.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was absolutely wonderful. So helpful with amazing and affordable restaurant suggestions! Also they give you aock an key for your things when you check in! It was great!

Disliked: The beds were a bit old but that's about it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Living Roof has one of the best atmosphere of all the hostels I've stayed. The hostel is run by the owners and they are in the midst of doing some impressive stuff. I arrived on a Saturday and they had a Tapas and Cocktail event going on on the rooftop of the hostel (the view up there is amazing). From there, you can overlook the Seville Catherdral and it's impressive. The location is fantastic and the rooms are of a comfortable size.

Disliked: Washroom facilities can be improved. There's only one shared cubicle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The English Gentleman who run it, their courtesy, knowledge and warmth

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stuart deakin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 stuart would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff. really friendly bunch of guy's. will go out there way to keep you sorted :) comfy beds, good atmosphere!!!

Disliked: no dislikes to be mentioned

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, the rooftop terrace was also great. It was clean, rooms were big. This is the best hostel I have stayed in so far.

Disliked: Nothing - there was not one bad thing about it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Castro

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in Sevilla. The staff treated us like we were family. They go out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Perfect, cozy and great atmosphere. Very safe and secure and best of all right in the center of all that is to love of Sevilla. A big Ole! to the staff from Frank and Rochelly.

Disliked: No dislikes

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Devon Yesberger

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, super friendly staff. Excellent location. Loved the feeling of trust and solid great people working the desk. Really sweet peeps.

Disliked: Downsides were breakfast costs 1 euro after spending 25 euro for a bed per night. Kinda pricey if you ask me (the bed not the break lol). Had much more 'posh' hostels in Barcelona for wayyyy cheaper. But it could just be the going rate. There is also only ONE toilet for the whole place so pray that everyone is feeling good. Just wish it was cheaper, because I don't think it was worth 25/ea but it could've just been easter weekend too...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at the Living Roof, I arrived for 1 night and stayed 7 nights. The staff is really kind and helpfull. The place is well located, close to the touristic place and not so far from Alfalfa and Plaza del Salvador. A good point, they are lockers into the room, with padlock provided.

Disliked: Maybe the rooms and the shared bathroom are a little bit small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, especially if you plan to do sightseeing in Sevilla. Nice staff.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and it seemed like they were always around and ready to help. The location was great, and everything was very clean. We had a great stay and would definitely choose the Living Roof again.

Disliked: The shared bathroom only had one toilet, which was not an issue during the slow season (when we visited) but could potentially be a problem during peak season. Also, prospective guests should be aware that there are no individual lights in the larger rooms, so they may want to bring their own.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful knowledgible staff day and night shift. They help me in looking up information on bus schedule, Vino ? even offered me to use his own computer when i had difficulty logging on with my own. They are also very knowledgible about what to see in Sevelle.... A very enjoyable experience for me ....

Disliked: Toilett and Dorm room on separate floor

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: See above

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of this hostel, also that it was very clean. The staff was nice as well! Overall it was a pleasurable stay.

Disliked: The rooftop bar is kind of promoted as the unique characteristic of this hostel but it left me confused. There isn't indication as to when it closes, so on the first night we went and it was open until 12, the second night we went it at 11:30 it was closed. Also, during my stay, during the day there seemed to be some sort of family bbq party on the roof. This is totally fine but does that mean we aren't allowed to go there during that time? Are guests allowed to go in there if the bar isn't open? are we allowed to bring our own drinks? I think there should be a notice dedicated to the describing when it closes, what can you do up there/if you can go up there, etc. Maybe this already exists, but i wasn't informed about it when i checked in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 무엇보다 깨끗합니다. 위치도 좋았고요. 주요 관광지는 죄다 걸어다녔습니다. 에스파뇰광장도 밤낮으로 다닐 수 있었고(거긴 야경도 끝내줍니다.) 성당이야 바로 붙어있고요. 강가를 거닐기도 적격입니다. 지내면서 크게 불편한건 없었습니다. 가격도 저렴했고요. 그리고 결정적으로 한국인 스탭이 있어서 매우 좋았습니다. 6개월간 유럽 다니면서 한인민박을 제하고는 한국인 스탭을 볼 수 없었는데요, 저렴한 호스텔에서 한국인 스탭이 있는건 엄청난 장점이었습니다. 미모의 여자분이신데 시간여유가 있으시면 직접 가이드도 잘 해주신답니다. 그리고 주방이 깨끗하고 좋습니다. 한국인을 위해서 전기밥솥도 주문해 놓았다고 합니다. 근처 마트에 가면 채소나 고기 등도 저렴하게 구할 수 있으니 가난한 배낭여행자들에게는 더할나위없이 좋습니다. 참고로 숙소에서 라면과 소주, 간장등도 팝니다. 근처 아시안 슈퍼에서 사다 놓으셨다는데 간만에 마신 소주는 꿀맛이었습니다. 이글을 보시는 한국인 분이 계시다면 망설이실 이유는 전혀 없습니다. 강추!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: 크게 불편한거야 없습니다만 6인실 이상 사용하시는 분은 공용화장실 쓰셔야 하는데 어느 호스텔이나 그렇듯 여자분들은 다소 불편하실 수 있습니다. 청결도는 최고이나 방음에 있어서는 취약합니다. 그쪽으로 부끄러움있으신 분은 프라이빗을 이용하시길..ㅋ 저는 전혀 문제 없었습니다.ㅋ