We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

98.6% Overall Rating

305 out of 315 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2015)

"Lovely folk, very chilled. Perfect if you're a social traveller who enjoys a touch of comfort. Don't hesitate, book it."

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We do NOT accept guests under the age of 18 years old. Any bookings with children under the age of 18, will be refused accommodation and we will be unable to refund if you have have failed to inform us within 48 hours of arrival. Cancellations must be notified to the hostel directly at least 48 hours prior to arrival not later than 12am . In the event of a cancellation, the booking deposit and booking fee are non-refundable and you will be charged the first night of your stay. Groups of over 6 people must contact directly with the hostel before booking. During Semana Santa and Feria de Abril, cancellations less than 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of 100% to the amount of your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
17.61 USD

Hostel 94.0% 12 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
19.81 USD

Hostel 90.4% 224 reviews
Hotel Simon
38.53 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
27.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 78 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
24.77 USD

Hostel 79.1% 51 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
20.25 USD

Hostel 87.8% 47 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
19.81 USD

Hostel 91.5% 66 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
24.77 USD

Hostel 74.5% 147 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.6%

Overall Rating

305 out of 315 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 248 of 305 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxime LE BLAY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Maxime would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, I loved the staff. Ollie, Tom, Richie and Sam are great guys, they welcomed us in a friendly, comfortable and fun hostel. What I liked most was the living room downstairs; the reception is mixed with the living room, which enable to share your staying with customers and also with the staff. Secondly, I highly recommend you the free morning walking tour with Medhi! He's a very nice guy and a good guide. To sum up, alone or with friends, "la banda" is the perfect hostel for you to meet youngsters, have a laugh and enjoy your staying in Sevilla!

Disliked: The only negative point is that my mattress gave me allergies. Nothing serious, just a little itchy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yoann lanoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 November 2013 yoann would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing roof terrace

Disliked: yoann left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traveling around for 2 weeks in Spain, this was my favorite hostel. Note that this is now "La Banda Hostel", it was taken over by a group of brothers recently and it's great now. 24hr. desk, wonderful staff who knows you by name, and are awesome about answering any questions you have about getting around Sevilla, tapas recommendations, etc. Wish I had every night free to do dinner on the rooftop, it was fantastic! Beds were comfy, and I loved opening the window to hear the carriages pass by, and the bells of the Cathedral. Such a perfect location for any traveler. Lockers for everyone, and a great kitchen. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only downfall was that showers were separate from sinks, and there was only one toilet on our floor. Smelled like it needed to be cleaned a little more often, but everything else was extremely clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere and lovely stuff. they are so friendly and helpful. nice view from the rooftop. family meal was tasty. but a bit expensive. 4 euros would be better I think. me and my friend had a lovely time here whatever because of stuff :)

Disliked: a toilet and a shower room are not enough. room key has broken also lockers. couldn't lock them. bed mattress was thin and soft.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The combination of breakfast, dinners, and happy hour created a greate social environment to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Pace

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: I was in Spain for a music festival, and I only booked one night online, but when I got there I booked another 5 nights. I had an absolutely amazing time, apart from the great prices and excellent location, the owners of this hostel have gone out of their way to make sure everybody is comfortably accommodated and looked after. The evening family meals on the rooftop bar were one of the highlights of my day (amazing food, and they happily made vegetarian options foe me!), the chilled rooftop bar is a perfect place to meet and hang out with other guests, and if I needed any kind of information or directions the guys were more than happy to help out. This place has an amazing vibe, and is run with so much love! Will definitely be back, I've never been looked after so well in a hostel before. Love you guys! and thank you so much, this place absolutely made my holiday! xxxx

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in. This is what every backpackers' hostel should strive to be. My stay was so relaxing and I honestly felt at home while I was at La Banda. The guys make up the best staff as they try to get to know every guest, make delicious dinners and awesome drinks, and know tons about Sevilla. The location is perfect, the rooftop has amazing views and the whole atmosphere is great for solo travelers like me. It's impossible not to meet other people and have fun there. Really, I can't think of much that can be improved at La Banda.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dilhara Lodewyke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Dilhara would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, so easy to meet people, amazing and friendly staff plus free walking tour (with Phillipo) awesome stay!

Disliked: Dilhara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at this hostel! The four English guys who run it were really helpful, the place felt more cozy than other hostels. the group dinners were cheap and delicious, the location was great and I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Montanna Vaccari

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Montanna would recommend this property

Liked: Olli, Sam, Richie and Tom were amazing. We felt at home in this hostel and the guys really made you feel welcome. The rooftop terrace was incredible and the location was spot on. This is my second time here, and I would come back in a heart beat.

Disliked: Not being able to stay longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyunkyung Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Hyunkyung would recommend this property

Liked: All staffs were really cool and friendly, including Samuel !!! I really loved atmosphere of this hostel. Lounge, rooftop bar... everything was perfect !

Disliked: Nothing !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop is where its at. Oh and these guys know how to cook.

Disliked: Abby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, amazing staff, great nightly dinner and drinks. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Duncan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view from the roof terrace. The evening meal was probably some of the best food I ate in Spain and the Mojito Sangria was incredible. The guys who run the hostel were very helpful and knew everything there is to know about Seville. As a solo traveller, if you want to do your own thing there's no pressure to join in with everyone else, but if you want to everybody is very friendly.

Disliked: The beds weren't massively comfortable, and the air conditioning could only be controlled from reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This is easily my most memoriable hostel of Europe. It has a fab location, great facilities, rooms and rooftop, but it´s really the people who made the place; the owners of this hostel. The four guys who work at La Banda go out of their way to help you with anything. They took us out each night, cooked us dinner (which is actually really good!) and shared their awesome knowledge of Seville. Overall, they are the kind of people you genuinely want to spend time with who really love their job. It makes every other hostel seem a little bit empty! You would be mad to book anywhere else.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle McCormack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic little hostel close the city centre in the old town, awesome atmosphere throughout the hostel and especially on the rooftop bar with amazing views over the cathedral. Super friendly staff, helpful and multi-lingual. The rooftop communal dinner is a must and a bargain at $6 Euro. My favourite hostel I have stayed at across my trek throughout Europe.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlee Stones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have stayed in across Europe !! The boys running the show are doing an absolutely phenomenal job. I stayed for three nights and i felt like I had become a part of the furniture:) friendly, fun and they sure can dish up a delicious meal.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephanie el hourany

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very nice friendly, the atmosphere in the hostel was very family like, an excellent place to stay in, very close to the center. the staff cooked dinner every night and we would all eat together in the rooftop bar which was really amazing with very nice people and a perfect view over the cathedral, and the free walking tours in the city were a very good activity to spend the day and learn a lot about sevilla's secrets.

Disliked: stephanie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Denise Yahrling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: I loved absolutely everything about La Banda!! I had so much fun, met some amazing people, the guys who own the hostel were the greatest. Whenever I needed help with anything they got right to it, they know Seville very well and they gave some great recommendations for places to eat. The rooms were nice, even in a 10-bed there was still privacy because of a shelf dividing the room in the middle. Also loved the kitchen, very well equipped. Thanks for a great stay in Seville!!

Disliked: Nada.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Lynch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the most helpful people I have ever come across travelling - they make you feel right at home. When you arrive, they point out all the best places to go visit, and they have the best taste in food! They make family dinner every night and they never disappointed us with the quality. In a really good area of Seville close by to all of the main attractions. You would be stupid to not stay in this hostel, best decision we ever made!

Disliked: Not the best facilities, but for what they lack in facilities, they make up for in atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annisa Muchtar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013 Annisa would recommend this property

Liked: Run by four enthusiastic and hard-working English guys, it's a great place for a single traveller to meet new people - the guys all knew you by name from day one. Very friendly and helpful with travel tips, they also collaborate with local tour guides to run tours and events directly from the hostel. Plus, there's the rooftop bar where they cook a 'family meal' every evening and happy hour is ridiculously cheap!

Disliked: I was lucky and got the dorm next to the bathroom, but the shared dorms all have the use of one main bathroom. There were never any queues or waiting while I was there though, despite full occupancy. That's the nature of hostels, and it wasn't a deal breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Cullinane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most amazing hostel! The guys who run the place are so friendly and helpful! The family style dinners every night are a great way to meet people (and delicious food). It felt more like a family than a hostel! The free walking tour was great! Amazing location. I really can't say enough good things! Love this place and looking forward to going back to Sevilla soon!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The boys are super friendly and extremely helpful when it comes to needing info. The communal dinner is a great idea as it gets everyone up on the rooftop to mingle and plus after traveling for awhile its nice to get a home cooked meal.

Disliked: Mattress too thin that you could feel the frame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meg Farrington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Meg would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough good things about La Banda! My friend and I stayed for three nights but wished we had more time there. Olly, Sam, Tom, and Richie run the hostel and do an amazing job! They cook a delicious family dinner for the entire hostel every night that you can choose to have for 6€ with a free drink. We did this every night and hung out with all the other guests on the roof top (which by the way has the best views and really delicious and cheap drinks) and made great friends. They also have great recommendations for restaurants if you want to eat out and organised a flamenco show ticket for us The boys also took us all out after dinner to different night spots which was really great when yiou don't know where the locals go to have fun. It is most social and fun hostel I have ever stayed at. The dorm rooms were clean and comfortable and secure with lockers. Bathrooms and showers were clean and worked well. I will definitely be back and have already recommended it to so many people! We had the best time.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Re

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location and the air con

Disliked: Breakfast could be better