We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

97.6% Overall Rating

292 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"La Banda has an incredible atmosphere, helped by the delicious 6 euro dinners on the rooftop, great organized pub crawl and free breakfasts. Between these activities you really get to know your fellow travelers. The…"

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We do NOT accept guests under the age of 18 years old. Any bookings with children under the age of 18, will be refused accommodation and we will be unable to refund if you have have failed to inform us within 48 hours of arrival. Cancellations must be notified to the hostel directly at least 48 hours prior to arrival not later than 12am . In the event of a cancellation, the booking deposit and booking fee are non-refundable and you will be charged the first night of your stay. Groups of over 6 people must contact directly with the hostel before booking. During Semana Santa and Feria de Abril, cancellations less than 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of 100% to the amount of your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
20.30 USD

Hostel 93.4% 10 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
22.83 USD

Hostel 88.6% 218 reviews
Hotel Simon
41.23 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
31.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 78 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
31.71 USD

Hostel 79.1% 51 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
20.30 USD

Hostel 96.8% 32 reviews
Hostel Zurbarán
26.42 USD

Hostel 70.9% 41 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
22.83 USD

Hostel 91.0% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.6%

Overall Rating

292 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 236 of 292 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, amazing staff, great nightly dinner and drinks. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Duncan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view from the roof terrace. The evening meal was probably some of the best food I ate in Spain and the Mojito Sangria was incredible. The guys who run the hostel were very helpful and knew everything there is to know about Seville. As a solo traveller, if you want to do your own thing there's no pressure to join in with everyone else, but if you want to everybody is very friendly.

Disliked: The beds weren't massively comfortable, and the air conditioning could only be controlled from reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This is easily my most memoriable hostel of Europe. It has a fab location, great facilities, rooms and rooftop, but it´s really the people who made the place; the owners of this hostel. The four guys who work at La Banda go out of their way to help you with anything. They took us out each night, cooked us dinner (which is actually really good!) and shared their awesome knowledge of Seville. Overall, they are the kind of people you genuinely want to spend time with who really love their job. It makes every other hostel seem a little bit empty! You would be mad to book anywhere else.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle McCormack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic little hostel close the city centre in the old town, awesome atmosphere throughout the hostel and especially on the rooftop bar with amazing views over the cathedral. Super friendly staff, helpful and multi-lingual. The rooftop communal dinner is a must and a bargain at $6 Euro. My favourite hostel I have stayed at across my trek throughout Europe.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlee Stones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have stayed in across Europe !! The boys running the show are doing an absolutely phenomenal job. I stayed for three nights and i felt like I had become a part of the furniture:) friendly, fun and they sure can dish up a delicious meal.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephanie el hourany

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very nice friendly, the atmosphere in the hostel was very family like, an excellent place to stay in, very close to the center. the staff cooked dinner every night and we would all eat together in the rooftop bar which was really amazing with very nice people and a perfect view over the cathedral, and the free walking tours in the city were a very good activity to spend the day and learn a lot about sevilla's secrets.

Disliked: stephanie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Denise Yahrling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: I loved absolutely everything about La Banda!! I had so much fun, met some amazing people, the guys who own the hostel were the greatest. Whenever I needed help with anything they got right to it, they know Seville very well and they gave some great recommendations for places to eat. The rooms were nice, even in a 10-bed there was still privacy because of a shelf dividing the room in the middle. Also loved the kitchen, very well equipped. Thanks for a great stay in Seville!!

Disliked: Nada.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Lynch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the most helpful people I have ever come across travelling - they make you feel right at home. When you arrive, they point out all the best places to go visit, and they have the best taste in food! They make family dinner every night and they never disappointed us with the quality. In a really good area of Seville close by to all of the main attractions. You would be stupid to not stay in this hostel, best decision we ever made!

Disliked: Not the best facilities, but for what they lack in facilities, they make up for in atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annisa Muchtar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013 Annisa would recommend this property

Liked: Run by four enthusiastic and hard-working English guys, it's a great place for a single traveller to meet new people - the guys all knew you by name from day one. Very friendly and helpful with travel tips, they also collaborate with local tour guides to run tours and events directly from the hostel. Plus, there's the rooftop bar where they cook a 'family meal' every evening and happy hour is ridiculously cheap!

Disliked: I was lucky and got the dorm next to the bathroom, but the shared dorms all have the use of one main bathroom. There were never any queues or waiting while I was there though, despite full occupancy. That's the nature of hostels, and it wasn't a deal breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Cullinane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most amazing hostel! The guys who run the place are so friendly and helpful! The family style dinners every night are a great way to meet people (and delicious food). It felt more like a family than a hostel! The free walking tour was great! Amazing location. I really can't say enough good things! Love this place and looking forward to going back to Sevilla soon!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The boys are super friendly and extremely helpful when it comes to needing info. The communal dinner is a great idea as it gets everyone up on the rooftop to mingle and plus after traveling for awhile its nice to get a home cooked meal.

Disliked: Mattress too thin that you could feel the frame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meg Farrington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Meg would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough good things about La Banda! My friend and I stayed for three nights but wished we had more time there. Olly, Sam, Tom, and Richie run the hostel and do an amazing job! They cook a delicious family dinner for the entire hostel every night that you can choose to have for 6€ with a free drink. We did this every night and hung out with all the other guests on the roof top (which by the way has the best views and really delicious and cheap drinks) and made great friends. They also have great recommendations for restaurants if you want to eat out and organised a flamenco show ticket for us The boys also took us all out after dinner to different night spots which was really great when yiou don't know where the locals go to have fun. It is most social and fun hostel I have ever stayed at. The dorm rooms were clean and comfortable and secure with lockers. Bathrooms and showers were clean and worked well. I will definitely be back and have already recommended it to so many people! We had the best time.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Re

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location and the air con

Disliked: Breakfast could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: This place has just changed hands and is now being run by 4 British guys. They're doing a great job - really good vibe, friendly and awesome rooftop bar with free sangria from time to time. They gave us some great tips of where to eat or the best coffee etc, and they weren't wrong. The rooms are clean and spacious.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan McKee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this hostel to absolutely anyone I know. If you want a great experience in Seville, this is the place to go. The staff is fantastic. Best staff at any hostel I have ever stayed at. Do not expect a 5 star hotel, it is a hostel. Cool lobby. Absolutely amazing roof top bar with great monitors and fantastic prices. The rooms have everything you need. Washrooms were clean. They are in the midst of making upgrades. The staff is what makes this hostel so great, so kind. Listen to their restaurant recommendations, they are fantastic. Great location. Stay here!!!!

Disliked: Wifi connection is not 100% on the higher floors, but at the same time, who cares, you're on vacation.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were super cool & welcoming with smiles (cute too). Instantly felt right at home. Their rooftop terrace & bar is an awesome place to chill with friends as well as meet other travelers. Had my first strawberry mojito there, and one of the owners even taught me how to make one. The drying machine wasn't working, but the owner hung up my clothes for me! So nice. I've stayed in a bajilion hostels throughout Europe, but this was by far my favorite experience (especially since it was during La Feria de Abril).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels. this one is the best one ever! I couldn't believe that I was so sad to leave the hostel more than the city itself. I miss it so much! The staffs and the people I met there are so friendly. I booked for 2 nights but added 1 more night as soon as I arrived. should've stayed longer but journey must be continued. the location is perfect, very near tourist attractions, bus station and tram. They suggested me an amazing flamenco show which is not to be missed! My room was on the first floor so I had access to internet eventhough it's actually only available on the ground floor. They also didn't mind to give me a new map everytime I lost or ruined it. My first map was in pieces, lost the second one so had to get the third one. Elevator is also very useful. If you have time, have dinner with them on the roof terrace, best way to meet people.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was absolutely wonderful. So helpful with amazing and affordable restaurant suggestions! Also they give you aock an key for your things when you check in! It was great!

Disliked: The beds were a bit old but that's about it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Living Roof has one of the best atmosphere of all the hostels I've stayed. The hostel is run by the owners and they are in the midst of doing some impressive stuff. I arrived on a Saturday and they had a Tapas and Cocktail event going on on the rooftop of the hostel (the view up there is amazing). From there, you can overlook the Seville Catherdral and it's impressive. The location is fantastic and the rooms are of a comfortable size.

Disliked: Washroom facilities can be improved. There's only one shared cubicle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The English Gentleman who run it, their courtesy, knowledge and warmth

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stuart deakin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 stuart would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff. really friendly bunch of guy's. will go out there way to keep you sorted :) comfy beds, good atmosphere!!!

Disliked: no dislikes to be mentioned

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, the rooftop terrace was also great. It was clean, rooms were big. This is the best hostel I have stayed in so far.

Disliked: Nothing - there was not one bad thing about it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Castro

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in Sevilla. The staff treated us like we were family. They go out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Perfect, cozy and great atmosphere. Very safe and secure and best of all right in the center of all that is to love of Sevilla. A big Ole! to the staff from Frank and Rochelly.

Disliked: No dislikes

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Devon Yesberger

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, super friendly staff. Excellent location. Loved the feeling of trust and solid great people working the desk. Really sweet peeps.

Disliked: Downsides were breakfast costs 1 euro after spending 25 euro for a bed per night. Kinda pricey if you ask me (the bed not the break lol). Had much more 'posh' hostels in Barcelona for wayyyy cheaper. But it could just be the going rate. There is also only ONE toilet for the whole place so pray that everyone is feeling good. Just wish it was cheaper, because I don't think it was worth 25/ea but it could've just been easter weekend too...