HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

97.5% Overall Rating

273 out of 283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Greg Morsky thinks…

"From the minute you walk in to the moment you leave, the four young, energetic and genuinley helpful owners make you feel at home. The common room on the main floor has great vibes where the roof top…"

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
22.10 USD

Hostel 94.3% 7 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
22.10 USD

Hostel 89.9% 213 reviews
Hotel Simon
48.34 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
34.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 75 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
34.53 USD

Hostel 77.4% 50 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
25.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Zurbarán
28.77 USD

Hostel 70.9% 41 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
24.86 USD

Hostel 91.3% 56 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.5%

Overall Rating

273 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 218 of 273 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Pace

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: I was in Spain for a music festival, and I only booked one night online, but when I got there I booked another 5 nights. I had an absolutely amazing time, apart from the great prices and excellent location, the owners of this hostel have gone out of their way to make sure everybody is comfortably accommodated and looked after. The evening family meals on the rooftop bar were one of the highlights of my day (amazing food, and they happily made vegetarian options foe me!), the chilled rooftop bar is a perfect place to meet and hang out with other guests, and if I needed any kind of information or directions the guys were more than happy to help out. This place has an amazing vibe, and is run with so much love! Will definitely be back, I've never been looked after so well in a hostel before. Love you guys! and thank you so much, this place absolutely made my holiday! xxxx

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in. This is what every backpackers' hostel should strive to be. My stay was so relaxing and I honestly felt at home while I was at La Banda. The guys make up the best staff as they try to get to know every guest, make delicious dinners and awesome drinks, and know tons about Sevilla. The location is perfect, the rooftop has amazing views and the whole atmosphere is great for solo travelers like me. It's impossible not to meet other people and have fun there. Really, I can't think of much that can be improved at La Banda.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dilhara Lodewyke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Dilhara would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, so easy to meet people, amazing and friendly staff plus free walking tour (with Phillipo) awesome stay!

Disliked: Dilhara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at this hostel! The four English guys who run it were really helpful, the place felt more cozy than other hostels. the group dinners were cheap and delicious, the location was great and I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Montanna Vaccari

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Montanna would recommend this property

Liked: Olli, Sam, Richie and Tom were amazing. We felt at home in this hostel and the guys really made you feel welcome. The rooftop terrace was incredible and the location was spot on. This is my second time here, and I would come back in a heart beat.

Disliked: Not being able to stay longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyunkyung Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Hyunkyung would recommend this property

Liked: All staffs were really cool and friendly, including Samuel !!! I really loved atmosphere of this hostel. Lounge, rooftop bar... everything was perfect !

Disliked: Nothing !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop is where its at. Oh and these guys know how to cook.

Disliked: Abby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, amazing staff, great nightly dinner and drinks. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Duncan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view from the roof terrace. The evening meal was probably some of the best food I ate in Spain and the Mojito Sangria was incredible. The guys who run the hostel were very helpful and knew everything there is to know about Seville. As a solo traveller, if you want to do your own thing there's no pressure to join in with everyone else, but if you want to everybody is very friendly.

Disliked: The beds weren't massively comfortable, and the air conditioning could only be controlled from reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This is easily my most memoriable hostel of Europe. It has a fab location, great facilities, rooms and rooftop, but it´s really the people who made the place; the owners of this hostel. The four guys who work at La Banda go out of their way to help you with anything. They took us out each night, cooked us dinner (which is actually really good!) and shared their awesome knowledge of Seville. Overall, they are the kind of people you genuinely want to spend time with who really love their job. It makes every other hostel seem a little bit empty! You would be mad to book anywhere else.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle McCormack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic little hostel close the city centre in the old town, awesome atmosphere throughout the hostel and especially on the rooftop bar with amazing views over the cathedral. Super friendly staff, helpful and multi-lingual. The rooftop communal dinner is a must and a bargain at $6 Euro. My favourite hostel I have stayed at across my trek throughout Europe.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlee Stones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have stayed in across Europe !! The boys running the show are doing an absolutely phenomenal job. I stayed for three nights and i felt like I had become a part of the furniture:) friendly, fun and they sure can dish up a delicious meal.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephanie el hourany

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very nice friendly, the atmosphere in the hostel was very family like, an excellent place to stay in, very close to the center. the staff cooked dinner every night and we would all eat together in the rooftop bar which was really amazing with very nice people and a perfect view over the cathedral, and the free walking tours in the city were a very good activity to spend the day and learn a lot about sevilla's secrets.

Disliked: stephanie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Denise Yahrling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: I loved absolutely everything about La Banda!! I had so much fun, met some amazing people, the guys who own the hostel were the greatest. Whenever I needed help with anything they got right to it, they know Seville very well and they gave some great recommendations for places to eat. The rooms were nice, even in a 10-bed there was still privacy because of a shelf dividing the room in the middle. Also loved the kitchen, very well equipped. Thanks for a great stay in Seville!!

Disliked: Nada.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Lynch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the most helpful people I have ever come across travelling - they make you feel right at home. When you arrive, they point out all the best places to go visit, and they have the best taste in food! They make family dinner every night and they never disappointed us with the quality. In a really good area of Seville close by to all of the main attractions. You would be stupid to not stay in this hostel, best decision we ever made!

Disliked: Not the best facilities, but for what they lack in facilities, they make up for in atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annisa Muchtar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013 Annisa would recommend this property

Liked: Run by four enthusiastic and hard-working English guys, it's a great place for a single traveller to meet new people - the guys all knew you by name from day one. Very friendly and helpful with travel tips, they also collaborate with local tour guides to run tours and events directly from the hostel. Plus, there's the rooftop bar where they cook a 'family meal' every evening and happy hour is ridiculously cheap!

Disliked: I was lucky and got the dorm next to the bathroom, but the shared dorms all have the use of one main bathroom. There were never any queues or waiting while I was there though, despite full occupancy. That's the nature of hostels, and it wasn't a deal breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Cullinane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most amazing hostel! The guys who run the place are so friendly and helpful! The family style dinners every night are a great way to meet people (and delicious food). It felt more like a family than a hostel! The free walking tour was great! Amazing location. I really can't say enough good things! Love this place and looking forward to going back to Sevilla soon!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The boys are super friendly and extremely helpful when it comes to needing info. The communal dinner is a great idea as it gets everyone up on the rooftop to mingle and plus after traveling for awhile its nice to get a home cooked meal.

Disliked: Mattress too thin that you could feel the frame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meg Farrington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Meg would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough good things about La Banda! My friend and I stayed for three nights but wished we had more time there. Olly, Sam, Tom, and Richie run the hostel and do an amazing job! They cook a delicious family dinner for the entire hostel every night that you can choose to have for 6€ with a free drink. We did this every night and hung out with all the other guests on the roof top (which by the way has the best views and really delicious and cheap drinks) and made great friends. They also have great recommendations for restaurants if you want to eat out and organised a flamenco show ticket for us The boys also took us all out after dinner to different night spots which was really great when yiou don't know where the locals go to have fun. It is most social and fun hostel I have ever stayed at. The dorm rooms were clean and comfortable and secure with lockers. Bathrooms and showers were clean and worked well. I will definitely be back and have already recommended it to so many people! We had the best time.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Re

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location and the air con

Disliked: Breakfast could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: This place has just changed hands and is now being run by 4 British guys. They're doing a great job - really good vibe, friendly and awesome rooftop bar with free sangria from time to time. They gave us some great tips of where to eat or the best coffee etc, and they weren't wrong. The rooms are clean and spacious.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan McKee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this hostel to absolutely anyone I know. If you want a great experience in Seville, this is the place to go. The staff is fantastic. Best staff at any hostel I have ever stayed at. Do not expect a 5 star hotel, it is a hostel. Cool lobby. Absolutely amazing roof top bar with great monitors and fantastic prices. The rooms have everything you need. Washrooms were clean. They are in the midst of making upgrades. The staff is what makes this hostel so great, so kind. Listen to their restaurant recommendations, they are fantastic. Great location. Stay here!!!!

Disliked: Wifi connection is not 100% on the higher floors, but at the same time, who cares, you're on vacation.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were super cool & welcoming with smiles (cute too). Instantly felt right at home. Their rooftop terrace & bar is an awesome place to chill with friends as well as meet other travelers. Had my first strawberry mojito there, and one of the owners even taught me how to make one. The drying machine wasn't working, but the owner hung up my clothes for me! So nice. I've stayed in a bajilion hostels throughout Europe, but this was by far my favorite experience (especially since it was during La Feria de Abril).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels. this one is the best one ever! I couldn't believe that I was so sad to leave the hostel more than the city itself. I miss it so much! The staffs and the people I met there are so friendly. I booked for 2 nights but added 1 more night as soon as I arrived. should've stayed longer but journey must be continued. the location is perfect, very near tourist attractions, bus station and tram. They suggested me an amazing flamenco show which is not to be missed! My room was on the first floor so I had access to internet eventhough it's actually only available on the ground floor. They also didn't mind to give me a new map everytime I lost or ruined it. My first map was in pieces, lost the second one so had to get the third one. Elevator is also very useful. If you have time, have dinner with them on the roof terrace, best way to meet people.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was absolutely wonderful. So helpful with amazing and affordable restaurant suggestions! Also they give you aock an key for your things when you check in! It was great!

Disliked: The beds were a bit old but that's about it!