HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

97.6% Overall Rating

292 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"La Banda has an incredible atmosphere, helped by the delicious 6 euro dinners on the rooftop, great organized pub crawl and free breakfasts. Between these activities you really get to know your fellow travelers. The…"

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We do NOT accept guests under the age of 18 years old. Any bookings with children under the age of 18, will be refused accommodation and we will be unable to refund if you have have failed to inform us within 48 hours of arrival. Cancellations must be notified to the hostel directly at least 48 hours prior to arrival not later than 12am . In the event of a cancellation, the booking deposit and booking fee are non-refundable and you will be charged the first night of your stay. Groups of over 6 people must contact directly with the hostel before booking. During Semana Santa and Feria de Abril, cancellations less than 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of 100% to the amount of your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
20.24 USD

Hostel 93.4% 10 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
22.77 USD

Hostel 88.6% 218 reviews
Hotel Simon
41.11 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 78 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
31.63 USD

Hostel 79.1% 51 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
20.24 USD

Hostel 96.7% 33 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
22.77 USD

Hostel 91.0% 61 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
28.46 USD

Hostel 74.5% 147 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.6%

Overall Rating

292 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 236 of 292 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their concept of getting together for dinner at the rooftop is a great one and really does help get to know other travellers. Staff were helpful and know a lot about Sevilla. Location is great.

Disliked: Cleaning is not so good, the rooms are quite small, the showers and toilets (there is only ONE toilet) are not always clean. While the rooftop dinner is great, everything else seems to be compromised (other than the service/staff helpfulness) or becomes an extra like using EFTPOS and the breakfast - I think it really should be included in the price even though it is only 1E, there are other hostels which are cheaper and have great facilities which also include breakfast, its just that I think it seems like 1E for breakfast on the day does not seem so much, but in the end adds up. Although if this is the case, its usually better to have breakfast out anyway as Sevilla has plenty of great cafes!!! :) Pretty much have to use cash most of the time too.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: I feel like they are a little stingy. The room I stayed in has 8 beds and should really only have 4. They charge for drinks (very small glass) €1.50 dinner €6 and breakfast €1. It is much cheaper to eat and drink out. This is not a big problem as you can just choose not to have these options. Overall I am pretty happy!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the guys who ran it. they were super sweet and made us feel so welcome. the rooftop is so cool and the dinner they made was delicious. the rooms and bathrooms were clean and everything felt safe and secure.

Disliked: Not too much really! only because I'm a cheap student I wish we got more at dinner for our money but it was delicious!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mei-sze Yeong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2014 Mei-sze would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts, clean and comfortable room, chill lounge to hang out in, the rooftop dinners, easy to meet and hang out with people

Disliked: less freebies available, maybe charge slightly more in accommodation price so we don't have to scrounge for loose change for breakfast and things like that

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farryn Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Farryn would recommend this property

Liked: This place has an awesome atmosphere, run by 4 amazing guys that are so welcoming and helpful with anything that needs done! the location is brilliant, only a short walk from all the main attractions. they offer family dinners on their amazing rooftop bar which were always delicious and a good social affair! the room we were in had an amazing bathroom/ shower and really sturdy wooden bunk beds - never got woken up by someone coming to bed late or rolling round heaps! we didn't have any issues the 4 nights we stayed here and had a really good time and met a lot of cool people!

Disliked: no washing machines so had to take washing to the lady round the corner, which was all good but i prefer doing my own :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew wesp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, other travelers who booked it too

Disliked: A little noisy from outside on ground floor room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Kerollos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff here were easily the highlight, and were the friendliest hosts I've ever encountered. The beds were fantastic, most solidly built bunk beds I've slept in. Rooms were clean, and the atmosphere was fantastic. Rooftop dinners are definitely not to be missed, the boys are excellent chefs. Would recommend to anyone staying in Seville.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A group of four good friends have gathered the best ingredients for the ideal hospitality - perfect location, good atmosphere, very resourceful and charming staff, a rooftop bar with a beautiful view, creative dinners and delicious cocktails... They will take care of each and every guest no matter how busy they are. In other words, they will make you will at home and part of the "labandista" family. Highly recommended to those who like to socialise, listen to good music, and share a (very comfortable) bunk bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. The guys who own and run it obviously care a lot about making it a great place for travellers and are doing a fantastic job of it! Recommend the nightly dinners - good fun and nice social vibe. The rooftop has stunning views as well.

Disliked: Not much space in the dorm room, but still comfortable enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a lovely stay here.. You guys are awesome!!... I enjoyed every single moment in this hostel.. wish i could stay longer...Good kitchen.. clean bathroom.. clean bed... Nice rooftop and offer us homemade dinner.. nice bar with homemade special drink...I can't list out everything in here.. Great location... It's great for solo travellers.. easy to meet friends..

Disliked: nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Williams

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have ever stayed in. You guys are doing a great job! The atmosphere is awesome and the meals out on the terrace are a real highlight. I can't wait to come back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: This band of four Brits runs a great hostel. Friendly, always there to help and even provide delicious dinners for a reasonable cost. The location can't be beat - easy 15 minute walk to both bus stations and just a few blocks to the Cathedral and Real Alcazar. Well maintained.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Rousseaux

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really great!!! They welcome everyone as friend and the evening meal is definitely a "must-do". Not only the price is fair but it's also very good and it's a great way to socialize with people staying there. If I ever come back to Seville, I'll stay there again with no doubt.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxime LE BLAY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Maxime would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, I loved the staff. Ollie, Tom, Richie and Sam are great guys, they welcomed us in a friendly, comfortable and fun hostel. What I liked most was the living room downstairs; the reception is mixed with the living room, which enable to share your staying with customers and also with the staff. Secondly, I highly recommend you the free morning walking tour with Medhi! He's a very nice guy and a good guide. To sum up, alone or with friends, "la banda" is the perfect hostel for you to meet youngsters, have a laugh and enjoy your staying in Sevilla!

Disliked: The only negative point is that my mattress gave me allergies. Nothing serious, just a little itchy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yoann lanoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 November 2013 yoann would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing roof terrace

Disliked: yoann left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traveling around for 2 weeks in Spain, this was my favorite hostel. Note that this is now "La Banda Hostel", it was taken over by a group of brothers recently and it's great now. 24hr. desk, wonderful staff who knows you by name, and are awesome about answering any questions you have about getting around Sevilla, tapas recommendations, etc. Wish I had every night free to do dinner on the rooftop, it was fantastic! Beds were comfy, and I loved opening the window to hear the carriages pass by, and the bells of the Cathedral. Such a perfect location for any traveler. Lockers for everyone, and a great kitchen. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only downfall was that showers were separate from sinks, and there was only one toilet on our floor. Smelled like it needed to be cleaned a little more often, but everything else was extremely clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere and lovely stuff. they are so friendly and helpful. nice view from the rooftop. family meal was tasty. but a bit expensive. 4 euros would be better I think. me and my friend had a lovely time here whatever because of stuff :)

Disliked: a toilet and a shower room are not enough. room key has broken also lockers. couldn't lock them. bed mattress was thin and soft.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The combination of breakfast, dinners, and happy hour created a greate social environment to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Pace

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: I was in Spain for a music festival, and I only booked one night online, but when I got there I booked another 5 nights. I had an absolutely amazing time, apart from the great prices and excellent location, the owners of this hostel have gone out of their way to make sure everybody is comfortably accommodated and looked after. The evening family meals on the rooftop bar were one of the highlights of my day (amazing food, and they happily made vegetarian options foe me!), the chilled rooftop bar is a perfect place to meet and hang out with other guests, and if I needed any kind of information or directions the guys were more than happy to help out. This place has an amazing vibe, and is run with so much love! Will definitely be back, I've never been looked after so well in a hostel before. Love you guys! and thank you so much, this place absolutely made my holiday! xxxx

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in. This is what every backpackers' hostel should strive to be. My stay was so relaxing and I honestly felt at home while I was at La Banda. The guys make up the best staff as they try to get to know every guest, make delicious dinners and awesome drinks, and know tons about Sevilla. The location is perfect, the rooftop has amazing views and the whole atmosphere is great for solo travelers like me. It's impossible not to meet other people and have fun there. Really, I can't think of much that can be improved at La Banda.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dilhara Lodewyke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Dilhara would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, so easy to meet people, amazing and friendly staff plus free walking tour (with Phillipo) awesome stay!

Disliked: Dilhara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at this hostel! The four English guys who run it were really helpful, the place felt more cozy than other hostels. the group dinners were cheap and delicious, the location was great and I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Montanna Vaccari

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Montanna would recommend this property

Liked: Olli, Sam, Richie and Tom were amazing. We felt at home in this hostel and the guys really made you feel welcome. The rooftop terrace was incredible and the location was spot on. This is my second time here, and I would come back in a heart beat.

Disliked: Not being able to stay longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyunkyung Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Hyunkyung would recommend this property

Liked: All staffs were really cool and friendly, including Samuel !!! I really loved atmosphere of this hostel. Lounge, rooftop bar... everything was perfect !

Disliked: Nothing !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop is where its at. Oh and these guys know how to cook.

Disliked: Abby left no negative feedback.