HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Hostel | Calle Dos de Mayo 16, Seville, Spain 41011

96.7% Overall Rating

284 out of 294 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

Jarrod Talbot thinks…

"Everything and the staff are the nicest bunch of people helping out with anything you need. Well done lads. I will def tell fellow travellers your place"

Read all La Banda Rooftop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We do NOT accept guests under the age of 18 years old. Any bookings with children under the age of 18, will be refused accommodation and we will be unable to refund if you have have failed to inform us within 48 hours of arrival. Cancellations must be notified to the hostel directly at least 48 hours prior to arrival not later than 12am . In the event of a cancellation, the booking deposit and booking fee are non-refundable and you will be charged the first night of your stay. Groups of over 6 people must contact directly with the hostel before booking. During Semana Santa and Feria de Abril, cancellations less than 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of 100% to the amount of your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Cathedral House Sevilla
21.42 USD

Hostel 93.4% 10 reviews
The Spot Central Hostel
24.10 USD

Hostel 88.6% 217 reviews
Hotel Simon
33.48 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Da Vinci
27.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 78 reviews
Hospedería Dalís
27.66 USD

Hostel 79.1% 51 reviews
TOC Hostel Sevilla
24.64 USD

Hostel 96.3% 21 reviews
Hostel Zurbarán
27.89 USD

Hostel 70.9% 41 reviews
The Architect Backpacker
24.10 USD

Hostel 91.8% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

284 out of 294 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Banda Rooftop Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 229 of 284 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A group of four good friends have gathered the best ingredients for the ideal hospitality - perfect location, good atmosphere, very resourceful and charming staff, a rooftop bar with a beautiful view, creative dinners and delicious cocktails... They will take care of each and every guest no matter how busy they are. In other words, they will make you will at home and part of the "labandista" family. Highly recommended to those who like to socialise, listen to good music, and share a (very comfortable) bunk bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. The guys who own and run it obviously care a lot about making it a great place for travellers and are doing a fantastic job of it! Recommend the nightly dinners - good fun and nice social vibe. The rooftop has stunning views as well.

Disliked: Not much space in the dorm room, but still comfortable enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a lovely stay here.. You guys are awesome!!... I enjoyed every single moment in this hostel.. wish i could stay longer...Good kitchen.. clean bathroom.. clean bed... Nice rooftop and offer us homemade dinner.. nice bar with homemade special drink...I can't list out everything in here.. Great location... It's great for solo travellers.. easy to meet friends..

Disliked: nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Williams

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have ever stayed in. You guys are doing a great job! The atmosphere is awesome and the meals out on the terrace are a real highlight. I can't wait to come back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: This band of four Brits runs a great hostel. Friendly, always there to help and even provide delicious dinners for a reasonable cost. The location can't be beat - easy 15 minute walk to both bus stations and just a few blocks to the Cathedral and Real Alcazar. Well maintained.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Rousseaux

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really great!!! They welcome everyone as friend and the evening meal is definitely a "must-do". Not only the price is fair but it's also very good and it's a great way to socialize with people staying there. If I ever come back to Seville, I'll stay there again with no doubt.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxime LE BLAY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Maxime would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, I loved the staff. Ollie, Tom, Richie and Sam are great guys, they welcomed us in a friendly, comfortable and fun hostel. What I liked most was the living room downstairs; the reception is mixed with the living room, which enable to share your staying with customers and also with the staff. Secondly, I highly recommend you the free morning walking tour with Medhi! He's a very nice guy and a good guide. To sum up, alone or with friends, "la banda" is the perfect hostel for you to meet youngsters, have a laugh and enjoy your staying in Sevilla!

Disliked: The only negative point is that my mattress gave me allergies. Nothing serious, just a little itchy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yoann lanoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 November 2013 yoann would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing roof terrace

Disliked: yoann left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traveling around for 2 weeks in Spain, this was my favorite hostel. Note that this is now "La Banda Hostel", it was taken over by a group of brothers recently and it's great now. 24hr. desk, wonderful staff who knows you by name, and are awesome about answering any questions you have about getting around Sevilla, tapas recommendations, etc. Wish I had every night free to do dinner on the rooftop, it was fantastic! Beds were comfy, and I loved opening the window to hear the carriages pass by, and the bells of the Cathedral. Such a perfect location for any traveler. Lockers for everyone, and a great kitchen. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only downfall was that showers were separate from sinks, and there was only one toilet on our floor. Smelled like it needed to be cleaned a little more often, but everything else was extremely clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere and lovely stuff. they are so friendly and helpful. nice view from the rooftop. family meal was tasty. but a bit expensive. 4 euros would be better I think. me and my friend had a lovely time here whatever because of stuff :)

Disliked: a toilet and a shower room are not enough. room key has broken also lockers. couldn't lock them. bed mattress was thin and soft.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The combination of breakfast, dinners, and happy hour created a greate social environment to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Pace

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: I was in Spain for a music festival, and I only booked one night online, but when I got there I booked another 5 nights. I had an absolutely amazing time, apart from the great prices and excellent location, the owners of this hostel have gone out of their way to make sure everybody is comfortably accommodated and looked after. The evening family meals on the rooftop bar were one of the highlights of my day (amazing food, and they happily made vegetarian options foe me!), the chilled rooftop bar is a perfect place to meet and hang out with other guests, and if I needed any kind of information or directions the guys were more than happy to help out. This place has an amazing vibe, and is run with so much love! Will definitely be back, I've never been looked after so well in a hostel before. Love you guys! and thank you so much, this place absolutely made my holiday! xxxx

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in. This is what every backpackers' hostel should strive to be. My stay was so relaxing and I honestly felt at home while I was at La Banda. The guys make up the best staff as they try to get to know every guest, make delicious dinners and awesome drinks, and know tons about Sevilla. The location is perfect, the rooftop has amazing views and the whole atmosphere is great for solo travelers like me. It's impossible not to meet other people and have fun there. Really, I can't think of much that can be improved at La Banda.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dilhara Lodewyke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Dilhara would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, so easy to meet people, amazing and friendly staff plus free walking tour (with Phillipo) awesome stay!

Disliked: Dilhara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at this hostel! The four English guys who run it were really helpful, the place felt more cozy than other hostels. the group dinners were cheap and delicious, the location was great and I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Montanna Vaccari

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Montanna would recommend this property

Liked: Olli, Sam, Richie and Tom were amazing. We felt at home in this hostel and the guys really made you feel welcome. The rooftop terrace was incredible and the location was spot on. This is my second time here, and I would come back in a heart beat.

Disliked: Not being able to stay longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyunkyung Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Hyunkyung would recommend this property

Liked: All staffs were really cool and friendly, including Samuel !!! I really loved atmosphere of this hostel. Lounge, rooftop bar... everything was perfect !

Disliked: Nothing !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop is where its at. Oh and these guys know how to cook.

Disliked: Abby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, amazing staff, great nightly dinner and drinks. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Duncan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view from the roof terrace. The evening meal was probably some of the best food I ate in Spain and the Mojito Sangria was incredible. The guys who run the hostel were very helpful and knew everything there is to know about Seville. As a solo traveller, if you want to do your own thing there's no pressure to join in with everyone else, but if you want to everybody is very friendly.

Disliked: The beds weren't massively comfortable, and the air conditioning could only be controlled from reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This is easily my most memoriable hostel of Europe. It has a fab location, great facilities, rooms and rooftop, but it´s really the people who made the place; the owners of this hostel. The four guys who work at La Banda go out of their way to help you with anything. They took us out each night, cooked us dinner (which is actually really good!) and shared their awesome knowledge of Seville. Overall, they are the kind of people you genuinely want to spend time with who really love their job. It makes every other hostel seem a little bit empty! You would be mad to book anywhere else.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle McCormack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic little hostel close the city centre in the old town, awesome atmosphere throughout the hostel and especially on the rooftop bar with amazing views over the cathedral. Super friendly staff, helpful and multi-lingual. The rooftop communal dinner is a must and a bargain at $6 Euro. My favourite hostel I have stayed at across my trek throughout Europe.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlee Stones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have stayed in across Europe !! The boys running the show are doing an absolutely phenomenal job. I stayed for three nights and i felt like I had become a part of the furniture:) friendly, fun and they sure can dish up a delicious meal.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephanie el hourany

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very nice friendly, the atmosphere in the hostel was very family like, an excellent place to stay in, very close to the center. the staff cooked dinner every night and we would all eat together in the rooftop bar which was really amazing with very nice people and a perfect view over the cathedral, and the free walking tours in the city were a very good activity to spend the day and learn a lot about sevilla's secrets.

Disliked: stephanie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Denise Yahrling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: I loved absolutely everything about La Banda!! I had so much fun, met some amazing people, the guys who own the hostel were the greatest. Whenever I needed help with anything they got right to it, they know Seville very well and they gave some great recommendations for places to eat. The rooms were nice, even in a 10-bed there was still privacy because of a shelf dividing the room in the middle. Also loved the kitchen, very well equipped. Thanks for a great stay in Seville!!

Disliked: Nada.