We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Garden Backpacker

Hostel | Calle Santiago 19, Seville, Spain 41003

94.5% Overall Rating

271 out of 277 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/11/2014)

Sarah Daniel thinks…

"Lovely building, lively and easy to meet people but you can still get a good nights sleep as they enforce a quiet policy after 11. Free sangria is great, the rooftop is great although nobody really…"

Read all The Garden Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.27
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Hostel Baco Suites
25.30 USD

Hostel 92.1% 12 reviews
Alhondiga24 Sevilla Hostel
25.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Santa Catalina
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 71.1% 16 reviews
Hotel Abanico
23.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 112 reviews
Hotel Don Pedro
24.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 95.1% 7 reviews
Hostal Lis
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 85 reviews
Traveler`s Inn Seville
20.24 USD

Hostel 89.7% 360 reviews
Hotel Sevilla Palace
53.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

271 out of 277 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Garden Backpacker'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 273 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Daniel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building, lively and easy to meet people but you can still get a good nights sleep as they enforce a quiet policy after 11. Free sangria is great, the rooftop is great although nobody really uses it because they all hang out in the garden. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: The wifi signal was pretty much non-existent unless you were in the reception area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kanik Anand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2014 Kanik would recommend this property

Liked: Easily one of the best hostels I've been to. Brilliant for solo travellers, as I met tons of other solo travellers here. They have free sangria for 1 hour every night...that's right! This gives another reason for people to hang out in the common room. Daily dinner (except on sundays) was really good value. Best staff ever. Walking tour and pub crawl with Medi were awesome ( Medi, where do you get so much energy from?). I loved my stay and I'm already thinking when can I come back here...

Disliked: N/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pagaen Boyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Pagaen would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this hostel! Best i've stayed in as its so easy to meet people and great staff! The staff are so helpful and they felt more like friends - Thanks Sophie for still smiling while answering my 5000 questions. The Walking Tours & Pub Crawls with Mehdi & Phillipo are great - these guys are the most outgoing and interactive/fun tour guides I've ever met! Sangria & meals that are cooked for you also add to the social atmosphere.

Disliked: It is not right in the centre - however it is a very nice walk in to the centre with shops & sights along the way so I didn't mind that at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Treacy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Kingsbury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Great for young travellers wanting to meet people. Nice garden area for socialing & wonderful staff. Also has air-con which is a must in Seville in summer!

Disliked: No complaints..

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Computer

Disliked: Bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pros Free Sangria Organized activities Easy to make friends (A lot of people traveling on their own. The atmosphere in the garden makes it extremely easy to meet people)

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Callan Jones

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Callan would recommend this property

Liked: Most things. Good atmosphere. Staff very friendly. Good walking tours especially Medi.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had plenty of areas to relax or have a drink and socialise with new friends. The cheap home cooked dinners were a huge plus and very tasty. The morning and afternoon free walking tours with Phillipo and Medi were very informative and worth doing aswell.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in anywhere - it ticks all the boxes, whereas most hostels are missing some important features. In the room - every bed has a reading lamp and a large locker big enough for your bag. The bathrooms - good showers, a mixture of cubicles and full bathrooms. The hostel - plenty of nice indoor and outdoor space, book swap, DVD library, bar, good kitchen, plenty of fridge space too. There's a great atmosphere for meeting people with all this common space and the free sangria in the evenings brings groups together. The bar and outdoor areas shut at midnight too so the hostel doesn't get too rowdy. The staff were all really welcoming and helpful, and kept the place clean all the time.

Disliked: You don't get a key to the outside door so every time you have to ring the bell, but the staff are really quick to buzz you in. It could potentially be inconvenient if you want to cook in the evening, as there will be someone cooking for the hostel in the kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014

Liked: The situation, the staff, the price, and it' was very clean also.

Disliked: The noise after 11pm! My ear-plus wasn't efficient. After 4 nights it's à bit hard...i would recommend this place for young people. I turn 48 soon....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Jouanides

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very good hostel. It is clean, secure and fun - when I say fun, the staff are not all about pub crawls and getting drunk, they listen and have lots of useful recommendations. They have two daily walking tours, which are very informative and fun and a good way to meet people. Mede in particular is a great guide. The hostel is in a good location, with great bars and eateries nearby, along with a super market if you fancy cooking for yourself. All in all 10/10.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: no bad comments

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ron Gogoi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything about the hostel was great - the staff (Valentina, Claudia, Daniele and Federico) were warm and friendly; there was a lively atmosphere in the hostel thanks to a gtreat group of fellow backpackers and staff. The rooms, and the bathrooms were clean, and the hotel is secure. They had a kitchen where you could cook which is a plus, and grocery stores at convenient distance from the hostel.

Disliked: I wish they had bigger lockers inside the dorms to keep a backpack. But hey, I could care less as I had the whole 4 bed dorm all to myself :-)) for the two days and nights I stayed there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacinta Drake

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel pretty much has everything you will need! Laundry, kitchen, hot showers, plenty of common areas, friendly staff and heaps more. It's been the best hostel we have stayed at in Southern Spain. Also ask Claudia for food recommendations they were all delicious! Also a free sangria hour!

Disliked: Jacinta left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice spot, good atmosphere for meeting meeting people and hanging out without being a hardcore party hostel. I have stayed in three other highly rated hostels in seville, this is my favourite.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diogo Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 August 2013 Diogo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and great indoor garden with a bar

Disliked: Diogo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the amazing staff. air con

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chill place and the staff make it very fun. Very kind. I would stay here to be around the friendly staff. Good place to recover and quite.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best I've stayed in. Amazing staff, free sangria and an awesome location to see Seville. Would definitely stay again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Europe! The staff is extremely friendly. As a solo traveler, it was very easy to meet fellow travelers in the hostel (thanks to free Sangria from 8-9 pm!) The walking/tapas tours with Manu and Mehdi are simply amazing! Lastly, the pub crawls are so much fun! Where else do you only pay once for a pub crawl, and can go on as many pub crawls!

Disliked: No AC (at least in my room). There was a fan, which we kept running all night. My bed was positioned in a way that the wind was on me a lot, which led to a sore throat after a couple of nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelin Kennedy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Katelin would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really excellent hostel. Great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are big, and bathroom facilities are great. Loads of activities on offer. The perfect place to stay in Seville.

Disliked: Katelin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is what a hostel should be...brings travelers together from all parts of the world. The free sangria helps too! Also,I left my credit card and they went out of their way to make sure I got it back ASAP.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marib Akanda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Marib would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and breakfast! I also enjoyed Juan's tour, he kept the mood light while also being very informative.

Disliked: Marib left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was good

Disliked: nothing