HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Garden Backpacker

Hostel | Calle Santiago 19, Seville, Spain 41003

96.3% Overall Rating

259 out of 264 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2013)

Ron Gogoi thinks…

"Pretty much everything about the hostel was great - the staff (Valentina, Claudia, Daniele and Federico) were warm and friendly; there was a lively atmosphere in the hostel thanks to a gtreat group…"

Read all The Garden Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seville

Hostel Baco Suites
27.60 USD

Hostel 96.0% 5 reviews
Alhondiga24 Sevilla Hostel
27.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Santa Catalina
24.15 USD

Guesthouse 71.1% 16 reviews
IMG Hotel Posada del Lucero
318.80 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abanico
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 111 reviews
Hotel Don Pedro
41.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 95.1% 7 reviews
Hostal Lis
27.60 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 85 reviews
Traveler`s Inn Seville
24.84 USD

Hostel 90.9% 356 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

259 out of 264 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Garden Backpacker'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
99.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 222 of 260 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: no bad comments

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ron Gogoi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything about the hostel was great - the staff (Valentina, Claudia, Daniele and Federico) were warm and friendly; there was a lively atmosphere in the hostel thanks to a gtreat group of fellow backpackers and staff. The rooms, and the bathrooms were clean, and the hotel is secure. They had a kitchen where you could cook which is a plus, and grocery stores at convenient distance from the hostel.

Disliked: I wish they had bigger lockers inside the dorms to keep a backpack. But hey, I could care less as I had the whole 4 bed dorm all to myself :-)) for the two days and nights I stayed there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacinta Drake

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel pretty much has everything you will need! Laundry, kitchen, hot showers, plenty of common areas, friendly staff and heaps more. It's been the best hostel we have stayed at in Southern Spain. Also ask Claudia for food recommendations they were all delicious! Also a free sangria hour!

Disliked: Jacinta left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice spot, good atmosphere for meeting meeting people and hanging out without being a hardcore party hostel. I have stayed in three other highly rated hostels in seville, this is my favourite.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diogo Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 August 2013 Diogo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and great indoor garden with a bar

Disliked: Diogo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the amazing staff. air con

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chill place and the staff make it very fun. Very kind. I would stay here to be around the friendly staff. Good place to recover and quite.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best I've stayed in. Amazing staff, free sangria and an awesome location to see Seville. Would definitely stay again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Europe! The staff is extremely friendly. As a solo traveler, it was very easy to meet fellow travelers in the hostel (thanks to free Sangria from 8-9 pm!) The walking/tapas tours with Manu and Mehdi are simply amazing! Lastly, the pub crawls are so much fun! Where else do you only pay once for a pub crawl, and can go on as many pub crawls!

Disliked: No AC (at least in my room). There was a fan, which we kept running all night. My bed was positioned in a way that the wind was on me a lot, which led to a sore throat after a couple of nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelin Kennedy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Katelin would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really excellent hostel. Great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are big, and bathroom facilities are great. Loads of activities on offer. The perfect place to stay in Seville.

Disliked: Katelin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is what a hostel should be...brings travelers together from all parts of the world. The free sangria helps too! Also,I left my credit card and they went out of their way to make sure I got it back ASAP.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marib Akanda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Marib would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and breakfast! I also enjoyed Juan's tour, he kept the mood light while also being very informative.

Disliked: Marib left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was good

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie McGowan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff, so friendly and helpful free sangria! paella night! organised free walking tours of Seville recommendations for places to eat and cheap tickets for a flamenco show, which is amazing

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking tour was good, good location. Roof terrace was nice.

Disliked: Could be cleaner, wifi connection was poor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel overall, great great garden, and loved the two walking tours, both are worth it and Medi is the best guide ever !

Disliked: Bathrooms could be as bit cleaner but it was still alright.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel- would recommend it to anybody! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the hostel very clean and spacious. Hostel is within walking distance of all the important tourist sites. Hostel also organised a range of social events such as pub crawls and walking tours which were pretty good!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - The free sangria really allowed people to connect to each other in the common area. In this way you can always make new friends. - The group of people that organise the guided tours and the pubcrawls are very enthusiastic and amazing. It made my stay very enjoyable. The walks are unique in that they cover very specific details from the city and the pubcrawls provided me with a lot of crazy memories! - The facilities are perfect for travelers (Great kitchen, good computers, nice showers, etc.) - Everything is on walking distance

Disliked: - the dorm close to the reception is very noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerry Curtis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 May 2013 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel, I can't recommend it enough. I was only passing through for one night on the way somewhere else, but it's the sort of place I could immediately tell I would happily stay for weeks. Every need was catered for and they weren't trying to extort money out of you at every opportunity, as some hostels do. It had the perfect atmosphere of being friendly without being in your face, so it works whether you are there to party or to get a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good, it was clean and the building and décor was lovely. I really can't fault it.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice garden

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Orešnik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff! Nice atmosphere, garden and roof terrace are great for relaxing and socialising.

Disliked: Maja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful (great recommendation on flamenco show), and they really made you feel at home. It rained while we were in Seville, but we didn´t feel like we missed out because the hostel was super homey and we were happy to just stay in and watch movies (they have free DVDs!!!) and enjoy the free sangria and paella (for 7euros you get one HUGE plate - great value for money and the best paella I´ve ever had). Breakfast was also great and the hostel was also very thoughtful in providing you with additional amenities for free if you needed them (hairdryer, toiletries etc.)

Disliked: The walls are a bit thin and it can get noisy if other travellers start talking and laughing in their rooms, but the hostel has a good quiet hours policy after midnight and the staff do help in enforcing it, just ask them and they´ll make sure you get a good night´s sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and location. Good lounge area, and the free sangria helps people mingle!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful. The common area was great and the kitchen was very usable and clean.

Disliked: The beds were a little squeaky

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people! The free sangria really brought all of the guests together in the common area at night, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The fact that the walking tours were done with other hostels brought even more people together. Having activities like flamenco lessons in the hostel also added to the friendly atmosphere. I liked that the showers aren't on a timer here, and that breakfast went until 11 am. The terrace is great. This hostel is great and I would definitely go back.

Disliked: The breakfast could have been better (white bread with jam and Cornflakes), or the morning walking tour could have been shorter (it went from 10:45 am to almost 2 pm!). Hostel is a bit hard to find at first, due to Sevilla's labyrinth of streets.