We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Fermin

Hostel | Fermin Calbeton 23, San Sebastian, Spain 20003

77.8% Overall Rating

47 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

"The San Fermin hostel is in a great location, between the beach, ferry and the river, in the heart of the city with amazing restaurants all around (5-10 mins each). During the day the street is quite noisy with people…"

Read all San Fermin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Sebastian?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Sebastian

Adore Plaza
21.81 USD

Hostel 86.1% 104 reviews
Pension Ira-Flor
48.11 USD

Guesthouse 59.5% 6 reviews
Umoreonabi Guesthouse
26.94 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 230 reviews
Pension San Juan
30.79 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 189 reviews
Old City Luca
32.07 USD

Hostel 71.8% 42 reviews
Loinaz Pension
28.22 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 70 reviews
Roger's House
25.66 USD

Hostel 86.9% 177 reviews
Pension Goiko
21.89 USD

Guesthouse 83.0% 98 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

47 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Fermin'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 57 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jackie Manders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff, the beds were comfortable, and the shower was so good!

Disliked: There were no cups, bowls or mugs in the kitchen. Only plastic plates. It was weird. And really annoying

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014

Liked: The San Fermin hostel is in a great location, between the beach, ferry and the river, in the heart of the city with amazing restaurants all around (5-10 mins each). During the day the street is quite noisy with people (no cars), but at night I had no trouble sleeping. Train and bus station are more like 30 mins to walk, but a cheap bus is bringing you where you need to go. Room and bathroom were clean and the receptionist very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that you have to put your keycard in a slot to get the power to work in the room, which is good for saving energy probably (so a nice idea), but it can be annoying when you want to leave the room with your keycard and someone is in the bathroom showering or they are still sleeping and charging their phone, and then you take out your card and basically turn off the power that they need (since they can't insert their own card at those moments). Also at the moment the kitchen is being renovated so you can't use it this month probably and so there is also not really a common area to meet people.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Not much cooking utensils

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Chia Yen Ku

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Chia Yen would recommend this property

Liked: It was a comfortable stay.

Disliked: No kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Great location, right in the middle of a pub street. Private and modern bathrooms. Well maintained property. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Too many beds cramped into the rooms - you can't open a door without hitting a bed. Room rate got jacked up one night to another without notice.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013

Liked: The cleanliness and location were good. There's a few lockers in the room that can fit laptops and valuables (you have to leave a deposit for the key at reception).

Disliked: No common area or kitchen, so nowhere to socialize except your room or the rooftop. The six bed dorm is REALLY cramped. Luckily there were only a couple of other people when I was there, but I would hate to see it when it's full.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very clean, and has a great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, staff is very nice and helpful

Disliked: Beds are unsafe, no hot water in all rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clinton Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2012 Clinton would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station, shops, food and both beaches

Disliked: Clinton left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, easy to find, helpfull staff, great balcony, loved the pillow.

Disliked: Not enough lockers in the room for everyone.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristy schizas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 kristy would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was located in a main street in the heart of san sebastian. it has a lovely rooftop where you can take your drinks up and that has very nice views of the street, which s filled with restaurants, bars etc. the owners of the hostel are very lovely, one night we were drinking at the rooftop & they came up and offered us lots of food & drinks - very welcoming! the hostel was very modern, very clean & the staff very helpful!

Disliked: the rooms were a bit tiny, we stayed in a four person bunk bed with two bunk beds, but the room would have been suitable for two people comfortably.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous location!!! On the same street as all the best tapas bars! Clean tidy rooms and free Internet access which we got in our room as we were on level 1.

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jarryd Porter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 September 2012

Liked: Truly horrible and over priced. Keep looking

Disliked: Air conditioning failed. Rooms are tiny. Property was under construction while we were there. Management would not speak to us!!!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, right above a street of bars in the old town

Disliked: Being right above said bars means that if you are on the lower floors it can be very loud at night,.....pack ear plugs!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Knight

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very central. Very clean. We booked it last minute for San Sebastians busiest time of the year (The running of the bulls) so was very happy with it considering!!

Disliked: They definately tried to fit in as manyyyy people as possible into each room. Our room was obviously only meant for 2 people, yet they had put in an extra set of portable bunkbeds in order to fit more people. Reminded me of our tiny room on Sail Croatia! But each room did have it's own bathroom.... And it was all very modern.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: to many people in one room because they were small rooms

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how centrally located the hostel was. The room I stayed in also had this quaint little balcony which was nice, and the bathrooms were nice and clean.

Disliked: Being in the old part of town the streets were very small and echoed any noice which made the room very noisy. Also the rooms were so thight. We had rented a private room for 2, but the room had 4 beds which made it hard to open the doors to the balcony, and also made moving around in the room awkward.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Pope

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and informative staff, excellent location for being in the heart of the old city, clean and modern facilities and a sense of being in the atmosphere of San Sébastiàn, with the street noise on a Saturday night.

Disliked: I was the only person in my 6 bed dorm, so didn't have anything to dislike, but perhaps if there were more people with lots of packs, it may be a little small. As it was, it was fine.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, amazingly central, right on the street of all the pinxtos (tapas) bars and clubs but peaceful enough to sleep as well. Close to beach, both surf beaches and la concha bay. Friendly helpful and flexible staff- helped us a lot with some problems.

Disliked: No kitchen or common room- need to realise this is not a hostel with any communal spaces. Great for travelling groups but not ideal for solo travellers...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms, amazing if you book it with people you know because each room has it's own bathroom. Awesome location in the middle of Old Town, yet all the noise from the bars doesn't go through the building so it's quiet in the rooms. Also lockers that are big enough to actually fit stuff into. My best hostel experience yet. Helpful staff as well.

Disliked: The elevator didn't work during my stay and the water was kinda tough to keep in the shower - but amazing water pressure and also hot water!!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011

Liked: The location was really good. The young guy at reception is really helpful!

Disliked: The rooms are tiny and super loud. We had a late train the next day and they let us leave our bags but wouldn't let us use a bathroom! There was no common area whatsover and everything costs extra towels, deposit for the ket ect

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: tiny rooms, door and bathroom door didn´t close. Nowhere to put your bags and had to share a double bed with my friend without even telling us. Very expensive

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Trent Michaels

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite - Having an ensuite in your room was handy. However, the shower tended to overflow and made the floor in the bathroom and some outside the door quite wet.

Disliked: Room - The roomspace inside my room was tiny. For a 6 person dorm, it was a narrow room, with not even a 60cm aisle between the beds. If you wanted to get past and someone was already there you would have to wait or ask to get past. In a hostel room, that's just not cool. Shower - The shower floor overflowed if you turned it on to high, leading to a wet bathroom floor and even outside the bathroom door!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent, in the middle of the parte vieja. The rooms are small but clean and a private room is good value for money.

Disliked: Roms are very small, especially dorms can get really crowded. However, there is airconditioning and I read the reviews before so wasn't surprised. Rooms on the street side can be noisy, but our room was at the back and street noise didn't bother me. There are no common areas or kitchen .