HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Old City Luca

Hostel | Calle Fermin Calbeton 11, 3 D Derecha, San Sebastian, Spain 20003

74.9% Overall Rating

21 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

Christopher Doos thinks…

"Very friendly staff and nice clean beds ext. best showers I have had at a hostel to date."

Read all Old City Luca reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

Important Information

According to Availability, the Rooms can be assigned in a different address within The Old City area.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Sebastian?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Sebastian

Loinaz Pension
29.54 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 70 reviews
Hospedaje Kati
40.28 USD

Hostel 70.9% 108 reviews
Lagunak B&B
30.88 USD

Hostel 67.3% 84 reviews
Pension San Juan
44.31 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 185 reviews
Roger's House
33.57 USD

Hostel 88.7% 173 reviews
San Fermin
32.22 USD

Hostel 76.0% 55 reviews
Adore Plaza
22.82 USD

Hostel 84.1% 98 reviews
Kaixo Hostel
56.39 USD

Hostel 89.6% 316 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

21 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old City Luca'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Doos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice clean beds ext. best showers I have had at a hostel to date.

Disliked: Lack of a kitchen

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is fantastic, in the middle of the old town close to eateries and the beach.

Disliked: No washing facilities or kitchenette

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Radich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

kylie brettell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 July 2013 kylie would recommend this property

Liked: very clean good location

Disliked: We had a room over the street and it was very very loud till 4-5am so got very little sleep. and there is no aircon so quite uncomfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Batt

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the Deluxe Double Ocean View room, which is located near the surf beach (not in the old city). We had a nice view of the sea from our window, and the room was comfortable and decent-sized.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 September 2012

Liked: Nothing! It is like living in somebody's living room, not a hostel, a bad homestay and that is not what we booked...

Disliked: Fake walls, you hear everything and it is impossible to sleep. No windows! Imagine the bad air... Cold showers, for 3 days straight. The owner lives in one room and uses your facilities, how crazy isn't that? Not to be recommended in any way...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Luca (the host) was very helpful and friendly, clean and secure.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when i arried there was a problem with water, concening not only the building but part of the city. luca was quite open about it and offered help in case of need. that was nice.

Disliked: slightly expensive but worth the privacy...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristian Lengyel

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, very friendly owner Luca and well worth the money! We were visiting as a familly, 2 adults and one 5 year old and it worked perfectly! Very child friendly staff!

Disliked: No windows in our room and the air was a bit quite stuffy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marissa Davis

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals

14 July 2012 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: Was a fantastic location, the staff were very helpful! Would stay again in a heart beat and would recommend it for anyone! Thank u old city Luca

Disliked: No windows

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haley Vile

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Haley would recommend this property

Liked: This property was very clean and peaceful.

Disliked: Haley left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Madeline Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Madeline would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic - in the midst of plenty of restaurants, cafes, shops and close walking distance to the beautiful 'La Concha' Beach. The bathrooms (there are 2, shared among about 5 or 6 rooms) are lovely and the cleanest I've seen- posh hotel standard.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike although we had a little trouble finding the place once inside the building! The price is not as cheap as we'd have liked but San Sebastian is more expensive than the rest of Spain so to be expected.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sharon Lin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, there was an elevator and the bathrooms were spacious. There was a TV and fridge for common use.

Disliked: No windows in the room, only a fan. I saw a small cockroach in the bathroom on the first night. Towels were only provided when requested.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, but also very loud in the night because of party people in the street. Not every room has a window - probably they are very hot in summer. Two very clean and big bathrooms with hot shower, toilet, bidet, hairdryer...

Disliked: Unfortunately no kitchen (it's private for the host).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

22 August 2011

Liked: only the location

Disliked: once at old city Luca we discovered that there was an overbooking and we had to move to another dirty hostal.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, traditional style, cleanish, lot of space

Disliked: nothing to dislike