HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Surf Backpackers Guesthouse

Narrika, 23 - 2 dcha, San Sebastian, Spain

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 60%

Location 92%

Safety 68%

Staff 70%

Value 61%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Café
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Sebastian?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 60%

Location 92%

Safety 68%

Staff 70%

Value 61%

Showing 11-2 of 2 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very friendly almost i felt i was sleeping at freind's house and it was clean and i met very cool people during the stay

Disliked: nothing nothing to hate a single tiny oh maybe on the main building there were too many aussies.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, cool staff.

Disliked: No lockers. It's a simple need. Also it can take a few minutes to get into reception to get in, if no staff are in reception.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's well located in the old town.

Disliked: The room was a bit small and there was an extra bed added so it meant we were 5 people in the room.Only one shower. No real organized pub crawls and activities like you could find in other hostels and I found it quite expensive also in comparison to other hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was pretty small so everyone was super friendly. The guy which did the maintenance was really nice and trying to get to know the poeple. It was pretty clean and the locarion was really good since we were in the old town and the beach is just a few minutes walk away.

Disliked: You have to know where you are going to find the hostel since the sign is tiny. The guy that checked us in seemed less than interested and as though he just woke up with a bad hangover. They also offered surf lessons but when we asked about them the guy at the checkin gave us no information what so ever and told us he would get ask the guy which gave them if it was possible and come back to us, but he never mentionned anything again.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: There were multiple locations throughout the town where the hotel "operated" However only the central location (which none of us stayed in) had WIFI. 2 of the people in our group got moved last minute because "the private double room just always double books itself online" and when we asked about it and showed our displeasure being split up across town the night of our arrival as we walked towards our different locations, they informed us if being separated was really that big of a deal, they could just give us our money back on the spot and let us be on our way. Also they only accepted credit cards which we were not prepared for and there were no near ATMs at our 11:45 pm arrival, forcing to leave the hostel again to go find one. When we booked the hostel on hostelbookers, we noted our expected arrival at 11:30. They began calling our cell phones at 11 pm checking on us. Upon our arrival (before being sent back out to get cash from the ATM) there was a sign saying the office/reception closed at 11pm, again none of which was advertised online.After making some assumptions, and talking to the supplemental help, I deduced and discovered a few things. They were just some surfers who apart from two units, sublet other rooms from other Hostals in the area to fund their surfing lifestyle in the area, using other surfers and girlfriends of the week to help cook/clean for the "owners" in exchange for free lodging....

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great Location. Nice staff. Good atmosphere

Disliked: There were some safety concerns. It was not a huge problem but there was only one bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was nice. Helpful w/ train info and stuff like that.

Disliked: I know it was near the running of the bulls, but it was expensive for a hostel. Also, it needs MORE BATHROOMS.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Muy bueno el hostel, excelentemente ubicado y el personal super amable.

Disliked: No hay nada como para destacar que me hay disgustado.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good hostel good people good food good location

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability