We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Roger's House

Hostel | Calle Juan de Bilbao 13 - 3º, San Sebastian, Spain 20003

87.5% Overall Rating

160 out of 178 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

Rebecca Grey thinks…

"Staff were friendly and helpful, very clean and comfortable rooms and excellent wifi"

Read all Roger's House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reservations that are more than 5 people must cancel at least 12 days prior to arrival, Changing the number of people must be made 7 days prior to arrival, The hostel will charge the total amount to 3 days prior to arrival day.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Sebastian?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Sebastian

Pension San Juan
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 189 reviews
Adore Plaza
21.51 USD

Hostel 87.4% 106 reviews
Loinaz Pension
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 70 reviews
Old City Luca
31.63 USD

Hostel 71.8% 42 reviews
Hospedaje Kati
23.01 USD

Hostel 70.9% 108 reviews
San Fermin
20.24 USD

Hostel 77.8% 59 reviews
Kaixo Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 86.9% 322 reviews
Umoreonabi Guesthouse
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 230 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

160 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Roger's House'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 167 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Grey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, very clean and comfortable rooms and excellent wifi

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hilary Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and the location is excellent, right in the centre of the old town San Sebastian.

Disliked: The rooms are very small as are the kitchen and bathrooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Klaus van den Kerkhoff

Alone

City break

06 August 2014

Liked: The hostel is well located (in the Old Town - parte vieja). Breakfast is offered as "help yourself" which means you can get up late without missing breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Common areas and bathroom/shower facilities are tiny - I have never seen a hostel with less space for the number of people. The view overlooking the Plaza Mayor is great - if your are lucky enough to have a room with a window. I wasn t ...... My bunk bed was squeaking at the slightest body movement.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 July 2014

Liked: Opportunity to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Only one private toilet / shower for the whole hostel. The other toilet and two showers do not offer privacy. Staff not always at desk. No activities organised on the Saturday. Not enough sockets in rooms to charge phones.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Healey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Warm, inviting and friendly staff, I felt right at home immediately in this central spot of San Sebastian's charming old town. It is truly one of kind accommodation and not only do I recommend it to anyone passing through, I will be making a deliberate effort to return, if not this trip, next.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olivia Mir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2014 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome, especially mario and ioana! Mario took us on an awesome 3 hour hike and cooked paella and sangria his way for us. The staff came out with us every night, so even though it isn't a party hostel within the staff are open to everything. The location was perfect, close to everything we wanted to do. We wish we stayed longer. Also go to the pintxos bar right around the corner La Viña.. The owner is so smiley haha. Get the prawn spring rolls and have some of their famous 'cheesecake'

Disliked: Olivia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HEIDI JEN

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 HEIDI would recommend this property

Liked: - Staff is friendly and very helpful! They gave me advice about where to go and where to eat and directions to places I was interested in visiting. They even let me use their printer (without a charge) to print out my train tickets. - Cozy atmosphere where you get to know everyone. There are only a handful of people in every room, so you don't feel cramped on top of each other. - Awesome balconies in some of the rooms that look right into the main square - Mario cooked us paella and took us on a bar crawl of sorts one night, which was pretty rad. - Towels (and umbrellas if needed!) provided at no charge - Perfect location in the old town, walking distance from all the good bars and restaurants

Disliked: - Only two bathrooms for the entire hostel - Kitchen facilities aren't very clean, but you should be out and eating pinxtos anyways!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Twin room had amazing balcony overlooking the plaza.

Disliked: There was absolutely nowhere to hang out, it was so crammed. Only 2 showers/toilets so sometimes had to wait. Lockers were in the hallways so made it hard to move around if there was more than 1 person nearby. Dorm rooms looked super crammed also.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met great people staying there, laid back feel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernhard Kemper

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 May 2014 Bernhard would recommend this property

Liked: This was probably the best possibility to spend 2 amazing nights (and days) in San Sebastian. The hostel was located directly in the middle of old town with lots of nice bars around. The way to the beach is not more than 5 minutes. But best of all were the hosts in the hostel. Mario served us his selfmade sangria and showed us around and gave us very useful tips for eating the best pintxos in the city. We'll definitely come back when we are in Sanseb! Thanks.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place & good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kelsey Clark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, room size/furnishings, wifi worked well, clean sheets, free map.

Disliked: Somewhat hard to find the door (it'd be nice if they had a sign on the outside), bathrooms not the cleanest, pretty noisy: sound really carries through the rooms, breakfast was supposed to be offered but I couldn't figure out when or how to serve myself, etc., the signage and website said the front desk opened at a certain time, but the staff member didn't arrive until over an hour later.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helena Reimann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Mario cooked paella for everyone. Afterwards we went to a bar with some live music. It was a really fun night. The day before Mario took us for a hike, which was really nice.

Disliked: The shower was in the entrance area. But it wasn't too bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great experience : extremely friendly staff who recommended the good adresses and took me out to a bar at night, perfect location and good atmosphere, clean and safe.

Disliked: I liked everything !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 March 2014 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay. Right in the heart of town; near bars, both beaches and other touristy sites. The staff are all the friendiest dudes you'll ever find at a hostel and they are incredibly generous and helpful. I've stayed here twice and will always go back.

Disliked: Mitchell left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Devon Nieto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment and helpful staff. Prefect location right in the heart of SB (parte viejo).

Disliked: A bit noisy and the beds are not very comfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location in the city centre

Disliked: there is not really a common room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bronte Fisher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Bronte would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and helpful, they had dinner on offer a couple times while i was there which was really nice. It's so easy to walk to everywhere in town and it's a great position near heaps of tapas bars.

Disliked: It was all quite small, with no real common room except the kitchen which would have been very packed if the hostel had of been full. There are only two toilets so it got a bit busy at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roger's House was the best hostel I have stayed at, simply because of the immense friendliness and helpfulness of the staff! Carlos, Mario, Pietro were all absolutely amazing. Especially Carlos, who was working in the morning, always asked me my plans for the day and gave me loads of tips on how to best enjoy my time in San Sebastian, and made sure it was personally tailored. Pietro recommended THE BEST pintxos bars for the most delicious meal in Spain. And Mario made such delicious Paella and Sangria (he even shared his secret recipe!). The guests in the hostel were also great fun. Rooms were on the smallish side, but very charming and I did not feel that I lacked space. Showers were amazing (water pressure)!!!!

Disliked: No real common area except for the kitchen. Honestly it was amazing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Guilherme Martins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was brilliant. It is a small hostel but that just meant that you got to meet more people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, best hostel staff who are extremely friendly and helpful. Very easy to meet new people and check out San Sebastián and especially the beautiful old town area.

Disliked: A little cramped, small kitchen. No real common room although I guess the kitchen doubles as the common room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Our room was very hot and humid. The fan provided was useless. This made it difficult to sleep, despite it being nice and quiet...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MINNA MANNERT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2013 MINNA would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant location and friendly staff, nice home/family-like atmosphere, staff organises visits to bars and give good tips about spending your time. Possibility to book surfing lessons through the hostel. A good place for a solo traveller. The kitchen is quite small and gets crowded, so you make friends easily.

Disliked: Not too many showers and you might need to wait for your turn.