We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kaixo Hostel

Hostel | San Juan 9 - 2, San Sebastian, Spain 20003

87.3% Overall Rating

291 out of 321 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

"This is a wonderful property. The location is fantastic for those looking for great proximity to both beaches and immediate access to all the old town restaurants/bars. The relatively smaller size of the property and…"

Read all Kaixo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in between 12:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. After 10:00 p.m. we charge 10 €/H Check out by 11am.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Sebastian?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Sebastian

Hospedaje Kati
28.26 USD

Hostel 70.9% 108 reviews
Lagunak B&B
23.12 USD

Hostel 66.9% 91 reviews
Loinaz Pension
28.26 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 70 reviews
Old City Luca
32.11 USD

Hostel 71.8% 42 reviews
Roger's House
25.69 USD

Hostel 86.9% 177 reviews
Pension San Juan
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 189 reviews
Adore Plaza
21.84 USD

Hostel 86.1% 104 reviews
Ibai Accomodations
32.11 USD

Hostel 86.4% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

291 out of 321 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kaixo Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 229 of 276 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

11 September 2014

Liked: the great position

Disliked: already reported above about

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a wonderful property. The location is fantastic for those looking for great proximity to both beaches and immediate access to all the old town restaurants/bars. The relatively smaller size of the property and slightly higher price points than others in town attracts some great travelers who aren't going to keep you up all night. Impeccably clean with great kitchen and laundry facilities and locked safes for each guest. They also offer a lot of accessories on site (surf board rentals, guided tours, etc.) Landon from the hostel was incredibly gracious and accomodating, offering lots of great suggestions and organizing some really fun group pintxo outings! Highly recommended hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No breakfast included

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, had a communal kitchen and a couch. The bathrooms were modern and clean. The location of the hostel was fantastic, right amongst the main old town area for the pinxtos, bars and shops and also close to the beach.he staff were helpful.

Disliked: The hostel was really expensive for what it was although it was nice, it was basic. There were a few other hostels in the main old town close to all the main attractions that my friends were staying in which were much cheaper (half the cost) & still nice hostels. The hostel is directly above a bar/club so the noise keeps you awake. The rooms have no air con and get hot but you can't open the windows for ventilation because of the noise from the bar below. Reception doesn't open till 8 so I couldn't check out properly and get my key deposit back as I had to leave before 8am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for exploring the old town and the beach. Fatima, the hostel worker/waitress who checked us in, gave us great service and a lot of good recommendations. It's awesome to have a balcony in your room (we stayed in a private full-size bed room). The bathrooms and kitchen are very clean and well-maintained.

Disliked: There is no central office for the hostel, so checking in at the restaurant next door (Iratxo) is strange, and it felt weird standing in a busy restaurant with full backpack gear in tow waiting for a waitress to handle your reservation. It seems like they expect you to check in during non-busy restaurant hours, which isn't always possible! The kitchen closes at 11pm until 8am to prevent parties (by city/neighborhood ordinance, not hostel rules), which is understandable, but can be inconvenient if you want to grab water in the middle of the night or want to prepare a breakfast for an early day trip. Another strange thing was that we wanted to share a bottle of wine in our bedroom in order to wind down after a long day, yet a hostel worker told us that was against his rules, which was annoying. We had to persuade him that we weren't out to party in order for him to let us bring our own bottle of wine into our room. The wooden floors are beautiful, but they're very creaky!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the beaches and right in the heart of the old town so perfect for the bars and cafés. A supermarket is very close too. Very clean and the kitchen is well appointed. The person who does the check in Fatima was very helpful with her directions and suggestions.

Disliked: There is no reception, so you have to go to the bar next door. It closes during the late afternoon. The noise insulation is not good so if other guests are noisy you hear everything. Ear plugs a must!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Midgley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. This apartment was in the perfect location. A little bit hard with the reception being at the bar just down the street but once we found it and checked in there was nothing we could complain about. Absolutely loved it will be back!

Disliked: Nothing really just maybe better locks on the bedroom doors

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like staying in a beautiful apartment.

Disliked: I woke up in the morning and there was no power. I was soooo in need of a shower, and was unable to take one in a pitch black apartment. The girl at the coffee shop downstairs (which is where you check in, as there is NO lobby or reception desk) was quite rude and dismissive about me questioning when/if the power will return. Eventually, she sent someone else (a supposed manager from one of their other properties to speak with me. He was even ruder! He acted like I was making a big deal out of nothing, and also couldn't tell me when or if the power would return. Desperately in need of a shower and some downtime, I asked if I could just have a refund so I could go stay somewhere with power(tearfully explaining my situation, ok yes I was having a girl moment but 4 months backpacking it's bound to happen at least once). He told me no, I couldn't have a refund to cancel the rest of my reservation. He laughed at me, that I was even asking for a refund for the small amount of €17/night. (Compared to other hostels in Spain that was actually on the high end of what I paid elsewhere). When I asked him how he could keep someone's $, and not provide them with lights or heat, he once again laughed at me and told me to "go call the police" to try and get your $ back. The worst experience of my whole 4 months in hostels! Which was unfortunate, because it was probably one of the nicest looking places I stayed! Also, my room felt safe because I was the only one in a room with 3 beds. But there were no lockers or cages to put your stuff during the day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and clean hostel, single room was a very cheap price. Great location. Good wifi all round the hostel. Got some good tips for the best pintxos from the guy who checked us in.

Disliked: Single room has no window which might be an issue for some. Only 2 bathrooms between all roms. There is rarely any staff around but you can go to Iratxo Cafe downstairs for help and advice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here! Booked for 2 nights and ended up staying 5 as I didn't want to leave. More like an apartment, very clean always. Great kitchen and cooking facilities. Awesome fast wifi throughout. Secure with lockers and locks on doors and locked door to apartment. Amazing location right in centre of town and super close to the beach. Stay here was made great by the lovely people I met at this hostel. Will hopefully be back soon!

Disliked: Nothing. People complain about it not having a reception but there is a cafe on the bottom floor where you check in and pay etc which is almost always open so it's not an issue at all!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Campbell

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly english speaking staff. Made to feel more like an apartment then a hostel. Very small and excellently furnished to a very high standard. Definitely the best hostel I have ever been in by a mile.

Disliked: There was nothing bad I could say about this property.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect Location. Nice Kitchen.

Disliked: When i got there, cafe was closed and no staff was in the hostel. A fellow guest let me in and called a staff member. Bathrooms were avg. Room had no windows.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were put into a separate accommodation as backpackers was full. Right in town square. Old town. Great location - pretty noisy but full of atmosphere.

Disliked: A negative that tuned into a positive .... They sent a message with one of the workers to say we had to move - on the last night. But by time we got down there we asked if we could continua in apartment for final night - which they let us.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location of my place it was a good price for the money

Disliked: there wasn't much of a hostel atmosphere where you could find others, or a common area, which is so so, sometimes it's nice to have

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the girl at reception is fantastic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's more like a big apartment than a hostel, with several rooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen. The rooms are clean and comfortable, as is the rest of the apartment. The kitchen is pretty well equipped too. It's in an excellent location and great value for money. The rooms are lockable and have a safe as well, so nice and secure.

Disliked: It doesn't have the atmosphere of a typical hostel (so maybe not ideal if you're travelling alone and want to make friends), and it doesn't have a reception so you have to meet the guy in the bar next door to check in.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Richardson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location Spacious Secure

Disliked: No instruction on website about car park location!!! No visible sign outside property , walked past it 3 times it was very hard to find! misleading info on concessions for cafe downstairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location friendly kitchen

Disliked: non existing car parking for 16€

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin Kiehne

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: More like an apartment than a hostel, but a lovely apartment at that. Brilliant location and divine cafe downstairs.

Disliked: Didn't get to socialise too much with others because of the fact that it is more like an apartment. Still, a very nice place to stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and Locatio

Disliked: My Rooom Hasn´t Window. I missed it a lot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelin Anning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Katelin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was excellent. It is like staying in a large flat. The beds are really comfortable, the showers are fantastic. It is modern and homely. Probably wouldn't recommend as much to a solo traveller as it can be hard to meet people. Although just as I was leaving they were arranging tapas tasting tours and excursions to the Guggenheim in Bilboa. Location is AWESOME, right around the corner from some spectacular pintxos bars! Would stay again.

Disliked: Katelin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location + renovated

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed atmosphere, it felt like a home!

Disliked: My room didn't have a window

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff in the café. The hostel was modern, clean and very comfortable. An added bonus was, despite being advertised as a charged service, I was able to leave my luggage for free on the last day of my stay. It was a great place to stay for a few nights.

Disliked: I disliked the fact that there was no manned reception or staff on site during my stay. While it was clearly advertised, I feel this is poor. I stayed in a single room which had no windows. Although it had a radiator and plug-in air conditioning unit, it did nothing to ventilate the room, leaving the air stale and slightly foul smelling. This wasn't a problem when you were in the room itself, but it wasn't pleasant to enter a stale, slightly smelly room each time. It would have been nice to have a small wardrobe or some more hangers for my clothes, as well as somewhere to leave my towel when wet. I'll note that the room doesn't come with a secure locker - it is in fact a safe. I didn't like the fact that there were only two shared bathrooms - this wasn't enough considering the size of the hostel. Finally, while I admit that San Sebastián is an expensive city, I did feel that the hostel was on the pricey side for what it was offering.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eva Leidinger

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: My room had NO window, could cause claustrophobia!!!!!