HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hospedaje Donosti@ B&B

Guesthouse | San Marcial 33 - 5A, San Sebastian, Spain 20006

96.9% Overall Rating

260 out of 263 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/06/2014)

"Lovely owner with good language skills. We had a great room with a balcony. only minus being the bed which was quite small for two and too soft, also the pillows thick to my taste, so sleeping was not perfect for me or…"

Read all Hospedaje Donosti@ B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 53.86
  • Luggage Room USD 6.73

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check-in is after 11am (at least to leave your luggage). Check-out is before 12 noon. Please call us or send us an e-mail with your estimated time of arrival. The hostel does not have a free parking for our clients. However there is parking near by, and a free parking 15min. from the hostel by bus. Cancellations must be made at least 48hrs prior to arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Sebastian?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Sebastian

Urban House
31.10 USD

Hostel 75.7% 896 reviews
Downtown River Hostel
32.31 USD

Hostel 87.9% 4 reviews
Beti Anayak Guesthouse
33.66 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 456 reviews
San Fermin
33.66 USD

Hostel 76.0% 55 reviews
Pension Ira-Flor
50.49 USD

Guesthouse 59.5% 6 reviews
Lagunak B&B
30.97 USD

Hostel 67.3% 84 reviews
Umoreonabi Guesthouse
39.05 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 227 reviews
Old City Luca
37.70 USD

Hostel 74.9% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.9%

Overall Rating

260 out of 263 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Donosti@ B&B'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 217 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely owner with good language skills. We had a great room with a balcony. only minus being the bed which was quite small for two and too soft, also the pillows thick to my taste, so sleeping was not perfect for me or my girlfriend. Good location near everything, right on the main shopping street with food store next door. Lovely restaurants in San Sebastián!

Disliked: Bed was not optimal

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Hawkins

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, Amalia and Luz so helpful and friendly they made you feel really welcome and would help you with anything you needed.

Disliked: Slightly noisy at night time when concerts are on in the square below

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shelby Barton

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Shelby would recommend this property

Liked: I loved EVERYTHING about this property!!! It was SO clean, Luz and her mother were SO helpful and SO sweet! It was modern, the rooms were large, clean, and well decorated. Wifi worked great, we were a 4 minute walk to the beach and close to everything else. It's right near great stores. Seriously, this place blew my mind, it was AWESOME. I will never stay anywhere else in San Sebastian! It was so incredible, and I couldn't have asked for anything else.

Disliked: Nothing. Seriously.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about it was excellent and the owner couldn't have been more helpful. She was brilliant.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Yahya

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

06 August 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I stayed here at the end of July and LOVED Luz and her mom. They were so hospitable and made us a different breakfast every day of the week! The apartment was cozy and clean and very central to everything.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin May

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, the rooms are clean and bright, the bathrooms are modern, the breakfasts are fantastic (and flexible!) but what sticks in my head is the staff: I cannot speak highly enough of Luz and Amalia. I had a pretty rough time while I was in San Sebastian and they were so very good to me - I will never forget it. But even before then their friendliness and helpfulness were incredible. Stay here guys, you won't regret it.

Disliked: I honestly can't think of anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to centre of San Sebastian..the staff were very helpful,the breakfast excellant and we just had a lovely time.

Disliked: i liked everything about the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne Taylor

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 November 2012 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and very helpful. Comfortable rooms, great locaton

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Sutherland

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: The daughter who owned the BnB was very friendly and helpful, the beds were very comfortable, and the breakfasts were lovely.

Disliked: DO NOT STAY HERE - There is a communal room with a tv and computer which we were told to use at our leisure. In accordance with the written rules of the hostel in each room, we left the door ajar to reduce noise to other patrons, and so that we could hear the tv as the staff were incredibly loud throughout our stay. The mother of the woman who owned the BnB came in and reprimanded us for having the door closed. When we tried to explain why we left the door mostly closed, she yelled at us in an incredibly harsh and rude manner, and would not let us speak. She came back a second time to apologise but did not actually say sorry and refused to listen to us again. She then commented specifically on our comings and goings from the BnB and accused us of "spending all of our time in the BnB", and particularly that room, which was inaccurate. In fact it was the first time that day that we had been in the communal room. Personally, I suffer from Ankylosing Spondylitis (a severe form of arthritis) which requires medication which makes me incredibly drowsy. She rudely targeted the time spent in the hostel while I was napping without listening to further explanation. She even scoffed at us. The manner in which she addressed us was highly unprofessional, and you wouldn't even speak to your relatives like that. It was way out of line, made us feel judged, and put a dampener on what otherwise would have been a lovely few days in San Sebastian. Cannot recommend San Sebastian highly enough, but DO NOT stay in this BnB, unless you want to be yelled at on multiple occasions in one night for something as minor as closing a door. Also the showers were cold and water pressure was very weak.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerald Speegle

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 gerald would recommend this property

Liked: Staff,LUZ is so knowledgeable and enthusiastic QUIET

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kim Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Amalia, the owner, is a chef and the breakfasts were yummy! (We had friends who were staying in Old Town and they had a nice room, but no breakfast. I think they were a bit jealous when we described ours! lol) She was also very helpful with directions and helped me print out some important e-tickets. Amalia has a very sweet assistant who did our laundry for us.

Disliked: The only thing I can think of right now is that the hallway and stairs from the street are very, very dark, and it's hard to find the right key to open the door of the B&B.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Spencer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The property was lovely, nice size rooms with closet space, desk, mirror. Cleaned regulary, had a homely vibe. Great dining area and views of the city. Amalia, the property manager was amazing! Very welcoming, always around to help, gave tourist information and spoke great English. Breakfast was delicious. Location is 5 walking distance to beach and the old quarter where the best restaurants and pubs are.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom had a great shower and always clean. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Not great for meeting other travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Raymont

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely, really helpful and friendly. The whole place was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was great. Comfy beds and lovely feather pillows - makes such a differece. Great location - near to the action but not too noisy and crowded.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neda Cvetek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Neda would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, very quiet, but just 3 minutes from the beach. The owner makes you feel at home.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - close to the beach, the cathedral & walking distance to the old town. The breakfast was fresh, delicious & filling. The bed was soooo comfortable & bathroom was clean and had a spacious bathtub/shower. The staff were friendly and gave us a map and a printed list of recommended bars with suggestions of what to order, which was helpful :)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. We had everything we wanted provided for us with absolutely no hassle. Its a quaint smaller hostel therefore its more suited for families or couples. If youre looking for a party hostel this isnt going to be the best choice.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Bohl

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: A family run hostel, the mother making pan cakes in the morning and the daughter explaining the sights in town. Almost like staying in someone's private flat.

Disliked: Wireless internet would have been an advantage.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lopez Jose

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2011 Lopez would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice 4 bedroom/2bathroom apartment, with excellent location. Amalia was very nice with us, providing information for our journey in SS.

Disliked: The only issue was parking, which isn't free, and costs around 20€, but this is not a problem of the property itself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very personal and extraordinary good service! Awsome breakfast!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were great, location, free internet

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebecca Williams

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was awesome!

Disliked: a bit noisy. could do with a fan in the bedroom. bed and pillow not very comfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome breakfast that changes every day, very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Escorcia

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: No complains

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this place for 5 nights and had a very pleasant stay. We arrived into San Sebastian very early in the morning and Luz was very lovely and accommodating and stored our luggage away until the room was ready. We came back a few hours early to a lovely tidy and modern room with a cute airy balcony, we were very comfortable here. The place is very well located in the middle of town with only a short walk to the beach and restaurants. The breakfast was lovely with a different choices each day, the pancakes were awesome! The bathroom facilities were shared with one other room but this was fine as it was the cleanest shared bathroom I have ever seen throughout our travels. Extra added bonus was the free wifi, there was even a computer for use if you didnt have your own. The use of the kitchen was also very handy for us. Loved this place and would highly recommend it to anyone, hopefully one day in the near future we can return to San Sebastian and stay in this place again.

Disliked: Cannot comment on any dislikes as everything was great.