We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hospedaje Kati

Hostel | Fermin Calbeton 21 - 5C, San Sebastian, Spain 2003

70.9% Overall Rating

67 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/07/2014)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"Hostels are extremely few and far between in Donosti, so you have to be grateful to be able to stay in one in the Old Part at all. I've stayed in another two in the city, which both have different…"

Read all Hospedaje Kati reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

After making a reservation ,please reconfirm your booking with Hospedaje Kati calling the number provided in your confirmation. Arrival time must be respected. If you're not going to arrive on time, please call us, or your booking will be cancelled after an hour, 10% deposit remaining non refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Sebastian?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Sebastian

Kaixo Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 86.9% 322 reviews
Loinaz Pension
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 70 reviews
Lagunak B&B
20.87 USD

Hostel 66.9% 91 reviews
Old City Luca
31.63 USD

Hostel 71.8% 42 reviews
Roger's House
22.77 USD

Hostel 87.5% 178 reviews
Pension San Juan
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 189 reviews
Adore Plaza
21.51 USD

Hostel 87.7% 105 reviews
San Fermin
26.57 USD

Hostel 77.8% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.9%

Overall Rating

67 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Kati'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
62.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 75 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Work / volunteering

12 July 2014 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: Hostels are extremely few and far between in Donosti, so you have to be grateful to be able to stay in one in the Old Part at all. I've stayed in another two in the city, which both have different advantages and disadvantages, and would probably recommend Kati's place overall. There is a large balcony, which most people would enjoy but was a comedown for me as I had just moved out of a flat just round the corner where I had my own private, much better one.

Disliked: It's not a real hostel, but two rooms of her flat. My supposedly five-bed room was extremely cramped with in fact six beds, so you should book the relatively more spacious other room. Despite the ceilings being normal height, the lower bunks were right on the floor and felt very coffin-like, with the upper bunks being very close to them. However, I didn't want to choose an upper bunk as they had no rails. Some space in the room is wasted on unusable cupboards, so Kati really should renovate in order to make it a little less claustrophobic. Kati's son seems to live there to but he doesn't speak English or seem able to deal with much, so you should always just talk to Kati herself. It wasn't a problem for my stay, but there is no kitchen access and only one shower for all the guests (and I think Kati and Ander), which could be a serious drawback for some people. You also need to make sure you tell her in advance what time you're going to arrive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, right in the middle of the old town, in one of the two best streets of San Sebastian for eating pinxtos. Awesome terrace in the last floor of the building. Best choice for people travelling on low budget.

Disliked: It's not like the other hostels I used to visit as you are actually renting in bed/room at someone's place. I didn't feel comfortable enough to use the kitchen, anyway cooking is kind of forbidden... which is not a real problem as you really want to eat in the pintxoes bars! Finally the price and the location make these little inconvenients unsignifiant.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

TERRANCE HALL

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2013 TERRANCE would recommend this property

Liked: Kati was very friendly, smiling, respectful and helpful. I'd read some negative reports from other visitors about this hostel - but come on guys - what do you expect for the relatively little money you are paying compared to others who stay elsewhere in this lovely city? It's a basic hostel but it is secure, is in great location and there's a decent bed, a towel supplied and a hot shower day or night, get real. Plus others sharing the dormitories, like-minded people, are a fascinating and respectful bunch. If you don't like 'cheap and cheerful' then go elsewhere and pay a lot more I'm sure - but if can hack basic and hassle-free then give it a whirl. I'll be back in San Sebastian and I'd be happy to stay in Hospedaji Kati again.

Disliked: For the money I paid there were no negatives for me.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2011

Liked: location, bedroom decoration

Disliked: It seems that this hostel should be made for retired older travellers with dinning-out habbit (actually cooking is not allowed in this hotel) instead of for us lively young people who would always like to make some joyful atmosphere and to cook something where we stay and who'd prefer being waken up by our own alarm clock instead of by the hostel owner's knock at the door an hour before check-out deadline time.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011

Liked: quite close to the beach and all the main tourist sites and shops

Disliked: it was literally someone's house that they just shoved a couple of extra beds into. you couldn't use the kitchen, there was only one bathroom, it was cramped and dark and i just didn't like the atmosphere.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Holly Sproule

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011

Liked: The location.

Disliked: We didnt get to stay at the actual hostel, we were sent to another family members house to sleep on a cot and a pull out bed in her den.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011

Liked: It is a small property so you get to know everyone in the hostel

Disliked: It isn't really a hostel, is more like a guest house so you don't get to feel free around the place, you have the owner walking around at all times telling you to be quiet and pick up your things etc.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Rohlfing

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Location was fantastic.

Disliked: The entire operation felt slightly disorganized. First we were sent from the original hostel to another to go see this lady's 'friend,' and the whole time we were there she was very stressed and confused, switching beds around all the time.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

bianca pawsey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011

Liked: Friendly old spainsh lady seems nice

Disliked: Couldn't understand anything staff were saying as they knew no English, and our room was the old lady's bedroom, we must of kicked her out for the night, very loud and bright lights in our room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 July 2011

Liked: The first hostel (where we didn't get to stay as was moved to their other hostel) had a great balcony for drinking and socialising.

Disliked: The owner seperated me and my friends, she wouldn't let us drink on the balcony as we weren't staying in that hostel (even though we had booked to stay in that hostel). She was so concerned about making money, she put some people on foam mattresses on the dorm floors. The owner was rude. We booked a private twin and were put in a completely different hostel in a triple room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great outdoor area for drinks & mingling. Perfect location. Kati made us delicious homemade paella & brought us coffee in bed.

Disliked: Owner does not speak any English. Dorms contained 7 beds, not 5 as we had paid before.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a very friendly feeling about it. "Mama Kati" was really lovely despite knowing very little english. The location is brilliant.

Disliked: The sleeping arrangements seemed quite disorganised when we first arrived. This was sorted out quickly though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill Nugent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

13 July 2011 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: the outdoor balcony

Disliked: Nowhere to lock bags up

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: It was homely and in an amazing location, also had a nice roof terrace. The wifi is good, the owners are mostly very friendly although if you don't know any Spanish you should learn a little before staying here.

Disliked: The biggest problem was that we booked 4 beds in a 5 bed dorm, we were given 3 beds in an 8 bed dorm and were refused a discount. More minor was that there is only one shower for the whole hostel (15-20 people). Also weirdly, one night at 2am the owner's son knocked on out dorm room door and accused us of stealing his watch. Half an hour later he knocked to say "don't worry I found it."

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe. Right in the centre of the old town.

Disliked: Not really a hostel - felt more like a B+B without breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kati es muy amable , me ha encantado mucho el ambiente

Disliked: not at all

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dorit Wiemer

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2010 Dorit would recommend this property

Liked: the area was nice (center of old town). kati is a very kind person!

Disliked: Dorit left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Grendon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

17 September 2010

Liked: Kati was generally very friendly and nice, the room was clean the terrace was lovely and it's in the centre of town.

Disliked: On arrival there was no-one in the hostel and we had to lug our bags around for about 1.5hours before someone arrived (to be fair, this was because the owners went to hospital for something). On the first night we were woken at 3am and couldn't understand why, either it was because the fan was on, or it was because the terrace light was on or something... we still have no idea what it was, just to be sure, we didn't turn the fan on again and weren't bothered. (Why put a fan in the room if we can't use it?). On the second day the owners came in and said someone was going to be staying in our room with us. There were 4 beds in our room but we had paid for a private room. we weren't very happy with this. The owners husband kicked up a fuss with us and although i couldn't understand i did pick up '4 beds, they have paid for 2'. In the end they put the new person in a different room. I think that because the owners also live in the place, it does give it a homely feel but the owners do get a little strange about it. Like staying with a unknown relative in a different country for the first time and being unable to speak the same language...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

06 September 2010

Liked: The location is great and it is kept clean.

Disliked: Great location, but uncomfortable experience. When you choose this, you are staying in the spare room of a family, an older couple and their grown son (or at least it was her son). The woman that greeted us was friendly at first. After that we would just get asked a lot of questions about when we would pay (telling them once wasn't sufficient I suppose) and then for the short period of time available after that, when we would leave. ... I chose this place because it was the cheapest private room available in the area, and I was hoping my wife and I could take advantage of the "alone" time on our trip. Needless to say the situation was beyond creepy and that wasn't about to happen... I haven't visited them, but I would be willing to bet that the other hostels mentioned on this site provide a better experience than staying here, so I would only recommend staying here if the other hostels are completely booked.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

02 September 2010

Liked: It is right in the centre of town.

Disliked: The cramped room, the atmosphere, the security of the room, the inability to park anywhere near it and the old couple speak no english at all.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

10 August 2010

Liked: The room is clean.

Disliked: The bathroom is too small, and you can't use the kitchen. Also the terrace is besides Kati's room so you can't talk at nights because she needs to sleep. Finally, there is a terrible smell throughout the whole apartment.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010

Liked: Right in the middle of town. OI OI OI

Disliked: Not allowed to use the kitchen at all. Host not able to speak english except for few words

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010

Liked: Safe, no lockers but my stuff was safe

Disliked: Smelly beds! The dorm is a spare room in their house, Kati and her Husband live there as well as her middle aged son, which made me feel a bit uncomfortable as there was only one other traveller who came late at night too.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kati was very frindly :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulina Vega Gonzalez

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

19 July 2010 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: WE LOVED KATI!!!!!! She is a lovely lady!!!! She treated us great and was always asking if we needed anythig, she almost made us feel like home... She also made us paella, it was delicious and we met other people there too... The location of the hostel is really great because it is in a street were there are lots of restaurants and bars, and very near the beach. We're definitely coming back to Kati soon.

Disliked: Everything was great!