HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hospedaje Kati Guesthouse

C/Fermn Calbetn N21 - 5C, San Sebastian, Spain

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 51%

Location 95%

Safety 69%

Staff 77%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Hot Showers

Important Information

After making a reservation ,please reconfirm your booking with Hospedaje Kati calling the number provided in your confirmation.
Arrival time must be respected. If you're not going to arrive on time, please call us, or your booking will be cancelled after an hour, 10% deposit remaining non refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Sebastian?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 51%

Location 95%

Safety 69%

Staff 77%

Value 59%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nothing att all.

Disliked: In fact this is a private house of an old lady that converted to a hostel. She lives in the next room. She does not know anything about how to manage her job and due to her old age maybe she is incapable of that. She only and only speanks Spanish. not even a little English. She ask as for the full rent per night however we tried to explain her that we paid already 15 percent as deposit to the hostel bookers account but she refuse any payment link of her hostel with them.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location. Nothing else, just the location.

Disliked: Only one shower for everyone. Only two toilets. It is far too expensive for what it is, as there aren't even kitchen facilities, but everywhere was full, so we had to stay there. We reserved two beds. She insisted it was one, even going as far as to take out paper work to prove her point, which only proved ours. Still, she only gave us one bed, but charged us for two anyway, even though it was her fault. She told us to pay or leave, everywhere else was booked, we had no choice. She did this to others in our room too. Whilst there, a man turned up with a reservation, had obviously paid a deposit too, but she had no beds left, as she sold them all, and sent him away. Again, all other hostels were full in the city, he had nowhere to go. Talking to other guests, she had done the same thing earlier on in the week, to the point where the police were called. She should not be running a hostel. She had no organisation, and only cares about taking people's money.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Very nice couple who runs this! Won't let you keep your bags after you've checked out, but will direct you to a luggage locker location around the corner. Location really can't be beat- right on Main Street with all the bars and pinchos places.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Work / volunteering

Liked: Hostels are extremely few and far between in Donosti, so you have to be grateful to be able to stay in one in the Old Part at all. I've stayed in another two in the city, which both have different advantages and disadvantages, and would probably recommend Kati's place overall. There is a large balcony, which most people would enjoy but was a comedown for me as I had just moved out of a flat just round the corner where I had my own private, much better one.

Disliked: It's not a real hostel, but two rooms of her flat. My supposedly five-bed room was extremely cramped with in fact six beds, so you should book the relatively more spacious other room. Despite the ceilings being normal height, the lower bunks were right on the floor and felt very coffin-like, with the upper bunks being very close to them. However, I didn't want to choose an upper bunk as they had no rails. Some space in the room is wasted on unusable cupboards, so Kati really should renovate in order to make it a little less claustrophobic. Kati's son seems to live there to but he doesn't speak English or seem able to deal with much, so you should always just talk to Kati herself. It wasn't a problem for my stay, but there is no kitchen access and only one shower for all the guests (and I think Kati and Ander), which could be a serious drawback for some people. You also need to make sure you tell her in advance what time you're going to arrive.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect location, right in the middle of the old town, in one of the two best streets of San Sebastian for eating pinxtos. Awesome terrace in the last floor of the building. Best choice for people travelling on low budget.

Disliked: It's not like the other hostels I used to visit as you are actually renting in bed/room at someone's place. I didn't feel comfortable enough to use the kitchen, anyway cooking is kind of forbidden... which is not a real problem as you really want to eat in the pintxoes bars! Finally the price and the location make these little inconvenients unsignifiant.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Kati was very friendly, smiling, respectful and helpful. I'd read some negative reports from other visitors about this hostel - but come on guys - what do you expect for the relatively little money you are paying compared to others who stay elsewhere in this lovely city? It's a basic hostel but it is secure, is in great location and there's a decent bed, a towel supplied and a hot shower day or night, get real. Plus others sharing the dormitories, like-minded people, are a fascinating and respectful bunch. If you don't like 'cheap and cheerful' then go elsewhere and pay a lot more I'm sure - but if can hack basic and hassle-free then give it a whirl. I'll be back in San Sebastian and I'd be happy to stay in Hospedaji Kati again.

Disliked: For the money I paid there were no negatives for me.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: location, bedroom decoration

Disliked: It seems that this hostel should be made for retired older travellers with dinning-out habbit (actually cooking is not allowed in this hotel) instead of for us lively young people who would always like to make some joyful atmosphere and to cook something where we stay and who'd prefer being waken up by our own alarm clock instead of by the hostel owner's knock at the door an hour before check-out deadline time.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: quite close to the beach and all the main tourist sites and shops

Disliked: it was literally someone's house that they just shoved a couple of extra beds into. you couldn't use the kitchen, there was only one bathroom, it was cramped and dark and i just didn't like the atmosphere.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a small property so you get to know everyone in the hostel

Disliked: It isn't really a hostel, is more like a guest house so you don't get to feel free around the place, you have the owner walking around at all times telling you to be quiet and pick up your things etc.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Location was fantastic.

Disliked: The entire operation felt slightly disorganized. First we were sent from the original hostel to another to go see this lady's 'friend,' and the whole time we were there she was very stressed and confused, switching beds around all the time.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability