HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Reise

Hostel | C/ María Auxiliadora, 13, Salamanca, Spain 37004

79.2% Overall Rating

51 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2012)

"Cheap place to stay and pretty centrally located. Easy to head into the center to the Calle Toro and the Plaza Mayor and also to go to the bars around Van Dyck/cinema. The double room we stayed in was clean and the beds…"

Read all Hostel Reise reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salamanca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salamanca

Arjori Rooms
13.92 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
salamanca dorada
15.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alda Centro Salamanca Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 79.4% 71 reviews
Don Bosco Apartments
63.25 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Alda Plaza Mayor **
20.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.3% 7 reviews
REVOLUTUM HOSTEL
24.04 USD

Hostel 92.7% 43 reviews
Hotel Torre del Clavero
31.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.4% 31 reviews
Pensión Salamanca
17.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

51 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Reise'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 53 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the price... and that it was close to the center

Disliked: not that much social interaction or backpackers atmosphere at the hostal.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joao Teixeira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 September 2012 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: really good price. Good location

Disliked: old furniture

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012

Liked: Cheap place to stay and pretty centrally located. Easy to head into the center to the Calle Toro and the Plaza Mayor and also to go to the bars around Van Dyck/cinema. The double room we stayed in was clean and the beds weren't bad.

Disliked: Internet doesn't work at all. Interior double room that had a small window that could be opened for ventilation, but since the hostel is on a lower floor of a multi-level building, little ventilation in the room. If it had been hotter, it would have really been a problem. The room also was a bit dark and dingy feeling, because it only has a small light. The room could really use a brighter light or a lamp to make it less creepy-feeling. The only window also basically had full view of another window in the hostel, making it a little public to open the window for ventilation/light. The towels smelled a bit funny and I would have rather had my own, but linens were included. The internet didn't work at all on my computer, and only slightly on my boyfriend's computer. Overall, it wasn't a bad place to stay, but for the money, I think there's better options in Salamanca.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marta Winiecka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012

Liked: good organisation if we were arrived. 10 minuts walk from City Center.

Disliked: noise from the street.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Javier Jimenez

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean place and good value for money. Not exactly in the old town but 10 easy minutes walk. You can park the car for free quite close to the hostel (where you find white lines) Salamanca is superb, by the way.

Disliked: Not that I disliked it but I need to confirm other reviewers comments. More than the traditional backpacking hostel, this pension is just a flat with private rooms and a shared kitchen. You will probably not see anybody around, not even the owner. Instead, you will receive a code through sms to open the door upon arrival, then you will get a key and will not need that code anymore. I had a spanish phone and had no problem, but take it into account and write down the phone number on the confirmation mail to avoid any issue with missed sms. For me it was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Kay Heathcote

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Joanne Kay would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and it is very central.

Disliked: Joanne Kay left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the plaza mayor, had my own bathroom, was able to use the kitchen, and they let me store my luggage

Disliked: my room was noisy as it was close to the street

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yvonne Markowski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012

Liked: The location is really good and the price is great, too (we payed 14 euro/person/night for a private room with two beds)

Disliked: They send you a code to enter the hostel when there is noone at the reception but the main door on the streets cannot be entered with such a code... we were lucky that someone opened it for us, otherwise we would have waited there for who knows how long! There is no sign or whatsoever that tells you when there will be someone at the reception. More of a Hotel than a Hostel; no communal area and practically no chance to meet other backpackers. VERY SMALL kitchen (like 6-8square meters)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Figuerola-Ferretti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center ( 5 min walk). Supercheap for a twin bed room.

Disliked: Nowbody at reception most of the time. Kitchen a little bit tacky

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oscar Zarate

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great. It's exactly what they offer in the Internet. The easiest going people in the world. Because they wouldn't be there when I arrived, they sent me the key to get in and left the keys for me into the room and if I needed to go before they arrived back to the office then they'd charge me on my credit card (of course I could chose to pay cash)

Disliked: To say something, the room is a bit small but it's not bad at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenna Kutch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Brenna would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, my first so I can't really compare to any others but everything was great and clean. Rooms were as described, there was a small kitchen, fridge, and washer/dryer to use. Excellent value for the money, and in a great location (short walk, maybe 10 mins?, to Van Dyck and to the city center/Plaza Mayor). Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Salamanca

Disliked: There seems to only be a physical staff person there for a few hours per day, so I was getting a bit paranoid about how to pay, but I got a guy in the morning of our last day (we only stayed two nights) and it all worked out all right. They texted directions the morning of our stay, but the SMS did not go through with my google voice number, so I didn't get the information - this made check-in a bit confusing, but was not their fault.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Taryn Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: It was a clean basic double room, good for what we paid

Disliked: There was no staff on check in but got given codes for check in

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was essentially self-service which was good in that you could come and go as you please and let yourself in as if you had your own apartment. We got a private 3-bedroom ensuite for a very reasonable price and it was nice to have some privacy as well without paying too much. The rooms were very clean and a reasonable size with a TV and a lovely clean and modern bathroom. We didn't use the kitchen much but it seemed to have everything you need including a washing machine. When we checked out there was a staff member present to clean and accept our payment. He was very nice and helpful and allowed us to keep our luggage there free of charge.

Disliked: Although you could somehow contact the staff, there weren't there on hand to answer any questions you might have. If you're self-sufficient and independent this won't be a problem but for those wishing for recommendations for Salamanca you're pretty much alone. It's not a hostel with much atmosphere at all, so I wouldn't recommend to those wishing to make friends. I'd suppose it's ideal for groups or couples wanting privacy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcin Pawlewski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Location, facilities.

Disliked: The reception is not 24h, there is a need to call the phone number listed on the main door for the acces code. We arrived at 9.30 pm and no one was at the hostel. Bigger problem occurred in the mornig, there was no one to pay him (about 9 am) and we had to lose our time and go back to the hostel a few hours later. This time it was someone from the staff, but did not even know which room we slept and did not give us any receipt. I hope that I paid for our accommodation. Beside, the place is worth of recommendation. They should only describe their rules.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Teixeira

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 March 2012 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: although we basiclly didn't see the staff everything went just really smoothlly. the bedrooms are clean and the private WC on the triple room a plus.

Disliked: Maybe just the sign of the hostel should be more visible since we took like 5 minutes to figure out. Other than that perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great price, helpful staff, very good location, simple and nice rooms

Disliked: for someone the rooms could be too small and the walls too thin

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very inexpensive, close to the center of town, clean, provided towels and bed linens free of charge, it was quiet.

Disliked: The kitchen area could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel garcia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel; it is not very big, but all was great: cleaness, atmosphere (we have dinner with a group of Italy) and the very helpfull staff. I will recomend it!!!! Great value for money

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice and it has a really good relation quality-prize. Also the staff is really friendly and helpfull; we arrive late and they communicated with us for saying how to get in. And the location is good too, only 5 minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor and 3-4 streets from the Van Dyck street (the "tapas street").

Disliked: The only problem for us was that it was really difficult to find a place to park in the area, we should go like 1 kilometre away, near of the Plaza de Toros.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's cheap and staff is nice.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap and very nice! Was it real life?

Disliked: Not enough possible to ventilate the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Hostel Reiss were so nice and accomodating. We had a great stay here and were happy to use the kitchen facilities. The wifi was also good and location is very close to all the sites. It was pretty quiet when we were there, not the party atmosphere. But we got a great nights sleep! Thanks Hostel Reiss.

Disliked: nothing.