HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal la Mimosa

Guesthouse | Suecia 5, Palma de Mallorca, Spain 07015

79.7% Overall Rating

255 out of 282 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

"1 The staff, 2.The pool och garden 3 It was fairly quiet - surroundings+indoors 4. Not too far from Palma 5. Cat-friendly"

Read all Hostal la Mimosa reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in 14:00 p.m. to 22:00 Check out 11.00 a.m.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Palma de Mallorca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Palma de Mallorca

Hostal San Telmo
39.58 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 16 reviews
Hotel Dali
58.71 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 84.9% 7 reviews
Hotel Horizonte
48.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.2% 14 reviews
Hostal Terramar
32.98 USD

Guesthouse 70.1% 211 reviews
Hotel Zurbarán
52.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 5 reviews
Hostal Apuntadores
31.66 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 381 reviews
HM Balanguera
72.56 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Central Palma
32.98 USD

Hostel 72.0% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

255 out of 282 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal la Mimosa'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 219 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1 The staff, 2.The pool och garden 3 It was fairly quiet - surroundings+indoors 4. Not too far from Palma 5. Cat-friendly

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff. Not many people there anymore which was too bad (not much people to get in touch with especially if you travel alone). Some pretty nice beaches in the area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Heinrichs

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: friendly bar staff; good coffee for breakfast.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner are very friendly and helpfull. There are some beaches close with sand and rocks. Party and Palma center in near wuth the bus. Breakfast was good, the coffee excelent. The owner speaks almost ervery language. I would come back.

Disliked: Too many cats outside!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but comfortable. The buffet breakfast was way better than I expected with a selection of meats and cheese, eggs and cereal in addition to the toast and jam I had expected! The local bus service is very good.

Disliked: The property is in need of renovation and I think the owners are slowly making changes but it is definitely faded grandeur. However, as a budget location with basic rooms it is absolutely fine. The hostal is quite a bit out from Palma city centre. It is about half an hour on the bus but as I said before, the bus service is excellent.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: spiders

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andreas Kalogirou

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice character. Has swimming pool. Good facilities. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Far from the center, no lockers, you have to pay extra for the breakfast.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the ocean, swiming pool, very friendly staff, beautiful palm trees, close to my diving school

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. :)

Disliked: Some of the bathrooms weren't so clean and the internet didn't work.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are very friendly, it's a small family hostel so you see the same people working there every day. They're interested in your day. The rooms are clean.

Disliked: No problems

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was like a small resort! You get a very simple breakfast with amazing coffee each morning. There is a restaurant and a bar right in the downstairs part of the hostel. There are lots of beautiful terraces where you can sit and relax and chat with people– either by the street to watch the world go by, or overlooking the gorgeous view of a small port that is just across the street. There is a beautiful in ground pool which is kept pristine clean by staff and is very refreshing for those hot, humid days. The staff were all extremely friendly. The price was great too! Just down the street form the hostel are shops, cafes and some beautiful little beaches (that I randomly stumbled across as they are a bit hidden). It was such a neat little area outside of the city. The bus stop is close by. The hostel building itself is really neat, as it is an old manor that is decorated in traditional Spanish furniture. It has a very homey feel with a few friendly cats that lounge around outside. The room that I stayed in had a view of the port that was across the street! Some of the rooms had their own belconies too, which looked fun!

Disliked: The hostel location is outside of Palma, so if you are looking for something close to downtown, this is a bit out of the way. I took a cab from the airport that cost 20E, but there were also busses that I could have taken for much cheaper. The room has a bathroom that everyone shares, and it didn’t seem to get cleaned very well. There was also a cockroach in the bathroom, but that is to be expected with island living. The free wifi/internet was also not working (and apparently it wasn’t working for awhile) which was kind of a pain, but there was a cheap internet café about a 7 minute walk down the street. Because the internet was not working, I could not use my credit card to pay for the room, so it was a good thing I had some cash on me. The rooms do not have airconditioning which I don't mind because I like the heat, but it is extremely hot when I was there in August (the night cools down a bit, but is still very hot).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly staff - hostel pool - good value for money

Disliked: - dirty bathrooms, missing toilet paper - loud street makes sleeping much more difficult

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house is really cozy, the owners are very helpfull and the rooms are clean. We got clean towels every day.

Disliked: We were with four people, so the room we got was a little small. (15 m2)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are really friendly, nice old spanish house, clean and all facilities around (shops, etc)

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shehla Meezan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Shehla would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have been to, without a doubt. The location is ideal despite being slightly away from the city centre. The venue is gorgeous. The view from the rooms and the rooms itself were amazing. Felt like a resort than a hostel. The staff was very warm and friendly, felt like family. The services were impeccable. I am definitely returning.

Disliked: Just that its away from the city centre.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joanne Neeson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

18 July 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the staff, Lizzy behind the bar, Tony in the kitchen and Barney by the pool. There was also a Columbian man there who was absolutley lovely but I never found out his name!! The pool is awesome and Barney keeps it very clean!! I liked the nearby beach and how relaxing it feels to be at the Hostel.

Disliked: I disliked that there are no kitchen facilities to self cater. Whilst a fridge and microwave were provided, no plates or cutlery were. Whilst the staff were happy to lend plates, glasses for wine etc. it was rather apparent that this was not apprecited by the new owners. I would like to have seen the bathrooms cleaned daily and toilet paper replensihed. The main building of the hostel was always maintained. Sadly, I didn´t really enjoy the owners of the hostel. I think they have alot to learn about interpersonal relations and to make their guests feel as welcomed as their wonderful staff do.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is like staying in someone's home - everything is personal and friendly and homely. Not the height of luxury but a thoroughly relaxing place to stay

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jill Lyon

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't sure what to expect of la Mimosa and was very pleasantly surprised. I stayed in a single ensuite room which had plenty of room and was very clean. It had beautiful views of the marina on one side and the hills on the other. As soon as i arrived i was greeted by the friendliest people, some of them worked there and others where local ex pats. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful i felt like i was staying with family. Every night around 5, the locals will gather in the bar, so if you are by yourself you can always pop down for a few drinks and a decent chat. There are plenty of lovely beaches and restaurants within walking distance and the bus stop is very close, so if you want to get around the island its really easy. As a woman travelling on her own, i would highly recommend this property. Its safe, friendly, and close to everything you need. I will be returning!

Disliked: Nothing really, but maybe in the heat of summer it may get a little warm with no aircon in the rooms. Just keep that in mind if you don't like it warm.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a swimming pool !!!! Free laundry, free Internet, and good coffee (1,25£). Our room was pretty big too!

Disliked: The location. It's far from the city center, you can only access it by bus. I don'T know if it's because we didn't go at the right time, but there was not a lot of people in the hostal, so the atmosphere was kinda boring...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Location near a bus stop. Nice swimming pool.

Disliked: No kitchen.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 June 2011

Liked: close to beach

Disliked: dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Cherry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

29 May 2011 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Mimosa was a great, friendly relaxed hostel. The staff were excellent and happy to chat to us and help us with everything, breakfast was lovely and relaxed and hostel very clean, definately the best hostel to stay in while visiting Palma or any of Mallorca Island as so well placed to get anywhere from here. Lovely setting, natural and fresh, close to beach, away from smoggy city but close enough to reach by bus. Would recommend to anybody. Well kept pool, lovely views, homely place with cats

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rafael Vertuan Alves

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 April 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice atmosfere to relax, the breakfast need to be improved, but still ok!

Disliked: THIS IS NOT A BACKPACKER HOSTEL! IT IS A CHEAP HOTEL! No fun in the hostel, no lockers!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabor Leeb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb with fast and fequent bus connection to the city, abundant shops and services right next door and quick access to lovely sandy cove-beaches backed by lush green hills (well, and loads of hotels - the area is quite developed, but here in a more tasteful way and I found the combination gorgeous as it is) This is one of the most beautiful streches of the island's coast. Porto Pi, a huge shopping mall is just a 5 min busride, or 20 min walk away. The owners who've just taken over the hotel are a very nice and friendly family and they are always ready to go the extra mile to help and to make the guests feel comfortable. As I observed they are particular to take personal care of every customer. The staff is very nice too and make one feel home at the hostel. I spent a wonderful week here and my special thanks go out to all these lovely people! I'm definitely looking forward to returning here!

Disliked: The hostel is in an old, historical building which adds to its character, but it does need some improvements. The new management is already hard at work doing a gradual makeover. I give great credit to them as I learned they are experienced hoteliers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice view, and the cleaning lady was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The owners are somewhat cold. The bar is used as somekind of reception.