We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal la Mimosa

Guesthouse | Suecia 5, Palma de Mallorca, Spain 07015

79.7% Overall Rating

255 out of 282 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

"1 The staff, 2.The pool och garden 3 It was fairly quiet - surroundings+indoors 4. Not too far from Palma 5. Cat-friendly"

Read all Hostal la Mimosa reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in 14:00 p.m. to 22:00 Check out 11.00 a.m.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Palma de Mallorca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Palma de Mallorca

Hostal San Telmo
33.70 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 16 reviews
Hotel Dali
51.20 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 84.9% 7 reviews
Hotel Horizonte
64.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.2% 14 reviews
Hostal Terramar
32.40 USD

Guesthouse 72.0% 212 reviews
Hotel Zurbarán
57.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 5 reviews
Hostal Apuntadores
31.11 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 381 reviews
HM Balanguera
71.29 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Central Palma
32.40 USD

Hostel 70.4% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

255 out of 282 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal la Mimosa'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 219 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SVETLANA SHANINA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2010 SVETLANA would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast very good, wifi working somethimes, good swimmingpool

Disliked: Very old

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of space.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clare Kenny

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2010 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view. Good breakfast. Nice outdoor area.

Disliked: Drunk ex-pats at the bar on Saturday night!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 September 2010

Liked: kevin the man who helped us on the second day. the breakfast was suffice and they had a toaster!!! wopee- rare in europe!

Disliked: the room, the social aspect, it was overpriced for what you recieved. shower curtain for a bathrrom door and the shower curtain in the actual shower was too long for the small space so we had a trail of water through the room----- really dissapointing space for the gloriousness of palma.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pool, poolbar and staff, close to beach..

Disliked: the problem of all island.. cockroaches..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the hostel has free Internet access, has a swimming pool, and is right across from the harbor, where you can sunbathe.

Disliked: I wish that the hostel had a kitchen for guests to use and offered lockers for guests to store their personal belongings. I expected the food menu at the bar to be cheaper, since this is a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Stamp

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 August 2010 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous location, within 2 minutes walk of the nearest sandy beach. From the bedroom, I could see the harbour and out to sea. I swam in the pool on my own each day, it felt like it was my own private pool. A glass a wine costs only 1 Euro 50 cent and coffee 1 Eruo 20 at the hostel. The staff are friendly and the sun shone constantly. I great place to go. I have told friends about it who plan to go out there in September.

Disliked: I could not fault it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness of the staff, delicious meals and big portions low cost for lunch and dinner offered, free internet.

Disliked: I met two cockroaches one day in my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the place, it's easy to get to palma from there, cheap places to eat around, cool stuff, good breakfast (I think ham is a plus to these cheap hostels...).

Disliked: The room I got was with a bathroom inside, really nice, but I wasn't lucky with my flatmate, who was really dirty. So, about the cleaning I'd make a remark.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool

Disliked: cockroaches

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere.House in old style.

Disliked: I recommend the owner, that the roof of the Hostal can be used, because from the roof is the best view. Noisy - you can hear at night the ofher guests.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy access to bus that goes downtown and very good beaches in the south of the island. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. Very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The info received about public routes and tpublic ransport to the turistic places/beachs are not very updated. In my opinion, Palma de Mallorca can be visited by bus everywhere and this info is not clear when we arrive there, even at the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

David Vauché

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

11 July 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrasse, free wifi, affordable drinks and snacks, friendly staff, good location close to the beach in a residential area.

Disliked: Very poor quality and basic room, not really clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liam Hardy

14 June 2010 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: I traveled to Mallorca seeking work and the staffs fantastic English and local knowledge was invaluable! It's not the Ritz but the character and atmosphere make up for any minor floors in accommodation (nothing worth mentioning except for the Spanish format keyboard driving me crazy haha!) I liked it so much I've extended my stay indefinitely as I've found work nearby now :)x

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susan Gardiner

28 May 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Old house with character. Lots of facilities including a pool (closed for maintenance while I was there), bar, terraces and restaurant doing affordable food. Within easy walking distance of 4 beaches and bus route to town frequent and cheap. Excellent breakfast (huge choice best of anywhere I have stayed). Staff very friendly and helpful. Photos on Hostelbookers dont do it justice. Look on Mimosa site to get a better idea.Girls shared dorm room a bit cramped but has own bathroom and 2 lots of windows so nice and cool.

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was wonderful--it was a big spot for "yachties" looking for work in the area, so everyone was very relaxed and friendly and most all of them spoke English. The staff were just as welcoming and fun to hang out with. It's clean, but not to a really outstanding degree. It has good, cheap drinks and meals at the bar, a lovely pool, a cozy patio; it's a short bus trip to Palma, a decent walk to some beautiful beaches (like Illetes), and has a view of a marina; and even the building itself is just very pretty and comfortable. Would love to go back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located in a safe and quiet location outside of Palma de Mallorca near Cala Major. There are a few beaches located very close and lots of shops and restaurants nearby and is about a 15 minute bus ride from Palma and the major attractions in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place. I would recommend it more in summer time, the rooms are cold in winter. But overall, it was a great stay. Very helpful and nice staff. A little bit far from the city, absolutely need to take a bus (buses every 7 min).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Bishop

01 February 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A comfortable stay and and a good breakfast. Good location just out of central Palma.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an okay hostel, but I wouldn't stay here again: the mattresses were threadbare and spongy, and the beds creaky, making it difficult to get a good night's sleep. The floors were all tiled, amplifying everything: walls were paper-thin and hall noise was a serious issue. The room smelt of the en-suite bathroom, which is tiny and had a broken shower head, which meant you needed to hold it with one hand. Not a pleasant experience.Despite this, the staff were really helpful and the breakfast was great. The supplied computers were fast and worked properly, which is pretty rare. Be warned however that the hostel is a 20 minute bus ride into the centre of Palma; it's cheap: 1.20 each way, and services are frequent, but something to bear in mind.Overall, it's a cheap, functional hostel in what is otherwise an overpriced market. Don't expect luxury, and pack your best earplugs. You'll need them.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 October 2009

Liked: good character and good friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, nice staff especially breakfast crew

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Siegfried Buehler

16 September 2009 Siegfried would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal is placed in an incredibly beautiful building. If you're catching the right place, you have a marvellous view on the sea during breakfast. The free internet connection is very fast and works very well. The two free for use washing maschines saved my stay. What i missed are cupboards in the rooms (preferredely ones which can be locked) and I wasn't a fan of the ants that were wandering around the roomfloor. The location is rather away from the big international tourist areas and you can stay away from this aspect of Palma life completely without any effort. It seemed to me, that in the party locations in this part of the town, many Spanish people go partying. Altogether, the place is highly recommendable, offering high value for the money.

Disliked: Siegfried left no negative feedback.