HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels

Reviews of Hostal Moscatel

Guesthouse | Conde de las Navas 9, Malaga, Spain 29017

87.3% Overall Rating

32 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/02/2014)

"Great location- short and safe walk to beach, restaurants and shops. The room was very clean, large and comfortable. Had a good night sleep in a dark, quiet room. Host was very helpful."

Read all Hostal Moscatel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.03

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Latest check in time 21:00.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malaga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malaga

MALAGA HOSTEL
30.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Elcano
41.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 6 reviews
Apartamentos el Cenachero
34.53 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal El Nogal
26.56 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 144 reviews
Hotel Domus
23.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.5% 102 reviews
The Melting Pot Backpackers Hostel Malaga
13.45 USD

Hostel 89.9% 358 reviews
Hotel Los Naranjos
41.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 15 reviews
Hotel California
51.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.2% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

32 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Moscatel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- short and safe walk to beach, restaurants and shops. The room was very clean, large and comfortable. Had a good night sleep in a dark, quiet room. Host was very helpful.

Disliked: Finding a car park can be difficult-try the nearby back streets.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sebastiano Barbieri

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

11 April 2011 Sebastiano would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, very helpful staff, good value for the money beach with bars/restaurants within walking distance

Disliked: mostly no hot water in the shower room smelled of smoke when we came in, lots of airing solved that

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in a nice and safe area, close to the beach and a mountains if someone likes hiking. Easy access to the public transport.Very friendly staff.

Disliked: The staff members cannot speak English with the exception of one of them, who spoke very little English thus it was really difficult to communicate with them and obtain any kind of information. There was no Satellite TV,all programs were in Spanish language.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Christopher Stubbs

Alone

19 October 2010

Liked: I tried to change the date of booking before the date but could get no reply. I could not cancel the booking due to the lack of reply. Therefore I do not expect any deductions from my credit card!

Disliked: see my comment

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very unique and traditional property with a lovely atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Brincat

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

08 September 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The location was right next to my friends and it was cosy and welcoming!

Disliked: No Wi-Fi, I think it is very important these days, it should be everywhere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fabulous!!! Good location in Malaga - great value on an adorable street, away from the loud/touristy area, and a 2 minute walk to the beach. But even better than the great location and clean facilities was the STAFF. They were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and helped me with whatever I wanted - they gave me spoons because my sister and I forgot them, they let me use their freezer to store my food, and the next day I told them I forgot my beach towel and they said "Oh, don't worry, here you go" and lent me one for the day - for free! And though we already had checked out, they still watched our suitcases all day while we went to the beach. These women could not have been nicer. And even though I am an American who is fluent in Spanish, they still tried to use their sparse knowledge of English to help give me directions to the city center to make sure I understood and wouldn't get lost, which I thought was very thoughtful. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathaniel McGowan

27 May 2010 Nathaniel would recommend this property

Liked: I knew I wanted to stay in El Palo / Pedregalejo area of Malaga, so chose this property after checking reviews on Trip Adviser - My single room was small but spotlessly clean, as was the en-suite. The staff only have rudimentary English, but were all very pleasant and cheerful. 2 minutes walk from the lovely fishing village / beaches, and similar to the bars / restaurants / supermarkets. Thoroughly recommend

Disliked: Nathaniel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The traditional Spanish feel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly reception staff who were very helpful throughout our stay looking info up on the internet for us etc. Great drinks and coffee in the bar but very basic food- much better to go to one of the cafes in El Palo for a bocadillo or churros. They lent us beach towels which we had left at home. Towels changed every day. Location is fantastic for the beaches and restaurants in El Palo, which is def the best stretch of seafront on the costa- completely Spanish and devoid of tourists. The best seafood I've ever had in Spain. No 11 bus takes you straight into centre of Malaga in about 10-15 minyes depending on traffic, and buses from the main bus stop in El Palo (5 min walk) takes you to other towns and resorts along the coast (including Nerja for the Caves and Rincon de La Victoria for shopping.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

L Boelen

14 October 2008 L would recommend this property

Liked: sfere location

Disliked: L left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Pyers

06 October 2008 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and lovely rooms. Clean and airy and comfortable . Close to the beach in a "nice" area.

Disliked: Anne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very clean, comfortable beds and fresh bathrooms. The hostal is next to the beach in a quiet area with spanish people, no tourists. Took 20 minutes by buss to the centre but that wasn't a problem. We really enjoyed our stay at the hostal!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to a beach that wasn't in the main tourist area and the staff seemed friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

natalie laguna

05 May 2008

Liked: the room was nice an clean

Disliked: natalie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

elif düz

17 April 2008 elif would recommend this property

Liked: The staff could not speak any foreign language but was very friendly. The hotel was far from the city center. It takes 15-20 min with the bus. The place was clean and silent away from the noise of the city.

Disliked: elif left no negative feedback.


See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels