HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels

Reviews of Hostal El Nogal

Guesthouse | Av Juan Sebastian Elcano 62, Malaga, Spain 29017

87.2% Overall Rating

131 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

Laurna Robertson thinks…

"This hostel is very close to a lively stretch of beach with a great selection of affordable bars and restaurants and it is easy to reach the city centre (about 5km walk or a 15 min bus journey with…"

Read all Hostal El Nogal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Time of reception from 9:00 hour to 22:00 hours. Latest check in is 22:00 hours

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malaga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malaga

Hotel Domus
17.39 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.5% 102 reviews
Hotel Elcano
27.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 6 reviews
MALAGA HOSTEL
15.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Moscatel
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 88.5% 35 reviews
Apartamentos el Cenachero
21.92 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Melting Pot Backpackers Hostel Malaga
10.12 USD

Hostel 85.0% 365 reviews
Hotel Los Naranjos
27.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 15 reviews
Hotel California
48.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.2% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

131 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal El Nogal'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 111 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The patio.

Disliked: There was no staff by arrival. We saw 2 times a person of the staff and they didn't spoke Englisch.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurna Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

10 July 2013 Laurna would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very close to a lively stretch of beach with a great selection of affordable bars and restaurants and it is easy to reach the city centre (about 5km walk or a 15 min bus journey with buses going regularly). There is also a supermarket 2 minutes away. The hostel itself is clean, has lovely outdoor terraces and friendly staff.

Disliked: It was difficult to keep the bathroom dry with the shower and there was no kitchen facilities.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is ok

Disliked: ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved atmosphere of spanish house and location close to the sea.

Disliked: There could be possibility for some breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the beach and restaurantes.

Disliked: It is more like a hotel. Not a good idea for backpackers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Quinn

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: the owner wa greatand fiendly

Disliked: nohing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Durocher

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the proximity to a wonderful beach with a classy and affordable seafood restaurant . Made good use of the jacuzzi to revive tired feet and legs after a day of hoofing around Malaga sights. Liked the quiet and efficient air conditioning.

Disliked: Bathroom shower tend to leak onto the floor making it slippery.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hartmut Eckert

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 November 2011 Hartmut would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach, nice atmosphere with veranda and lounge

Disliked: 5 km out of town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gavanelli tiziana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 gavanelli would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was ok, away from the hectic center and still near enough. The beach is nearby along with many great bars and restaurands. Also, there are stores and atm just one minute away from the door. The room was ok and was cleaned everyday, including fresh towels. The ac was working well and the noise from the street was not too loud.

Disliked: The wireless Internet was not working on some days, why not put one computer for the guests to the lounge? :) Usually there was no one in the reception, not even when we had to leave in the morning. That was weird... And when the "manager" was not behind his desk (meaning almost always) no one spoke English. Also, there's no kitchen but it was not promised either so can't really complain about it. The room smelled of cigarette smoke a little but all in all, it was a nice stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous and helpful staff. I stayed in a private 2-person room, which was comfortable and clean. The location was great, it was a 15 minute walk to the beach, but a really nice and interesting walk. Its 4 minutes from the first interesting square, and the rest are a short distance from that. Everything you want to see in Malaga is easily accessible from this location.

Disliked: Kind of an annoying walk to the train station, but not that bad, maybe 15 minutes. It was advertised that there was an AC (which was totally necessary) but when we came back to our room around midnight it was unassembled and taped closed in a box in the closet, and there was no one to come set it up. I would just recommend checking before reception closes and having them set it up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the siye of the room, the separate beds and decor.

Disliked: A kitchenette would-ve been useful for making drink, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing:)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location:)

Disliked: The friendliness of the staff was very poor especially the first day of our arrival and was not accommodating to us when we arrived to the hostel early and did not let us check in early upon arrival.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near seaside

Disliked: moist in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all the above questions are answered honestly and i cannot fault the hosta it is first class.

Disliked: nothing at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stuff, good price, cleannes

Disliked: noise from street

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the sea, it's a very nice area with cosy bars and cafes.

Disliked: it takes around 15 minutes by bus from the center, but the busstation is just in front of the hostal, so no problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal El Nogal was very clean, had friendly receptionists and good heating. The best part was when my friend and I arrived, we were upgraded from a 3 bed dorm to a double private ensuite. The water pressure in the shower was great and water hot enough was available in the showers. Room service was provided when we were sightseeing so we came back to see a clean room with new towels.

Disliked: The lack of a kitchen where we could prepare some basic meals, and also the lack of a computer with internet service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adlan Wafi Ramli

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

29 December 2010 Adlan Wafi would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very nice. The bathroom is quite large. You can park your car by the road. The owner was very helpful. He came to help us open the door at midnight as there was something wrong with the door. It's very close to the beach, too bad it was raining when we stayed there. The female receptionist was very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Henry

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

27 November 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was brilliant value for money, was very impressed with the cleanliness and how nice it was for a hostel. Has tv in room and ensuite which had a brill shower. Also has beautiful patio area and is in great location which is both close to the beach/restaurants and city center. would recommend to anyone and would visit again.

Disliked: nothing i disliked although there didnt seem to be anyone else staying in the hostel same time as me but perhaps it is because not many people holiday at the end of november.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

David Meyer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 November 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good neighborhood, close to the beach. Big clean room with good shower, comfortable. Very quaint.

Disliked: Room smelled like cigarettes (expected in Europe) and the door handle was somewhat broken (still worked). Well outside of the city center. It was 10 euros from the main train station by taxi, but there's a bus between the hostel and the city center for 1.20.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gita Judah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2010 Gita would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room and even a TV provided. Only stayed one night so can't comment further! Bit far from town but bus stop is very close, so not a problem.

Disliked: Only the guy spoke English and not the woman in the morning, which could be a problem if you needed help.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels